DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Amendment filed 27 July 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1, 7, 15, 17, and 18 have been amended. Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 9, 10, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2018/0337223, hereinafter Lee ‘223) of record in view of Qin (US Patent Application Publication 2023/0307460, hereinafter Qin ‘460).
With respect to claim 1, Lee ‘223 teaches (FIG. 5) a display device substantially as claimed, comprising:
a substrate (110 and 500) including a display area (DA) and a non-display area (NA) adjacent to the display area, the non-display area including a bending area (BA) ([0039, 0045]);
a plurality of wirings (179a; described as a plurality as shown in FIGs. 3 and 4) formed in the bending area (BA) ([0059]); and
a micro cover (360) layer formed on the plurality of wirings (179a) ([0081]),
wherein a groove (portion of substrate 110 and 500 removed the bending area BA) is formed on the substrate (110 and 500) and overlapped with the micro cover layer (360) ([0085]).
Thus, Lee ‘223 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of:
wherein the substrate includes a first substrate, a second substrate disposed on the first substrate, and an inorganic film disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate, and
wherein the groove is positioned under the inorganic film.
However, Qin ‘460 teaches (FIG. 2) a display panel comprising a first substrate (1311), a second substrate (1313) disposed on the first substrate, and an inorganic film (1312) disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate, wherein a groove (G) is positioned under the inorganic film ([0042, 0056]) to effectively improve the bending yield of the display panel bending area and ensure a better bending effect ([0004, 0023, 0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the substrate of Lee ‘223 including a first substrate, a second substrate disposed on the first substrate, and an inorganic film disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate, and wherein the groove is positioned under the inorganic film as taught by Qin ‘460 to effectively improve the bending yield of the display panel bending area and ensure a better bending effect.
With respect to claim 2, Lee ‘223 teaches wherein the plurality of wirings (179a) are formed between the groove (portion of substrate 110 and 500 removed the bending area BA) and the micro cover layer (360) ([0059]).
With respect to claim 3, Lee ‘223 teaches wherein each of the groove (portion of substrate 110 and 500 removed the bending area BA) and the micro cover layer (360) is overlapped with the plurality of wirings (179a) ([0081, 0085]).
With respect to claim 4, Lee ‘223 teaches wherein at least one of the groove (portion of substrate 110 and 500 removed the bending area BA) and the micro cover layer is formed in an island shape ([0085]).
With respect to claim 5, Lee ‘223 teaches wherein the display area (DA) includes: a plurality of transistors (defined by semiconductor layer 154) formed on the substrate (110 and 500) ([0063]); a light emitting element (defined by emission member 370) electrically connected to at least one of the plurality of transistors ([0082]); and a bank (360) configured to define a light emitting area of the light emitting element ([0081]).
With respect to claim 9, Lee ‘223 teaches wherein a width of the groove (portion of substrate 110 and 500 removed the bending area BA) is equal to or greater than a width of the bending area (BA) ([0085]).
With respect to claim 10, Lee ‘223 teaches further comprising an insulating layer (180b) formed between the plurality of wirings (179a) and the micro cover layer (360) in the bending area (BA) ([0074-0075]).
With respect to claim 13, Lee ‘223 and Qin ‘460 teach the device as described in claim 1 above, but primary reference Lee ‘223 does not explicitly teach the additional limitation wherein the groove has a tapered shape.
However, Qin ‘460 teaches (FIG. 2) a display panel comprising a groove (G) having a tapered shape ([0042]) to effectively improve the bending yield of the display panel bending area and ensure a better bending effect ([0004, 0023, 0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the groove of Lee ‘223 and Qin ‘460 having a tapered shape as taught by Qin ‘460 to effectively improve the bending yield of the display panel bending area and ensure a better bending effect.
With respect to claim 14, Lee ‘223 teaches further comprising a planarization layer (180a) formed in the bending area (BA) to cover the plurality of wirings (179a), wherein the planarization layer extends from the display area (DA) ([0073]).
With respect to claim 15, Lee ‘223 teaches wherein the micro cover layer (360) is disposed on the planarization layer (180a) ([0081]).
With respect to claim 16, Lee ‘223 teaches wherein the plurality of wirings (179a) formed in the bending area (BA) are formed of a same metal layer as a source electrode (173) or a drain electrode (175) of one of the plurality of transistors (defined by semiconductor layer 154) formed in the display area (DA) ([0067]).
Claims 6, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee ‘223 and Qin ‘460 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim (US Patent Application Publication 2019/0035869, hereinafter Kim ‘869) of record.
With respect to claim 6, Lee ‘223 and Qin ‘460 teach the device as described in claim 1 above with the exception of the additional limitation wherein the substrate has a first thickness in the display area and a second thickness in the bending area.
However, Kim ‘869 teaches (FIG. 5) a substrate (100) having a first thickness in a display area (AA) and a second thickness in a bending area (BA) ([0033, 0070]) to minimize a crack of a routing line to enable an extreme bending ([0007]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the display device of Lee ‘223 and Qin ‘460 wherein the substrate has a first thickness in the display area and a second thickness in the bending area as taught by Kim ‘869 to minimize a crack of a routing line to enable an extreme bending.
With respect to claims 11 and 12, Lee ‘223 and Qin ‘460 teach the device as described in claim 1 above with the exception of the additional limitations wherein the insulating layer and the bank include a same material; and wherein the insulating layer further includes a spacer on the bank.
However, Kim ‘869 teaches (FIG. 5) an insulating layer (140b) formed between a plurality of wirings (210) and a micro cover layer (230) in a bending area (BA), wherein the insulating layer and a bank (140a and 150a) include a same material, and wherein the insulating layer further includes a spacer (150a) on the bank in an arrangement that prevents a dark spot defect from occurring ([0034, 0048, 0060]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the display device of Lee ‘223 and Qin ‘460 wherein the insulating layer and the bank include a same material; and wherein the insulating layer further includes a spacer on the bank as taught by Kim ‘869 to prevent a dark spot defect from occurring.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee ‘223 and Qin ‘460 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Han et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2017/0263887, hereinafter Han ‘887).
With respect to claims 7 and 8, Lee ‘223 and Qin ‘460 teach the device as described in claim 1 above with the exception of the additional limitations wherein only the second substrate among the first substrate and the second substrate is disposed in the bending area; and wherein the substrate is formed in the display area in a double-layer structure and formed in the non-display area in a single-layer structure.
However, Han ‘887 teaches (FIG. 4) wherein only a second substrate (100) among a first substrate (170) and the second substrate is disposed in a bending area (BA) such that a substrate (100, 170, and 180) is formed in a display area (DA) in a double-layer structure and formed in a non-display area (“non-display area”) in a single-layer structure ([0050-0053]) to prevent separation of said first substrate from said second substrate ([0083]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the display device of Lee ‘223 and Qin ‘460 wherein only the second substrate among the first substrate and the second substrate is disposed in the bending area; and wherein the substrate is formed in the display area in a double-layer structure and formed in the non-display area in a single-layer structure as taught by Han ‘887 to prevent separation of said first substrate from said second substrate.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee ‘223 and Qin ‘460 as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Chang et al. (US Patent Application Publication 2021/0082970, hereinafter Chang ‘970) of record.
With respect to claim 17, Lee ‘223 and Qin ‘460 teach the device as described in claim 5 above with the exception of the additional limitation wherein a connection electrode of the display area extends to the non-display area to overlap the groove, and wherein the connection electrode is connected to an electrode of one of the plurality of transistors through a contact hole.
However, Chang ‘970 teaches (FIG. 3C) a connection electrode (40A) of a display area (2) extending to a non-display area (3) to overlap a groove (12), and wherein the connection electrode is connected to an electrode (portion of 40A extending though inorganic insulating layer 80) of one of a plurality of transistors (transistor shown in display area 2) through a contact hole (hole in inorganic insulating layer 80) ([0025-0026]) to provide electrical connection to an active device disposed in said display area ([0027]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the display device of Lee ‘223 and Qin ‘460 wherein a connection electrode of the display area extends to the non-display area to overlap the groove, and wherein the connection electrode is connected to an electrode of one of the plurality of transistors through a contact hole as taught by Chang ‘970 to provide electrical connection to an active device disposed in said display area.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee ‘223 in view of Kim ‘869 and Qin ‘460.
With respect to claim 18, Lee ‘223 teaches (FIG. 5) a display device substantially as claimed, comprising:
a substrate (110 and 500) including a display area (DA) and a non-display area (NA) adjacent to the display area, the non-display area including a bending area (BA) ([0039, 0045]);
at least one wiring (179a) formed in the bending area (BA) ([0059]); and
a groove (portion of substrate 110 and 500 removed the bending area BA) formed to be overlapped with the bending area (BA) of the substrate (110 and 500) ([0085]).
Thus, Lee ‘223 is shown to teach all the features of the claim with the exception of:
wherein a neutral plane of the bending area is positioned on the at least one wiring or adjacent to the at least one wiring by the groove disposed to be overlapped with a partial area of the at least one wiring;
wherein the substrate includes a first substrate, a second substrate disposed on the first substrate, and an inorganic film disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate, and
wherein the groove is positioned under the inorganic film.
However, Kim ‘869 teaches (FIGs. 4 and 5) a neutral plane (NP) of a bending area (BA) positioned on at least one wiring (210) or adjacent to the at least one wiring by a groove (220) disposed to be overlapped with a partial area of the at least one wiring ([0034, 0070, 0074]) to minimize a crack of a routing line to enable an extreme bending ([0007]).
Further, Qin ‘460 teaches (FIG. 2) a display panel comprising a first substrate (1311), a second substrate (1313) disposed on the first substrate, and an inorganic film (1312) disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate, wherein a groove (G) is positioned under the inorganic film ([0042, 0056]) to effectively improve the bending yield of the display panel bending area and ensure a better bending effect ([0004, 0023, 0049]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed a neutral plane of the bending area of Lee ‘223 positioned on the at least one wiring or adjacent to the at least one wiring by the groove disposed to be overlapped with a partial area of the at least one wiring as taught by Kim ‘869 to minimize a crack of a routing line to enable an extreme bending; and to have formed the substrate of Lee ‘223 including a first substrate, a second substrate disposed on the first substrate, and an inorganic film disposed between the first substrate and the second substrate, and wherein the groove is positioned under the inorganic film as taught by Qin ‘460 to effectively improve the bending yield of the display panel bending area and ensure a better bending effect.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s amendments to claim 17 are sufficient to overcome the objection to the drawings made in the non-final rejection filed 5 May 2026. The objection to the drawings has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 7, 15, and 18 are sufficient to overcome the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 7, 15, and 18 made in the non-final rejection filed 5 May 2026. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 7, 15, and 18 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.M.R./Examiner, Art Unit 2893
/YARA B GREEN/Supervisor Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893