DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's preliminary amendment filed on 6/11/2024 has been entered.
Applicant's preliminary amendment filed on 5/21/2026 has been entered.
Claim 1 has been canceled.
Claims 2-9 have been added.
Claims 2-9 are still pending in this application, with claims 2 and 6 being independent.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 2-9:
the limitation “temperature detecting element” is being interpreted as conventional structure known in the art, and equivalents thereof [i.e., temperature sensors/temperature sensing elements, e.g., thermistors; fig. para. 0020: “Thermistors TH1, TH2, TH3, and TH4 serving as temperature sensing elements are disposed on a back surface of the substrate 305 in contact with a sheet (or media) passage area in the laser printer 100.”].
the limitation “conveyance reference position” is being interpreted as a center of the heater in the longitudinal direction [para. 0034: “Power to the heater 300 is controlled in accordance with the output of the thermistor TH1 disposed near the center of a media passage portion (i.e., near a conveyance reference position X described below).”]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claims 2 and 6:
The recitations of the limitation “the belt” lack sufficient antecedent basis and will each be interpreted as “the endless belt”
The recitations of the limitation “the substrate” lack sufficient antecedent basis and will each be interpreted as “the elongated substrate”
The limitation “the apparatus” lacks sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as “the image heating apparatus”
Claims 3 and 7:
The claims recite “wherein each of the plurality of the heating blocks includes heating element having a positive temperature coefficient of resistance”, and it is unclear if the claims require a single heating element or a plurality of heating elements. In view of para. 0036 [“Fig. 3B is a plan view of individual layers of the heater 300. The heater 300 has a plurality of heating blocks on the first layer of the back surface thereof that are arranged in the longitudinal direction of the heater 300, each heating block including the first conductor 301, the second conductor 303, and the heating element 302.”], claims 3 and 7 will be interpreted as reciting:
wherein each of the plurality of the heating blocks includes a heating element having a positive temperature coefficient of resistance
Claims 5 and 9:
The claims, respectively depending on independent claims 2 and 6, recite the limitation “the heating element”, which lacks sufficient antecedent basis. The claims will be interpreted as referring to the same heating element described/interpreted in corresponding claims 3 and 7. However, applicant is advised that when two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m). In this case, it seems claims 5 and 9, if referring to the same heating element introduced in corresponding claims 3 and 7, are verbatim duplicates of corresponding claims 4 and 8.
Claims 2-5 and 7-9 are also rejected due to dependence on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sakakibara (US 20110062140 A1) in view of Williams (US 20100183326 A1).
Regarding claim 2,
Sakakibara teaches:
An image heating apparatus for heating an image formed on a recording material [para. 0030: “FIG. 1 is a cross-sectional view of a fixing apparatus 6 serving as an image heating apparatus.”], comprising:
an endless belt [para. 0030: “The fixing apparatus 6 includes a cylindrical film (endless belt) 23”];
a heater provided in an inner space of the belt [see fig. 1, showing heater 22 in an inners space of the belt; para. 0030: “a heater 22 that comes in contact with the inner surface of the film 23”], the heater includes
an elongated substrate [see figs. 1, 2, 3A, showing an elongated ceramic heater substrate 22a; para. 0031: “The heater 22 includes a ceramic heater substrate 22a”],
a plurality of heating blocks provided on the substrate and arranged in a longitudinal direction of the substrate [see fig. 4, showing a plurality of heating blocks H1-H11 arranged in a longitudinal direction of the substrate]; and
a roller contacting with an outer peripheral surface of the belt, and forming a nip portion for sandwiching and conveying the recording material between the belt and the roller by sandwiching the belt together with the heater [para. 0030: “a pressure roller (nip portion forming member) 24 that forms a fixing nip portion N together with the heater 22 with the film 23 therebetween”],
wherein a heat generation distribution by the plurality of the heating blocks with respect to the longitudinal direction is variable by controlling power supplied to the plurality of the heating blocks [i.e., the conventional practice of controlling the heating response of a heater, according to a given application (e.g., to achieve a particular heating profile), by controlling the power supplied thereto; para. 0031: “The power supplied from a commercial alternating-current power supply to the heat generating resistor 22b is controlled in accordance with the temperature sensed by the temperature sensing element 22g.”],
wherein the plurality of the heating blocks includes a first heating block disposed at a position including a conveyance reference position of the recording material, and a second heating block disposed at a position adjacent to the first heating block with respect to the longitudinal direction [i.e., a central heating block among H1-H11, and the either of the corresponding adjacent heating blocks, e.g. the heating block to the left or to the right of the central heating block; see fig. 4], and
wherein the apparatus further comprising a temperature detecting element [i.e., temperature sensing element 22g]
However, although Sakakibara discloses detecting the temperature of the substrate, Sakakibara does not disclose positioning of the sensor, or of a plurality of temperature detecting elements, and specifically does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the apparatus further comprising the temperature detecting element for detecting the second heating block, the temperature detecting element is disposed in an area further from the first heating block than a center of the second heating block with respect to the longitudinal direction.
Williams, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the benefit of a plurality of temperature detecting elements, arranged along a length of the substrate, for controlling individual heating blocks/lamps [para. 0019: “The exit sensor 130 can be a plurality of exit sensors 130-133 that can sense a plurality of media sheet exit temperatures across a width of the media sheet 112, where the width of the media sheet is substantially perpendicular to the media sheet travel direction... The controller 140 can be configured to adjust fuser member settings according to the plurality of media sheet exit temperatures sensed by the plurality of exit sensors 130-133... The exit sensors 130-133 can sense the different temperatures along the width of the media sheet 112 and can adjust the nip width 123 along the length of the fuser 120 to provide consistent heat to the media sheet 112. Also, a single sensor can scan along the width of the media sheet 112 to determine the temperature along the width of the media sheet 112. Additionally, one heat lamp, different heat lamps, or all heat lamps along a length of the fuser member 120 can be adjusted according to the sensed media sheet exit temperature. The intensity of the temperature of a heat lamp, the amount of time the heat lamp provides temperature, or other heat lamp factors can be adjusted according to the sensed media sheet exit temperature...”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the image heating apparatus of Sakakibara by including a plurality of temperature detecting elements, e.g., at least corresponding to the first and second heating block of Sakakibara, such that the apparatus further comprising the temperature detecting element for detecting the second heating block, the temperature detecting element is disposed in an area further from the first heating block than a center of the second heating block with respect to the longitudinal direction, e.g., a second sensor detecting the temperature of the second heating block disposed in an area at least adjacent to the second heating block, further from a first sensor detecting the temperature of the first heating block, the first heating block being along a center of the media/media printing path, since Williams teaches this allows for controlling the heating response, thus providing consistent heat according to a size of the media.
Regarding claim 3, Sakakibara in view of Williams discloses the image heating apparatus according to the claim 2.
Sakakibara further discloses:
wherein each of the plurality of the heating blocks includes heating element having a positive temperature coefficient of resistance [i.e., Sakakibara discloses the common practice of using PTC heating elements; para. 0057: “However, the shape in the exemplary embodiment may also be used if a material with PTC having a relatively high volume resistivity can be used as a heat generating resistor.”].
Regarding claim 4, Sakakibara in view of Williams discloses the image heating apparatus according to the claim 3.
Sakakibara further discloses:
wherein each of the plurality of the heating blocks includes a first conductor disposed along the longitudinal direction and a second conductor disposed along the longitudinal direction and disposed at a portion different from a position where the first conductor is disposed with respect to a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction [e.g., fig. 2, showing conductors 22e1 and 22e2; para. 0012: “Further, the present invention provides a heater including a substrate, a first conductor provided on the substrate along a longitudinal direction, a second conductor provided on the substrate along the longitudinal direction at a position different from that of the first conductor in a substrate lateral direction, and a resistor connected between the first conductor and the second conductor…”], and
wherein the heating element is disposed between the first conductor and the second conductor with respect to the direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction, and is electrically connected to the first conductor and the second conductor [e.g., fig. 2, showing resistors 22b connected between the first and second conductors].
Regarding claim 5, Sakakibara in view of Williams discloses the image heating apparatus according to the claim 2.
Sakakibara further discloses:
wherein each of the plurality of the heating blocks includes a first conductor disposed along the longitudinal direction and a second conductor disposed along the longitudinal direction and disposed at a portion different from a position where the first conductor is disposed with respect to a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction [e.g., fig. 2, showing conductors 22e1 and 22e2; para. 0012: “Further, the present invention provides a heater including a substrate, a first conductor provided on the substrate along a longitudinal direction, a second conductor provided on the substrate along the longitudinal direction at a position different from that of the first conductor in a substrate lateral direction, and a resistor connected between the first conductor and the second conductor…”], and
wherein the heating element is disposed between the first conductor and the second conductor with respect to the direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction, and is electrically connected to the first conductor and the second conductor [e.g., fig. 2, showing resistors 22b connected between the first and second conductors].
Regarding claim 6,
Sakakibara teaches:
An image heating apparatus for heating an image formed on a recording material [para. 0030: “FIG. 1 is a cross-sectional view of a fixing apparatus 6 serving as an image heating apparatus.”], comprising:
an endless belt [para. 0030: “The fixing apparatus 6 includes a cylindrical film (endless belt) 23”];
a heater provided in an inner space of the belt [see fig. 1, showing heater 22 in an inners space of the belt; para. 0030: “a heater 22 that comes in contact with the inner surface of the film 23”], the heater includes
an elongated substrate [see figs. 1, 2, 3A, showing an elongated ceramic heater substrate 22a; para. 0031: “The heater 22 includes a ceramic heater substrate 22a”],
a plurality of heating blocks provided on the substrate and arranged in a longitudinal direction of the substrate [see fig. 4, showing a plurality of heating blocks H1-H11 arranged in a longitudinal direction of the substrate]; and
a roller contacting with an outer peripheral surface of the belt, and forming a nip portion for sandwiching and conveying the recording material between the belt and the roller by sandwiching the belt together with the heater [para. 0030: “a pressure roller (nip portion forming member) 24 that forms a fixing nip portion N together with the heater 22 with the film 23 therebetween”],
wherein a heat generation distribution by the plurality of the heating blocks with respect to the longitudinal direction is variable by controlling power supplied to the plurality of the heating blocks [i.e., the conventional practice of controlling the heating response of a heater, according to a given application (e.g., to achieve a particular heating profile), by controlling the power supplied thereto; para. 0031: “The power supplied from a commercial alternating-current power supply to the heat generating resistor 22b is controlled in accordance with the temperature sensed by the temperature sensing element 22g.”],
wherein the plurality of the heating blocks includes a first heating block disposed at a position including a conveyance reference position of the recording material, and a second heating block disposed at a position adjacent to the first heating block with respect to the longitudinal direction [i.e., a central heating block among H1-H11, and the either of the corresponding adjacent heating blocks, e.g. the heating block to the left or to the right of the central heating block; see fig. 4], and
wherein the apparatus further comprising a temperature detecting element [i.e., temperature sensing element 22g]
However, although Sakakibara discloses detecting the temperature of the substrate, Sakakibara does not disclose positioning of the sensor, or of a plurality of temperature detecting elements, and specifically does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the apparatus further comprising the temperature detecting element for detecting the second heating block, the temperature detecting element being disposed, with respect to the longitudinal direction, at a position closer to an end of the second heating block opposite from an end of the second heating block on a side of the conveyance reference position than to the end of the second heating block on the side of the conveyance reference position.
Williams, in the same field of endeavor, teaches the benefit of a plurality of temperature detecting elements, arranged along a length of the substrate, for controlling individual heating blocks/lamps [para. 0019: “The exit sensor 130 can be a plurality of exit sensors 130-133 that can sense a plurality of media sheet exit temperatures across a width of the media sheet 112, where the width of the media sheet is substantially perpendicular to the media sheet travel direction... The controller 140 can be configured to adjust fuser member settings according to the plurality of media sheet exit temperatures sensed by the plurality of exit sensors 130-133... The exit sensors 130-133 can sense the different temperatures along the width of the media sheet 112 and can adjust the nip width 123 along the length of the fuser 120 to provide consistent heat to the media sheet 112. Also, a single sensor can scan along the width of the media sheet 112 to determine the temperature along the width of the media sheet 112. Additionally, one heat lamp, different heat lamps, or all heat lamps along a length of the fuser member 120 can be adjusted according to the sensed media sheet exit temperature. The intensity of the temperature of a heat lamp, the amount of time the heat lamp provides temperature, or other heat lamp factors can be adjusted according to the sensed media sheet exit temperature...”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the image heating apparatus of Sakakibara by including a plurality of temperature detecting elements, e.g., at least corresponding to the first and second heating block of Sakakibara, such that the apparatus further comprising the temperature detecting element for detecting the second heating block, the temperature detecting element being disposed, with respect to the longitudinal direction, at a position closer to an end of the second heating block opposite from an end of the second heating block on a side of the conveyance reference position than to the end of the second heating block on the side of the conveyance reference position, e.g., a second sensor detecting the temperature of the second heating block disposed in an area at least adjacent to the second heating block, further from a first sensor detecting the temperature of the first heating block, the first heating block being along a center of the media/media printing path, since Williams teaches this allows for controlling the heating response, thus providing consistent heat according to a size of the media.
Regarding claim 7, Sakakibara in view of Williams discloses the image heating apparatus according to the claim 6.
Sakakibara further discloses:
wherein each of the plurality of the heating blocks includes heating element having a positive temperature coefficient of resistance [i.e., Sakakibara discloses the common practice of using PTC heating elements; para. 0057: “However, the shape in the exemplary embodiment may also be used if a material with PTC having a relatively high volume resistivity can be used as a heat generating resistor.”].
Regarding claim 8, Sakakibara in view of Williams discloses the image heating apparatus according to the claim 7.
Sakakibara further discloses:
wherein each of the plurality of the heating blocks includes a first conductor disposed along the longitudinal direction and a second conductor disposed along the longitudinal direction and disposed at a portion different from a position where the first conductor is disposed with respect to a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction [e.g., fig. 2, showing conductors 22e1 and 22e2; para. 0012: “Further, the present invention provides a heater including a substrate, a first conductor provided on the substrate along a longitudinal direction, a second conductor provided on the substrate along the longitudinal direction at a position different from that of the first conductor in a substrate lateral direction, and a resistor connected between the first conductor and the second conductor…”], and
wherein the heating element is disposed between the first conductor and the second conductor with respect to the direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction, and is electrically connected to the first conductor and the second conductor [e.g., fig. 2, showing resistors 22b connected between the first and second conductors].
Regarding claim 9, Sakakibara in view of Williams discloses the image heating apparatus according to the claim 6.
Sakakibara further discloses:
wherein each of the plurality of the heating blocks includes a first conductor disposed along the longitudinal direction and a second conductor disposed along the longitudinal direction and disposed at a portion different from a position where the first conductor is disposed with respect to a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction [e.g., fig. 2, showing conductors 22e1 and 22e2; para. 0012: “Further, the present invention provides a heater including a substrate, a first conductor provided on the substrate along a longitudinal direction, a second conductor provided on the substrate along the longitudinal direction at a position different from that of the first conductor in a substrate lateral direction, and a resistor connected between the first conductor and the second conductor…”], and
wherein the heating element is disposed between the first conductor and the second conductor with respect to the direction perpendicular to the longitudinal direction, and is electrically connected to the first conductor and the second conductor [e.g., fig. 2, showing resistors 22b connected between the first and second conductors].
Conclusion
/THEODORE J EVANGELISTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761