DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed April 10th, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1 and 6-10 remain
pending in the application. Claim 5 has been cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Sarah Peterson et al. (US 7779739 B2 – hereinafter Peterson) in view of So Young Chang (WO 2017014397 A1 – hereinafter Chang).
Regarding claim 1, Peterson teaches a connecting structure of a pressing plate in a food
cutter, comprising a material pressing block (Fig. 2, Pusher 60) and a pressing plate (Fig. 2,
Housing 20), wherein a lower end of the material pressing block is provided with two or more
material pressing bulges (Fig. 2, Pusher Projections 62), a lower plate surface of the pressing
plate is provided with a connecting portion I (Fig. 5, connecting portion comprising Projections
22 and 23, and Cylindrical Well 24), an upper end of the material pressing block is provided with
a connecting portion II (Fig. 6, Supports 63 and 64, and Central Pillar 65), wherein a side wall of the material pressing block (Fig. 2, top square shaped surface of 60) extends outwards to form a limiting plate (Fig. 2, square shaped plate in the middle of 60), and a lower end surface of the limiting plate is capable of being attached to an upper end surface of a cutting tool (Fig. 2, top flat surface of 60 and top surface of Blade Tray 50).
Peterson does not teach the connecting portion I and the connecting portion II are rotationally fixed or clamped with each other; wherein the connecting portion I comprises a limiting groove provided on the lower plate surface of the pressing plate, a groove wall of the limiting groove is provided with two or more limiting blocks I, the connecting portion II comprises a limiting bump arranged on the upper end of the material pressing block, a side wall of the limiting bump is provided with two or more limiting blocks II, the limiting bump is capable of being inserted into the limiting groove and is rotationally matched with the limiting groove, and the limiting blocks I are matched with the limiting blocks II, so as to limit the limiting bump from pulling away from the limiting groove; the lower plate surface of the pressing plate is provided with two or more positioning grooves, the upper end of the material pressing block is provided with a plurality of positioning bulges corresponding to positions of the positioning grooves one by one, and the positioning bulges are capable of being clamped into the positioning grooves.
However, Peterson does teach two components (Fig. 2, Frame 40 and Blade Tray 50),
one having two or more positioning grooves (Fig. 2, Recessed Region 53) on a lower surface,
and one having a plurality of positioning bulges (Fig. 2, Alignment Tabs 43) corresponding to
the positions of the positioning grooves one by one on an upper end, and the positioning bulges
are capable of being clamped into the positioning grooves.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pressing plate and the pressing block
of Peterson to have the features described in claim 1 above as taught by Peterson. Doing so is
beneficial as it ensures that the two items are inserted together in the proper orientation (Col. 3,
lines 8-11).
Additionally, Chang teaches a connecting portion I (Fig. 8, connecting portion of 70’) and a connecting portion II (Fig. 8, connecting portion of 60) are rotationally fixed or clamped with each other (Fig. 8 and Fig. 16, via 64 and 72); wherein the connecting portion I comprises a limiting groove (Fig. 16, 74’ provided on the lower plate surface of a pressing plate (Fig. 16, 70’), a groove wall of the limiting groove is provided with two or more limiting blocks I (Fig. 16 blocks defining 72’), the connecting portion II comprises a limiting bump (Fig. 8, 63) arranged on the upper end of a material pressing block, a side wall of the limiting bump is provided with two or more limiting blocks II (Fig. 8, 64), the limiting bump is capable of being inserted into the limiting groove and is rotationally matched with the limiting groove, and the limiting blocks I are matched with the limiting blocks II, so as to limit the limiting bump from pulling away from the limiting groove (Fig. 8; Page 7 last paragraph).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Peterson to utilize the connecting portions I and II of Chang rather than the existing connecting portions. Doing so would have required only the simple substitution of the existing connecting portions with the connecting portions of Chang, and the substitution would lead to the predictable result of the fastening the pressing plate to the material pressing block being rotationally secured rather than axially friction fit into place, avoiding situations (such as being stuck in a particularly sticky or dried on material) where the material pressing block could be inadvertently pulled out of place when moving the pressing plate.
Regarding claim 6, Peterson further teaches the connecting structure of the pressing
plate in the food cutter according to claim 5, wherein a position of a blade in the cutting tool
(Fig. 2, Blades 82) is lower than the upper end surface of the cutting tool (Fig. 2, top surface of
Blade Tray 50).
Regarding claim 7, Peterson further teaches the connecting structure of the pressing
plate in the food cutter according to claim 6, wherein a chamfer is formed between an upper end
surface of the pressing plate (Fig. 2, topmost square surface of 20) and a side wall of the pressing
plate (Fig. 2, front outer side wall of 20).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarah Peterson
et al. (US 7779739 B2 – hereinafter Peterson) in view of So Young Chang (WO 2017014397 A1 – hereinafter Chang) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mark Fastabend et al. (US 20170190066 A1 – hereinafter Fastabend).
Regarding claim 8, Peterson further teaches a food cutter (Fig. 2, food cutter shown),
comprising the connecting structure of the pressing plate in the food cutter according to claim 1,
further comprising a protective sleeve (Fig. 2, four vertical walls of 20) and an accommodating
barrel (Fig. 1, Container 30 and Frame 40), and the protective sleeve is capable of being sleeved
in the accommodating barrel.
The existing combination of Peterson and Chang does not teach that the protective sleeve is mounted between the material pressing block and the pressing plate.
However, Fastabend teaches a protective sleeve (Fig. 1, Head Receiver 58) which is
mounted between a material pressing block (Fig. 1, Pusher Head 18) and a pressing plate (Fig. 1,
Arm 80).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the food cutter of Peterson and Chang to include the missing limitation of claim 8 as taught by Fastabend. Doing so is beneficial as it facilitates alignment of the material pressing block (Fastabend – [0028]).
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sarah
Peterson et al. (US 7779739 B2 – hereinafter Peterson) in view of So Young Chang (WO 2017014397 A1 – hereinafter Chang) and Mark Fastabend et al. (US 20170190066 A1 – hereinafter Fastabend) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Justin Bagley (US 20180264673 A1 – hereinafter Bagley).
Regarding claim 9, Peterson further teaches the food cutter according to claim 8,
wherein the protective sleeve is provided with a plurality of guide recesses (Fig. 2, arched
cutouts on the sides of 20).
The combination of Peterson, Chang, and Fastabend does not teach that the accommodating barrel is provided with guide bulges corresponding to guide recesses one by one.
However, Bagley teaches a food cutter with a protective sleeve (Fig. 3, Pusher 100)
which is provided with a plurality of guide bulges (Fig. 4, Ribs 150 and 151), and an
accommodating barrel (Fig. 3, Housing 200) which is provided with corresponding guide
recesses (Fig. 4, First Channel 251 and Second Channel 252) one by one. It would have been
obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention
to modify the guide bulges and guide recesses to swap location in order to be located on the
claimed items, as it has been held that the position of a feature may be in a different location as
an obvious matter of design choice as long as it does not modify the operation of the device In re
Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7
(CCPA 1975).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the food cutter of the combination of
Peterson, Chang, and Fastabend to include the missing limitations of claim 9 as taught by Bagley. Doing so is beneficial as it allows for proper alignment (Bagley – [0034]).
Regarding claim 10, Peterson further teaches the food cutter according to claim 9,
wherein an upper end of the accommodating barrel is provided with a cutting tool mounting
groove (Fig. 2, groove formed on the inside of 41 and 42), and the cutting tool (Fig. 2, Blade
Tray 50) is mounted in the cutting tool mounting groove.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 4/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant argues that Peterson does not teach the limitations pertaining to limiting blocks I and II, and the limiting bump and groove. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 regarding these features have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Chang has been brought in to teach the limitations pertaining to limiting blocks I and II in addition to the limiting bump and groove.
Applicant additionally alleges that Peterson does not teach a limiting plate … capable of being attached to an upper end surface of the cutting tool. Applicant argues that the feature of Peterson called out as a limiting plate (Fig. 2, square shaped plate in the middle of 60) cannot be considered a limiting plate as it does not provide a mechanical stop that prevents the material pressing block from over-traveling into the cutting tool, thereby protecting the blades. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the aforementioned argued function(s) of the limiting block) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). It can be seen in Fig. 2 of Peterson that the top rectangular plate is formed by the top rectangular surface of 60 being extruded outwards (downwards as shown), is limiting in that it contacts the top of 50 to prevent the bumps at the bottom of 60 from falling through 50, and is attached to 50 when 60 is fully inserted. Therefore, all claimed limitations related to the limiting plate are taught by Peterson.
Conclusion
/ELLA L KEENA/Examiner, Art Unit 3724 /BOYER D ASHLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3724