DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a final rejection on the merits.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 06/02/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 8, 10-12, and 17-18 have been amended, Claims 15-16 have been canceled, and Claims 2-7, 9, 13-14, and 19-20 remain as previously presented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-9, 12-14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata et al. (US 4674228 A) in view of Zhao et al. (CN 114667919 A) and Vollmer (WO 2023225361 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Murata teaches a method for growing aerial mycelium (See Claim 1; The invention is drawn to a process for growing a uniform, concentrated layer of mature aerial mycelium.), comprising the steps of:
Providing a growth matrix (1) within a growth environment (shown in Fig. 2), the growth matrix comprising a growth medium and a fungus (See Claim 1; A bed block growth matrix is placed in a growth environment. This bed block growth matrix comprises a growth medium that is inoculated with a fungus and subsequently incubated to allow the mycelium to run.); and
Introducing airborne mist into the growth environment (See Claim 1, Fig. 2, Column 5 Lines 55-67, and Column 6 Lines 1-5; A spray nozzle or sprinkler 12 is used to introduce airborne mist of water into the growth environment.).
However, the method of Murata fails to explicitly state that the method further comprises the step of electronically detecting an airborne mist concentration value within a portion of the growth environment using an optical sensor combined with a heating element, wherein the airborne mist concentration value comprises an oxygen content, a carbon dioxide content, a nitrogen content, a water content, a temperature, a humidity, a misting condition, or a combination thereof.
Zhao teaches a method for growing plants comprising the step of electronically detecting an airborne mist concentration value within a portion of the growth environment (stated in Pg. 3; The system comprises an aerosol sensor 12 that detects an airborne mist concentration within portions of the growth environment shown in Fig. 1.), wherein the airborne mist concentration value comprises an oxygen content, a carbon dioxide content, a nitrogen content, a water content, a temperature, a humidity, a misting condition, or a combination thereof (stated in Pg. 4; The system comprises a sensor module 9 that comprises a temperature sensing module and a humidity sensing module.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Murata to include the step of electronically detecting an airborne mist concentration value within a portion of the growth environment, wherein the airborne mist concentration value comprises an oxygen content, a carbon dioxide content, a nitrogen content, a water content, a temperature, a humidity, a misting condition, or a combination thereof as taught by Zhao with reasonable expectation of success to maintain proper aerosol concentration and maintain the normal growth of the plant (Zhao, Pg. 3).
The method of Murata as modified by Zhao teaches the claimed invention except for the fact that the airborne mist concentration value within a portion of the growth environment is electronically detected using an optical sensor combined with a heating element. Vollmer teaches in the same field of endeavor as applicant’s invention (Abstract and ¶2 state that the invention is drawn to systems and devices for mushroom specimen propagation.), the system of Vollmer teaches a system (100) that executes a step of electronically detecting an airborne mist concentration value within a portion of the growth environment using an optical sensor combined with a heating element (See ¶44 and Fig. 3B; The system 100 comprises an atmospheric sensor that is a carbon dioxide sensor 136. This sensor electronically detects an airborne mist concentration value within a portion of the growth environment 300b. ¶44 further states that the carbon dioxide sensor is a non-dispersive infrared (NDIR) sensor, which is an optical gas sensor that contains a heating element.). It would have been an obvious substitution of functional equivalents to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to substitute the electronic detection means of the method of Murata as modified by Zhao with an optical sensor combined with a heating element to allow the user to propagate a variety of specimens (Vollmer, ¶29), since a simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1739, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 1396 (2007).
Regarding Claim 2, the method of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
The method of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer teaches the invention except for the fact that the portion of the growth environment comprises between 0.01% to 100% of a total volume of the growth environment total volume. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have the portion of the growth environment of the method of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer comprise between 0.01% to 100% of a total volume of the growth environment total volume to maintain proper aerosol concentration at desired portions of the growth environment, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding Claim 3, the method of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Zhao further teaches the step of controlling an airborne mist concentration level within the portion of the growth environment in response to the airborne mist concentration value (stated in Pg. 3; A control device receives the airborne mist concentration value in a portion of the growth environment shown in Fig. 1 from aerosol sensor 12 and controls to atomizing nozzle 11 to increase the airborne mist concentration level and keep the aerosol concentration at a normal level.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer to include the step of controlling an airborne mist concentration level within the portion of the growth environment in response to the airborne mist concentration value as taught by Zhao with reasonable expectation of success to maintain proper aerosol concentration and maintain the normal growth of the plant (Zhao, Pg. 3).
Regarding Claim 4, the method of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 3.
Zhao further teaches the controlling step comprises at least one of: increasing an amount of airborne mist within the portion of the growth environment when the airborne mist concentration value is below a first value; and decreasing an amount of airborne mist within the portion of the growth environment when the airborne mist concentration value is above a second value (stated in Pg. 3; A control device activates the atomizing nozzle 11 to increase the airborne mist concentration level when the aerosol concentration is below a first desired normal level.).
Regarding Claim 5, the method of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 4.
Zhao further teaches:
A step of increasing the amount of airborne mist within the portion of the growth environment, wherein the step of increasing the amount of airborne mist within the portion of the growth environment comprises introducing mist into the portion of the growth environment through a growth environment inlet (stated in Pg. 3; A control device activates the atomizing inlet nozzle 11 which introduces aerosol mist into the portion of the growth environment shown in Fig. 1. This step increases the amount of airborne mist within the portion of the growth environment.); and
Decreasing the amount of airborne mist within the portion of the growth environment comprises at least one of: (1) stopping an introduction of airborne mist into the portion of the growth environment during the introducing step; (2) reducing a rate of mist being introduced into the portion of the growth environment during the introducing step; (3) pausing the introduction of airborne mist into the portion of the growth environment during the introducing step; and (4) removing mist from the portion of the growth environment through a growth environment outlet (stated in Pg. 3; Because the control device is designed to keep the airborne mist concentration at a normal level and the control device also controls the atomizing inlet nozzle 11, the control device would stop the atomizing inlet nozzle 11 from introducing more airborne mist into the portion of the growth environment during the introducing step once the desired level of airborne mist concentration is detected.).
Regarding Claim 8, the method of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Zhao further teaches that the electronically detecting step comprises detecting the airborne mist concentration value with at least one sensor (12) located within the portion of the growth environment (stated in Pg. 3 and shown in Fig. 1; Aerosol sensor 12 is located within the portion of the growth environment and detects the airborne mist concentration value.).
Regarding Claim 9, the method of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 1.
Zhao further teaches that the electronically detecting step comprises detecting the airborne mist concentration value from a plurality of sensors located in one or more portions of the growth environment (stated in Pg. 3 and shown in Fig. 1; A plurality of aerosol sensors 12 is located within the portions of the growth environment and detects the airborne mist concentration value.).
Regarding Claim 12, Murata teaches an apparatus (shown in Fig. 2) for growing aerial mycelium (See Fig. 2 and Claim 1; The invention is drawn to a system executing a process for growing a uniform, concentrated layer of mature aerial mycelium.), comprising:
A growth environment (11) comprising a total volume (See Fig. 11; Chamber 11 constitutes a growth environment that comprises a total volume.);
A portion of the growth environment configured to grow the aerial mycelium from a growth matrix comprising a growth medium and a fungus (See Fig. 2 and Claim 1; A portion of growth environment 11 comprises racks 2 where the mycelium growth matrix 1 is grown. According to claim 1, the mycelium bed block growth matrix 1 comprises a growth medium that is inoculated with a fungus and subsequently incubated to allow the mycelium to run. Therefore, a portion of growth environment 11 is capable of growing the aerial mycelium from a bed block growth matrix 1 which comprises a growth medium and a fungus.);
At least one inlet (12) comprising a mister configured to introduce aqueous mist into the portion of the growth environment (See Fig. 2, Column 5 Lines 55-67, and Column 6 Lines 1-5; At least one spray nozzle or sprinkler 12 is used to introduce aqueous mist into the portion of the growth environment 11.); and
At least one sensor (7) configured to generate a first signal indicative of an airborne mist concentration value within the portion of the growth environment (See Fig. 2 and Column 5 Lines 35-45; Humidity sensor 7 is capable of generate a first signal indicative of an airborne mist concentration value, here humidity, within the portion of the growth environment 11.), wherein the airborne mist concentration value comprises an oxygen content, a carbon dioxide content, a nitrogen content, a water content, a temperature, a humidity, a misting condition, or a combination thereof (See Fig. 2 and Column 5 Lines 35-45; Humidity sensor 7 would measure a humidity.).
Fig. 2 of Murata shows that the portion of the growth environment can comprise between 0.01% to 100% of a total volume of the growth environment total volume. In addition, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was effectively filed to have the portion of the growth environment of the method of Murata comprise between 0.01% to 100% of a total volume of the growth environment total volume to maintain proper aerosol concentration at desired portions of the growth environment, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
However, the system of Murata fails to explicitly state that the at least one sensor is configured to electronically communicate the first signal to a processor.
Zhao teaches a plant cultivating apparatus (shown in Fig. 1) comprising at least one sensor (12) configured to generate a first signal indicative of an airborne mist concentration value within the portion of the growth environment, and electronically communicate the first signal to a processor (stated in Pgs. 2-3; Aerosol sensor 12 detects an airborne mist concentration within a portion of a growth environment shown in Fig. 1 and is capable of electronically communicating with a computer by generating a first signal.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Murata to have the at least one sensor be configured to electronically communicate the first signal to a processor as taught by Zhao with reasonable expectation of success to maintain proper aerosol concentration and maintain the normal growth of the plant (Zhao, Pg. 3).
The system of Murata as modified by Zhao teaches the claimed invention except for the fact that the at least one sensor comprises an optical sensor combined with a heating element. Vollmer teaches in the same field of endeavor as applicant’s invention (Abstract and ¶2 state that the invention is drawn to systems and devices for mushroom specimen propagation.), the system of Vollmer teaches a system (100) comprises at least one sensor (136) that is an optical sensor combined with a heating element (See ¶44 and Fig. 3B; The system 100 comprises an atmospheric sensor that is a carbon dioxide sensor 136 that is a non-dispersive infrared (NDIR) sensor, which is an optical gas sensor that contains a heating element.). It would have been an obvious substitution of functional equivalents to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to substitute the electronic detection means of the method of Murata as modified by Zhao with an optical sensor combined with a heating element to allow the user to propagate a variety of specimens (Vollmer, ¶29), since a simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1739, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 1396 (2007).
Regarding Claim 13, the system of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 12.
Zhao further teaches that the apparatus comprises the processor (stated in Pg. 2; The apparatus comprises a computer, which includes a processor.), wherein the processor is configured to receive the first signal and control an airborne mist concentration level within the portion of the growth environment in response to the first signal (stated in Pgs. 2-3; The computer is capable of receiving a first signal with the airborne mist concentration value in a portion of the growth environment shown in Fig. 1 from the aerosol sensor 12 and controlling atomizing nozzle 11 to increase the airborne mist concentration level and keep the aerosol concentration at a normal level.).
Regarding Claim 14, the system of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 13.
Zhao further teaches that the processor is further configured to at least one of: increase an amount of airborne mist within the portion of the growth environment when the airborne mist concentration value is below a first value; and decrease an amount of airborne mist within the portion of the growth environment when the airborne mist concentration value is above a second value (stated in Pgs. 2-3; The computer is capable of activating the atomizing nozzle 11 to increase the airborne mist concentration level within the portion of the growth environment when the aerosol concentration is below a first desired normal level.).
Regarding Claim 19, the system of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 12.
Murata further teaches that the at least one sensor comprises a plurality of sensors (See Fig. 2 and Column 5 Lines 35-45; The system comprises a plurality of sensors 7, 8.).
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata et al. (US 4674228 A) in view of Zhao et al. (CN 114667919 A) and Vollmer (WO 2023225361 A1) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Zeldes et al. (US 20240407312 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, the method of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 4.
However, the method of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer fails to explicitly state that the first value and the second value are different values relative to each other.
Zeldes teaches a system executing a method (700) wherein a first value and a second value are different values relative to each other (stated in Claim 3, ¶31 and ¶68; Steps 735-740 of the method ensure that the desired pressure for releasing a nutrient solution mist is kept between a first desired value and a second desired value so that are different values relative to each other.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer to have the first value and the second value are different values relative to each other as taught by Zeldes with reasonable expectation of success to selectively produced a desired droplet size of the nutrient solution mist (Zeldes, ¶26).
Regarding Claim 7, the method of Murata as modified by Zhao, Vollmer, and Zeldes, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 6.
Zeldes further teaches a system executing a method (700) wherein a controlling step comprises maintaining an amount of airborne mist within the portion of the growth environment when the airborne mist concentration value is at or between the first value and the second value (See ¶31 and ¶67-69; Steps 735-740 of the method ensure that the desired pressure for releasing a nutrient solution mist is kept between a first desired value and a second desired value so that are different values relative to each other. Therefore, when the airborne mist concentration value is at or between the first and second desired values, the amount of airborne mist within the portion of the growth environment [shown in Fig. 1A] is maintained.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Murata as modified by Zhao, Vollmer, and Zeldes to have the controlling step comprise maintaining an amount of airborne mist within the portion of the growth environment when the airborne mist concentration value is at or between the first value and the second value as taught by Zeldes with reasonable expectation of success to keep the airborne mist at the desired range.
Claims 10-11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata et al. (US 4674228 A) in view of Zhao et al. (CN 114667919 A) and Vollmer (WO 2023225361 A1) as applied to claims 8 and 12 above, and further in view of Fursa (US 20220240591 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, the method of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 8.
The method of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer teaches the claimed invention except for a fact that the optical sensor comprises a fog sensor. Fursa teaches an optical aerosol sensor (70; See also Claims 21-23). It would have been an obvious substitution of functional equivalents to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to substitute the optical sensor in the method of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer with a fog sensor as taught by Fursa with reasonable expectation of success in order to detect infrared light, ultraviolet light, and near-infrared light (Fursa, ¶13), since a simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1739, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 1396 (2007).
Regarding Claim 11, the method of Murata as modified by Zhao, Vollmer, and Fursa, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 10.
Fursa further teaches an aerosol sensor (70) that is configured to detect electromagnetic radiation comprising a wavelength greater than or equal to 380 nm and less than or equal to 2,800 nm (¶89 states that sensor 70 comprises a radiation sensor 72 and ¶14 and ¶16 state that the radiation sensor 72 may be capable of detecting electromagnetic radiation comprising wavelengths between 190 nm – 1100 nm, 400 nm – 1700 nm, and 800 nm – 2600 nm.). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the fog sensor of the method of Murata as modified by Zhao, Vollmer, and Fursa be configured to detect electromagnetic radiation comprising a wavelength greater than or equal to 380nm and less than or equal to 2,800nm based on the ranges taught by Fursa in order to detect infrared light, ultraviolet light, and near-infrared light (Fursa, ¶13), since in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); MPEP §2144.05.
Regarding Claim 18, the system of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 12.
However, the system of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer fails to explicitly state that the at least one sensor comprises a source of electromagnetic radiation and a phototransistor that is tuned to respond to an electromagnetic wavelength.
Fursa teaches an aerosol sensor (70) comprising a source of electromagnetic radiation (71; ¶12 and ¶89 state that radiation emitter is capable of emitting electromagnetic radiation.) and a photodiode that is tuned to respond to an electromagnetic wavelength (72; ¶14 and ¶16 state that the radiation sensor 72 may be a photodiode that is tuned to respond to specific, desired electromagnetic wavelengths.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer to have the at least one sensor comprise a source of electromagnetic radiation and a photodiode that is tuned to respond to an electromagnetic wavelength as taught by Fursa with reasonable expectation of success to better detect aerosols in low-visibility conditions.
The system of Murata as modified by Zhao, Vollmer, and Fursa teaches the claimed invention except for the fact that the at least one sensor comprises a phototransistor rather than photodiode. It would have been an obvious substitution of functional equivalents to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to substitute the photodiode of the system of Murata as modified by Zhao, Vollmer, and Fursa with a phototransistor to provide more sensitive wavelength detection, since a simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1739, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 1396 (2007).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata et al. (US 4674228 A) in view of Zhao et al. (CN 114667919 A) and Vollmer (WO 2023225361 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Zheng et al. (CN 201576100 U).
Regarding Claim 17, the system of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 12.
The system of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer teaches the claimed invention except for the fact that the at least one sensor comprises one of a near-infrared fog sensor, an infrared fog sensor, or a visible light fog sensor. Zheng teaches an infrared fog sensor (2; stated in Claim 1). It would have been an obvious substitution of functional equivalents to one of ordinary skill in the art before the claimed invention was filed to substitute the sensor of the system of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer with an infrared fog sensor as taught by Zheng with reasonable expectation of success to detect fog in darkness or low-light conditions, since a simple substitution of one known element for another would obtain predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1739, 1740, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395, 1396 (2007).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murata et al. (US 4674228 A) in view of Zhao et al. (CN 114667919 A) and Vollmer (WO 2023225361 A1) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Wei et al. (CN 108739052 A).
Regarding Claim 20, the system of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer, as shown above, teaches the limitations of Claim 19.
However, the system of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer fails to explicitly state that the plurality of sensors form a multi-dimensional matrix of sensors.
Wei teaches in the same field of endeavor as applicant’s invention (Abstract states that the invention is drawn to an edible fungi production parameter optimization system and method.), the system of Wei teaches an edible mushroom growing apparatus (2) comprising a plurality of sensors that form a multi-dimensional matrix of sensors (shown in Fig. 10 and stated in Pgs. 6-7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Murata as modified by Zhao and Vollmer to have the plurality of sensors form a multi-dimensional matrix of sensors as taught by Wei with reasonable expectation of success to better analyze and optimize the desired parameters of the growing apparatus (Wei, Pg. 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. However, arguments surrounding the combination of Murata and Zhao will be addressed below.
Regarding Claims 1 and 12, on Pgs. 8-10, the Applicant argues the following: “Accordingly, Applicant respectfully submits that a person of ordinary skill in the art would immediately recognize that bodily transplanting Zhao's unheated plant aerosol sensor into Murata's 100% saturated, heavily dewing mushroom chamber would cause the sensor's electronic and optical components to instantly coat with liquid condensation water. This heavy dewing would blind an optical sensor or short-circuit an electronic probe, completely corrupting the sensor's signal and rendering the automated feedback control loops entirely inoperable. Because Zhao's sensor cannot physically function under Murata's mandatory atmospheric constraints, Applicant respectfully submits that the combination is structurally incompatible under MPEP § 2143.01. Furthermore, Applicant respectfully submits that to establish a prima facie case of obviousness, the Office Action must demonstrate that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the references to achieve the claimed invention (See MPEP § 2143.02). In the present case, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of failure rather than success. Because standard relative humidity and aerosol sensors lose accuracy or completely fail when exposed to continuous condensation and full vapor saturation, a person of ordinary skill in the art would know that Zhao's open-air sensor configuration would produce erroneous or corrupted data if placed directly into Murata's dewing environment.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As noted in the rejection of Claims 1 and 12 above, the Zhao reference does not explicitly state that the aerosol sensor is an optical sensor or an electric probe. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Furthermore, MPEP 2145 states that “a reference does not teach away if it merely expresses a general preference for an alternative invention but does not criticize, discredit or otherwise discourage investigation into the invention claimed”. Although Zhao focuses on a standard soilless plant cultivation frame (See Abstract), no part of Zhao’s Specification suggests or teaches that the aerosol sensor is unsuitable for a high humidity environment, like the one in the Murata reference.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Hammond et al. (US 20110076185 A1) teaches an air treatment device.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3643
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643