DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application No. 20180125415 (Reed et al.) in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,958,586 (Preves).
With respect to claim 1, Reed et al. disclose
1 Capturing sound during a first temporal period using a plurality of different electronic devices having sound capture apparatuses, the electronic devices being stationary during the first temporal period, while separately capturing sound using at least one hearing prosthesis.
Reed teaches collecting acoustic data from a hearing prosthesis and other electronic devices used by the recipient. Reed ¶¶ [0031]–[0037], [0050]–[0058].
Reed does not expressly disclose that the additional devices are stationary and include microphones.
Preves teaches off-body devices having microphones that are spatially separated from the hearing aid and may be stationary in the environment. Preves, col. 5, line 63 – Col. 6, line 17.
2 Evaluating data based on an output from at least one of the sound capture apparatuses.
Reed teaches evaluating acoustic and contextual data to assess hearing performance. See Reed [0059]–[0068].
3 Identifying an action to improve perception of sound by the recipient based on the evaluated data.
Reed teaches identifying recommendations and actions to improve hearing performance. Reed [0030], [0063]–[0068] [0081], [0114] and [0116]
Reed further teaches hearing habilitation and rehabilitation actions (see [0008], [0089-0090], [0093-0094], [0099] [0101],[0103] and [0116])
It would have been obvious to incorporate the stationary off-body microphones of Preves into the hearing-performance evaluation system of Reed to obtain acoustic information from multiple locations and thereby improve the accuracy of evaluating hearing performance. It further would have been obvious to employ the rehabilitation actions of Reed so that the system could identify and implement specific interventions to improve hearing outcomes.
With respect to claim 22, note Col. 7, lines 10 – 26 of Preves.
With respect to claim 23, [0065 – 0066] and [0072] of Reed.
With respect to claim 24, note [0050-0058] of Reed.
With respect to claims 25 - 27, note Col. 5, lines 44-67 of Preves.
With respect to claims 28 - 29, (see [0008], [0089-0090], [0093-0094], [0099] [0101],[0103] and [0116]) of Reed.
With respect to claim 30, (see [0124] of Reed.
With respect to claim 41, note the rejection of claim 21 above.
With respect to claim 42, note the rejection of claims 22 and 23 above.
With respect to claim 43, note the rejection of claim 23 above.
With respect to claim 44, note the rejection of claim 24.
With respect to claim 45, note the rejection of claim 28 above.
With respect to claim 46, note the rejection of claim 29 above.
With respect to claims 47 – 48.note the rejections above.
With respect to claims 49-59, mirror the claims above and would rejected similarly. With respect to claim 58 and120 minute aspects. Such is obvious and could be obtained through obvious experimentation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Note the Figs and Abstracts of the additional references cited on the accompanying 892.
The official fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571 -273-8300. However, unofficial faxes can be direct to the examiner's computer at 571 273 -7484.
Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
30May2026
/WILLIAM J DEANE JR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2693