DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu et al. (Publication: CN 111885389 A) in view of Mammon et al. (Publication: US 2019/0313110 A1) and Yoneoka (Publication: US 2016/0212427 A1).
Regarding claim 1, see rejection on claim 18.
Regarding claim 4, Xu in view of Mammon and Yoneoka disclose all the limitation of claim 1 including the plurality of point cloud groups.
Xu discloses grouping at least one point of data into a first group, the first group being different from the target group (Page 11, paragraph 4 - to overlap “grouping” the prediction image and residual to obtain the image block i corresponding to the reconstruction image of the rectangular area of the A * B, “target”. Images blocks are made up of pixel block, prediction image and residual are different.).
Mammon discloses
point cloud data ([0008] - a decoder is configured to receive one or more encoded image frames comprising patch images for a plurality of patches of point cloud.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Xu in view of Mammon, Yoneoka with point cloud data as taught by Mammon. The motivation for doing is to reduce large amount of data.
Regarding claim 17, Xu discloses encoding method, comprising (Page 7 paragraphs 1, 3 - Fig. 1 - The coding architecture includes invention provides a decoder and encoder, comprising: processor, memory, network interface;
the processor is connected with the memory, the network interface, wherein the network interface is used for providing data communication function; the memory is used for storing the computer program; the processor is used for invoking the computer program, so as to execute the method in the embodiment of the invention.):
the target group include at least one point (The Page 11 paragraph last - intra-frame prediction here refers to using the pixel value of the pixel point in the reconstructed area in the image frame (i.e., target image frame) “the target group” and predicting the pixel value of the pixel point in the image block (i.e., image block i), pixel point in the image block is “ group”);
determining an attribute coding mode of the target group (Page 4 paragraph 8 - a target mode determining unit for, if the rate distortion cost of the target optimal candidate motion information is less than the rate distortion cost of the auxiliary optimal candidate motion information, then taking the first mode type is the target mode type, “determine an attribute coding mode… of the target”.
Page 12 paragraph 3 - the target mode type refers to the mode decision of participating in the image block j, from a plurality of mode types (e.g., mode type 1, mode type 2, mode type 3 and so on) selected from the optimal candidate motion information with the minimum rate distortion cost corresponding to the mode type, it can be understood that, for the image block j, pixel point in the image block is “ group”.);
obtain prediction attribute information of each point in the target group according to the attribute coding mode of the target group (
Page 27 paragraph 10 - an inter-frame prediction unit 104, for target optimal candidate motion information corresponding to the target mode type “according to the attribute coding mode”; performing inter-frame prediction on the image block I, prediction image, “obtain prediction attribute information” according to the reference image block corresponding to the image block i.
The Page 11 paragraph last - intra-frame prediction here refers to using the pixel value of the pixel point in the reconstructed area in the image frame (i.e., target image frame) “the target group” and predicting the pixel values of the pixel points in the image block (i.e., image block i), thus each pixel point in the image block is involved in the prediction “… of each point in the target group.”
Page 18 paragraph 5 - The decoder in the decoding device corresponding to the coding device can apply the inverse processing part relative to the coder in the coding device to the coded or compressed image block i to reconstruct the reconstructed image for representing the image block i. In addition, the encoder can be used for copying the processing cycle of the decoder thus “the encoding and decoding methods can be implemented interchangeably”. ),
determining prediction residual information of each point in the target group according to the prediction attribute information and real attribute information of the respective point in the target group (Page 18 paragraph last - the coding device can from the image block I, subtracting the prediction block “prediction attribute information and real attribute information” , to obtain the residual block “determining prediction residual information of each point in the target group determining prediction residual information”.
The Page 11 paragraph last - intra-frame prediction here refers to using the pixel value of the pixel point in the reconstructed area in the image frame (i.e., target image frame) “the target group” and predicting the pixel values of the pixel points in the image block (i.e., image block i), thus each pixel point in the image block is involved in the prediction “… of each point in the target group.”
); and
performing attribute encoding on each point in the target group based on the prediction residual information of the respective point in the target group, to obtain an encoded target group (Page 12 paragraph first, page 10 paragraph 3 - To established the current to-be-encoded image block candidate motion information “performing attribute encoding…, to obtain an encoded target group” based on the information of the searched encoded image block, so that the candidate motion information in the candidate motion information list of the history optimal candidate motion information of the front two image blocks are respectively as the basic motion information of the image block I, to overlap the prediction image and residual to obtain the image block i thus Image block I is “based on the prediction residual information of the respective point in the target group”
The Page 11 paragraph last - intra-frame prediction here refers to using the pixel value of the pixel point in the reconstructed area in the image frame (i.e., target image frame) “the target group” and predicting the pixel values of the pixel points in the image block (i.e., image block i), thus each pixel point in the image block is involved in the prediction “… of each point in the target group.”).
Xu does not however Mammon discloses
point cloud encoding method ([0008] - a to receive one or more encoded image frames comprising patch images for a plurality of patches of a compressed point cloud.);
obtain a target point cloud group of a plurality of point cloud groups ([0161] - applied to pack a subset of the patches “point cloud groups” inside multiples tiles of an image frame or multiple image frames. This may allow patches with similar/close orientations based on visibility “target point cloud group” to be stored in the same image frame/tile.)
point cloud groups ([0008] - a decoder is configured to receive one or more encoded image frames comprising patch images for a plurality of patches of point cloud.);
point cloud group ([0008] - a decoder is configured to receive one or more encoded image frames comprising patch images for a plurality of patches of point cloud.);
target point cloud group ([0161] - applied to pack a subset of the patches inside multiples tiles of an image frame or multiple image frames. This may allow patches with similar/close orientations based on visibility “target point cloud group” to be stored in the same image frame/tile.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Xu with point cloud encoding method; obtain a target point cloud group of a plurality of point cloud groups; point cloud groups; point cloud group; target point clod group as taught by Mammon. The motivation for doing is to reduce large amount of data.
Xu in View of Mammon do not however Yoneoka discloses
obtaining information based on attribute prediction of the respective point in the target group according to the target group ([0060] When a coding target CU is applied to intra-predictive coding, the prediction block generation unit 22 generates a prediction block “obtaining information ” for each TU by applying the prediction mode selected for the corresponding PU of the coding target CU “target group” and “based on attribute prediction of the respective point in the target group according to the target group” can be read on.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Xu in view of Mammon with obtaining information based on attribute prediction of the respective point in the target group according to the target group as taught by Yoneoka. The motivation for doing is to optimize the process.
Regarding claim 18, Xu discloses a decoding apparatus, comprising (Page 7 paragraphs 1, 3 - Fig. 1 - The coding architecture includes invention provides a decoder and encoder, comprising: processor, memory, network interface;
the processor is connected with the memory, the network interface, wherein the network interface is used for providing data communication function; the memory is used for storing the computer program; the processor is used for invoking the computer program, so as to execute the method in the embodiment of the invention.
Page 11 paragraph last - Predicting the pixel value of the pixel point in the image block (i.e., image block i), pixel point in the image block is “ group”):
processing circuitry configured to (Page 7 paragraph first - the processor is connected with the memory “circuitry”, the network interface, to perform the following methods: ):
the target group including at least one point (Page 11 paragraph last - intra-frame prediction here refers to using the pixel value of the pixel point in the reconstructed area in the image frame (i.e., target image frame) “the target group” and predicting the pixel value of the pixel point in the image block (i.e., image block i), pixel point in the image block is “ group”) ,
determine an attribute coding mode of the target group (
Page 4 paragraph 8 - a target mode determining unit for, if the rate distortion cost of the target optimal candidate motion information is less than the rate distortion cost of the auxiliary optimal candidate motion information, then taking the first mode type is the target mode type, “determine an attribute coding mode… of the target”.
Page 12 paragraph 3 - the target mode type refers to the mode decision of participating in the image block j, from a plurality of mode types (e.g., mode type 1, mode type 2, mode type 3 and so on) selected from the optimal candidate motion information with the minimum rate distortion cost corresponding to the mode type, it can be understood that, for the image block j, pixel point in the image block is “ group”.),
obtain prediction attribute information of each point in the target group according to the attribute coding mode of the target group (
Page 27 paragraph 10 - an inter-frame prediction unit 104, for target optimal candidate motion information corresponding to the target mode type “according to the attribute coding mode”; performing inter-frame prediction on the image block I, prediction image, “obtain prediction attribute information” according to the reference image block corresponding to the image block i.
The Page 11 paragraph last - intra-frame prediction here refers to using the pixel value of the pixel point in the reconstructed area in the image frame (i.e., target image frame) “the target group” and predicting the pixel values of the pixel points in the image block (i.e., image block i), thus each pixel point in the image block is involved in the prediction “… of each point in the target group.”
Page 18 paragraph 5 - The decoder in the decoding device corresponding to the coding device can apply the inverse processing part relative to the coder in the coding device to the coded or compressed image block i to reconstruct the reconstructed image for representing the image block i. In addition, the encoder can be used for copying the processing cycle of the decoder thus “the encoding and decoding methods can be implemented interchangeably”. ),
obtain reconstruction residual information of each point in the target group based on attribute decoding of the respective point in the target group (Page 18 paragraph last - the coding device can from the image block I (current to be coded image block) subtracting the prediction block (i.e., the current to-be-coded image block corresponding to the reference image block), to obtain the residual block, “obtain reconstruction residual information”.
Page 18 paragraph 5 - The decoder in the decoding device corresponding to the coding device can apply the inverse processing part relative to the coder in the coding device to the coded or compressed image block i to reconstruct the reconstructed image for representing the image block I so the reconstruction is based on “on attribute decoding of the respective point in the target group”.
The Page 11 paragraph last - intra-frame prediction here refers to using the pixel value of the pixel point in the reconstructed area in the image frame (i.e., target image frame) “the target group” and predicting the pixel values of the pixel points in the image block (i.e., image block i), thus each pixel point in the image block is involved in the prediction “… of each point in the target group.”
), and
determine reconstruction attribute information of each point in the target group according to the prediction attribute information and the reconstruction residual information of the respective point in the target group (
Page 10 paragraph 4 - To generate the prediction block (i.e., image block i corresponding to the reference image block) “reconstruction attribute information” corresponding to the prediction image and residual error, so as to overlap the prediction image and residual “prediction attribute information and the reconstruction residual information” to obtain the image block i corresponding to the reconstruction image of the rectangular area of the A * B.
Page 18 paragraph 5 - The decoder in the decoding device corresponding to the coding device can apply the inverse processing part relative to the coder in the coding device to the coded or compressed image block i to reconstruct the reconstructed image.
The Page 11 paragraph last - intra-frame prediction here refers to using the pixel value of the pixel point in the reconstructed area in the image frame (i.e., target image frame) “the target group” and predicting the pixel values of the pixel points in the image block (i.e., image block i), thus each pixel point in the image block is involved in the prediction “… of each point in the target group.”
).
Xu does not however Mammon discloses
point cloud decoding apparatus ([0008] - a decoder is configured to receive one or more encoded image frames comprising patch images for a plurality of patches of a compressed point cloud.);
obtain a target point cloud group of a plurality of point cloud groups ([0161] - applied to pack a subset of the patches “point cloud groups” inside multiples tiles of an image frame or multiple image frames. This may allow patches with similar/close orientations based on visibility “target point cloud group” to be stored in the same image frame/tile.)
point cloud groups ([0008] - a decoder is configured to receive one or more encoded image frames comprising patch images for a plurality of patches of point cloud.);
target point cloud group ([0161] - applied to pack a subset of the patches inside multiples tiles of an image frame or multiple image frames. This may allow patches with similar/close orientations based on visibility “target point cloud group” to be stored in the same image frame/tile.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Xu with point cloud decoding apparatus; obtain a target point cloud group of a plurality of point cloud groups; point cloud groups; point cloud group; target point clod group as taught by Mammon. The motivation for doing is to reduce large amount of data.
Xu in View of Mammon do not however Yoneoka discloses
obtaining information based on attribute prediction of the respective point in the target group according to the target group ([0060] When a coding target CU is applied to intra-predictive coding, the prediction block generation unit 22 generates a prediction block “obtaining information ” for each TU by applying the prediction mode selected for the corresponding PU of the coding target CU “target group” and “based on attribute prediction of the respective point in the target group according to the target group” can be read on.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Xu in view of Mammon with obtaining information based on attribute prediction of the respective point in the target group according to the target group as taught by Yoneoka. The motivation for doing is to optimize the process.
Allowable Subject Matter
Regarding dependent claims 2, 3, 19, and 20, No art was found that could fully teach the claim as recited.
Claims 2, 3, 19, and 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closest prior art discovered is the combination of
Xu et al. (Publication: CN 111885389 A) in view of Mammon et al. (Publication: US 2019/0313110 A1), Yoneoka (Publication: US 2016/0212427 A1) and LeLeannee et al. (Publication: US 2020/0382810 A1).
However, none of the prior art cited above, nor any other prior art discovered by Examiner, fully teaches the claims above, either singly or in an obvious combination.
Regarding dependent claims 5 – 9, No art was found that could fully teach the claim as recited.
Claims 5 – 9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Xu et al. (Publication: CN 111885389 A) in view of Mammon et al. (Publication: US 2019/0313110 A1), Yoneoka (Publication: US 2016/0212427 A1) and Xiang et al. (Publication: US 2020/0382241 A1).
However, none of the prior art cited above, nor any other prior art discovered by Examiner, fully teaches the claims above, either singly or in an obvious combination.
Regarding dependent claims 10 – 16, No art was found that could fully teach the claim as recited.
Claims 10 – 16 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Xu et al. (Publication: CN 111885389 A) in view of Mammon et al. (Publication: US 2019/0313110 A1), Yoneoka (Publication: US 2016/0212427 A1) and Yea et a. (Publication: US 2020/0311984 A1).
However, none of the prior art cited above, nor any other prior art discovered by Examiner, fully teaches the claims above, either singly or in an obvious combination.
Dependent claims not mentioned specifically above inherit the deficiencies from the claims stated above on which they depend.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MING WU/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2618