DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-23 of U.S. Patent No. 9232277; claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10231010; claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 10820044; claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11825152. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims recite substantially similar subject matter and any differences therebetween would have been obvious as a matter of routine experimentation by an average skilled practitioner seeking to improve the patented device, methods therefor, etc. Examiner will hold the double patenting rejection in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramsay: 20100299639 hereinafter Ram further in view of Millington: 7668964 hereinafter Mil and further in view of Schrock: 20050060264 hereinafter Sch.
Regarding claim 1
Ram teaches:
A playback device of a media playback system comprising: at least one processor; at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium; and program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor (Ram: Abstract: ¶ 15, 80-82; Fig 1, 6, 13: such as the wireless speakers of figure 1, 14) such that the playback device is configured to:
obtain, from a networked playback queue that is designated as an active playback queue of the playback device, information identifying one or more media items that are to be played back by the playback device (Ram: ¶ 82, 88, 102-108: such as the selection of a media playlist for playback and delivery of the media, channels thereof, to a plurality a first playback device, wireless speaker, etc. said device operative to process received media items for playback);
after obtaining the information identifying the one or more media items from the cloud-based playback queue, cause the information identifying the one or more media items to be stored locally at the playback device (Ram: ¶ 82, 88, 102-108: media playlist directs output of media items upon first device wherein the received media items are processed for playback at least upon network interface and processing buffers for output of audio by a speaker thereof);
utilize the information identifying the one or more media items stored locally at the playback device to retrieve the one or more media items and begin playing back the one or more media items (Ram: ¶ 82, 88, 102-108, 157, 177: such as by buffering a subsequent track, frames thereof based on the selected playlist, media stream thereof for playback of media data, channels thereof);
while playing back the one or more media items, obtain, from the cloud-based playback queue, information identifying an additional one or more media items that are to be played back by the playback device (Ram: ¶ 82, 88, 102-108, 146-160, 157, 177: such as by direction of a second playback relationship of the first device and a next queue, playlist, etc. associated with a second playback device); and
cause the information identifying the additional one or more media items to be stored locally at the playback device (Ram: ¶ 82, 88, 97, 98, 102-108, 146-160, 157, 177: such as by instantiation of the next, queue, playlist etc. as a now playing media thereby, directing output of media items therein upon the first playback device wherein the received media items are processed for playback at least upon network interface and processing buffers for output of audio by a speaker)
Ram teaches the recited obtaining of a queue and at least strongly suggests the designation thereof as an active playback queue of the playback device in as much as the queue becomes a “now playing,” type of queue, playlist, etc., and allows acquisition of information identifying one or more media items that are to be played back by the playback device. Ram does not explicitly teach exchange of active queue data among a network of playback devices such as comprising after obtaining the information identifying the additional one or more media items from the cloud-based playback queue,
and utilize the information identifying the additional one or more media items stored locally at the playback device to retrieve the one or more media items and begin playing back the additional one or more media items.
In a related field of endeavor Mil teaches a system and method for handing off playback queues among a network of wireless speakers (Mil: Abstract; Col 2:25-2:57; Fig 1, 2) wherein a playlist of audio files comprises a list of links to enable streaming of audio content designated thereby, the queue handed off from one player to another along with rendering information sufficient to designate the queue as an active queue which is passed from one playback device to another (Mil: Abstract; Col 2:25-2:57; Fig 1, 2, etc.: frames of audio streams rendered by a particular device as part of an active queue, playlist, etc. which is handed off to a next, subsequent device which begins to render the active queue, playlist, etc.). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to adapt the Ram system and method to effect synchronous handoff of an active queue among the devices therein in keeping with the teachings of Mil for at least the purpose of providing continuous audio experience while enjoying synchronous user designated audio output upon user designated devices among a network of playback devices by de-, re-, etc., associating playback devices with user desired and instantiated playlists, queues, etc. for audio output thereon; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Ram in view of Mil does not explicitly teach the system operative such that after obtaining the information identifying the additional one or more media items from the cloud-based playback queue, the system function to utilize the information identifying the additional one or more media items stored locally at the playback device to retrieve the one or more media items and begin playing back the additional one or more media items.
In a related field of endeavor Sch teaches a system and method for creating and editing playlists comprising identifiers of media items (Sch: ¶ 29; Fig 3) wherein the playlist does not store the audio track data therein (Sch: ¶ 37) but instead comprises a list of relevant pointers to the audio track data operative to be stored locally at the client (Sch: Abstract; ¶ 48; Fig 4: a globally relevant identifier, pointer, etc.) the list comprising a unique network address for each/any audio track thereon, comprising a globally accessible location of the audio track data of each/any audio track, such as upon a remote computer, server, etc. bearing the audio track data (Sch: ¶ 27, 29, 37; Fig 3) and the system operative to optimize playback device storage, memory, buffer size, etc. by playing out the playlist and sequentially obtaining and playing audio track data of the each subsequent playlist identifier, such as from a remote computer. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to improve the Ram in view of Mil system and method by utilizing a system and method to optimize storage of audio track data by location upon a singular server or reliable group of servers bearing audio track data as taught or suggested by Sch and for at least the purpose of reducing the expense of memory upon a playback device, simplifying royalty payments for the playback of audio tracks by a plurality of users, etc.; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 2
Ram in view of Mil in view of Sch teaches or suggests:
The playback device of claim 1, wherein the cloud-based playback queue is stored at a cloud-based computing system, and wherein the program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the playback device is configured to obtain the information identifying the one or more media items comprise program instructions that are executable by the at least one processor such that the playback device is configured to:
obtain the information identifying the one or more media items from the cloud-based computing system (Ram: ¶ 82, 88, 96-98, 102-108, 146-160, 157, 177: such as by receiving media streams on a server in concert with a playback device bourne user interface); (Mil: Abstract; Col 2:25-2:57, 8:59-9:20, etc.; Fig 1, 2, etc.: such as by forwarding of audio to the device such as by the transmission of audio, timing, etc. data from the server, from a coordinator device transmitting server acquired or generated audio, timing, etc. data, etc.). The claim is considered obvious over Ram as modified by Mil and Sch as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Ram, Mil, and/or Sch to the modified device of Ram, Mil, and Sch; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 3
Ram in view of Mil in view of Sch teaches or suggests:
The playback device of claim 1, wherein the information identifying the one or more media items comprises one or more respective pointers for obtaining the one or more media items stored at a remote location (Ram: ¶ 82, 88, 96-98, 102-108, 146-160, 157, 177: such as by the employ of synchronization signals to manage particular delay portions with respect to a plurality of groupwise, individual, etc. synchronization data, clock offsets, etc.; the employ of links to access particular media, channels thereof, etc. upon the server, etc.); (Mil: Abstract; Col 2:25-2:57; Fig 1, 2, etc.: frames of audio streams rendered by a particular device as part of an active queue, playlist, etc. which is handed off to a next, subsequent device which begins to render the active queue, playlist, etc. said rendering in concert with timing information comprising pointers for coordinating clock relationships among devices). The claim is considered obvious over Ram as modified by Mil and Sch as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Ram, Mil, and/or Sch to the modified device of Ram, Mil, and Sch; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 4
Ram in view of Mil in view of Sch teaches or suggests:
The playback device of claim 3, wherein the cloud-based playback queue is stored at a cloud-based computing system, and wherein the one or more media items are stored at the cloud-based computing system It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to stream data upon each/any of the playback devices, of the network, groups thereof by instantiating a connection with a distributed media server (Ram: Fig 1: such as distributed media server 107); (Mil: Col 2:34-2:42; 6:36-6:43, 16:14-16:16: audio information, streams thereof acquired from networked server, such as over the internet for the purpose of effecting audio playback of a designated media at particular timings upon particular devices). The claim is considered obvious over Ram as modified by Mil and Sch as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Ram, Mil, and/or Sch to the modified device of Ram, Mil, and Sch; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 5
Ram in view of Mil in view of Sch teaches or suggests:
The playback device of claim 1, wherein the playback device is a first playback device and the cloud-based playback queue is a first playback queue comprising information identifying one or more first media items, the first playback device further comprising program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the first playback device is configured to:
determine a command to join a playback group including at least a second playback device of the media playback system, wherein the playback group is associated with a second playback queue comprising information identifying one or more second media items that are to be played back by the playback group (Ram: ¶ 82, 88, 102-108, 146-160, 157, 177: such as by direction of a second, next, subsequent playback relationship of the first device and a next queue, playlist, etc. associated with a second, next, subsequent playback device); (Mil: Abstract; Col 2:25-2:57, 6:36-6:43, 8:59-9:20, 16:14-16:16; Fig 1, 2, etc.: such as by designating a handoff of processes from an active device to a subsequent active device); based on the command: join the playback group; and designate the second playback queue as the active playback queue of the first playback device (Ram: ¶ 82, 88, 97, 98, 102-108, 146-160, 157, 177: such as by instantiation of the next, queue, playlist etc. as a now playing media thereby, directing output of media items therein upon the first playback device wherein the received media items are processed for playback at least upon network interface and processing buffers for output of audio by a speaker); (Mil: Abstract; Col 2:25-2:57, 6:36-6:43, 8:59-9:20, 16:14-16:16; Fig 1, 2, etc.: such as resultant from the handoff and operative to store, process and output media upon the handed to device for audio output); and begin playing back the one or more second media items from the second playback queue in synchrony with at least the second playback device . (Ram: ¶ 82, 88, 96-98, 102-108, 146-160, 157, 177: such as by the employ of synchronization signals to manage particular delay portions with respect to a plurality of groupwise and individual playback device outputs in concert with synchronization data, clock offsets, etc. such as with respect to particular media, channels thereof, etc. accessed upon the server, etc.); (Mil: Abstract; Col 2:25-2:57; Fig 1, 2, etc.: frames of audio streams rendered by a particular device as part of an active queue, playlist, etc. which is handed off to a next, subsequent device which begins to render the active queue, playlist, etc. as synchronous playback such as in concert with exchanges of timing information). The claim is considered obvious over Ram as modified by Mil and Sch as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Ram, Mil, and/or Sch to the modified device of Ram, Mil, and Sch; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 6
Ram in view of Mil in view of Sch teaches or suggests:
The playback device of claim 5, further comprising program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the first playback device is configured to: before designating the second playback queue as the active playback queue of the first playback device: while maintaining an association with the first playback queue, de-designate the first playback queue as the active playback queue of the first playback device (Ram: ¶ 82, 88, 96-98, 102-108, 146-160, 157, 177: such as to cease the playback of a particular media upon a device for a next media from a next playlist item, which begins playback); (Mil: Abstract; Col 2:25-2:57, 6:36-6:43, 8:59-9:20, 16:14-16:16; Fig 1, 2, etc.: such as to effect a handoff of an active queue, playlist, items therein at for playback at particular media device at a particular timing of the media). The claim is considered obvious over Ram as modified by Mil and Sch as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Ram, Mil, and/or Sch to the modified device of Ram, Mil, and Sch; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 7
Ram in view of Mil in view of Sch teaches or suggests:
The playback device of claim 5, further comprising program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the first playback device is configured to: obtain, from the second playback device, at least a portion of the one or more second media items (Mil: Abstract; Col 2:25-2:57, 6:36-6:43, 8:59-9:20, 16:14-16:16; Fig 1, 2, etc.: such as effected by the transmission of audio, timing, etc. data from a coordinator device to a handed-to device to activate subsequent timed playback of a next media thereon). The claim is considered obvious over Ram as modified by Mil and Sch as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Ram, Mil, and/or Sch to the modified device of Ram, Mil, and Sch; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 8
Ram in view of Mil in view of Sch teaches or suggests:
The playback device of claim 5, wherein the second playback queue is stored at a cloud- based computing system, and wherein the one or more second media items are stored at the cloud-based computing system, the playback device further comprising program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the first playback device is configured to: obtain, from a cloud-based computing system, information identifying the one or more second media items (Ram: ¶ 82, 88, 96-98, 102-108, 146-160, 157, 177: such as by access of a next, subsequent media, playlist, item therein, etc.); (Mil: Abstract; Col 2:25-2:57, 6:36-6:43, 8:59-9:20, 16:14-16:16; Fig 1, 2, etc.: such as link, timing, audio, etc. information relevant to the instantiation of playback). The claim is considered obvious over Ram as modified by Mil and Sch as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Ram, Mil, and/or Sch to the modified device of Ram, Mil, and Sch; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claim 10
Ram in view of Mil in view of Sch teaches or suggests:
The playback device of claim 5,, further comprising program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the first playback device is configured to: determine a command to leave the playback group; based on the command: leave the playback group; de-designate the second playback queue as the active playback queue of the first playback device; and re-designate the first playback queue as the active playback queue of the first playback device (Ram: ¶ 82, 88, 96-98, 102-108, 146-160, 157, 177: such as by associated a playback device for access of a next, subsequent media, playlist, item therein, etc. by direction of the playback device to output selected audio playing on a previous group); (Mil: Abstract; Col 2:25-2:57, 6:36-6:43, 8:59-9:20, 16:14-16:16; Fig 1, 2, etc.: such by iterating the handoff process to link, timing, audio, etc. information relevant to the instantiation of playback of a queue related to a previous grouping). The claim is considered obvious over Ram as modified by Mil and Sch as addressed in the base claim as it would have been obvious to apply the further teaching of Ram, Mil, and/or Sch to the modified device of Ram, Mil, and Sch; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results therefrom.
Regarding claims 11, 18—the claims are considered to recite substantially similar subject matter to that of claim 1 supra and are similarly rejected.
Regarding claims 12, 19—the claims are considered to recite substantially similar subject matter to that of claim 2 supra and are similarly rejected.
Regarding claims 13, 20—the claims are considered to recite substantially similar subject matter to that of claim 3 supra and are similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 14—the claim is considered to recite substantially similar subject matter to that of claim 4 supra and is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 15—the claim is considered to recite substantially similar subject matter to that of claim 5 supra and is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 16—the claim is considered to recite substantially similar subject matter to that of claim 6 supra and is similarly rejected.
Regarding claim 17—the claim is considered to recite substantially similar subject matter to that of claim 7 supra and is similarly rejected.
Claims 9 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ramsay: 20100299639 hereinafter Ram further in view of Millington: 7668964 hereinafter Mil and further in view of Schrock: 20050060264 hereinafter Sch as applied to claims 1-8 supra and further in view of Lambourne: 7571014 hereinafter Lam.
Regarding claim 9
Ram in view of Mil in view of Sch teaches or suggests:
The playback device of claim 5, further comprising program instructions stored on the at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium that are executable by the at least one processor such that the first playback device is configured to:
determine a command to leave the playback group; based on the command: leave the playback group (Mil: Abstract; Col 2:25-2:57, 6:36-6:43, 8:59-9:20, 16:14-16:16; Fig 1, 2, etc.: such as by operations of the handing off processes discussed).
Ram in view of Mil enables but does not explicitly teach operations wherein the second playback queue is still designated as the active playback queue of the first playback device; and after leaving the playback group, continue to play back the one or more second media items independently from at least the second playback device.
In a related field of endeavor Lam teaches a system and method for operating a constellation of networked playback devices by associating different streams among different devices on a user interface (Lam: Figs 3, 7: system operates to group and ungroup particular playback devices and instantiate playback upon devices and/or synchronous playback upon groups thereof) wherein a device operative in a group to output a particular media upon a designated playback queue which remains designated as the active playback queue of the playback device; and the interface operates to ungroup members of the group from the actively laying back device (Lam: Col 11: 40-11:61; 12:38-12:60, etc.; Fig 3, 5: such as by dropping zones not comprising an active playback device, queue, etc. from a group) such that after leaving the playback group, continue to play back the one or more second media items independently from at least the second playback device (Lam: Col 11: 40-11:61; 12:38-12:60, etc.; Fig 3, 5: such as by dropping all related devices in a group, thus leaving a solitary player effecting output of the playback queue). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to adapt the Ram in view of Mil in view of Sch device to operate under directions from a user interface for at least the purpose of designating stand-alone playback of the selected media upon a handed to device and subsequently outputting the media thereof upon a speaker associated therewith; one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected only predictable results from such an inclusion.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks and Claims filed 11/3/25, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 35 USC 103 over Ramsay and Millington; and Ramsay, Millington, and Lambourne have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ramsay, Millington, and Schrock; and Ramsay, Millington, Schrock, and Lambourne.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL C MCCORD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2692