DETAILED ACTION
This communication is in response to applicant’s response filed under 37 C.F.R. §1.111 in response to a non-final office action. Claims 1, 13, 19, and 20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are subject to examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 19, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12-13, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kwak et al. (US 2022/0110142 A1, hereinafter “Kwak”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kwak teaches a wireless communication method, comprising: configuring, by a first device, N operating states for a second device (Kwak: a BS 605 may configure resources 630 (e.g., time-frequency resources) for communications with one or more UEs (e.g., the UEs 115, 215, 415, 515, and/or 615) in a coverage area 610 of the BS 605 ... The resources 630 may include UL/DL resources 632 time-multiplexed with sidelink (SL) resources 634 in a time domain frame ... The SL resources 634 may be used for sidelink communication between the relay UE 615 and the remote UE 620. The BS 605 may configure the relay UE 615 with the resources 630 as shown, see paragraph [0096]); and
performing, by the first device, data transmission with a third device, wherein the data transmission spans operating times corresponding to the N operating states of the second device (Kwak: The relay UE 615 may relay UL communication (received over a reverse link 604) from the remote UE 620 to the BS 605 (over the link 606) and/or relay DL communication from the BS 605 (over the link 606) to the remote UE 620 (over a forward link 602), see paragraph [0095]);
wherein the N operating states of the second device are states of the second device forwarding wireless signals from the first device or the third device, and N is an integer greater than 1 (Kwak: The resources 630 may include UL/DL resources 632 time-multiplexed with sidelink (SL) resources 634 in a time domain frame, see paragraph [0096]);
wherein the method further comprises: in a case that the first device performs downlink data transmission with the third device, notifying, by the first device, the third device of: time period configuration for a diversity mode (Kwak: a BS 605 may configure resources 630 ... the resources 630 are in units of slots 631 ... The resources 630 may include UL/DL resources 632 time-multiplexed with sidelink (SL) resources 634 in a time domain frame ... the UL/DL resources 632 can be further partitioned into a set of slots 631 for UL communications and slots 631 and another set of slots 631 for DL communications, see paragraph [0096]). *Examiner’s Note: multiplexing UL and DL periods (as well as SL periods) meets the requirements for “diversity” as defined in the present application specification paragrpah [0074].
Regarding Claim 12, Kwak teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: configuring, by the first device, time resources for a single data transmission for the third device before the first device communicates wirelessly with the third device via the second device (Kwak: a BS 605 may configure resources 630 (e.g., time-frequency resources) ... the resources 630 are in units of slots 631 ... The resources 630 may include UL/DL resources 632 time-multiplexed with sidelink (SL) resources 634 in a time domain frame ... The SL resources 634 may be used for sidelink communication between the relay UE 615 and the remote UE 620, see paragraph [0096]);
wherein the time resources comprise a plurality of time periods, the plurality of time periods corresponding to time periods of the N operating states, respectively (Kwak: The resources 630 may include UL/DL resources 632 time-multiplexed with sidelink (SL) resources 634 in a time domain frame ... the UL/DL resources 632 can be further partitioned into a set of slots 631 for UL communications and slots 631 and another set of slots 631 for DL communications, see paragraph [0099]).
Regarding Claim 13, Kwak teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: in a case that the first device performs downlink data transmission with the third device, notifying, by the first device, the third device of at least one of following: diversity mode on, configuration predefined in a protocol, or dynamic or semi-persistent configuration (Kwak: The resources 630 may include UL/DL resources 632 time-multiplexed with sidelink (SL) resources 634 in a time domain frame ... The SL resources 634 may be used for sidelink communication between the relay UE 615 and the remote UE 620. The BS 605 may configure the relay UE 615 with the resources 630 as shown, see paragraph [0096]; the relay UE 615 may transmit TDD configuration to the remote UE 620, see paragraph [0099]). *Examiner’s note: the BS configuring time-multiplexed UL/DL/SL resources for the relay UE, which then informs the remote UE of a TDD configuration, constitutes the BS informing the remote UE of “diversity mode on”.
Regarding Claim 15, Kwak teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 1, wherein the first device is a network device or a terminal, the third device is a terminal device, and the second device is an intelligent surface device or a relay device or a backscatter device (Kwak: The SL resources 634 may be used for sidelink communication between the relay UE 615 [second device] and the remote UE 620 [third device]. The BS 605 [first device] may configure the relay UE 615 with the resources 630 as shown, see paragraph [0096]).
Regarding Claim 16, Kwak teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 1, wherein the first device transmits scheduling data information to the third device before the first device transmits data to the third device, the scheduling data information being used to indicate that diversity for operating states of the second device is on (Kwak: a BS 605 may configure resources 630 (e.g., time-frequency resources) ... the resources 630 are in units of slots 631 ... The resources 630 may include UL/DL resources 632 time-multiplexed with sidelink (SL) resources 634 in a time domain frame ... The SL resources 634 may be used for sidelink communication between the relay UE 615 and the remote UE 620, see paragraph [0096]).
Regarding Claim 19, Kwak teaches a wireless communication device, being a first device, comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and executable on the processor (Kwak: the BS 900 may include a processor 902, a memory 904 ... The memory 904 may store instructions 906. The instructions 906 may include instructions that, when executed by the processor 902, cause the processor 902 to perform operations described herein, see paragraphs [0121]-[0123]).
Regarding all other limitations of claim 19, the limitations are substantially the same as the limitations of claim 1, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding Claim 20, Kwak teaches a non-transitory readable storage medium, wherein the non-transitory readable storage medium stores a program or instructions (Kwak: the memory 904 may include a non-transitory computer-readable medium. The memory 904 may store instructions 906, see paragraph [0123]).
Regarding all other limitations of claim 20, the limitations are substantially the same as the limitations of claim 1, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 8-11, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak in view of Tarighat (US 2021/0083758 A1).
Regarding Claim 2, Kwak teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach, wherein the configuring, by a first device, N operating states for a second device comprises: obtaining, by the first device, device information of the second device and channel measurement results of target channels; and
configuring, by the first device based on the device information and the channel measurement results, the N operating states for the second device, wherein the target channels are wireless channels between the second device and the first device or the third device.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tarighat teaches configuring, by a first device, N operating states for a second device comprises: obtaining, by the first device, device information of the second device and channel measurement results of target channels (Tarighat: the first network node 108 may be configured to acquire measurement data from the first repeater device 104, the second repeater device 106, and the second network node 110, see paragraph [0044]; The plurality of measurements comprises a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of the first beam of RF signal and the second beam of RF signal at the second network node 110 ... a first SNR value for the first beam of RF signal received at the first repeater device 104, and a second SNR value for second beam of RF signal received at the second repeater device 106); and
configuring, by the first device based on the device information and the channel measurement results, the N operating states for the second device, wherein the target channels are wireless channels between the second device and the third device (Tarighat: the first network node 108 may be configured to process all acquired measurements jointly, and instruct the network nodes and the repeaters devices of the repeater system 102 in the network to use the selected beam configurations, see paragraph [0044]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kwak to include the features as taught by Tarighat above in order to achieve improved signal-to-noise-ratio (Tarighat: see paragraph [0029]).
Regarding Claim 3, Kwak-Tarighat teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 2.
Tarighat further teaches, the device information comprises device function, wherein the device function is a manner of the second device controlling wireless signal parameters, and the device function comprises phase control (Tarighat: each of the first repeater device 104 and the second repeater device 106 of the repeater system 102 may be configured to execute a gain and phase control operation 202, see paragraph [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kwak to include the features as taught by Tarighat above in order to achieve enhanced communication reliability (Tarighat: see paragraph [0046]).
Regarding Claim 8, Kwak-Tarighat teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 2.
Tarighat further teaches the configuring, by the first device, the N operating states for the second device based on the device information and the channel measurement results comprises: determining, by the first device based on the channel measurement results, M beam directions of forwarding signals from the second device, one beam direction corresponding to at least one operating state (Tarighat: the repeater system 102 may be configured to perform beam pattern configuration. Each antenna array within a repeater device may be further configured to select and form a radiation pattern from a plurality of possible beam patterns ... Several approach may be used for selecting the beam configurations for various links in/out of each repeater device of the repeater system 102 ... the first network node 108 may be configured to acquire measurement data from the first repeater device 104, the second repeater device 106, and the second network node 110 ... the first network node 108 may be configured to process all acquired measurements jointly, and instruct the network nodes and the repeaters devices of the repeater system 102 in the network to use the selected beam configurations, see paragraphs [0042]-[0044]);
determining, by the first device, the N operating states according to the beam directions (Tarighat: the first network node 108 may be configured to acquire measurement data from the first repeater device 104, the second repeater device 106, and the second network node 110, see paragraph [0044]); and
configuring, by the first device, the N operating states for the second device (Tarighat: the first network node 108 may be configured to process all acquired measurements jointly, and instruct the network nodes and the repeaters devices of the repeater system 102 in the network to use the selected beam configurations, see paragraph [0044]);
wherein M is greater than or equal to 1 (Tarighat: Each antenna array within a repeater device may be further configured to select and form a radiation pattern from a plurality of possible beam patterns, see paragraph [0042]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Tarighat is the same as the rationale and motivation for claim 3.
Regarding Claim 9, Kwak-Tarighat teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 8.
Tarighat further teaches the determining, by the first device, the N operating states according to the beam directions comprises: setting, in a case that the beam directions are one beam direction, at least one second offset for a first operating state corresponding to the one beam direction (Tarighat: In some embodiments, the receiving antenna array ... and transmitting antenna array ... inside a repeater device ... operate at the same carrier RF frequency ... In some embodiments, the carrier RF frequency of incoming and outgoing signals may be different [frequency offset] ... In some embodiments, the antenna arrays in a repeater device of the repeater system 102 may deploy classic phase shifters [phase offset] per antenna element to create configurable or programmable antenna radiation patterns, see paragraph [0041]),
wherein the N operating states comprise the first operating state and the first operating state with second offset setting (Tarighat: In some embodiments, the antenna arrays in a repeater device of the repeater system 102 may deploy classic phase shifters [phase offset] per antenna element to create configurable or programmable antenna radiation patterns, see paragraph [0041]; Each antenna array within a repeater device may be further configured to select and form a radiation pattern from a plurality of possible beam patterns, see paragraph [0042]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Tarighat is the same as the rationale and motivation for claim 3.
Regarding Claim 10, Kwak-Tarighat teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 8.
Tarighat further teaches, wherein in a case that the beam directions are at least two beam directions, the N operating states comprise operating states corresponding to each of the at least two beam directions (Tarighat: Each antenna array within a repeater device may be further configured to select and form a radiation pattern from a plurality of possible beam patterns, see paragraph [0042]; the first network node 108 may be configured to ... instruct the network nodes and the repeaters devices of the repeater system 102 in the network to use the selected beam configurations, see paragraph [0044]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Tarighat is the same as the rationale and motivation for claim 3.
Regarding Claim 11, Kwak-Tarighat teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 2, wherein the target channels comprise S first channels between the second device and S third devices, one third device corresponding to one first channel (Tarighat: the first network node 108 may be configured to acquire measurement data from the first repeater device 104, the second repeater device 106, and the second network node 110, and other possible destination nodes in the network, see paragraph [0044]);
wherein the channel measurement results are obtained based on channel measurement results of the S first channels, and S is an integer greater than 1 (Tarighat: The plurality of measurements comprises a signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) of the first beam of RF signal and the second beam of RF signal at the second network node 110 (i.e. node B), see paragraph [0047]; the source network node 308 and the repeater device 604 may be utilized and configured for transporting data to multiple destination nodes ... implementations and configurations described, for example, in FIGS. 1 to 5, may also be applied to the network topology of FIG. 6, see paragraph [0071]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Tarighat is the same as the rationale and motivation for claim 2.
Regarding Claim 14, Kwak teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach different states in the N operating states correspond to different forwarding beams forwarded by the second device, and the different forwarding beams comprise at least one of following: forwarding beams with different phases, forwarding beams with different intensities, forwarding beams with different directions, forwarding beams with different widths, forwarding beams with different gains, or forwarding beams with different sidelobe energies.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tarighat teaches different states in the N operating states correspond to different forwarding beams forwarded by the second device, and the different forwarding beams comprise: forwarding beams with different phases, forwarding beams with different directions, forwarding beams with different gains (Tarighat: the antenna arrays in a repeater device of the repeater system 102 may deploy classic phase shifters per antenna element to create configurable or programmable antenna radiation patterns, see paragraph [0041]; Each antenna array within a repeater device may be further configured to select and form a radiation pattern from a plurality of possible beam patterns, see paragraph [0042]; each of the first repeater device 104 and the second repeater device 106 of the repeater system 102 may be configured to execute a gain and phase control operation 202, see paragraph [0045]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Tarighat is the same as the rationale and motivation for claim 3.
Regarding Claim 17, Kwak teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach, in a case that the first device performs downlink data transmission with the third device, the performing, by the first device, data transmission with a third device comprises: performing, by the first device, data transmission with the third device by mapping a redundant version of data onto time-frequency resources in a plurality of time periods.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Tarighat teaches in a case that the first device performs downlink data transmission with the third device, the performing, by the first device, data transmission with a third device comprises: performing, by the first device, data transmission with the third device by mapping a redundant version of data onto time-frequency resources in a plurality of time periods (Tarighat: streams S1 and S2 transmitted by first network node 108 (towards the first repeater device 104 and the second repeater device 106) may be outcome of two original data streams (e.g. S1 _0 and S2 _0) after the MIMO processing is applied on them ... space-time coded streams S1 and S2 may be used for MIMO processing, in which original streams [S1 _0 S2 _0] undergo space-time coding procedure to generate streams [S1 S2] to be transmitted over-the-air ... Examples of the coding used in this case may include, but is not limited to an orthogonal space time blocks codes (O-STBC) and Alamouti coding, see paragraphs [0034]-[0035]). *Examiner’s note: O-STBC and Alamouti coding both utilize redundancy in the space and time domains, by sending copies of the same data over different antennas at different times.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kwak to include the features as taught by Tarighat above in order to provide robustness and diversity protection (Tarighat: see paragraph [0035]).
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak-Tarighat in view of Li et al. (US 2020/0366363 A1, hereinafter “Li”).
Regarding Claim 4, Kwak-Tarighat teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 2, but does not explicitly teach, before the configuring, by the first device based on the device information and the channel measurement results, the N operating states for the second device, the method further comprises: transmitting, by the first device, P reference signals to the third device;
wherein the P reference signals are signals that have been forwarded by the second device using P predefined operating states, respectively;
the target channels comprise channels corresponding to the P reference signals; and
P is an integer greater than or equal to 1.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Li teaches before the configuring, transmitting, by the first device, P reference signals to the third device (Li: In example 700, the base station 110 may transmit one or more downlink reference signals to the repeater 140 ... The UE 120 may receive one or more relayed downlink reference signals from the repeater 140, see paragraphs [0098]-[0099]);
wherein the P reference signals are signals that have been forwarded by the second device using P predefined operating states, respectively (Li: the base station 110 may transmit one or more downlink reference signals to the repeater 140 via a corresponding one or more beams (e.g., using one beam for each downlink reference signal) according to the configuration. For each downlink reference signal received via a beam, the repeater 140 may relay that downlink reference signal via multiple beams according to the configuration, see paragraph [0098]);
the target channels comprise channels corresponding to the P reference signals (Li: For each downlink reference signal received via a beam, the repeater 140 may relay that downlink reference signal via multiple beams according to the configuration, see paragraph [0098]); and
P is an integer greater than or equal to 1 (Li: In example 700, the base station 110 may transmit one or more downlink reference signals, see paragraph [0098]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kwak-Tarighat to include the features as taught by Li above in order to identify the best beam combination (Li: see paragraph [0101]).
Regarding Claim 5, Kwak-Tarighat-Li teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 4.
Li further teaches a transmit time interval between any two of the P reference signals is greater than an operating state switching time required by the second device (Li: For example, the repeater 140 may receive the signal in a first TTI [transmission time interval], may transmit the signal on a first beam in a second TTI, may transmit the signal on a second beam in a third TTI, and so on, see paragraph [0094]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Li is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 6, Kwak-Tarighat-Li teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 4.
Li further teaches the configuring, by the first device, the N operating states for the second device based on the device information and the channel measurement results comprises: dynamically generating, by the first device based on measurement results of the P reference signals, the N operating states (Li: The UE 120 may receive one or more relayed downlink reference signals from the repeater 140 and may perform measurement and/or reporting of the one or more relayed downlink reference signals according to the configuration, see paragraph [0099]; The base station 110 may identify the first beam pair and the second beam pair based at least in part on the measurement report, see paragraph [0101]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Li is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 4.
Regarding Claim 7, Kwak-Tarighat-Li teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 4.
Li further teaches the configuring, by the first device, the N operating states for the second device based on the device information and the channel measurement results comprises configuring, by the first device, operating time lengths, periods, and order of occurrence corresponding to the N operating states for the second device (Li: the repeater 140 may relay the signal in a TTI [transmission time interval] included in a set of TTIs configured for relaying the signal. For example, the repeater 140 may receive the signal in a first TTI, may transmit the signal on a first beam in a second TTI, may transmit the signal on a second beam in a third TTI, and so on. The first TTI, the second TTI, the third TTI, and so on may be included in a set of TTIs configured for the signal, see paragraph [0094]).
The rationale and motivation for adding the teaching of Li is the same as the rationale and motivation for Claim 4.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak in view of Islam et al. (US 2022/0311503 A1, hereinafter “Islam”).
Regarding Claim 18, Kwak teaches the wireless communication method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach obtaining, by the first device, an operating state switching time period of the second device determined by the third device, wherein the switching time period is determined based on information predefined in a protocol.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Islam teaches obtaining, by the first device, an operating state switching time period of the second device determined by the third device, wherein the switching time period is determined based on information predefined in a protocol (Islam: In some implementations, the method can include [the repeater node] receiving a second DCI message, and forwarding the second DCI message to the first node ... the second DCI message indicates a second beam change delay time interval associated with ... the second node, see paragraph [0012]; the beam change delay time interval [of the repeater node] may be based on ... a second SCS (subcarrier spacing) of a second link between the repeater node and the second node prior to the beam change operation, or a third SCS of the second link after the beam change operation. Alternatively, or in addition, the beam change delay time interval may be based on beam change delay time intervals associated with one or more nodes, such as the second node, see paragraph [0049]; see also paragraphs [0088]-[0089]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kwak to include the features as taught by Islam above in order to reduce interference in a wireless communication system (Islam: see paragraph [0051]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Manolakos et al. (US 2023/0396286 A1) teaches a relay UE receiving, from a base station, a set of sidelink frequency hopping parameters, and transmitting, to a remote UE via a sidelink interface, a frequency hopping configuration for sidelink reference signaling by the remote UE, wherein the frequency hopping configuration is based at least in part on the set of sidelink frequency hopping parameters (see paragraph [0006]), and measuring RSSI/RSRP/RSRQ associated with various sidelink channels to select a channel for transmission of a sidelink communication (see paragraph [0070])..
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/P.K./Examiner, Art Unit 2416
/NOEL R BEHARRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2416