Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9-16, 18-20 & 22-35 are pending and presented for examination.
Response to Amendment
Claims 7, 8 & 17 have been cancelled.
Claims 1-3, 5, 9, 18-20, 28-30 & 32 have been amended.
Claims 33-35 have been added and are presented for examination.
Rejections to claims 1, 18, 29 & 30 under 35 USC 112(b) have been introduced based on amendments to these claims.
Rejections to claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9-16, 18-20 & 22-32 under 35 USC 103 made in the prior record Final Rejection dated 4/30/2026 have been withdrawn based on amendments to claims 1-3, 5, 9, 18-20, 28-30 & 32, however new grounds of rejections to claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9-16, 18-20 & 22-32 under 35 USC 103 have been made based on new references Mashino et al. (US 2011/0249569)(herein after “Mashino”) and Gan et al. (US 7027418)(herein after “Gan”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see “Remarks”, filed 7/7/2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-3, 5, 6, 9-16, 18-20 & 22-32 under 35 USC 103 made in the prior record Final Rejection dated 4/30/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, these rejections have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejections are made to these claims in view of new references Mashino et al. (US 2011/0249569)(herein after “Mashino”) and Gan et al. (US 7027418)(herein after “Gan”).
Regarding claims 1, 18, 29 & 30, applicant submits that amendments to these claims traverse the rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 4/30/2026. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejections of claims 1, 18, 29 & 30 under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 4/30/2026. However, after further consideration, examiner introduces new grounds of rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 based on new references Mashino and Gan. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 18, 29 & 30 have been considered but are moot because the new grounds of rejections do not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 9-16, 19, 20, 22-28, 31 & 32, applicant submits that these claims traverse the rejections of these claims under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 4/30/2026 due to amendments and arguments made for claims 1, 18, 29 & 30 and due to their dependency on claims 1, 18, 29 or 30. Examiner agrees and withdraws rejections of claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 9-16, 19, 20, 22-28, 31 & 32 under 35 USC 103 made in the Final Rejection dated 4/30/2026. However, for the same reasons as discussed above, examiner introduces new grounds of rejections of claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 9-16, 19, 20, 22-28, 31 & 32 under 35 USC 103 based on new reference Mashino and Gan.
Applicant's arguments filed 7/7/2026 with respect to new claims 33-35 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. For the same reasons as discussed above, and for reasons outlined in this Office Action, examiner introduces rejections to claims 33-35 under 35 USC 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 18, 29 & 30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 18, 29 & 30 recites the limitation “wherein a first subset of parity bits of the set of parity bits is mapped only to the one or more resources in the frequency domain for which the channel characteristic fails to satisfy the threshold,”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of this review, examiner is interpreting this claim as “wherein a first subset of parity bits of the set of parity bits is mapped only to the one or more resources in a frequency domain for which the channel characteristic fails to satisfy the threshold,”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 9-14, 18, 19, 24, 26, 28-30 & 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 20200266957)(herein after “Gulati”) in view of Xiao et al. (US 2009/0028260)(herein after “Xiao”) and further in view of Mashino et al. (US 2011/0249569)(herein after “Mashino”) and Gan et al. (US 7027418)(herein after “Gan”).
Regarding claims 1 & 29, Gulati discloses a transmitter wireless communication device for wireless communication ([0006] discloses a first wireless communication apparatus that may be a first device capable of transmitting a bit sequence to a second device.), and a method of wireless communication performed by a transmitter wireless communication device ([0005] discloses a method for wireless communication by a first device (i.e. a wireless communication device) capable of transmitting a bit sequence to a second device.), comprising:
one or more memories ([0006] discloses that the first wireless communication apparatus may include memory.); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the transmitter wireless communication device to ([0006] discloses that the first wireless communication apparatus may include a processor, coupled to the memory, that may be configured to perform the functions in the disclosed inventions.):
identify one or more resources, in a plurality of resources of a communication channel, for which a channel characteristic is vulnerable ([0125] discloses that a transmitting device (i.e. first device) may determine one or more resources, for example one or more symbols, in a plurality of resources or symbols of a wireless communication system (i.e. a communication channel), which are less likely to be received correctly at a receiving device and are considered vulnerable. [0131] discloses that resource elements may not have the same quality (i.e. the same channel characteristics), and thus vulnerable symbols or resources may be identified as symbols or resources that experience interference from other traffic, or symbols or resources where a reference signal is not present and require interpolation of a channel.);
interleave a plurality of coded bits to form a plurality of interleaved coded bits, the plurality of coded bits including a set of systematic bits and a set of parity bits, wherein a first subset of parity bits of the set of parity bits is mapped to the one or more resources (Fig 5 & [0144] disclose interleaving of a plurality of coded bits including a set of higher priority coded bits and a set of not higher priority code bits (i.e. a set of lower priority bits such as parity bits). [0119] discloses that higher priority bits may include systematic bits. The set of higher priority systematic bits are shown in gray in fig 5 and the set of low priority parity bits are shown in white in fig 5. [0144] discloses that lower priority bits may be assigned to resources which are more likely to be unsuccessfully received (i.e. channel characteristic is vulnerable). Fig 6 & [0146]-[0150] disclose an example where a first subset of parity bits (i.e. white blocks in fig 6) from the set of parity bits is mapped to resources identified as vulnerable and labeled Er(v). Note that the white blocks interleaved in the Er(v) resources 635 represent a first subset of the low priority parity bits while a second subset of low priority parity bits are shown as white blocks interleaved in the Er(nv) resources 630.); and
transmit a communication including the plurality of interleaved coded bits (Fig 9 & [0173]-[0175] discloses at step 920 that a UE transmits a bit sequence that includes the plurality of interleaved coded bits.).
Gulati fails to disclose wherein the transmitter wireless communication device comprises wherein the identifying is for which a channel characteristic fails to satisfy a threshold.
However, Xiao teaches wherein the transmitter wireless communication device comprises wherein the identifying is for which a channel characteristic fails to satisfy a threshold ([0037]-[0038] discloses identifying a resource block (RB) to have a channel quality below a channel quality threshold and indicating by a 0 in a bit map corresponding to RBs whose channel quality fails to exceed the channel quality threshold (i.e. by comparing the measured channel quality to a channel quality threshold).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a transmitter wireless communication device, or a method of wireless communication performed by a transmitter wireless communication device, identify when a channel characteristic is vulnerable, as disclosed by Gulati, wherein the identifying is for which a channel characteristic fails to satisfy a threshold, as taught by Xiao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a transmitter UE, or a method for a transmitter UE to, identify symbols or resource blocks as being vulnerable when a channel quality fails to be above a quality threshold so that the transmitter UE can perform interleaving that prioritizes lower priority parity bits to be transmitted on the symbols or during the resource blocks that fail to be above the quality threshold in order to improve decoding performance at a receiver.
Gulati fails to disclose but Mashino further teaches wherein a first subset of parity bits of the set of parity bits is mapped only to the one or more resources in the frequency domain for which interference is present, wherein the set of systematic bits and a second subset of parity bits from the set of parity bits are mapped only to one or more resources, in the plurality of resources of the communication channel, for which no interference is present, and wherein a mapping algorithm used to interleave the plurality of coded bit is based at least in part on positions of the one or more resources for which interference is present, the positions including relative positions in a frequency domain (Figs 3-5, [0094] & [0097-0100] disclose a first subset of parity bits of a set of parity bits are allocated only to superposed frequency bands from f1 to f3 in fig 5B for which interference is present, wherein a set of systematic bits and a second subset of parity bits from the set of parity bits are allocated to non-superposed frequency bands where no interference is present. Fig 2 & [0090] disclose that a interleaver 120, interleaver 130 and data allocator 140 determine frequency bands (i.e. a mapping algorithm of the coded & interleaved bits to positions of frequency resources) to which the systematic bits and the parity bits are allocated.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a transmitter wireless communication device, or a method of wireless communication performed by a transmitter wireless communication device, interleave a plurality of coded bits to form a plurality of interleaved coded bits, the plurality of coded bits including a set of systematic bits and a set of parity bits, wherein a first subset of parity bits of the set of parity bits is mapped to the one or more resources, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao, wherein a first subset of parity bits of the set of parity bits is mapped only to the one or more resources in the frequency domain for which interference is present, wherein the set of systematic bits and a second subset of parity bits from the set of parity bits are mapped only to one or more resources, in the plurality of resources of the communication channel, for which no interference is present, and wherein a mapping algorithm used to interleave the plurality of coded bit is based at least in part on positions of the one or more resources for which interference is present, the positions including relative positions in a frequency domain, as further taught by Mashino. The motivation to do so would have been to have a transmitter UE, or a method for a transmitter UE to, interleave a plurality of coded bits into a set a systematic bits, a first subset of parity bits and a second subset of parity bits, wherein the first subset of parity bits are allocated to superposed frequency bands experiencing interference while the systematic bits and second subset of parity bits are allocated to non-superposed frequency bands not experiencing interference, so that the transmitter UE can perform interleaving and a mapping algorithm that prioritizes allocating lower priority parity bits to be transmitted on frequency bands experiencing interference and lower performance, and allocating higher priority parity bits and systematic bits to be transmitted on frequency bands not experiencing interference and higher performance in order to improve decoding performance at a receiver.
Gulati fails to disclose but Gan further teaches wherein the presence of interference in a frequency band may be based on a channel characteristic failing to satisfy a threshold and wherein no interference in a frequency band may be based on a channel characteristic satisfying a threshold (Fig 1A & col 6, lines 10-29 disclose that channels with a BLER exceeding a threshold (i.e. satisfying a threshold) may be classified as “good”, while channels with a BLER not exceeding a threshold (i.e. not satisfying a threshold) may be classified as “bad”, wherein “bad” channel may result from the channel experiencing noise from interference (i.e. interference present).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a transmitter wireless communication device, or a method of wireless communication performed by a transmitter wireless communication device, identify one or more resources, in a plurality of resources of a communication channel, for which a channel characteristic fails to satisfy a threshold; interleave a plurality of coded bits to form a plurality of interleaved coded bits, the plurality of coded bits including a set of systematic bits and a set of parity bits, wherein a first subset of parity bits of the set of parity bits is mapped to the one or more resources; wherein a first subset of parity bits of the set of parity bits is mapped only to the one or more resources in the frequency domain for which interference is present, wherein the set of systematic bits and a second subset of parity bits from the set of parity bits are mapped only to one or more resources, in the plurality of resources of the communication channel, for which no interference is present, and wherein a mapping algorithm used to interleave the plurality of coded bit is based at least in part on positions of the one or more resources for which interference is present, the positions including relative positions in a frequency domain, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino, wherein the presence of interference in a frequency band may be based on a channel characteristic failing to satisfy a threshold and wherein no interference in a frequency band may be based on a channel characteristic satisfying a threshold, as further taught by Gan. The motivation to do so would have been to have a transmitter UE, or a method for a transmitter UE to, determine a set of superposed frequency bands experiencing interference and with channel characteristics failing to satisfy a threshold and a set of non-superposed frequency bands and with channel characteristics satisfying a threshold, and interleave a plurality of coded bits into a set a systematic bits, a first subset of parity bits and a second subset of parity bits, wherein the first subset of parity bits are allocated to superposed frequency bands experiencing interference and failing to satisfy the threshold, while the systematic bits and second subset of parity bits are allocated to non-superposed frequency bands not experiencing interference and satisfying the threshold, so that the transmitter UE can perform interleaving and a mapping algorithm that prioritizes allocating lower priority parity bits to be transmitted on frequency bands whose channel characteristics fail to satisfy the threshold due to interference and experiencing lower performance, and allocating higher priority parity bits and systematic bits to be transmitted on frequency bands whose channel characteristics satisfy the threshold due to no interference and experiencing higher performance, in order to improve decoding performance at a receiver.
Regarding claim 2, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 1.
Gulati fails to disclose wherein the one or more resources in the frequency domain are identified at a per-resource-block (RB) resolution.
However, Xiao teaches wherein the one or more resources are identified at a per-resource-block (RB) resolution ([0037]-[0038] discloses identifying a resource block (RB) to have a channel quality below a channel quality threshold and indicating by a 0 in a bit map corresponding to RBs whose channel quality fails to exceed the channel quality threshold. [0039] discloses that the channel quality for a group of RBs may be averaged for providing a channel quality of an RBG over an entire frequency band.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 1, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, wherein the one or more resources in the frequency domain are identified at a per-resource-block (RB) resolution, as taught by Xiao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a transmitter UE identify a group of resource blocks over a frequency band of a communication channel as being vulnerable by determining that the channel quality of the group of resource blocks, averaged over the group of resource blocks, fails to be above a quality threshold so that the transmitter UE can perform interleaving that prioritizes lower priority parity bits to be transmitted during the frequency band of the group of resource blocks that fail to be above the quality threshold in order to improve decoding performance at a receiver.
Regarding claim 9, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 10.
Gulati discloses wherein the communication is transmitted in at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0168] discloses that configuration and parameters for the resource pool within which the resources are selected may be configured via higher layer RRC signaling (i.e. transmitted through higher layer RRC signaling).), downlink control information (DCI) (optional), or uplink control information (UCI) (optional).
Regarding claim 10, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 1.
Gulati fails to disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitter wireless communication device to transmit a communication that includes information that identifies the one or more resources for which the channel characteristic fails to satisfy the threshold.
However, Xiao teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitter wireless communication device to transmit a communication that includes information that identifies the one or more resources for which the channel characteristic fails to satisfy the threshold (Fig 5 & [0033] disclose a UE reporting back to a RAN a channel quality message. [0037]-[0038] disclose that the reported channel quality message may contain a bitmap indicating RBs whose measured channel quality fail to exceed a channel quality threshold by a 0 in the bitmap.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 1, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitter wireless communication device to transmit a communication that includes information that identifies the one or more resources for which the channel characteristic fails to satisfy the threshold, as taught by Xiao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a transmitter UE be able to measure channel quality of RBs, compare the channel quality of the RBs to a channel quality threshold, identify vulnerable RBs as RBs that fail to exceed the channel quality threshold, and report a bitmap back to a RAN indicating RBs that fail to exceed the channel quality threshold by a 0 in the bitmap, so that the RAN can select frequency bands covering groups of vulnerable RBs to communicate back to the transmitter UE for which the transmitter UE should perform interleaving that prioritizes lower priority parity bits to be transmitted on the frequency bands covering the groups of vulnerable RBs communicated by the RAN in order to improve decoding performance at a receiver.
Regarding claim 11, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 1.
Gulati discloses wherein the plurality of coded bits comprises a group of bits to which a linear code has been applied ([0081] discloses that the techniques to map higher priority coded bits to symbols more likely to be successfully decoded may be implemented using LDPC base graph selection (i.e. a linear code).).
Regarding claim 12, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 1.
Gulati discloses wherein the communication is a downlink communication (Fig 9 & [0173]-[0175] discloses at step 920 that a first UE 115-e transmits (i.e. communicates) a bit sequence that includes the plurality of interleaved coded bits to a second UE 115-f. [0164]-[0165] discloses that a first device and a second device may be configured for D2d communication and the first device may be a transmitting device and the second device may be a receiving device. A broadest reasonable interpretation is that the communication from UE 115-e to UE 115-f is a downlink transmission using D2D communication.).
Regarding claim 13, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 1.
Gulati discloses wherein the communication is an uplink communication (Fig 9 & [0173]-[0175] discloses at step 920 that a first device (i.e. UE 115-e) transmits (i.e. communicates) a bit sequence that includes the plurality of interleaved coded bits to a second device (i.e. UE 115-f). [0179] discloses that the second may be a base station, in which case the communication from the first device (i.e. a UE) to the second device (i.e. a base station) would be an uplink communication.).
Regarding claim 14, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 1.
Gulati fails to disclose wherein the threshold is pre-configured on the transmitter wireless communication device.
However, Xiao teaches wherein the threshold is pre-configured on the transmitter wireless communication device ([0037] discloses that the channel quality threshold may be a predetermined value.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 1, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, wherein the threshold is pre-configured on the transmitter wireless communication device, as taught by Xiao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a transmitter UE base a channel quality threshold on a predetermined value that may be defined by a standard so that the channel quality threshold does not need to be communicated to the transmitter UE which saves channel resources.
Regarding claims 18 & 30, Gulati discloses a receiver wireless communication device for wireless communication ([0038] discloses a second wireless communication apparatus that may be a second device capable of receiving a bit sequence from a first device.), and a method of wireless communication performed by a receiver wireless communication device ([0037] discloses a method for wireless communication by a second device (i.e. a wireless communication device) capable of receiving a bit sequence from a first device.), comprising:
one or more memories ([0038] discloses that the second wireless communication apparatus may include memory.); and
one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively configured to cause the receiver wireless communication device to ([0038] discloses the second wireless communication apparatus may include a processor, coupled to the memory, that may be configured to perform the functions in the disclosed inventions.):
identify one or more resources, in a plurality of resources of a communication channel, for which a channel characteristic is vulnerable ([0121] discloses that the second device may determine, based on receiving a bit sequence from the first device, that a second set of resources has a lower priority than a first set of resources in a plurality of resources of a wireless communication system (i.e. a communication channel), which are less likely to be received correctly at a receiving device and are considered vulnerable. [0131] discloses that resource elements may not have the same quality (i.e. the same channel characteristics), and thus vulnerable symbols or resources may be identified as symbols or resources that experience interference from other traffic, or symbols or resources where a reference signal is not present and require interpolation of a channel.);
receive a communication including a plurality of interleaved coded bits ([0211] discloses the second device may receive a bit sequence based on a first set of resources having a high priority than a second set of resources. Fig 5 & [0144] disclose that the bit sequence may be a plurality of interleaved coded bits including a set of higher priority coded bits and a set of not higher priority code bits (i.e. a set of lower priority bits such as parity bits) that are used to form modulated symbols. [0144] discloses that lower priority bits may be assigned to resources (i.e. symbols) which are more likely to be unsuccessfully received (i.e. channel characteristic is vulnerable).); and
de-interleave the plurality of interleaved coded bits to obtain a plurality of coded bits, the plurality of coded bits including a set of systematic bits and a set of parity bits, wherein a first subset of parity bits of the set of parity bits is mapped to the one or more resources (Fig 12 & [0212] discloses that a bit sequence decoding component 1255 at the second device may receive, demodulate and de-interleave the modulated symbols to obtain a plurality of systematic bits and parity bits (i.e. coded bits). Fig 6 & [0146]-[0150] disclose an example where the received signal contains a first subset of parity bits (i.e. white blocks in fig 6) from the set of parity bits that is mapped to resources identified as vulnerable and labeled Er(v). Note that the white blocks interleaved in the Er(v) resources 635 represent a first subset of the low priority parity bits while a second subset of low priority parity bits are shown as white blocks interleaved in the Er(nv) resources 630. Thus, the de-interleaving at the second device would be based on a first subset of parity bits from the set of parity bits being mapped to the one or more resources for which the channel characteristic is vulnerable.).
Gulati fails to disclose wherein the receiver wireless communication device comprises wherein the identifying is for which a channel characteristic fails to satisfy a threshold.
However, Xiao teaches wherein the receiver wireless communication device comprises wherein the identifying is for which a channel characteristic fails to satisfy a threshold ([0037]-[0038] discloses identifying a resource block (RB) to have a channel quality below a channel quality threshold and indicating by a 0 in a bit map corresponding to RBs whose channel quality fails to exceed the channel quality threshold (i.e. by comparing the measured channel quality to a channel quality threshold).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a receiver wireless communication device, or a method of wireless communication performed by a receiver wireless communication device, identify one or more resources, in a plurality of resources of a communication channel, for which a channel characteristic is vulnerable, as disclosed by Gulati, wherein the identifying is for which a channel characteristic fails to satisfy a threshold, as taught by Xiao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a receiver UE, or a method for a receiver UE to, identify symbols or resource blocks as being vulnerable when a channel quality fails to be above a quality threshold so that the receiver UE can perform de-interleaving knowing that lower priority parity bits received have been prioritized to be on the symbols or during the resource blocks that fail to be above the quality threshold in order to improve decoding performance at a receiver.
Gulati fails to disclose but Mashino further teaches wherein a first subset of parity bits of the set of parity bits is mapped only to the one or more resources in the frequency domain for which interference is present, wherein the set of systematic bits and a second subset of parity bits from the set of parity bits are mapped only to one or more resources, in the plurality of resources of the communication channel, for which no interference is present, and wherein a mapping algorithm used to de-interleave the plurality of interleaved coded bits is based at least in part on positions of the one or more resources for which interference is present, the positions including relative positions in a frequency domain (Figs 3-5, [0094] & [0097-0100] disclose a first subset of parity bits of a set of parity bits are allocated only to superposed frequency bands from f1 to f3 in fig 5B for which interference is present, wherein a set of systematic bits and a second subset of parity bits from the set of parity bits are allocated to non-superposed frequency bands where no interference is present. Fig 8 & [0111]-[0112] disclose that a de-interleaver 230 may de-interleave the received & demodulated signal (i.e. a mapping algorithm used to de-interleave the transmitted interleaved coded bits) to which the systematic bits and the parity bits were allocated.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a receiver wireless communication device, or a method of wireless communication performed by a receiver wireless communication device, identify one or more resources, in a plurality of resources of a communication channel, for which a channel characteristic fails to satisfy a threshold; receive a communication including a plurality of interleaved coded bits; and de-interleave the plurality of interleaved coded bits to obtain a plurality of coded bits, the plurality of coded bits including a set of systematic bits and a set of parity bits, wherein a first subset of parity bits of the set of parity bits is mapped to the one or more resources, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao, wherein a first subset of parity bits of the set of parity bits is mapped only to the one or more resources in the frequency domain for which interference is present, wherein the set of systematic bits and a second subset of parity bits from the set of parity bits are mapped only to one or more resources, in the plurality of resources of the communication channel, for which no interference is present, and wherein a mapping algorithm used to de-interleave the plurality of coded bits is based at least in part on positions of the one or more resources for which interference is present, the positions including relative positions in a frequency domain, as further taught by Mashino. The motivation to do so would have been to have a receiver UE, or a method for a receiver UE to, receive a signal with an interleaved plurality of coded bits grouped into a set a systematic bits, a first subset of parity bits and a second subset of parity bits, wherein the first subset of parity bits were allocated to superposed frequency bands experiencing interference while the systematic bits and second subset of parity bits were allocated to non-superposed frequency bands not experiencing interference, so that the receiver UE can perform de-interleaving with lower priority parity bits having been allocated on frequency bands experiencing interference and with lower performance, and higher priority parity bits and systematic bits having been allocated on frequency bands not experiencing interference and with higher performance, in order to improve decoding performance.
Gulati fails to disclose but Gan further teaches wherein the presence of interference in a frequency band may be based on a channel characteristic failing to satisfy a threshold and wherein no interference in a frequency band may be based on a channel characteristic satisfying a threshold (Fig 1A & col 6, lines 10-29 disclose that channels with a BLER exceeding a threshold (i.e. satisfying a threshold) may be classified as “good”, while channels with a BLER not exceeding a threshold (i.e. not satisfying a threshold) may be classified as “bad”, wherein “bad” channel may result from the channel experiencing noise from interference (i.e. interference present).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a receiver wireless communication device, or a method of wireless communication performed by a receiver wireless communication device, identify one or more resources, in a plurality of resources of a communication channel, for which a channel characteristic fails to satisfy a threshold; receive a communication including a plurality of interleaved coded bits; and de-interleave the plurality of interleaved coded bits to obtain a plurality of coded bits, the plurality of coded bits including a set of systematic bits and a set of parity bits, wherein a first subset of parity bits of the set of parity bits is mapped to the one or more resources; wherein a first subset of parity bits of the set of parity bits was mapped only to the one or more resources in the frequency domain for which interference is present, wherein the set of systematic bits and a second subset of parity bits from the set of parity bits was mapped only to one or more resources, in the plurality of resources of the communication channel, for which no interference is present, and wherein a mapping algorithm used to de-interleave the plurality of coded bits is based at least in part on positions of the one or more resources for which interference is present, the positions including relative positions in a frequency domain, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino, wherein the presence of interference in a frequency band may be based on a channel characteristic failing to satisfy a threshold and wherein no interference in a frequency band may be based on a channel characteristic satisfying a threshold, as further taught by Gan. The motivation to do so would have been to have a receiver UE, or a method for a receiver UE to, determine a set of superposed frequency bands experiencing interference and with channel characteristics failing to satisfy a threshold and a set of non-superposed frequency bands and with channel characteristics satisfying a threshold, and de-interleave a received, demodulated signal into a plurality of coded bits grouped into a set a systematic bits, a first subset of parity bits and a second subset of parity bits, wherein the first subset of parity bits were allocated to superposed frequency bands experiencing interference and failing to satisfy the threshold, while the systematic bits and second subset of parity bits were allocated to non-superposed frequency bands not experiencing interference and satisfying the threshold, so that the receiver UE can perform de-interleaving with lower priority parity bits having been allocated to frequency bands whose channel characteristics fail to satisfy the threshold due to interference and experiencing lower performance, and with higher priority parity bits and systematic bits having been allocated on frequency bands whose channel characteristics satisfy the threshold due to no interference and experiencing higher performance, in order to improve decoding performance.
Regarding claim 19, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the receiver wireless communication device of claim 18.
Gulati fails to disclose wherein the one or more resources in the frequency domain are identified at a per-resource-block (RB) resolution.
However, Xiao teaches wherein the one or more resources are identified at a per-resource-block (RB) resolution ([0037]-[0038] discloses identifying a resource block (RB) to have a channel quality below a channel quality threshold and indicating by a 0 in a bit map corresponding to RBs whose channel quality fails to exceed the channel quality threshold. [0039] discloses that the channel quality for a group of RBs may be averaged for providing a channel quality of an RBG over an entire frequency band.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the receiver wireless communication device of claim 18, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, wherein the one or more resources are identified at a per-resource-block (RB) resolution, as taught by Xiao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a receiver UE identify a group of resource blocks over a frequency band of a communication channels as being vulnerable by determining that the channel quality of the group of resource blocks, averaged over the group of resource blocks, fails to be above a quality threshold so that the receiver UE can perform de-interleaving based on lower priority parity bits being received during the frequency bands of the group of resource blocks that fail to be above the quality threshold in order to improve decoding performance at a receiver.
Regarding claim 24, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the receiver wireless communication device of claim 18.
Gulati fails to disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the receiver wireless communication device to transmit a communication that includes information that identifies the one or more resources for which the channel characteristic fails to satisfy the threshold.
However, Xiao teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the receiver wireless communication device to transmit a communication that includes information that identifies the one or more resources for which the channel characteristic fails to satisfy the threshold ([0038]-[0040] discloses a RAN transmitting a channel assignment to a UE that identifies an RBG, based on the received channel quality message that includes the bit map indicating which RBGs fail to exceed a channel quality threshold with a 0. A broadest reasonable assumption is that the RBG assignment by the RAN and transmitted to the UE is an RBG indicated with a 0 in the bit map (i.e. one that fails to exceed the channel quality threshold), that causes the UE to identify, using the RBG assignment communication, the assigned RBG.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the receiver wireless communication device of claim 18, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the receiver wireless communication device to transmit a communication that includes information that identifies the one or more resources for which the channel characteristic fails to satisfy the threshold, as taught by Xiao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a receiver UE be able to identify a vulnerable RBG by receiving a communication transmitted from a RAN indicating an RBG, of a plurality of RBGs, as being a vulnerable RBG that fails to be above a channel quality threshold so that the receiver UE can perform interleaving that prioritizes lower priority parity bits to be transmitted on the communicated vulnerable RBG in order to improve decoding performance at a receiver.
Regarding claim 26, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the receiver wireless communication device of claim 18.
Gulati fails to disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the receiver wireless communication device to: receive a communication that includes information that identifies the one or more resources for which the channel characteristic fails to satisfy the threshold, and wherein the one or more processors, to cause the receiver wireless communication device to identify the one or more resources, are configured to cause the receiver wireless communication device to: identify the one or more resources using the information that identifies the one or more resources.
However, Xiao teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the receiver wireless communication device to: receive a communication that includes information that identifies the one or more resources for which the channel characteristic fails to satisfy the threshold, and wherein the one or more processors, to cause the transmitter wireless communication device to identify the one or more resources, are configured to cause the receiver wireless communication device to: identify the one or more resources using the information that identifies the one or more resources (Fig 4 and [0025] & [0037]-[0038] discloses a RAN receiving reporting information concerning RB channel quality sent by a UE through a bit map that indicates a 1 when an RBG’s measured channel quality exceeds a threshold and a 0 when an RBG’s measured channel quality fails to exceed a threshold. [0040] discloses the RAN may then identify an RBG to assign to the UE using the bit map that identifies the RBG’s with measured quality failing to exceed a threshold by a 0 and RBG’s with measured quality exceeding a threshold by a 1.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the receiver wireless communication device of claim 18, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the receiver wireless communication device to: receive a communication that includes information that identifies the one or more resources for which the channel characteristic fails to satisfy the threshold, and wherein the one or more processors, to cause the transmitter wireless communication device to identify the one or more resources, are configured to cause the receiver wireless communication device to: identify the one or more resources using the information that identifies the one or more resources, as taught by Xiao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a RAN be able to receive from a transmitter UE a bitmap indicating RBGs, of a plurality of RBGs, as being vulnerable RBGs in cases where the channel quality of the RBGs fail to be above a channel quality threshold so that the RAN can identify one or more RBGs using the bitmap as vulnerable and assign vulnerable RBGs to the transmitter UE so that the UE device can perform interleaving that prioritizes lower priority parity bits to be transmitted on the vulnerable RBGs that fail to be above the quality threshold in order to improve decoding performance at a receiver.
Regarding claim 28, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the receiver wireless communication device of claim 18.
Gulati discloses wherein the plurality of interleaved coded bits is de-interleaved based at least in part on a rule indicating that the first subset of parity bits is to be mapped to the one or more resources for which the channel characteristic fails to satisfy the threshold (Fig 5 & [0144] disclose interleaving of a plurality of coded bits including a set of higher priority coded bits and a set of not higher priority code bits (i.e. a set of lower priority bits such as parity bits). [0119] discloses that higher priority bits may include systematic bits. The set of higher priority systematic bits are shown in gray in fig 5 and the set of low priority parity bits are shown in white in fig 5. [0144] discloses that lower priority bits may be assigned to resources which are more likely to be unsuccessfully received (i.e. channel characteristic is vulnerable). Fig 6 & [0146]-[0150] disclose an example where a set of systematic bits (gray blocks in fig 6) and a second subset of parity bits (i.e. white blocks in fig 6) from the set of parity bits is mapped to resources identified as not vulnerable and labeled Er(nv). Note that the white blocks interleaved in the Er(nv) resources 630 represent a second subset of the low priority parity bits while a first subset of low priority parity bits are shown as white blocks interleaved in the Er(v) resources 635. Fig 12 & [0212] discloses a communications manager that supports the transmission methods to handle vulnerable resources discussed above including a decoding component 1255 that de-interleaves the interleaved plurality of coded bits discussed above.).
Regarding claim 33, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 1.
Gulati fails to disclose but Mashino further teaches wherein the mapping algorithm is configured with a rule that causes the first subset of parity bits to be mapped only to the one or more resources in the frequency domain for which interference is present (Figs 3-5, [0094] & [0097-0100] disclose a first subset of parity bits of a set of parity bits are allocated only to superposed frequency bands from f1 to f3 in fig 5B for which interference is present, wherein a set of systematic bits and a second subset of parity bits from the set of parity bits are allocated to non-superposed frequency bands where no interference is present. Fig 2 & [0090] disclose that a interleaver 120, interleaver 130 and data allocator 140 determine frequency bands (i.e. a mapping algorithm with a rule for allocating the coded & interleaved bits to positions of frequency resources) to which the systematic bits and the parity bits are allocated.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 1, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, wherein the mapping algorithm is configured with a rule that causes the first subset of parity bits to be mapped only to the one or more resources in the frequency domain for which interference is present, as further taught by Mashino. The motivation to do so would have been to have a transmitter UE interleave a plurality of coded bits into a set a systematic bits, a first subset of parity bits and a second subset of parity bits, wherein the first subset of parity bits are allocated to superposed frequency bands experiencing interference while the systematic bits and second subset of parity bits are allocated to non-superposed frequency bands not experiencing interference, so that the transmitter UE can perform interleaving and a mapping algorithm with a rule that prioritizes allocating lower priority parity bits to be transmitted on frequency bands experiencing interference and lower performance, and allocating higher priority parity bits and systematic bits to be transmitted on frequency bands not experiencing interference and higher performance in order to improve decoding performance at a receiver.
Gulati fails to disclose but Gan further teaches wherein the presence of interference in a frequency band may be based on a channel characteristic failing to satisfy a threshold and wherein no interference in a frequency band may be based on a channel characteristic satisfying a threshold (Fig 1A & col 6, lines 10-29 disclose that channels with a BLER exceeding a threshold (i.e. satisfying a threshold) may be classified as “good”, while channels with a BLER not exceeding a threshold (i.e. not satisfying a threshold) may be classified as “bad”, wherein “bad” channel may result from the channel experiencing noise from interference (i.e. interference present).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 1, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, wherein the presence of interference in a frequency band may be based on a channel characteristic failing to satisfy a threshold and wherein no interference in a frequency band may be based on a channel characteristic satisfying a threshold, as further taught by Gan. The motivation to do so would have been to have a transmitter UE determine a set of superposed frequency bands experiencing interference and with channel characteristics failing to satisfy a threshold and a set of non-superposed frequency bands and with channel characteristics satisfying a threshold, and interleave a plurality of coded bits into a set a systematic bits, a first subset of parity bits and a second subset of parity bits, wherein the first subset of parity bits are allocated to superposed frequency bands experiencing interference and failing to satisfy the threshold, while the systematic bits and second subset of parity bits are allocated to non-superposed frequency bands not experiencing interference and satisfying the threshold, so that the transmitter UE can perform interleaving and a mapping algorithm with a rule that prioritizes allocating lower priority parity bits to be transmitted on frequency bands whose channel characteristics fail to satisfy the threshold due to interference and experiencing lower performance, and allocating higher priority parity bits and systematic bits to be transmitted on frequency bands whose channel characteristics satisfy the threshold due to no interference and experiencing higher performance, in order to improve decoding performance at a receiver.
Regarding claim 34, Gulati discloses wherein the one or more resources in the frequency domain comprise resource elements ([0033] & [0113] disclose that a set of transmission resources includes a set of resource elements, wherein a resource element consists of one symbol period and one subcarrier (i.e. a frequency domain).).
Regarding claim 35, Gulati discloses wherein the one or more resources in the frequency domain comprise subcarriers ([0033] & [0113] disclose that a set of transmission resources includes a set of resource elements, wherein a resource element consists of one symbol period and one subcarrier (i.e. a frequency domain).).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 20200266957)(herein after “Gulati”) in view of Xiao et al. (US 2009/0028260)(herein after “Xiao”) and Mashino et al. (US 2011/0249569)(herein after “Mashino”) and Gan et al. (US 7027418)(herein after “Gan”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Sadek et al. (US 2014/0269623)(herein after “Sadek”).
Regarding claim 3, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 1.
Gulati fails to disclose wherein the one or more resources in the frequency domain are identified at a per-resource-element (RE) resolution.
However, Sadek further teaches wherein the one or more resources in the frequency domain are identified at a per-resource-element (RE) resolution ([0069] discloses determining when a channel quality of a resource element falls below a quality threshold (i.e. fails to satisfy a threshold).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 1, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, wherein the one or more resources in the frequency domain are identified at a per-resource-element (RE) resolution, as further taught by Sadek. The motivation to do so would have been to have a transmitter UE identify a group of resource elements of a communication channel as being vulnerable by determining that the channel quality of a frequency band covering a group of resource elements, averaged over the group of resource elements, fails to be above a quality threshold so that the transmitter UE can perform interleaving that prioritizes lower priority parity bits to be transmitted on frequency bands covering the groups of resource elements that fail to be above the quality threshold, in order to improve decoding performance at a receiver.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 20200266957)(herein after “Gulati”) in view of Xiao et al. (US 2009/0028260)(herein after “Xiao”) and Mashino et al. (US 2011/0249569)(herein after “Mashino”) and Gan et al. (US 7027418)(herein after “Gan”), as applied to claim 18, and further in view of Sadek et al. (US 2014/0269623)(herein after “Sadek”).
Regarding claim 20, Gulati in view of Xiao disclose the receiver wireless communication device of claim 18.
Gulati fails to disclose wherein the one or more resources in the frequency domain are identified at a per-resource-element (RE) resolution.
However, Sadek further teaches wherein the one or more resources in the frequency domain are identified at a per-resource-element (RE) resolution ([0069] discloses determining when a channel quality of a resource element falls below a quality threshold (i.e. fails to satisfy a threshold).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the receiver wireless communication device of claim 18, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, wherein the one or more resources are identified at a per-resource-element (RE) resolution, as further taught by Sadek. The motivation to do so would have been to have a receiver UE identify a frequency band covering a group of resource elements of a communication channel as being vulnerable by determining that the channel quality of the group of resource elements, average over the group of resource elements, fails to be above a quality threshold so that the receiver UE can perform de-interleaving based on lower priority parity bits having been transmitted on the frequency bands covering the group of resource elements that fail to be above the quality threshold, in order to improve decoding performance.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 20200266957)(herein after “Gulati”) in view of Xiao et al. (US 2009/0028260)(herein after “Xiao”) and Mashino et al. (US 2011/0249569)(herein after “Mashino”) and Gan et al. (US 7027418)(herein after “Gan”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0213495)(herein after “Kim”).
Regarding claim 5, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 1.
Gulati fails to disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitter wireless communication device to: generate a bit string that indicates whether each resource in the plurality of resources satisfies the threshold.
However, Xiao teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitter wireless communication device to: generate a bit string that indicates whether each resource in the plurality of resources satisfies the threshold ([0037]-[0038] discloses generating a bit map that indicates a 1 when an RBG’s measured channel quality exceeds a threshold and a 0 when an RBG’s measured channel quality fails to exceed a threshold.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 4, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitter wireless communication device to: generate a bit string that indicates whether each resource in the plurality of resources satisfies the threshold, as taught by Xiao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a transmitter UE be able to generate a bitmap that indicates a 1 for RBGs that exhibit measured channel quality that exceeds a channel quality threshold and a 0 for RBGs that exhibit measured channel quality that fails to exceed a channel quality threshold so that the transmitter UE can perform interleaving that prioritizes lower priority parity bits to be transmitted on the RBGs, based on the bitmap, that are indicated by a 0 to fail to be above the quality threshold in order to improve decoding performance at a receiver.
Gulati fails to disclose code the bit string to obtain a set of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits or parity bits that correspond to the coding of the bit string; and transmit the set of CRC bits or parity bits.
However, Kim further teaches code the bit string to obtain a set of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits or parity bits that correspond to the coding of the bit string ([0065] discloses coding a 24 bit MIB bit string to obtain CRC bits that correspond to the coding of the 24 bit MIB bit string.); and
and transmit the set of CRC bits or parity bits ([0065] discloses transmitting the CRC bit string added to the MIB bit string.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 1, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, and code the bit string to obtain a set of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits or parity bits that correspond to the coding of the bit string; and transmit the set of CRC bits or parity bits, as further taught by Kim. The motivation to do so would have been to have a transmitter UE be able to generate a bitmap that indicates a 1 for RBGs that exhibit measured channel quality that exceeds a channel quality threshold and a 0 for RBGs that exhibit measured channel quality that fails to exceed a channel quality threshold, code the bitmap to obtain a set of CRC bits, and transmit the CRC bits along with the bitmap to a receiver so that the receiver can use the CRC bits to insure successful reception of the bitmap in order to understand which RBGs the transmitter UE measures to have channel quality failing to exceed a threshold and then improve performance by interleaving parity, as opposed to systematic bits, onto the RBGs experiencing channel quality failing to exceed the channel quality threshold.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 20200266957)(herein after “Gulati”) in view of Xiao et al. (US 2009/0028260)(herein after “Xiao”) and Mashino et al. (US 2011/0249569)(herein after “Mashino”) and Gan et al. (US 7027418)(herein after “Gan”) and Kim et al. (US 2018/0213495)(herein after “Kim”), as applied to claim 5, and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2021/0410191)(herein after “Wu”).
Regarding claim 6, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan and Kim disclose the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 5.
Gulati fails to disclose wherein the set of CRC bits or parity bits is transmitted in at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, downlink control information (DCI), or uplink control information (UCI).
However, Wu further teaches wherein the set of CRC bits or parity bits is transmitted in at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling (optional), downlink control information (DCI) ([0076] discloses transmitting a CRC as part of a DCI scrambled with a C-RNTI.), or uplink control information (UCI) (optional).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 5, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan and Kim, wherein the set of CRC bits or parity bits is transmitted in at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, downlink control information (DCI), or uplink control information (UCI), as further taught by Wu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a transmitter UE be able to transmit a DCI with a bit string and CRC for the bit string in the payload of a DCI in order enable a receiver to detect and potentially correct errors in receiving the bit string to improve the likelihood of the receiver correctly receiving the bit string.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 20200266957)(herein after “Gulati”) in view of Xiao et al. (US 2009/0028260)(herein after “Xiao”) and Mashino et al. (US 2011/0249569)(herein after “Mashino”) and Gan et al. (US 7027418)(herein after “Gan”), as applied to claim 24, and further in view of Stamoulis et al. (US 2010/0029282)(herein after “Stamoulis”).
Regarding claim 25, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the receiver wireless communication device of claim 24.
Gulati fails to disclose wherein the communication is transmitted according to a periodicity associated with updating the information that identifies the one or more resources for which the channel characteristic fails to satisfy the threshold.
However, Xiao teaches wherein the communication is transmitted according to updating the information that identifies the one or more resources for which the channel characteristic fails to satisfy the threshold ([0041] discloses that updated channel quality messages may be sent (i.e. transmitted) by the UE so that the RAN can determine an RBG associated with the update (i.e. associated with an updated bitmap indicating by a 0 which RBGs fail to exceed a channel quality threshold.) for communicating as the assigned RBG to the UE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the receiver wireless communication device of claim 24, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, wherein the communication is transmitted according to updating the information that identifies the one or more resources for which the channel characteristic fails to satisfy the threshold, as taught by Xiao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a receiver UE be able to identify a vulnerable RBG by receiving a transmission from a RAN with updated communication indicating a same or different RBG, of a plurality of RBGs, as being a vulnerable RBG that fails to be above a channel quality threshold so that the receiver UE can perform de-interleaving based on prioritized lower priority parity bits being transmitted on the updated communicated vulnerable RBG in order to improve decoding performance at a receiver.
Gulati fails to disclose wherein the communication is transmitted according to a periodicity associated with the updating.
However, Stamoulis further teaches wherein the communication is transmitted according to a periodicity associated with the updating ([0121] discloses receiving periodic resource assignment updates transmitted by a serving base station.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the receiver wireless communication device of claim 24, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, wherein the communication is transmitted according to a periodicity associated with the updating, as further taught by Stamoulis. The motivation to do so would have been to have a receiver UE be able to identify a vulnerable RBG by receiving periodic updated communication transmitted from a RAN indicating a same or different RBG, of a plurality of RBGs, as being a vulnerable RBG that fails to be above a channel quality threshold so that the receiver UE can continuously perform de-interleaving based on prioritized lower priority parity bits being transmitted on the periodically updated communicated vulnerable RBG in order to improve decoding performance at a receiver.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 20200266957)(herein after “Gulati”) in view of Xiao et al. (US 2009/0028260)(herein after “Xiao”) and Mashino et al. (US 2011/0249569)(herein after “Mashino”) and Gan et al. (US 7027418)(herein after “Gan”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Zheng et al. (US 2020/0021403)(herein after “Zheng”).
Regarding claim 15, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 1.
Gulati fails to disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitter wireless communication device to receive an indication of the threshold in at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, downlink control information (DCI), or uplink control information (UCI).
However, Zheng further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitter wireless communication device to receive an indication of the threshold in at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0030] discloses a threshold being configured based on received RRC signaling.), downlink control information (DCI) (optional), or uplink control information (UCI) (optional).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 1, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the transmitter wireless communication device to receive an indication of the threshold in at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, downlink control information (DCI), or uplink control information (UCI), as further taught by Zheng. The motivation to do so would have been to have a transmitter UE base a channel quality threshold through RRC configuration signaling so that the channel quality threshold only needs to be communicated once between to the transmitter UE whenever the threshold is set or changed, which saves channel resources.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 20200266957)(herein after “Gulati”) in view of Xiao et al. (US 2009/0028260)(herein after “Xiao”) and Mashino et al. (US 2011/0249569)(herein after “Mashino”) and Gan et al. (US 7027418)(herein after “Gan”), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 2022/0346172)(herein after “Zhou”).
Regarding claim 16, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 1.
Gulati fails to disclose wherein the threshold includes at least one of a spectral efficiency threshold, a capacity threshold, a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) threshold, or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) threshold.
However, Zhou further teaches wherein the threshold includes at least one of a spectral efficiency threshold (optional), a capacity threshold (optional), a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) threshold ([0009] discloses a channel quality threshold may be an SNR threshold.), or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) threshold ([0009] discloses a channel quality threshold may be an SINR threshold.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the transmitter wireless communication device of claim 1, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, wherein the threshold includes at least one of a spectral efficiency threshold, a capacity threshold, a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) threshold, or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) threshold, as further taught by Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to have a transmitter UE base a channel quality threshold on SNR or SINR in order to have a good indication of whether or not an RB may be successfully decoded at a receiver.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 20200266957)(herein after “Gulati”) in view of Xiao et al. (US 2009/0028260)(herein after “Xiao”) and Mashino et al. (US 2011/0249569)(herein after “Mashino”) and Gan et al. (US 7027418)(herein after “Gan”), as applied to claim 18, and further in view of Zhou et al. (US 2022/0346172)(herein after “Zhou”).
Regarding claim 27, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the receiver wireless communication device of claim 18.
Gulati fails to disclose wherein the threshold includes at least one of a spectral efficiency threshold, a capacity threshold, a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) threshold, or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) threshold.
However, Zhou further teaches wherein the threshold includes at least one of a spectral efficiency threshold (optional), a capacity threshold (optional), a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) threshold ([0009] discloses a channel quality threshold may be an SNR threshold.), or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) threshold ([0009] discloses a channel quality threshold may be an SINR threshold.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the receiver wireless communication device of claim 18, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, wherein the threshold includes at least one of a spectral efficiency threshold, a capacity threshold, a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) threshold, or a signal-to-interference-plus-noise ratio (SINR) threshold, as further taught by Zhou. The motivation to do so would have been to have receiver UE base a channel quality threshold on SNR or SINR in order to have a good indication of whether or not an RB may be successfully decoded at a receiver.
Claims 22 & 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 20200266957)(herein after “Gulati”) in view of Xiao et al. (US 2009/0028260)(herein after “Xiao”) and Mashino et al. (US 2011/0249569)(herein after “Mashino”) and Gan et al. (US 7027418)(herein after “Gan”), as applied to claims 18 & 30 respectively, and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2018/0213495)(herein after “Kim”) and Kwun et al. (US 7599694)(herein after “Kwun”).
Regarding claim 22, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the receiver wireless communication device of claim 18.
Gulati fails to disclose wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the receiver wireless communication device to: generate an initial bit string that indicates whether each resource in the plurality of resources satisfies the threshold; and obtain a final bit string that indicates whether each resource in the plurality of resources satisfies the threshold.
However, Xiao teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the receiver wireless communication device to: generate an initial bit string that indicates whether each resource in the plurality of resources satisfies the threshold ([0037]-[0038] discloses generating a bit map that indicates a 1 when an RBG’s measured channel quality exceeds a threshold and a 0 when an RBG’s measured channel quality fails to exceed a threshold.); and
obtain a final bit string that indicates whether each resource in the plurality of resources satisfies the threshold ([0038]-[0040] discloses a UE receiving channel assignments from a RAN that identify RBGs based on a received channel quality message sent to the RAN from the UE that includes the bit map indicating which RBGs that exceed a channel quality threshold with a 1 and RBGs that fail to exceed a channel quality threshold with a 0. A broadest reasonable assumption is that the RBG assignment by the RAN and received by the UE is an RBG indicated with a 0 in the bit map (i.e. one that fails to exceed the channel quality threshold). By receiving the assigned RBGs from the RAN, the UE obtains a final bit string that indicates RGBs assigned by the RAN and are RBGs, in the plurality of RBGs, that fail to exceed the channel quality threshold.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the receiver wireless communication device of claim 18, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the receiver wireless communication device to: generate an initial bit string that indicates whether each resource in the plurality of resources satisfies the threshold; and obtain a final bit string that indicates whether each resource in the plurality of resources satisfies the threshold, as taught by Xiao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a receiver UE be able to generate a bitmap that indicates a 1 for RBGs that exhibit measured channel quality that exceeds a channel quality threshold and a 0 for RBGs that exhibit measured channel quality that fails to exceed a channel quality threshold, and obtain a final bitmap based on RBGs assigned by a RAN that fail to exceed a channel quality threshold, so that the receiver UE can perform de-interleaving based on lower priority parity bits being transmitted on the assigned RBGs, based on the final bitmap, in order to improve decoding performance at a receiver.
Gulati fails to disclose receive another communication including a set of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits or parity bits;
However, Kim further teaches receive another communication including a set of cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits or parity bits ([0065] discloses coding a 24 bit MIB bit string to obtain CRC bits that correspond to the coding of the 24 bit MIB bit string. [0070] discloses a terminal receiving the CRC bit string added to the MIB bit string. This communication would be another communication different that the communication of the signal used to measure channel quality as disclosed by Xiao in claim 21.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the receiver wireless communication device of claim 18, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the receiver wireless communication device to: generate an initial bit string that indicates whether each resource in the plurality of resources satisfies the threshold; and obtain a final bit string that indicates whether each resource in the plurality of resources satisfies the threshold, as taught by Xiao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a receiver UE be able to generate an initial bitmap that indicates a 1 for RBGs that exhibit measured channel quality that exceeds a channel quality threshold and a 0 for RBGs that exhibit measured channel quality that fails to exceed a channel quality threshold, and obtain a final bitmap by adjusting the initial bitmap based on RBGs assigned by a RAN that fail to exceed a channel quality threshold, so that the receiver UE can perform de-interleaving based on lower priority parity bits being transmitted on the assigned RBGs, based on the final bitmap, in order to improve decoding performance at a receiver.
Gulati fails to disclose wherein the obtaining of the final bit string uses the initial bit string and the set of CRC bits or parity bits.
However, Kwun further teaches wherein the obtaining of the final bit string uses the initial bit string and the set of CRC bits or parity bits (Fig 5 and col 3, lines 50-62 & col 4, lines 12-32 disclose a receiving BTS 411 that receives a first soft bit string from an MS 10 (i.e. an initial bit string) and a second soft string of bits including only parity bits from a sub-BTS, and creates a final bit string by diversity combining the first soft bit string and the second soft bit string).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the receiver wireless communication device of claim 18, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, wherein the obtaining of the final bit string uses the initial bit string and the set of CRC bits or parity bits, as further taught by Kwun. The motivation to do so would have been to have a receiver UE be able to generate a bitmap that indicates a 1 for RBGs that exhibit measured channel quality that exceeds a channel quality threshold and a 0 for RBGs that exhibit measured channel quality that fails to exceed a channel quality threshold, send the bitmap to a RAN, and receive a set of CRC bits based on the bitmap and RBGs assigned by the RAN, so that the receiver UE can use the CRC bits to determine a final bitmap using the received CRC bits and the bitmap in order to best determine which RAN assigned RBGs have channel quality failing to exceed a threshold and then improve performance by de-interleaving based on parity, as opposed to systematic bits, being mapped onto the RAN assigned RBGs experiencing channel quality failing to exceed the channel quality threshold.
Regarding claim 32, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the method of claim 30.
Gulati fails to disclose but Xiao teaches further comprising: generating an initial bit string that indicates whether each resource in the plurality of resources satisfies the threshold ([0037]-[0038] discloses generating a bit map that indicates a 1 for each RBG whose measured channel quality exceeds a threshold and a 0 for each RBG whose measured channel quality fails to exceed a threshold.);
obtaining a final bit string that indicates whether each resource in the plurality of resources satisfies the threshold ([0038]-[0040] discloses a UE receiving channel assignments from a RAN that identify RBGs based on a received channel quality message sent to the RAN from the UE that includes the bit map indicating RBGs that exceed a channel quality threshold with a 1 and RBGs that fail to exceed a channel quality threshold with a 0. A broadest reasonable assumption is that the RBG assignment by the RAN and received by the UE is an RBG indicated with a 0 in the bit map (i.e. one that fails to exceed the channel quality threshold). By receiving the assigned RBGs from the RAN, the UE obtains a final bit string that indicates RGBs assigned by the RAN and are RBGs, in the plurality of RBGs, that fail to exceed the channel quality threshold.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the method of claim 30, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to cause the receiver wireless communication device to: generate an initial bit string that indicates whether each resource in the plurality of resources satisfies the threshold; and obtain a final bit string that indicates whether each resource in the plurality of resources satisfies the threshold, as taught by Xiao. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a receiver UE to be able to generate an initial bitmap that indicates a 1 for RBGs that exhibit measured channel quality that exceeds a channel quality threshold and a 0 for RBGs that exhibit measured channel quality that fails to exceed a channel quality threshold, and obtain a final bitmap by adjusting the initial bitmap based on RBGs assigned by a RAN that fail to exceed a channel quality threshold, so that the receiver UE can perform de-interleaving based on knowing that lower priority parity bits have been transmitted on the assigned RBGs, based on the final bitmap, in order to improve decoding performance at a receiver.
Gulati fails to disclose but Kwun further teaches receiving another communication including cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits or parity bits corresponding to the initial bit string; and wherein the obtaining of the final bit string uses the initial bit string and the CRC bits or parity bits (Fig 5 and col 3, lines 50-62 & col 4, lines 12-32 disclose a receiving BTS 411 that receives a first soft bit string from an MS 10 (i.e. an initial bit string) and receives a second (i.e. another) soft string of bits including only parity bits from a sub-BTS, and creates a final bit string by diversity combining the first soft bit string and the second soft bit string).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the receiver wireless communication device of claim 30, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, and receiving another communication including cyclic redundancy check (CRC) bits or parity bits corresponding to the initial bit string; and wherein the obtaining of the final bit string uses the initial bit string and the CRC bits or parity bits, as further taught by Kwun. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a receiver UE to be able to generate a bitmap that indicates a 1 for RBGs that exhibit measured channel quality that exceeds a channel quality threshold and a 0 for RBGs that exhibit measured channel quality that fails to exceed a channel quality threshold, send the bitmap to a RAN, and receive a set of CRC bits based on the bitmap and RBGs assigned by the RAN, so that the receiver UE can use the CRC bits to determine a final bitmap using the received CRC bits and the bitmap in order to best determine which RAN assigned RBGs have channel quality failing to exceed a threshold and then improve performance by de-interleaving based on knowing that parity, as opposed to systematic bits, have been mapped onto the RAN assigned RBGs experiencing channel quality failing to exceed the channel quality threshold.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 20200266957)(herein after “Gulati”) in view of Xiao et al. (US 2009/0028260)(herein after “Xiao”) and Mashino et al. (US 2011/0249569)(herein after “Mashino”) and Gan et al. (US 7027418)(herein after “Gan”) and Kim et al. (US 2018/0213495)(herein after “Kim”) and Kwun et al. (US 7599694)(herein after “Kwun”), as applied to claim 22, and further in view of Wu et al. (US 2021/0410191)(herein after “Wu”).
Regarding claim 23, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan and Kim and Kwun disclose the receiver wireless communication device of claim 22.
Gulati fails to disclose wherein the set of CRC bits or parity bits is received in at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, downlink control information (DCI), or uplink control information (UCI).
However, Wu further teaches wherein the set of CRC bits or parity bits is received in at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling (optional), downlink control information (DCI) ([0076] discloses transmitting a CRC as part of a DCI scrambled with a C-RNTI to a UE (i.e. UE receives the CRC as part of a DCI scrambled with a C-RNTI.), or uplink control information (UCI) (optional).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the receiver wireless communication device of claim 22, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan Kim and Kwun, wherein the set of CRC bits or parity bits is received in at least one of radio resource control (RRC) signaling, downlink control information (DCI), or uplink control information (UCI), as further taught by Wu. The motivation to do so would have been to have a receiver UE be able to receive a DCI with a bit string and CRC for the bit string in the payload of a DCI in order to detect and potentially correct errors in receiving the bit string to improve the likelihood of the receiver correctly receiving the bit string.
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gulati et al. (US 20200266957)(herein after “Gulati”) in view of Xiao et al. (US 2009/0028260)(herein after “Xiao”) and Mashino et al. (US 2011/0249569)(herein after “Mashino”) and Gan et al. (US 7027418)(herein after “Gan”), as applied to claim 30, and further in view of Kwon et al. (US 2021/0297139)(herein after “Kwon”).
Regarding claim 31, Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan disclose the method of claim 30.
Gulati fails to disclose but Kwon further teaches further comprising receiving a signal associated with the channel characteristic for the plurality of resources, wherein the signal is received on a periodic basis, and wherein identifying the one or more resources is based at least in part on the signal (Fig 8 & [0115]-[0116] discloses a UE receiving periodic CSI-RS signals that are used to monitor signal quality and determine when the signal quality is below a radio link quality threshold.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the receiver wireless communication device of claim 30, as disclosed by Gulati in view of Xiao and Mashino and Gan, further comprising receiving a signal associated with the channel characteristic for the plurality of resources, wherein the signal is received on a periodic basis, and wherein identifying the one or more resources is based at least in part on the signal, as further taught by Kwon. The motivation to do so would have been to have a method for a receiver UE to periodically measure the channel quality of a plurality of symbols or resource blocks of consecutive slots of a communication channel and continually identify symbols or resource blocks of each slot as being vulnerable when the measured channel quality fails to be above a quality threshold so that the receiver UE can perform de-interleaving on each slot knowing that lower priority parity bits received have been prioritized to be on the symbols or during the resource blocks in each slot that fail to be above the quality threshold in order to continually improve decoding performance at a receiver across the consecutive slots.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Ho et al. (US 2010/0027704) discloses a Method and Apparatus for Data Transmission Based on Signal Priority and Channel Reliability.
Jiang et al. (US 11239947) discloses Bit Allocation for Encoding and Decoding.
Tamura et al. (US 8923214) discloses a Base Station, Mobile Station, and Mapping Methods of Subcarriers.
/JAMES P SEYMOUR/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419