DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 8/6/2026 does not put the application in condition for allowance.
Examiner withdraws all rejections in the prior office action due to the amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Alfonso (EP4187753)
Regarding Claim 1, Alfonso et al. teaches a system for optimizing the orientation of a tracking system for PV modules [Fig. 2, 0018], comprising: a current-voltage (I-V) measurement device [MPPT I/V tracer, Fig. 2, 0018], wherein the I-V measurement device is coupled to at least one photovoltaic (PV) module, wherein the I-V measurement device is configured to measure I-V data of at least one module [Fig. 2, 0018];
and a controller [tracker-controller, Fig. 2, 0018] configured to
set the at least one PV module to one or more orientations;
receive one or more of the IV-data sets from the I-V measurement device, wherein the one
or more IV-data sets correspond to the one or more orientations,
determine an optimal orientation of the at least one PV module based at least on the one or
more orientations and the one or more I-V data sets [Fig. 2, 0018].
Regarding Claim 3, Alfonso et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Alfonso et al. teaches wherein the controller is configured to set the PV module to the optimal orientation [Fig. 2, 0018]
Regarding Claim 4, Alfonso et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Alfonso et al. teaches wherein the I-V data sets comprise an I-V curve of the at least one PV module or parameters derived from the I-V curve of the at least one PV module [Fig. 2, 0018].
Regarding Claim 5, Alfonso et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Alfonso et al. teaches wherein the parameters derived from the I-V curve include one or more of: a maximum power output, a short-circuit current, and an open-circuit voltage [Fig. 2, 0018].
Regarding Claim 6, Alfonso et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Alfonso et al. teaches wherein the controller being configured to determine the optimal orientation comprises the controller being configured to determine the optimal orientation based at least on one of the maximum power output, the short-circuit current, and the open-circuit voltage [Fig. 2, 0018].
Regarding Claim 7, Alfonso et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Alfonso et al. teaches wherein the PV module is connected to a string of other PV modules and is generating electrical power [Fig. 2, 0018].
Regarding Claim 8, Alfonso et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Alfonso et al. teaches wherein the PV module is connected to a string of other PV modules and wherein the controller being configured to set the at least one PV module to the one or more orientations comprises the controller being configured to set the at least one PV module and the string of other PV modules to the one or more orientations [Fig. 2, 0018].
Regarding Claim 9, Alfonso et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Alfonso et al. teaches wherein the one or more orientations are about a single axis or about two axes [Fig. 2, 0018].
Regarding Claim 10, Alfonso et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Alfonso et al. teaches wherein the controller being configured to set the PV module at the one or more orientations comprises the controller being configured to scan one or more orientations about a current orientation of the PV module [Fig. 2, 0018].
Regarding Claim 11, Alfonso et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Alfonso et al. teaches comprising an actuator, wherein the actuator is configured to be coupled to and facilitate the orientation of the PV module, wherein the controller is configured to cause the actuator to set the one or more orientations of the PV module [Fig. 2, 0018].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3-11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL Y SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728