DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Vainikainen reference does not disclose a separate holder element structure distinct from the rotary seal ring.
Examiner notes that Vainikainen discloses shaft sleeve 12 which can be considered as a holder element with the flange structure.
Applicant argues that Vainikainen reference does not disclose the low pressure heat transfer channel formed therein that is sized and configured for circulating a heat transfer fluid for direct thermal control of the stationary seal ring. The barrier fluid of Vainikainen is circulated through the channel /recessed section in the carrier ring 46 of the stationary seal ring to provide general lubrication and cooling to the double seal arrangement.
Examiner notes that Vainikainen discloses a low pressure heat transfer channel formed by 58, 60, 62, in the carrier ring 46, which is part of the stationary seal ring assembly (46, 28), for circulating a heat transfer fluid for direct thermal control of the stationary seal ring. Vainikainen Para 0008 discloses - the barrier fluid acts as a cooling agent for the mechanical seal; Para 0009 discloses - such a liquid circulation is especially needed when the seal surfaces need to be cooled whereby the barrier fluid act as a heat transfer medium.
Applicant argues that Vainikainen reference does not disclose a cover element disposed between the gland element and the outer surface of the stationary seal ring and being sized and configured for seating over the heat transfer channel to form a sealed heat transfer fluid chamber. The pressure ring 34 does not seat over a heat transfer channel formed in the stationary seal ring to create a heat transfer fluid chamber.
Examiner notes that Vainikainen discloses a cover element 34 is configured for seating over the heat transfer channel in the outer surface of 46, 28 to form a sealed heat transfer fluid chamber. Vainikainen Para 0008 discloses - the barrier fluid acts as a cooling agent for the mechanical seal; Para 0009 discloses - Such a liquid circulation is especially needed when the seal surfaces need to be cooled whereby the barrier fluid act as a heat transfer medium.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3 - 5, 7 – 13 and 16 - 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vainikainen (U.S. PG Pub # 20190145521).
Regarding Claim 1, Vainikainen discloses a mechanical seal assembly (fig 1), comprising a gland element (30) configured to mount to stationary equipment (30 mounts to pump housing, Para 0041), a rotary seal ring (18) for coupling to and rotating with a shaft (18 rotates with shaft), a stationary seal ring (28) configured to remain stationary relative to the shaft (28 is stationary relative to shaft), wherein the stationary seal ring has a main body having an outer surface having a low pressure heat transfer channel (channel formed by 58, 60, 62, fig 2 same as fig 1) formed therein that is sized and configured for circulating a heat transfer fluid (channel formed by 58, 60, 62 is capable of circulating a heat transfer fluid) for direct thermal control of the stationary seal ring (Para 0008 - the barrier fluid acts as a cooling agent for the mechanical seal; Para 0009 - Such a liquid circulation is especially needed when the seal surfaces need to be cooled whereby the barrier fluid act as a heat transfer medium),
a holder element (12) having a sleeve element (sleeve of 12) having a flange end (flange end of 12), the holder element being separate from the rotary seal ring (12 separate from 18) and for coupling the rotary seal ring to the shaft (12 couples 18 to shaft) and for rotating with the shaft (12 rotates with shaft),
and a cover element (34) disposed between the gland element and the outer surface of the stationary seal ring (34 between 30 and 28) and being sized and configured for seating over the heat transfer channel to form a sealed heat transfer fluid chamber (34 seats over channel in the outer surface of 28; Para 0008 - the barrier fluid acts as a cooling agent for the mechanical seal; Para 0009 - Such a liquid circulation is especially needed when the seal surfaces need to be cooled whereby the barrier fluid act as a heat transfer medium).
Regarding Claim 3, Vainikainen discloses the mechanical seal assembly, wherein the cover element (34) has a main body having a plurality of fluid openings (64, 66, fig 5 same as fig 1) formed therein for allowing passage of the heat transfer fluid into the heat transfer channel (Para 0044 – fluid passes through inlet passage 64 and outlet passage 66, fig 5 same as fig 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Vainikainen discloses the mechanical seal assembly, wherein the main body of the cover element includes : an outer surface (outer surface of 34) and an opposed inner surface (inner surface of 34), a first radially inwardly extending side portion formed at one end of the main body ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below), and a second radially inwardly extending portion formed at an opposed end of the main body ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 5, Vainikainen discloses the mechanical seal assembly, wherein the outer surface of the stationary seal ring has a stepped surface coupled to the outer surface by a wall surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below), wherein the first radially inwardly extending side portion is sized and configured to contact the wall surface of the stationary seal ring ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below) and the second radially inwardly extending side portion contacts a top surface of the stationary seal ring to form a fluid tight seal ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 7, Vainikainen discloses the mechanical seal assembly, wherein the first radially inwardly extending side portion is sized and configured to extend partly along the wall surface and is spaced from the stepped surface of the stationary seal ring to form a gap ( gap formed between 58, 60, 62 and first radially extending side portion as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 8, Vainikainen discloses the mechanical seal assembly, wherein the gland element has an inner surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below) and an opposed outer surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below), and a top surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below), wherein the top surface has a gland channel formed along an inner radial portion thereof ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 9, Vainikainen discloses the mechanical seal assembly, wherein the cover element further comprises a radially outwardly extending front extension portion configured for contacting and seating within the gland channel to form a seal against the gland element ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 10, Vainikainen discloses the mechanical seal assembly, wherein front extension portion forms an anti- rotation mechanism to prevent rotation of the cover element relative to the stationary seal ring (front extension portion forms an anti- rotation mechanism to prevent rotation of the cover element relative to the stationary seal ring).
Regarding Claim 11, Vainikainen discloses the mechanical seal assembly, wherein the gland element has a main body having an inner surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below) and an opposed outer surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below), and has at least one fluid inlet port formed in the main body (inlet port 68, fig 5 same as fig 1) and at least fluid outlet port formed in the main (outlet port 32, fig 5 same as fig 1), wherein each of the fluid inlet port and the fluid outlet port are circumferentially spaced apart from each other (68 and 32 circumferentially spaced apart, fig 5) and extend completely between the outer surface and the inner surface of the gland element (68 and 32 between inner and outer surfaces of gland element 30, fig 5).
Regarding Claim 12, Vainikainen discloses the mechanical seal assembly, wherein the cover element is positioned ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below) such that the fluid inlet port is aligned with at least one of the plurality of fluid openings and the fluid outlet port is aligned with another one of the plurality of fluid openings (68 and 32 aligned with 64 and 66 respectively, fig 5).
Regarding Claim 13, Vainikainen discloses the mechanical seal assembly, wherein the sleeve element ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below) has an axially extending inner surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below) that is disposed adjacent to an outer surface of the shaft when mounted thereabout ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below) and an opposed outer surface ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below), and the flange end is formed at one end for coupling to the rotary seal ring ( as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below).
Regarding Claim 16, Vainikainen discloses the mechanical seal assembly, further comprising a positioning and retention element (39) disposed so as to contact the front extension portion (39 contacts front extension portion as seen in examiner annotated fig 1 below) and the gland element for positioning and retaining the stationary seal ring within the gland element (39 contacts 30 for retaining 28 within 30).
Regarding Claim 17, Vainikainen discloses the mechanical seal assembly, further comprising a securing assembly for securing the sleeve element to the shaft and for securing in place the positioning and retention element (Para 0041 – locking ring locked in place on the shaft sleeve 12 by locking screws).
Regarding Claim 18, Vainikainen discloses the mechanical seal assembly, wherein the heat transfer channel of the stationary seal ring has a floor portion having one or more protrusions radially outwardly extending therefrom (floor portion of 28 with protrusions 54, 56, fig 2) to form an extended heat transfer element that increases the size of the heat transfer surface of the heat transfer channel (54, 56 can increase the size of the heat transfer surface of the heat transfer channel).
Regarding Claim 19, Vainikainen discloses the mechanical seal assembly, wherein the protrusion has a height that is less than a height of a radially extending wall element of the channel (height of 54, 56 less than that of 52, fig 2) to promote circulation of the heat transfer fluid within the channel (54, 56 can promote circulation of the heat transfer fluid within the channel).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vainikainen alone.
Regarding Claim 20, Vainikainen discloses the mechanical seal assembly.
Vainikainen does not disclose wherein the protrusion has a spiral or helical shape to generate a turbulent flow of the heat transfer fluid within the heat transfer channel.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the shape of the protrusion, since a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the skill of the art, to provide more surface area of the protrusion for a better fluid heat exchange.
Claims 14 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vainikainen in view of Roddis et al. (U.S. PG Pub # 20050077685).
Regarding Claim 14, Vainikainen discloses the mechanical seal assembly.
Vainikainen does not disclose further comprising a connecting pin for coupling to the flange end of the sleeve element for coupling the rotary seal ring to the flange end, and a biasing assembly disposed within the flange end of the sleeve element for contacting the rotary seal ring and for biasing together a sealing surface of the rotary seal ring and a sealing surface of the stationary seal ring.
However, Roddis teaches further comprising a connecting pin ( 27, fig 3b) for coupling to the flange end of the sleeve element ( 27 couples to the flange end of the shaft, fig 1) for coupling the rotary seal ring to the flange end (27 couples 11 to shaft), and a biasing assembly disposed within the flange end of the sleeve element (biasing assembly with 16 within flange end of shaft) for contacting the rotary seal ring ( 16 contacts 11) and for biasing together a sealing surface of the rotary seal ring and a sealing surface of the stationary seal ring (16 biases sealing surfaces of 11 and 12, fig 3b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the connecting pin and the biasing assembly of Roddis at the flange end of Vainikainen with a reasonable expectation of success so that the biasing assembly provides retention of the rotary and stationary seal rings against the flange end.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Vainikainen and Roddis discloses the mechanical seal assembly, wherein the biasing assembly comprises a support element ( Roddis 32, fig 3b) for contacting an end region of the rotary seal ring (Roddis 32 contacts end region of 11, fig 3b) opposite the sealing surface (Roddis fig 3b), and a biasing element for contacting the support element for applying an axial biasing force thereto (Roddis 16 contacts 32; 16 applies axial biasing force to 16, fig 3b).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.S.K/Examiner, Art Unit 3675
/CHRISTINE M MILLS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675