Priority
This Application claims the benefit of U.S. Provisional Application no. 63/426,997, filed Nov. 21, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on Feb. 23, 2024 and Jan. 9, 2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status – Response to Restriction/ Election Requirement
Claims 1-33 are currently pending. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-19, is acknowledged.
Applicant’s election without traverse of capsules and a composition comprising 500 mg D-limonene, 5 mg melatonin and 500 mg magnolia bark extract is acknowledged.
The Applicant was not required to elect only one of (i)-(iv), and the election of Group I and the composition above satisfies the Restriction/ Election requirement.
Claims 1-10, 12-15, and 18-19 are currently active and subject to examination.
Claims 11, 16, 17 and 20-33 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
“A person shall be entitled to a patent unless -
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yucel et al. (US 2020/0246404 A1, published Aug. 6, 2020).
Claim 1 is directed towards a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a first active component and a therapeutically effective amount of a second active component, the first active component being an adenosine 2a (A2A) receptor agonist and the second active component being a melatonin receptor agonist.
Yucel teaches a unit dose pharmaceutical composition comprising “about 5 mg THC, about 40 mg CBD, about 5 mg CBN, about 0.25-1 mg melatonin, about 8 mg D-limonene, and about 2 mg beta-myrcene.” (Yucel, Specification, para. [0170]). D-limonene is an A2A receptor agonist and melatonin is a melatonin receptor agonist. The compositions of the invention are administered in a therapeutically effective amount for treating or preventing a disease or condition in a subject (id., para. [0032], [0048], [0274]).
Therefore, claim 1 is anticipated.
Claim 2 is directed towards the composition of claim 1, wherein the A2A receptor agonist is D-limonene. As shown in the rejection of claim 1, Yucel teaches D-limonene. Therefore, claim 2 is anticipated.
Claim 4 is directed towards the composition of claim 1, wherein the melatonin receptor agonist is melatonin. Claim 5 is directed towards the composition of claim 4, wherein the therapeutically effective amount of melatonin is about 0.3 mg to about 20 mg. As shown in the rejection of claim 1, Yucel teaches 0.25-1mg of melatonin, which falls within the claimed range.
Therefore, claims 4-5 are anticipated.
Claim 6 is directed towards the composition of claim 1, further comprising a therapeutically effective amount of an additional active component chosen from one or more of a cannabinoid receptor agonist and a positive allosteric modulator of GABA-a receptor. As shown in the rejection of claim 1, Yucel teaches that the composition comprises THC, CBD, and CBN, which are cannabinoid receptor agonists.
Therefore, claim 6 is anticipated.
Claim 12 is directed towards the composition of claim 1, formulated for oral administration. Yucel teaches that the compositions of their invention are suitable for oral administration (Yucel, Specification, para. [0002]).
Therefore, claim 12 is anticipated.
Claim(s) 1, 4-7, 9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “CBD Sleep Gummies 30Ct Raspberry” (PlusCBD, Available on Oct. 7, 2021, as shown by publication by Wayback Machine (internet archive)) (hereinafter “PlusCBD”) as evidenced by Stollenwerk et al. (Molecules. 2021 Sep 2;26(17):5354).
Stollenwerk is cited to show inherent characteristics of the product disclosed by PlusCBD.
Claim 1 is directed towards a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a first active component and a therapeutically effective amount of a second active component, the first active component being an adenosine 2a (A2A) receptor agonist and the second active component being a melatonin receptor agonist.
PlusCBD teaches a pharmaceutical composition for better sleep comprising a therapeutically effective amount of CBD (an A2A receptor agonist, as shown below by Stollenwerk) and melatonin (a melatonin receptor agonist):
PlusCBD, p. 1-2.
While PlusCBD does not teach that CBD is an indirect A2A receptor agonist, this is an inherent property of CBD as shown by Stollenwerk: “some effects of CB1R agonists are modulated by changes in A2AR activity and that CBD can act as an indirect agonist of A2AR” (Stollenwerk, p. 2).
Therefore, claim 1 is anticipated.
Claim 4 is directed towards the composition of claim 1, wherein the melatonin receptor agonist is melatonin. Claim 5 is directed towards the composition of claim 4, wherein the therapeutically effective amount of melatonin is about 0.3 mg to about 20 mg. As shown in the rejection of claim 1, PlusCBD teaches 3 mg of melatonin, which falls within the claimed range.
Therefore, claims 4-5 are anticipated.
Claim 6 is directed towards the composition of claim 1, further comprising a therapeutically effective amount of an additional active component chosen from one or more of a cannabinoid receptor agonist and a positive allosteric modulator of GABA-a receptor. Claim 7 is directed towards the composition of claim 6, wherein the positive allosteric modulator of GABA-a receptor is magnolia bark extract, magnolol or honokiol. Claim 9 is directed towards the composition of claim 7, wherein the therapeutically effective amount of magnolol is about 50 to about 2000 mg. As shown in the rejection of claim 1, PlusCBD teaches that the composition comprises 50 mg of magnolia bark extract.
Therefore, claims 6-7 and 9 are anticipated.
Claim 12 is directed towards the composition of claim 1, formulated for oral administration. As shown in the rejection of claim 1, PlusCBD teaches a gummy, which is for oral administration.
Therefore, claim 12 is anticipated.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
“A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.”
Claim(s) 1-6, 12-14 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yucel et al. (US 2020/0246404 A1, published Aug. 6, 2020), as applied to claims 1-2, 4-6 and 12 above.
The rejection of claims 1-2, 4-6 and 12 above as anticipated by Yucel is incorporated herein by reference. As such these claims were prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 3 is directed towards the composition of claim 2, wherein the therapeutically effective amount of D-limonene is from about 100 milligram to about 2000 mg.
While Yucel only teaches a specific formulation comprising 8 mg of D-limonene, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to include between 100 and 2000 mg of d-limonene because Yucel teaches that the unit dose can comprise 1-100 mg, 100-125 mg, 125-150 mg, 150-175 mg, 175-200 mg, and >200 mg of limonene (Yucel, Specification, para. [0273]).
Therefore, claim 3 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 13 is directed towards the composition of claim 12, wherein at least one active component is formulated as a capsule. Claim 14 is directed towards the composition of claim 13, wherein at least two active components are formulated together as a capsule. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to include the active ingredients together in a capsule because Yucel teaches the unit dosage form may be formulated as a capsule (Yucel, Specification, para. [0267]).
Therefore, claims 13-14 were prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 18 is directed towards the composition of claim 1, consisting of a therapeutically effective amount of an adenosine 2a (A2A) receptor agonist, and a therapeutically effective amount of a melatonin receptor agonist, optionally an additional active component chosen from one or more of a dopamine antagonist, a cannabinoid receptor agonist and/or positive allosteric modulator of GABA-a receptor, and a cannabinoid Type 2 receptor activator, and optionally one of more non-active components selected from one or more of: a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, an aqueous or oily solvent, a dispersing or wetting agent, a suspending agent, a preservative and an excipient.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to formulate a composition consisting of a therapeutically effective amount of an A2A agonist, a therapeutically effective amount of a melatonin receptor agonist and one or more of a cannabinoid receptor agonist because Yucel teaches a composition comprising THC, CBD, melatonin and optionally one or more selected from CBN, D-limonene and/or beta-myrcene (Yucel, Specification, para. [0169-0170]).
Therefore, claim 18 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim(s) 1-6, 12-15 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yucel et al. (US 2020/0246404 A1, published Aug. 6, 2020), as applied to claims 1-6, 12-14 and 18 above, and further in view of Stark (Debra’s Natural Gourmet, Oct. 2019, p. 1-6) and Dittgen & Hoffman (The Aging Male, Vol. 1, Issue 2, 1998, p. 141-148).
The rejection of claims 1-6, 12-14 and 18 above as unpatentable over Yucel is incorporated herein by reference.
Claim 15 is directed towards the composition of claim 13, wherein at least two active components are formulated as separate capsules.
While Yucel does not explicitly teach that the d-limonene and melatonin are formulated as separate capsules, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the melatonin and d-limonene as separate capsules because they are commonly known in the art to be formulated as separate capsules.
For example, Stark teaches that d-limonene is available as 1,000 mg softgels (Stark, p. 4). For example, Dittgen teaches capsules comprising 5 or 10 mg of melatonin:
Dittgen, p. 142, Fig. 1.
Therefore, claim 15 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 19 is directed towards the composition of claim 1, selected from: (a) about 500 mg of d-limonene volatile oil and about 7.5 mg of melatonin, optionally contained within a capsule.
The qualifier “volatile oil” does not further limit the d-limonene because d-limonene is a volatile oil.
As shown above, Yucel teaches a composition comprising 0.25 mg to 1 mg of melatonin and 8 mg of d-limonene. While Yucel does not explicitly teach a composition comprising 500 mg of d-limonene and 7.5 mg of melatonin, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to include 500 mg of d-limonene and 7.5 mg of melatonin in a composition because similar amounts are commonly known in the art as therapeutically effective.
For example, Stark teaches d-limonene for the treatment of GERD and LPR (forms of acid reflux) in the amounts of 1,000 mg every other day of 500 mg with every meal (Stark, p. 4). Stark also teaches melatonin for sleep disturbance, GERD and LPR at a dose of 3 mg a night (id., p. 5). As shown above, Dittgen teaches melatonin capsules in amounts of 5 mg or 10 mg (Dittgen, p. 142, Fig. 1). Dittgen teaches that these capsules were developed to provide pulsatile delivery of melatonin for an “alternative in the treatment of circadian rhythm disturbances such as those found in sleep disorders, jet lag or shift work.” (id., p. 147, col. 2). It is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges within prior art conditions (MPEP § 2144.05.II).
Therefore, claim 19 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim(s) 1, 4-10 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “CBD Sleep Gummies 30Ct Raspberry” (PlusCBD, Available on Oct. 7, 2021, as shown by publication by Wayback Machine (internet archive)) (hereinafter “PlusCBD”) as evidenced by Stollenwerk et al. (Molecules. 2021 Sep 2;26(17):5354), as applied to claims 1, 4-7, 9 and 12, and further in view of Raederstoff et al. (WO2008006582A1, published Jan. 17, 2008).
The rejection of claims 1, 4-7, 9 and 12 as anticipated by PlusCBD is incorporated herein by reference. As such, claims 1, 4-7, 9 and 12 were prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 8 is directed towards the composition of claim 7, wherein the therapeutically effective amount of honokiol is about 50 to about 2000 mg. Claim 10 is directed towards the composition of claim 7, wherein the therapeutically effective amount of magnolol is about 50 to about 2000 mg.
As shown above, PlusCBD teaches that the composition contains 50 mg of magnolia bark extract. While PlusCBD does not teach the amount of honokiol and magnolol, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to include about 50 to about 2000 mg of honokiol because honokiol is a known active component of magnolia bark extract and these amounts are commonly included in nutraceuticals/ pharmaceuticals.
For example, Raederstoff teaches a nutraceutical comprising magnolol and/or honokiol wherein: “Preferably magnolol and/or honokiol are used in the form of an extract from the bark of Magnolia officinalis in compositions according to the invention.” (Raederstoff, Specification, p. 15, lines 25-26). Raederstoff teaches that:
A nutraceutical preferably comprises 2 mg to 500 mg of magnolol and/or honokiol per serving. A pharmaceutical may for example comprise magnolol and/ or honokiol in an amount from 1 mg to 500 mg per dosage unit, e.g. per capsule or tablet, of from 5 mg daily dose to 2000 mg per daily dose of a liquid formulation.
Id., p. 15-16.
As the amounts 2 mg to 500 mg, 1 mg to 500 mg, and 5 mg to 2000 mg overlap the claimed range of about 50 mg to about 2000 mg, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05).
Therefore, claims 8 and 10 were prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim(s) 1-5, 12-13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stark (Debra’s Natural Gourmet, Oct. 2019, p. 1-6).
Claim 1 is directed towards a pharmaceutical composition comprising a therapeutically effective amount of a first active component and a therapeutically effective amount of a second active component, the first active component being an adenosine 2a (A2A) receptor agonist and the second active component being a melatonin receptor agonist.
Stark teaches both d-limonene (an A2A receptor agonist) and melatonin (a melatonin receptor agonist) for the treatment of GERD and LPR:
Stark, p. 3-4;
Id., p. 4-5.
While Stark does not teach a composition comprising both d-limonene and melatonin, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to formulate a composition comprising d-limonene and melatonin because Stark teaches that both of these compounds are useful for the same purpose (enhancing sleep and treatment of acid reflux). It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions known for the same purpose:
"It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose.... [T]he idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art." In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980) (citations omitted) (Claims to a process of preparing a spray-dried detergent by mixing together two conventional spray-dried detergents were held to be prima facie obvious.). See also In re Crockett, 279 F.2d 274, 126 USPQ 186 (CCPA 1960) (Claims directed to a method and material for treating cast iron using a mixture comprising calcium carbide and magnesium oxide were held unpatentable over prior art disclosures that the aforementioned components individually promote the formation of a nodular structure in cast iron.); Ex parte Quadranti, 25 USPQ2d 1071 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1992) (mixture of two known herbicides held prima facie obvious); and In re Couvaras, 70 F.4th 1374, 1378-79, 2023 USPQ2d 697 (Fed. Cir. 2023) (That the two claimed types of active agents, GABA-a agonists and ARBs, were known to be useful for the same purpose—alleviating hypertension—alone can serve as a motivation to combine).
MPEP § 2144.06.
Therefore, claim 1 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 2 is directed towards the composition of claim 1, wherein the A2A receptor agonist is D-limonene. As shown in the rejection of claim 1, Stark teaches D-limonene. Therefore, claim 2 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 3 is directed towards the composition of claim 2, wherein the therapeutically effective amount of d-limonene is about 100 mg to about 2000 mg. As shown in the rejection of claim 1, Stark teaches 500 mg or 1000 mg of d-limonene, falling within the claimed range.
Therefore, claim 3 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 4 is directed towards the composition of claim 1, wherein the melatonin receptor agonist is melatonin. As shown in the rejection of claim 1, Stark teaches melatonin. Therefore, claim 4 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 5 is directed towards the composition of claim 4, wherein the therapeutically effective amount of melatonin is about 0.3 mg to about 20 mg. As shown in the rejection of claim 1, Stark teaches 3 mg of melatonin. Therefore, claim 5 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 12 is directed towards the composition of claim 1, formulated for oral administration. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to formulate the composition for oral administration because it is commonly known in the art that the active ingredients are formulated for oral administration. For example, as shown in the rejection of claim 1, Stark teaches that the drugs are taken orally, e.g. as softgels.
Therefore, claim 12 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 13 is directed towards the composition of claim 13, wherein at least one active component is formulated as a capsule. One of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to formulate at least one active component is formulated as a capsule because the active agents are known to be formulated as capsules. For example, as shown in the rejection of claim 1, Stark teaches that the drugs are taken orally, e.g. as softgels.
Therefore, claim 13 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 18 is directed towards the composition of claim 1, consisting of a therapeutically effective amount of an A2A receptor agonist and a therapeutically effective amount of a melatonin receptor agonist and optionally a carrier, solvent, dispersing or wetting agent, a suspending agent, a preservative and an excipient. As shown in the rejection of claim 1, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to formulate such a composition because d-limonene and melatonin are known for the same purpose.
Therefore, claim 18 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim(s) 1-5, 12-15 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stark (Debra’s Natural Gourmet, Oct. 2019, p. 1-6), as applied to claims 1-5, 12-13 and 18 above, and further in view of Dittgen & Hoffman (The Aging Male, Vol. 1, Issue 2, 1998, p. 141-148).
The rejection of claims 1-5, 12-13 and 18 above as unpatentable over Stark is incorporated herein by reference.
Claim 14 is directed towards the composition of claim 13, wherein at least two active components are formulated together as a capsule. Claim 15 is directed towards the composition of claim 13, wherein at least two active components are formulated as separate capsules.
As shown in the rejection of claim 1, Stark teaches capsules comprising d-limonene. While Stark does not teach that the two active component are formulated together as a capsule or as separate capsules, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to include the active ingredients together in a capsule or as separate capsules because melatonin is also known to come in capsule form.
For example, Dittgen teaches capsules comprising 5 or 10 mg of melatonin:
Dittgen, p. 142, Fig. 1.
Therefore, claims 14-15 were prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 19 is directed towards the composition of claim 1, selected from: (a) about 500 mg of d-limonene volatile oil and about 7.5 mg of melatonin, optionally contained within a capsule.
As shown in the rejection of claim 1, Stark teaches 500 mg of d-limonene (i.e. d-limonene volatile oil) and 3 mg of melatonin for the treatment of acid reflux. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to combine these components in a single composition (prima facie obvious to combine two compositions known for the same purpose).
While Stark does not explicitly teach 7.5 mg of melatonin, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to include 7.5 mg of melatonin because similar amounts are commonly known in the art as therapeutically effective. As shown above, Dittgen teaches melatonin capsules in amounts of 5 mg or 10 mg (Dittgen, p. 142, Fig. 1). Dittgen teaches that these capsules were developed to provide pulsatile delivery of melatonin for an “alternative in the treatment of circadian rhythm disturbances such as those found in sleep disorders, jet lag or shift work.” (id., p. 147, col. 2). It is not inventive to discover optimal or workable ranges within prior art conditions (MPEP § 2144.05.II).
Therefore, claim 19 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-15 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stark (Debra’s Natural Gourmet, Oct. 2019, p. 1-6) and Dittgen & Hoffman (The Aging Male, Vol. 1, Issue 2, 1998, p. 141-148), as applied to claims 1-5, 12-15 and 18-19 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (World J Gastroenterol., 2005 Jul 28;11(28):4414–4418) and Raederstoff et al. (WO2008006582A1, published Jan. 17, 2008).
The rejection of claims 1-5, 12-15, and 18-19 as unpatentable over Stark in view of Dittgen is incorporated herein by reference.
Claim 6 is directed towards the composition of claim 1, further comprising a therapeutically effective amount of an additional active component chosen from one or more of a cannabinoid receptor agonist and a positive allosteric modulator of GABA-a receptor. Claim 7 is directed towards the composition of claim 6, wherein the positive allosteric modulator of GABA-a receptor is magnolia bark extract, magnolol or honokiol.
As shown in the rejection of claim 1, Stark teaches d-limonene and melatonin for the treatment of acid reflux (GERD and LPR). While Stark does not teach that a positive allosteric modulator of GABA-a, such as magnolia bark extract, magnolol or honokiol, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to further include magnolia bark extract, magnolol or honokiol because magnolol and honokiol, derived from magnolia bark, are known to be prokinetic agents which are useful in the treatment of GERD.
For example, Zhang teaches magnolol and honokiol as prokinetic agents for the treatment of GERD:
Cortex Magnoliae officinalis is a traditional Chinese herb, belonging to "prokinetic agent" of Chinese herbs. It can improve the symptoms of abdominal distention, dyspepsia, nausea, and vomiting, etc., in gastrointestinal diseases. Magnolol and honokiol are the main components of magnoliae bark. Both can relieve spasm of smooth muscle and stop vomiting, etc. Magnolol also has an anti-allergic, anti-asthma and anti-inflammatory effect[1], and honokiol has an anxiolytic effect[2-4] and a cardiac muscle protective effect[5]. We used the isolated gastric fundus strips of rats and isolated ileum segments of guinea pigs to measure the smooth muscle tension for assessing the effects of magnolol and honokiol on the contractility of gastric fundus strips of rats induced by acetylcholine (Ach) and 5-hydroxytryptamine (5-HT), and ileum of guinea pigs induced by Ach and CaCl2. Nuclein and pigment methylene blue were used to measure the gastric retention rate of nuclein and the intestinal propulsive ratio of a nutritional semi-solid meal for assessing the effect of magnolol and honokiol on gastric emptying and intestinal propulsion.
Zhang, col. 2, p. 4414;
The emptying of solid foods is accomplished by complex interplays among intra-gastric pressure, gastric peristalses, pyloroduodenal resistance, and neuroendocrine responses elicited by the specific components of the particular meal. In this study, magnolol and honokiol could significantly decrease the residual rate of nuclein in stomach and increase the intestinal propulsive ratio of semi-solid nutritious meal in mice, and there was no significant difference between them and cisapride. Combined with the study above, the functions in improving the gastric emptying and intestinal propulsive action may relate to their functions of relaxation of gastrointestinal smooth muscles.
Disorders of stomach motility and intestinal propulsion are involved in functional gastroenterological diseases such as gastroesophageal reflux disease, functional dyspepsia, irritable bowel syndrome, chronic constipation, etc.[8], gastroparesis[9], postoperative gastrointestinal atony[10], chronic intestinal pseudo-obstruction[11], and many other diseases. Prokinetic agents such as domperidone and cisapride are important therapeutic drugs[12,13]. But domperidone and cisapride have some severe side-effects, such as prolongation of the QT interval and cardiac arrhythmias[14,15]. There are rich resources of natural herbs in China, which may provide a valuable source of effective prokinetic agents.
Zhang, col. 1, p. 4418.
As it is prima facie obvious to combine equivalents known for the same purpose, claims 6-7 were prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 8-10 are directed towards the composition of claim 7, wherein the therapeutically effective amount of honokiol, magnolia bark extract or magnolol is about 50 to about 2000 mg, respectively.
While Stark and Zhang do not teach the amount of magnolia bark extract, honokiol or magnolol for use in humans, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to include about 50 to about 2000 mg of magnolia bark extract, honokiol and/or magnolol because these amounts are commonly included in nutraceuticals/ pharmaceuticals.
For example, Raederstoff teaches a nutraceutical comprising magnolol and/or honokiol wherein: “Preferably magnolol and/or honokiol are used in the form of an extract from the bark of Magnolia officinalis in compositions according to the invention.” (Raederstoff, Specification, p. 15, lines 25-26). Raederstoff teaches that:
A nutraceutical preferably comprises 2 mg to 500 mg of magnolol and/or honokiol per serving. A pharmaceutical may for example comprise magnolol and/ or honokiol in an amount from 1 mg to 500 mg per dosage unit, e.g. per capsule or tablet, of from 5 mg daily dose to 2000 mg per daily dose of a liquid formulation.
Id., p. 15-16.
As the amounts 2 mg to 500 mg, 1 mg to 500 mg, and 5 mg to 2000 mg overlap the claimed range of about 50 mg to about 2000 mg, a prima facie case of obviousness exists (MPEP § 2144.05).
Therefore, claims 8-10 were prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Claim 19 is directed towards the composition of claim 1, selected from: (b) about 500 mg of d-limonene volatile oil, about 5 mg of melatonin, and about 500 mg of Magnolia Bark Extract, optionally contained within at least one capsule.
As shown in the rejection of claim 1, Stark teaches 500 mg of d-limonene (i.e. d-limonene volatile oil) and 3 mg of melatonin for the treatment of acid-reflux. Furthermore, as shown in the rejection of claim 19 embodiment (a), Dittgen teaches 5 mg of melatonin.
While Stark does not teach about 500 mg of magnolia bark extract, one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation of success to include 500 mg of magnolia bark extract because magnolia bark extract is commonly known in the art to be a prokinetic agent for the treatment of GERD and about 500 mg is commonly included in nutraceuticals/ pharmaceuticals.
For example, Zhang teaches magnolol and honokiol as prokinetic agents for the treatment of GERD as shown in the rejection of claims 6-7. Furthermore, Raederstoff teaches a nutraceutical which comprises “per serving an amount of 0.01 to 1 g, more preferably 0.2 mg to 500 mg of magnolol and/ or honokiol preferably in the form of a magnolia bark extract” (Raederstoff, Specification, p. 11, lines 31-33).
Therefore, claim 19 was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Given the above teachings, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious at the time of filing.
Conclusion
No claim is found to be allowable.
/HEATHER DAHLIN/Examiner, Art Unit 1629
/JEFFREY S LUNDGREN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1629