Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chung (WO 2013094808 A).
Regarding claim 1, Chung discloses an apparatus (Fis. 2-3) for generating electricity from movement of a vehicle (automobile 1) having a front end and a rear end and operated by a user (Pg. 4, Lns. 170-181), comprising: a channel (air duct 100); wherein said channel has a length from a channel inlet (air inlet 110) to a channel outlet (air outlet 120), and is bordered by a channel wall comprising a top and two sides (see top and sidewalls of air duct 100; Figs. 2-3); wherein side channel has an interior that extends from said channel inlet to said channel outlet (Fig. 3 shows where air duct 100 extends from air inlet 110 to air outlet 120); wherein said channel wall is incorporated with said vehicle (Figs. 2-3); a turbine located (turbine 200) in said interior (Fig. 3); a generator (generator 300) attached to said vehicle (Figs. 2-3), wherein said turbine is in operative communication with said generator (Pg. 7, Lns. 317-322); and a battery (battery 400) in operative communication with said generator (Pg. 7, Lns. 324-326).
Regarding claim 2, Chung discloses the apparatus of Claim 1. Chung further discloses wherein said channel (air duct 100) generally extends from at or near the front end to at or near the rear end (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 3, Chung discloses the apparatus of Claim 1. Chung further discloses wherein said channel wall further comprises a bottom (see in Fig. 3 the bottom wall of air duct 100).
Regarding claim 4, Chung discloses the apparatus of Claim 1. Chung further discloses wherein there are a multiplicity of turbines (turbines 200) located in said interior (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 5, Chung discloses the apparatus of Claim 1. Chung further discloses wherein said inlet (air inlet 110) is located at said front end (right end of the car: Figs. 2-3), and said outlet (air outlet 120) is located at said rear end (left end of the car; Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 6, Chung discloses the apparatus of Claim 3. Chung further discloses comprising an inlet cover located at or near said inlet, wherein said inlet cover may be opened to allow airflow into said channel, or closed to keep airflow out of said channel (see discussion of plurality of plate shaped rotary bars controlled by switch 112; Pg. 5, Lns. 231-244).
Regarding claim 7, Chung discloses the apparatus of Claim 1. Chung further discloses wherein said channel wall further comprises a bottom (see in Fig. 3 the bottom wall of air duct 100).
Regarding claim 8, Chung discloses the apparatus of Claim 7. Chung further discloses wherein there are a multiplicity of turbines (turbines 200) located in said interior (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Chung discloses the apparatus of Claim 8. Chung further discloses comprising an inlet cover located at or near said inlet, wherein said inlet cover may be opened to allow airflow into said channel, or closed to keep airflow out of said channel (see discussion of plurality of plate shaped rotary bars controlled by switch 112; Pg. 5, Lns. 231-244).
Regarding claim 10, Chung discloses the apparatus of Claim 2. Chung further discloses wherein said channel wall further comprises a bottom (see in Fig. 3 the bottom wall of air duct 100).
Regarding claim 11, Chung discloses the apparatus of Claim 10. Chung further discloses wherein there are a multiplicity of turbines (turbines 200) located in said interior (Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 12, Chung discloses the apparatus of Claim 11. Chung further discloses comprising an inlet cover located at or near said inlet, wherein said inlet cover may be opened to allow airflow into said channel, or closed to keep airflow out of said channel (see discussion of plurality of plate shaped rotary bars controlled by switch 112; Pg. 5, Lns. 231-244).
Regarding claim 13, Chung discloses the apparatus of Claim 1. Chung further discloses comprising: a generator (generator 300); wherein said turbine (turbine 200) is in operative communication with said generator (Pg. 7, Lns. 312-315); a battery (battery 400); and wherein said generator is in operative communication with said battery (Pg. 7, Lns. 324-326).
Regarding claim 14, Chung discloses the apparatus of Claim 13. Chung further discloses wherein said channel (air duct 100) generally extends from at or near the front end to at or near the rear end (Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 15, Chung discloses the apparatus of Claim 13. Chung further discloses wherein said channel wall further comprises a bottom (see in Fig. 3 the bottom wall of air duct 100).
Regarding claim 16, Chung discloses the apparatus of Claim 13. Chung further discloses comprising: a multiplicity of turbines (turbines 200; Fig. 3), wherein each of said turbines is located in said interior (Fig. 3); and wherein each of said multiplicity of turbines is in operative communication with said generator (generators 300; Pg. 7, Lns. 312-315; Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 17, Chung discloses the apparatus of Claim 13. Chung further discloses comprising: a multiplicity of turbines (turbines 200; Fig. 3), wherein each of said turbines is located in said interior (Fig. 3); a multiplicity of generators (generators 300), wherein each of said multiplicity of turbines is in operative communication with one of said multiplicity of generators (Pg. 7, Lns. 312-315; Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, Chung discloses the apparatus of Claim 16. Chung further discloses wherein said inlet (air inlet 110) is located at said front end (right end of the car: Figs. 2-3), and said outlet (air outlet 120) is located at said rear end (left end of the car; Figs. 2-3).
Regarding claim 19, Chung discloses the apparatus of Claim 18. Chung further discloses comprising an inlet cover located at or near said inlet, wherein said inlet cover may be opened to allow airflow into said channel, or closed to keep airflow out of said channel (see discussion of plurality of plate shaped rotary bars controlled by switch 112; Pg. 5, Lns. 231-244).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and cited on PTO Form 892 is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
Conclusion
The examiner has pointed out particular references contained in the prior art of record in the body of this action for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicant should consider the entire prior art as applicable as to the limitations of the claims. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the response, to consider fully the entire references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Inquiry
/HILARY L JOHNS/Examiner, Art Unit 3613
/JAMES A SHRIVER II/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3613