DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 1, 3-5, 8, 10-12, 15, 17-19 are amended. Claims 2, 7, 9, 14 and 16 are canceled. Claims 21-23 are new. Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-13, 15, 17-23 are pending in the instant application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed on 3/27/2026 have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 9, 11-13, 15, 16, 18, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cohen et al. (US 2019/0238489), hereinafter Cohen.
Claims 1, 8 and 15 are amended as follows:
“wherein before the receiving, through the first account, the target message, the method further comprises:
in a case that an interface corresponding to the target group is displayed, receiving a first input by a user, wherein the first input is an input by the user for contact identifiers of N contacts, and the N contacts comprise the first contact, N being a positive integer greater than 1;
in response to the first input, determining the N contacts as contacts in a target sub- group and establishing an association among the N contacts;
wherein in a case that the target message contains a contact identifier of at least one of the N contacts, the first prompt message is displayed in a session interface of the target group corresponding to each of the N contacts; and
wherein the target group comprises the target sub-group and other contacts; and
the target message is displayed in the session interface of all contacts in the target group.”
Claims 8 and 15 are amended with similar limitations.
On page 18 of the Remarks, Applicant argues Cohen’489 fails to disclose, teach or even suggest the amended features recited in the independent claims. Applicant’s arguments are persuasive, thus, a new ground of rejection is made in light of the amendment.
Claim Rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen (US 2019/0238489) in view of Ma (US 2023/0388782).
Applicant argues these claims based on the arguments presented to their parent claims, therefore a new ground of rejections are made in light of the amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-6, 8, 11-13, 15 and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cohen et al. (US 2019/0238489), hereinafter Cohen in view of Cohen et al. (US 2023/0094375), hereinafter Cohen’375.
As for claim 1, Cohen teaches a message reminding method, wherein the method comprises:
receiving, through a first account, a target message, wherein the target message comprises a target identifier (Fig. 11, paragraphs [0154]-[0155] and [0205] describe a user named Sarah (i.e. a message actor) initiates a sidebar conversation; paragraphs [0161] and [0166] describe user Sarah has selected which actors will have access to the sidebar associated with the anchor message. When she has finished her selection, she is creating a first group wave; Fig. 10c; paragraph [0152] describe a data structure that includes a field that stores identification of various actors. Note: each actor’s name is a target identifier); and
in a case that the first account corresponds to a first contact, outputting a first prompt message (Fig. 22; item 118; paragraph [0172] describes group wave 1 rule causes the sidebar inclusion notification message to be posted and pinned to the top of all group wave member displays in the associated base channel);
wherein
the target identifier is a contact identifier of a second contact (paragraphs [0161], [0164] and [0205] describe user Sarah creates a first group wave by selecting actors who will have access to the sidebar associated with the anchor message; paragraph [0152] describe a data structure that includes a field that stores identification of various actors, field 550 of sidebar data structure 540 becomes populated with the identification of actors that are included in the first group wave), both the first contact and the second contact are contacts in a target group (Fig. 17 illustrates the Office group including all actors that Sarah has selected including herself), and the first contact and the second contact have an association (paragraphs [0144]-[0145] and [0166] describe an actor (i.e. Sarah) designates an anchor message, thus initiates the sidebar, sidebar rules are associated with a sidebar. A first group wave rule is created that identifies a subset of message actors and a second group wave rule is created, the second group wave rule relating to an excluded actor who is provided with access to the sidebar; Figs. 22 & 23; paragraph [0172] describes a display on a device from the point of view of Sarah and Sona, respectively);
wherein before the receiving, through a first account, a target message (paragraph [0160] describes a display that includes a potential user list that is the destination of a message), the method further comprises:
in a case that an interface corresponding to the target group is displayed, receiving a first input by a user (paragraph [0161] describes user Sarah has selected which actors will have access to the sidebar associated with the anchor message), wherein the first input is an input by the user for contact identifiers of N contacts (paragraph [0161] describes Sarah selects actors to create a first group wave), and the N contacts comprise the first contact (Figs. 10c and 17; paragraph [0161] describes Sarah creates a first group wave and a data structure includes fields that become populated with the identification of actors that include in the first group wave), N being a positive integer greater than 1 (paragraph [0057] describes a private conversation is 1:N, N greater than 1); and
in response to the first input, determining the N contacts as contacts in a target sub-group and establishing an association among the N contacts (paragraph [0161] describes Sarah has selected which actors will have access to the sidebar associated with the anchor message);
Cohen fails to teach
wherein in a case that the target message contains a contact identifier of at least one of the N contacts, the first prompt message is displayed in a session interface of the target group corresponding to each of the N contacts; and
wherein the target group comprises the target sub-group and other contacts; and
the target message is displayed in the session interface of all contacts in the target group.
Cohen’375 discloses
wherein in a case that a target message contains a contact identifier of at least one of the N contacts (Fig. 23B; paragraphs [0145]-[0146] describe Paul sends specifies recipients by using each recipient’s name which is an identifier associated with an individual or can be a “name” associated with a group of user), the first prompt message is displayed in a session interface of a target group corresponding to each of the N contacts (paragraphs [0082] and [0141] describes Paul specifies the recipients for a message (e.g. Lori and Sona), when two or more channel members are specified a toggle switch is caused to be displayed. The default toggle is Siloed private replies, meaning that Paul’s message will be posted and made visible in these user’s channel view); and
wherein the target group comprises the target sub-group and other contacts (paragraph [0082] describes a message channel participant wishes that responses to a question or comment to be private. While the request private replies message is intended to be hidden from most of the channel users, and is intended for just the regional sales leaders in the channel, it may also desirable that the respective private replies be visible to all of the specified subset of users (i.e., the VP of Sales and the regional sales leaders)); and
the target message is displayed in the session interface of all contacts in the target group (paragraph [0082]-[0083] describe the VP of Sales had her request private replies message posted and visible relative to the common channel messages and for each message sent in a group channel, there is a sender’s view of his/her the message channel and each recipient’s view of channel) .
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Cohen’375 for having private reply messages being visible to all of specified subset of users. The teachings of Cohen’376, when implemented in the Cohen system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to expose private responses to non-specified recipients. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Cohen’375 in the Cohen system in order to allow the VP of Sales as well as the regional sales leaders to retain overall conversational context. Additionally, the specified subset of users is able to share messages privately among the subset of group users without clustering or disclosing private information in the common channel, and the original message along with the associated replies can also or solely be aggregated and viewed together (Cohen’375: paragraph [0082]).
As for claim 4, the combined system of Cohen and Cohen’375 teaches wherein after the determining the N contacts as contacts in the target sub-group and establishing an association among the N contacts, the method further comprises:
receiving a second input by the user for the target sub-group (Cohen: paragraphs [0161] and [0163]-[0164] describe Sarah selects Elizabeth as the recipient); and
in response to the second input, adjusting the N contacts corresponding to the target sub-group (Cohen: Figs. 29 and 30; paragraphs [0177]-[0178] describe display after group wave 2 member(s) have been given access to the sidebar. Elizabeth taps on the prompt “view” that causes the sidebar to be displayed).
As for claim 5, the combined system of Cohen and Cohen’375 teaches wherein after the outputting a first prompt message, the method further comprises:
in a case that a first message sent by a third contact in the session interface of the target group is received, outputting a second prompt message (Cohen: Fig. 131; paragraph [0416] describes user Sona adds a personal note and taps the “send” icon after entering text causes the personal note to be posted to the sidebar; paragraph [0420] describes a display that shows user Elizabeth has an update which indicates that there has been a new message posted to the Card Gallery channel), the second prompt message being used to prompt the first contact to view the first message (Cohen: paragraph [0421] describes Elizabeth has tapped on the Card icon which caused the display of the Card Gallery channel);
wherein the first message is a reply message from the third contact to the target message (Cohen: paragraph [0395] describes Sarah wants to add a 3rd party to the “From” group wave paragraphs [0412]-[0414] describe user Sona receives a notification indicates that there is a new message posted to the associated channel; paragraph [0416] describes user Sona adds a personal note and posts it to the sidebar), and the third contact is a contact in the target sub-group (Cohen: paragraph [0415] describes user Sona who is the selected participants of the “From” Group Wave rule).
As for claim 6, the combined system of Cohen and Cohen’375 teaches wherein after the outputting a first prompt message (Cohen: Fig. 22; item 118; paragraph [0172] describes group wave 1 rule causes the sidebar inclusion notification message to be posted and pinned to the top of all group wave member displays in the associated base channel), the method further comprises:
in a case that a second message sent by the second contact in the session interface of the target group is received, outputting second prompt information (Cohen: Fig. 100, 1080; paragraph [0351] describes a display that shows the private message associated with the birthday card. Elizabeth’s response is visible in the base channel “Office” only to herself and to Sarah);
wherein the second message is a reply message from the second contact to the target message (Cohen: paragraph [0351] describes the private message sent by Elizabeth to Sarah in response to Sarah’s personalized note associated with the birthday card).
As for claim 8, Cohen teaches an electronic device (Cohen: Fig. 1; Claim 15 discloses an apparatus for managing message communication; paragraph [0038] describes a system comprising client computing devices and server computing devices) , comprising a processor (Cohen: Claim 15 discloses a processor),
a memory (Claim 15 discloses memory), and
a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to perform (Claim 15 discloses the memory stores programming code and one or more processors performs operations):
receiving, through a first account, a target message, wherein the target message comprises a target identifier (Fig. 11, paragraphs [0154]-[0155] and [0205] describe a user named Sarah (i.e. a message actor) initiates a sidebar conversation; paragraphs [0161] and [0166] describe user Sarah has selected which actors will have access to the sidebar associated with the anchor message. When she has finished her selection, she is creating a first group wave; Fig. 10c; paragraph [0152] describe a data structure that includes a field that stores identification of various actors. Note: each actor’s name is a target identifier); and
in a case that the first account corresponds to a first contact, outputting a first prompt message (Fig. 22; item 118; paragraph [0172] describes group wave 1 rule causes the sidebar inclusion notification message to be posted and pinned to the top of all group wave member displays in the associated base channel);
wherein
the target identifier is a contact identifier of a second contact (paragraphs [0161], [0164] and [0205] describe user Sarah creates a first group wave by selecting actors who will have access to the sidebar associated with the anchor message; paragraph [0152] describe a data structure that includes a field that stores identification of various actors, field 550 of sidebar data structure 540 becomes populated with the identification of actors that are included in the first group wave), both the first contact and the second contact are contacts in a target group (Fig. 17 illustrates the Office group including all actors that Sarah has selected including herself), and the first contact and the second contact have an association (both the first contact and the second contact are contacts in a target group (Fig. 17 illustrates the Office group including all actors that Sarah has selected including herself), and the first contact and the second contact have an association (paragraphs [0144]-[0145] and [0166] describe an actor (i.e. Sarah) designates an anchor message, thus initiates the sidebar, sidebar rules are associated with a sidebar. A first group wave rule is created that identifies a subset of message actors and a second group wave rule is created, the second group wave rule relating to an excluded actor who is provided with access to the sidebar; Figs. 22 & 23; paragraph [0172] describes a display on a device from the point of view of Sarah and Sona, respectively);
wherein the program instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to further perform operations (Claim 15 discloses the memory stores programming code and one or more processors performs operations).
Cohen fails to teach
wherein operations include
in a case that the target message contains a contact identifier of at least one of the N contacts, the first prompt message is displayed in a session interface of the target group corresponding to each of the N contacts; and
wherein the target group comprises the target sub-group and other contacts; and
the target message is displayed in the session interface of all contacts in the target group.
Cohen’375 discloses
wherein operations include
in a case that a target message contains a contact identifier of at least one of the N contacts (paragraph [0145] describes Paul sends specifies recipients by using each recipient’s name which is an identifier associated with an individual or can be a “name” associated with a group of user), the first prompt message is displayed in a session interface of a target group corresponding to each of the N contacts (paragraphs [0082] and [0141] describes Paul specifies the recipients for a message (e.g. Lori and Sona), when two or more channel members are specified a toggle switch is caused to be displayed. The default toggle is Siloed private replies, meaning that Paul’s message will be posted and made visible in these user’s channel view); and
wherein the target group comprises the target sub-group and other contacts (paragraph [0082] describes a message channel participant wishes that responses to a question or comment to be private. While the request private replies message is intended to be hidden from most of the channel users, and is intended for just the regional sales leaders in the channel, it may also desirable that the respective private replies be visible to all of the specified subset of users (i.e., the VP of Sales and the regional sales leaders)); and
the target message is displayed in the session interface of all contacts in the target group (paragraph [0082]-[0083] describe the VP of Sales had her request private replies message posted and visible relative to the common channel messages and for each message sent in a group channel, there is a sender’s view of his/her the message channel and each recipient’s view of channel) .
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Cohen’375 for having private reply messages being visible to all of specified subset of users. The teachings of Cohen’376, when implemented in the Cohen system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to expose private responses to non-specified recipients. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Cohen’375 in the Cohen system in order to allow the VP of Sales as well as the regional sales leaders to retain overall conversational context. Additionally, the specified subset of users is able to share messages privately among the subset of group users without clustering or disclosing private information in the common channel, and the original message along with the associated replies can also or solely be aggregated and viewed together (Cohen’375: paragraph [0082]).
As for claim 11, the combined system of Cohen and Cohen’375 teaches wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to further perform (Claim 15 discloses the apparatus’ processor performs operations):
receiving a second input by the user for the target sub-group (Cohen: paragraphs [0161] and [0163]-[0164] describe Sarah selects Elizabeth as the recipient); and
in response to the second input, adjusting the N contacts corresponding to the target sub-group (Cohen: Figs. 29 and 30; paragraphs [0177]-[0178] describe display after group wave 2 member(s) have been given access to the sidebar. Elizabeth taps on the prompt “view” that causes the sidebar to be displayed).
As for claim 12, the combined system of Cohen and Cohen’375 teaches wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to further perform (Cohen: Claim 15 discloses the apparatus’ processor performs operations):
in a case that a first message sent by a third contact in the session interface of the target group is received, outputting a second prompt message (Cohen: Fig. 131; paragraph [0416] describes user Sona adds a personal note and taps the “send” icon after entering text causes the personal note to be posted to the sidebar; paragraph [0420] describes a display that shows user Elizabeth has an update which indicates that there has been a new message posted to the Card Gallery channel), the second prompt message being used to prompt the first contact to view the first message (Cohen: paragraph [0421] describes Elizabeth has tapped on the Card icon which caused the display of the Card Gallery channel);
wherein the first message is a reply message from the third contact to the target message (Cohen: paragraph [0395] describes Sarah wants to add a 3rd party to the “From” group wave paragraphs [0412]-[0414] describe user Sona receives a notification indicates that there is a new message posted to the associated channel; paragraph [0416] describes user Sona adds a personal note and posts it to the sidebar), and the third contact is a contact in the target sub-group (paragraph [0415] describes user Sona who is the selected participants of the “From” Group Wave rule).
As for claim 13, the combined system of Cohen and Cohen’375 teaches wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to further perform (Cohen: Claim 15 discloses the apparatus’ processor performs operations):
in a case that a second message sent by the second contact in the session interface of the target group is received, outputting second prompt information (Cohen: Fig. 100, 1080; paragraph [0351] describes a display that shows the private message associated with the birthday card. Elizabeth’s response is visible in the base channel “Office” only to herself and to Sarah);
wherein the second message is a reply message from the second contact to the target message (Cohen: paragraph [0351] describes the private message sent by Elizabeth to Sarah in response to Sarah’s personalized note associated with the birthday card).
As for claim 21, the combined system of Cohen and Cohen’375 teaches wherein after the outputting a first prompt message (Cohen: Fig. 22; item 118; paragraph [0172] describes group wave 1 rule causes the sidebar inclusion notification message to be posted and pinned to the top of all group wave member displays in the associated base channel), the method further comprises:
receiving a third input by a user for the first prompt message (Cohen’375: paragraph [0144] describes a request for reply and a reply from a user); and
in response to the third input, hiding a third message in the session interface of the target group (Cohen’375: paragraphs [0144] and [0150] describe the first group text message is transmitted to the identified group users. When Lori and Sona reply with respective replies, the respective replies are displayed on Paul’s device, and the respective replies are prevented from being displayed on remaining devices outside of Lori’s and Sona’s devices. Lori and Sona cannot see each other’s replies);
wherein the third message is a message other than the target message in the session interface of the target group (Cohen’375: Fig. 23C illustrate Paul’s message and Sona’s and Lori’s respective replies; paragraph [0150] describe the people that reply cannot see the other’s reply and can only see his/her reply).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Cohen’375 for having private reply messages being visible to all of specified subset of users. The teachings of Cohen’376, when implemented in the Cohen system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to expose private responses to non-specified recipients. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Cohen’375 in the Cohen system in order to allow the VP of Sales as well as the regional sales leaders to retain overall conversational context. Additionally, the specified subset of users is able to share messages privately among the subset of group users without clustering or disclosing private information in the common channel, and the original message along with the associated replies can also or solely be aggregated and viewed together (Cohen’375: paragraph [0082]).
As for claim 22, the combined system of Cohen and Cohen’375 teach wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to further perform (Cohen: Claim 15 discloses the apparatus’ processor performs operations):
receiving a third input by a user for the first prompt message (Cohen’375: paragraph [0144] describes a request for reply and a reply from a user); and
in response to the third input, hiding a third message in the session interface of the target group (Cohen’375: paragraphs [0144] and [0150] describe the first group text message is transmitted to the identified group users. When Lori and Sona reply with respective replies, the respective replies are displayed on Paul’s device, and the respective replies are prevented from being displayed on remaining devices outside of Lori’s and Sona’s devices. Lori and Sona cannot see each other’s replies);
wherein the third message is a message other than the target message in the session interface of the target group (Cohen’375: Fig. 23C illustrate Paul’s message and Sona’s and Lori’s respective replies; paragraph [0150] describe the people that reply cannot see the other’s reply and can only see his/her reply).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Cohen’375 for having private reply messages being visible to all of specified subset of users. The teachings of Cohen’376, when implemented in the Cohen system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to expose private responses to non-specified recipients. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Cohen’375 in the Cohen system in order to allow the VP of Sales as well as the regional sales leaders to retain overall conversational context. Additionally, the specified subset of users is able to share messages privately among the subset of group users without clustering or disclosing private information in the common channel, and the original message along with the associated replies can also or solely be aggregated and viewed together (Cohen’375: paragraph [0082]).
As for claims 15 18-20 and 23, these claims listed all the same elements of claims 1-2, 4-6, and 21 respectively, but in a non-transitory computer readable storage medium wherein the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium stores a program or instructions (Cohen: Claim 15 and paragraph [0034] describes a non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored instructions), wherein the non-transitory computer readable store media are encoded with instructions that, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform operations (Cohen: Claim 15; paragraph [0041] describes the instructions are stored for direct processing by the processors). Therefore, the supporting rational of the rejection to claims 1, 2, 4-6 and 21 applies equally as well to claims 15, 16, 8-20 and 23, respectively.
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen (US 2019/0238489) in view of Cohen’375 (US 2023/0094375) and further in view of Ma (US 2023/0388782).
As for claim 3, the combined of Cohen and Cohen’375 teaches wherein the determining the N contacts as contacts in the target sub-group and establishing an association among the N contacts comprises: operations (paragraph [0161] describes Sarah has selected which actors will have access to the sidebar associated with the anchor message).
Cohen fails to teach
sending a request message to a server corresponding to the target group to request the server to determine the N contacts as contacts in the target sub-group, and
storing the association among the N contacts in the server.
Ma discloses
sending a request message to a server corresponding to the target group to request the server to determine the N contacts as contacts in the target sub-group (paragraph [0020] describes a first user requests a cloud server to create a group including a first user and a second user, in response to the request, the cloud server creates a group based on a first mobile phone number and a second mobile phone number), and
storing the association among the N contacts in the server (paragraph [0020] describes the cloud server stores a first user and a second user who enable an instant messaging function based on a mobile phone number).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Ma for sending a request to a cloud server to create a group chat. The teachings of Ma, when implemented in the Cohen and Cohen’375 system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to prevent private information of participants of a group chat from being exposed. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Ma in the Cohen and Cohen’375 system in order to enable a server to form a group chat using information received from individual participant e.g. telephone number, the telephone number is not shared with other members in the group chat.
As for claim 10, the combined system of Cohen and Cohen’375 teaches wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the electronic device to perform operations (paragraph [0161] describes Sarah has selected which actors will have access to the sidebar associated with the anchor message).
Cohen fails to teach
sending a request message to a server corresponding to the target group to request the server to determine the N contacts as contacts in the target sub-group, and
storing the association among the N contacts in the server.
Ma discloses
sending a request message to a server corresponding to the target group to request the server to determine the N contacts as contacts in the target sub-group (paragraph [0020] describes a first user requests a cloud server to create a group including a first user and a second user, in response to the request, the cloud server creates a group based on a first mobile phone number and a second mobile phone number), and
storing the association among the N contacts in the server (paragraph [0020] describes the cloud server stores a first user and a second user who enable an instant messaging function based on a mobile phone number).
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized the ability to utilize the teachings of Ma for sending a request to a cloud server to create a group chat. The teachings of Ma, when implemented in the Cohen and Cohen’375 system, will allow one of ordinary skill in the art to prevent private information of participants of a group chat from being exposed. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to utilize the teachings of Ma in the Cohen and Cohen’375 system in order to enable a server to form a group chat using information received from individual participant e.g. telephone number, the telephone number is not shared with other members in the group chat.
As for claim 17, the claim lists all the same elements of claim 2, but in a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the electronic device to perform operations (Claim 15 discloses the apparatus’ processor performs operations). Therefore, the supporting rationale of the rejection to claim 3 applies equally as well to claim 17.
Conclusions
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Brito et al. (US 10,771,589) teach methods for media content transmission and management
Fong et al. (US 2022/0317822) teach multiple windows for a group-based communication system
Madaan et al. (US 2022/0294799) teach data object selective per-message participation of an external user in a meeting chat.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L. T. N/
Examiner, Art Unit 2459
/TONIA L DOLLINGER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2459