DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 114673218 A) in view of Hsu et al. (US 2021/0148622 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 2, and 4, Wang teaches an atmospheric water generator with sterilization and disinfection functions ([0003]; Fig. 1 and [0023]). The water generator comprises a fan (3), a compressor (6, as “compression mechanism”), a condenser (8), and an evaporator (7). The compressor, condenser, and evaporator are connected by the refrigerant loop, with an expansion valve (9) between the condenser and evaporator ([0010]: circulation loop). Under the evaporator is a water tray with a nozzle to a water tank (10), containing an ozone generator (11) within the tank ([0028]) and located at the bottom, as shown in Fig. 1. A water pipe connects the tank to a pump (12), physical filtration system (13, equivalent to “screening program” as claimed), and purified water outlet (labeled below) in sequence.
Wang does not teach that the ozone generator in the tank is electrolytic, only that it is for the disinfection and sterilization of the water within ([0012]). However, Hsu teaches an electrolytic ozone generator for sterilizing water in a tank ([0016]: “running water is electrolyzed in an electric field”), as part of a process for making a water stream suitable for consumption (Abstract). Hsu further teaches that the electrolytic ozone generator includes a first housing (Fig. 2, 16-3: as casing), first water inlets evenly arranged on two sides of the housing (16-3-1: on two sides as shown), a first water and air outlet formed on an upper end of the first housing (16-3-2), a first anode plate (16-2) and first cathode plate (16-1) in the housing and connected to a first power cable ([0015]: generator 16 is in communication with control box 20; Fig. 1: as labeled below), with the first anode and first cathode plate spaced apart. The cathode plate is made of titanium or stainless steel ([0016]).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to use the electrolytic ozone generator of Hsu in the atmospheric water generator taught by Wang. One would be motivated to use this specific technology because electrolytic ozone generation is able to create ozone without the creation of harmful side products such as nitrogen oxide (Hsu [0010]). Furthermore, a tank of actively sterilized water prevents the growth of microorganisms compared to conventional unsterilized tanks, which may result in contaminated downstream water ([0002]).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 114673218 A) in view of Hsu et al. (US 2021/0148622 A1) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Xia et al. (US 2018/0170774 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wang and Hsu teaches all inherited limitations, and that the first anode plate includes a titanium substrate with a tin dioxide coating layer (Hsu [0009]). Neither Wang nor Hsu teach that the tin dioxide coating layer is doped with antimony: Hsu instead teaches ruthenium and nickel in the tin dioxide coating ([0009]).
However, Xia teaches that a titanium plate electrode coated with a metal comprising antimony-doped tin oxide is suitable for electrolytic production of ozone in order to reduce the concentration of organic pollutants in an aqueous environment ([0001]: bacteria; [0006]: antimony-doped tin coating on titanium plate electrode; [0010]: ozone).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to replace the ruthenium/nickel in the coating of the Hsu anode with antimony as taught by Xia. One skilled in the art would be motivated to make this modification as Xia teaches that the titanium electrode with antimony-doped tin is effective in ozone generation ([0060]; Table 1 showing generation of O3 in ppm).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 114673218 A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Oh (US 2010/0212348 A1) and Xu et al. (TW I674340 B, using attached machine translation).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Wang teaches all inherited limitations from claim 1, but does not teach a second electrolytic ozone generator on the water pipe between the screening program and purified water outlet.
However, Oh teaches a similar apparatus for extracting water from the atmosphere, with a water purifier such as an ozone generator within the tank holding the extracted water (Fig. 1, [0034]: water purifier 152). There is a secondary water purification device (148) between the pump (146) and outlet (153). Neither reference directly teaches a screening program before the purifier.
However, Xu teaches screening of water before reaching an inline electrolytic ozone generator ([0027]), with a housing (Fig. 1, element 1, [0011]), water inlet (1-1, [0012]), water outlet (1-2 [0013]), anode (2-1, [0015]) and cathode (2-2, [0016]) spaced within the housing, connected to a power supply ([0026]: figure missing, but inherently requiring a cable for interconnection).
It would have therefore been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify the apparatus taught by Wang to incorporate a second purification step as taught by Oh, particularly an electrolytic ozone generator between the screening program and purified water outlet as taught by Xu. One would be motivated to do so in order to obtain superior purification or sterilization of the water outlet from the tank, as one would expect from increasing the number of treatment steps.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (CN 114673218 A) in view of Oh (US 2010/0212348 A1) and Xu et al. (TW I674340 B) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Xia et al. (US 2018/0170774 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Xu does not teach any particular anode or cathode composition. However, Xia teaches that a titanium plate electrode coated with a metal comprising antimony-doped tin oxide is suitable for electrolytic production of ozone in order to reduce the concentration of organic pollutants in an aqueous environment ([0001]: bacteria; [0006]: antimony-doped tin coating on titanium plate electrode; [0010]: ozone.). In addition, another electrode may be a titanium plate [0006]. The use of these electrodes as an anode or a cathode is an intended use resulting from the polarity of an applied current. Examiner notes that the intended use of an apparatus does not distinguish it from the prior art when the underlying structure is taught. See MPEP § 2114(II).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to incorporate the electrode compositions taught by Xia into the second electrolytic ozone water generator taught by the combination of Wang, Oh, and Xu. One would be motivated to do so in order to effectively generate ozone for the removal of bacteria from an aqueous stream (Xia Abstract).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2009/0077992 to Anderson et al. teaches a system for condensing water from the air and purifying it with electrolytically generated ozone prior to dispensing.
/CBF/Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711