DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on November 20, 2023 Claims 1-22 have been examined in this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 11/20/2023 and 6/25/2024 have been acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-7, 9-13, 15-18, and 20-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Robinson (US 2014/0002302 A1) in view of Reid et al (WO 2022/226466 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Robinson teaches an apparatus for providing a positioning, navigation, and timing (PNT) service using a mesh network of interconnected nodes that includes a constellation of satellites, the constellation of satellites including one or more broadcast satellites, the apparatus comprising [0026-0037 and 0064]:
at least one memory configured to store computer-readable program code; and at least one processing circuitry configured to access the at least one memory, and execute the computer-readable program code to cause the apparatus to at least [0038 for means for processing signals]:
generate one or more pseudorandom noise (PRN) codes for the one or more broadcast satellites, the one or more PRN codes generated at an originating node of the mesh network [0027-0029 for independent GLT and 0042 for ground located transceiver];
and modulated onto a carrier to produce one or more PNT signals for broadcast and receipt by a user equipment designed to use the one or more PNT signals and any number of other PNT signals to calculate a geographical position and user clock solution [0036 calculating position, 0052-0054 for clock bias (clock solution), 0060 for modulating signals].
Robinson fails to explicitly teach and at or from the originating node, map time-registration metadata for the one or more PRN codes; and route the one or more PRN codes with the time-registration metadata through the mesh network to the one or more broadcast satellites, at which the one or more PRN codes are time-registered based on broadcast satellite time and the time-registration metadata.
Reid has a satellite orbiting in one of a plurality of orbital planes of a satellite constellation system (abstract) and teaches and at or from the originating node, map time-registration metadata for the one or more PRN codes [0081-0082 for messages coded with timing data];
and route the one or more PRN codes with the time-registration metadata through the mesh network to the one or more broadcast satellites, at which the one or more PRN codes are time-registered based on broadcast satellite time and the time-registration metadata [0060-0064 for using backhaul data with constellation (network) of satellites, 0081-0082]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the PVT position techniques, as disclosed by Robinson, further including the timing calculations as taught by Reid for the purpose to locking on the timing of the ranging signals of the signals 132 via the associated pseudo random noise (Reid, 0082).
Regarding Claim 7, Robinson teaches an apparatus for providing a positioning, navigation, and timing (PNT) service using a mesh network of interconnected nodes that includes a constellation of satellites, the apparatus comprising [0026-0037 and 0064]:
at least one memory configured to store computer-readable program code [0038 for means for processing signals];
and at least one processing circuitry configured to access the at least one memory, and execute the computer-readable program code to cause the apparatus to at least [0038 for means for processing signals]:
and broadcast the PNT signal for receipt by a user equipment designed to use the PNT signal and any number of other PNT signals to calculate a geographical position and user clock solution [0036 calculating position, 0052-0054 for clock bias (clock solution), 0060 for modulating signals].
Robinson fails to explicitly teach receive a pseudorandom noise (PRN) code with time-registration metadata at a broadcast satellite of the constellation of satellites, the PRN code with the time-registration metadata routed through the mesh network from an originating node of the mesh network to the broadcast satellite; time-register the PRN code based on broadcast satellite time and the time-registration metadata.
Reid has a satellite orbiting in one of a plurality of orbital planes of a satellite constellation system (abstract) and teaches receive a pseudorandom noise (PRN) code with time-registration metadata at a broadcast satellite of the constellation of satellites [0081-0082 for messages coded with timing data];
the PRN code with the time-registration metadata routed through the mesh network from an originating node of the mesh network to the broadcast satellite [0080 for constellation (network) of satellites with back haul (timing) system],
at which the one or more PRN codes are time-registered based on broadcast satellite time and the time-registration metadata [0060-0064 for using backhaul data with constellation (network) of satellites, 0081-0082].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the PVT position techniques, as disclosed by Robinson, further including the timing calculations as taught by Reid for the purpose to locking on the timing of the ranging signals of the signals 132 via the associated pseudo random noise (Reid, 0082).
Regarding Claim 12, Robinson teaches a method of providing a positioning, navigation, and timing (PNT) service using a mesh network of interconnected nodes that includes a constellation of satellites, the constellation of satellites including one or more broadcast satellites, the method comprising [0026-0037 and 0064]:
generating one or more pseudorandom noise (PRN) codes for the one or more broadcast satellites, the one or more PRN codes generated at an originating node of the mesh network [0027-0029 for independent GLT and 0042 for ground located transceiver];
modulated onto a carrier to produce one or more PNT signals for broadcast and receipt by a user equipment designed to use the one or more PNT signals and any number of other PNT signals to calculate a geographical position and user clock solution [0036 calculating position, 0052-0054 for clock bias (clock solution), 0060 for modulating signals].
Robinson fails to explicitly teach at or from the originating node, mapping time-registration metadata for the one or more PRN codes; and routing the one or more PRN codes with the time-registration metadata through the mesh network to the one or more broadcast satellites, at which the one or more PRN codes are time-registered based on broadcast satellite time and the time-registration metadata.
Reid has a satellite orbiting in one of a plurality of orbital planes of a satellite constellation system (abstract) and teaches at or from the originating node, mapping time-registration metadata for the one or more PRN codes [0081-0082 for messages coded with timing data];
and routing the one or more PRN codes with the time-registration metadata through the mesh network to the one or more broadcast satellites, at which the one or more PRN codes are time-registered based on broadcast satellite time and the time-registration metadata [0060-0064 for using backhaul data with constellation (network) of satellites, 0081-0082]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the PVT position techniques, as disclosed by Robinson, further including the timing calculations as taught by Reid for the purpose to locking on the timing of the ranging signals of the signals 132 via the associated pseudo random noise (Reid, 0082).
Regarding Claim 18, Robinson teaches a method of providing a positioning, navigation, and timing (PNT) service using a mesh network of interconnected nodes that includes a constellation of satellites the method comprising [0026-0037 and 0064]:
modulating the time-registered PRN code onto a carrier to produce a PNT signal for the broadcast satellite; and broadcasting the PNT signal for receipt by a user equipment designed to use the PNT signal and any number of other PNT signals to calculate a geographical position and user clock solution [0036 calculating position, 0052-0054 for clock bias (clock solution), 0060 for modulating signals].
Robinson fails to explicitly teach receiving a pseudorandom noise (PRN) code with time-registration metadata at a broadcast satellite of the constellation of satellites, the PRN code with the time-registration metadata routed through the mesh network from an originating node of the mesh network to the broadcast satellite; time-registering the PRN code based on broadcast satellite time and the time-registration metadata.
Reid has a satellite orbiting in one of a plurality of orbital planes of a satellite constellation system (abstract) and teaches receiving a pseudorandom noise (PRN) code with time-registration metadata at a broadcast satellite of the constellation of satellites [0081-0082 for messages coded with timing data];
the PRN code with the time-registration metadata routed through the mesh network from an originating node of the mesh network to the broadcast satellite; time-registering the PRN code based on broadcast satellite time and the time-registration metadata [0060-0064 for using backhaul data with constellation (network) of satellites, 0081-0082]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the PVT position techniques, as disclosed by Robinson, further including the timing calculations as taught by Reid for the purpose to locking on the timing of the ranging signals of the signals 132 via the associated pseudo random noise (Reid, 0082).
Regarding Claim 2 and 13, Robinson teaches the one or more PRN codes are generated at the originating node that is located on the ground [0057-0058].
Regarding Claim 4 and 15, Robinson teaches the one or more PRN codes are generated based on a system model used to replicate an orbit and clock of the one or more broadcast satellites [0043 for using clock signal and ephemeris data].
Robinson fails to explicitly teach and the apparatus caused to route the one or more PRN codes with the time-registration metadata includes the apparatus caused to meter the one or more PRN codes with the time-registration metadata for receipt at the one or more broadcast satellites just in time for broadcast.
Reid has a satellite orbiting in one of a plurality of orbital planes of a satellite constellation system (abstract) and teaches and the apparatus caused to route the one or more PRN codes with the time-registration metadata includes the apparatus caused to meter the one or more PRN codes with the time-registration metadata for receipt at the one or more broadcast satellites just in time for broadcast [0081-0082]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the PVT position techniques, as disclosed by Robinson, further including the timing calculations as taught by Reid for the purpose to locking on the timing of the ranging signals of the signals 132 via the associated pseudo random noise (Reid, 0082).
Regarding Claim 5 and 16, Robinson teaches the at least one processing circuitry is configured to execute the computer-readable program code to cause the apparatus to further embed the time-registration metadata with the one or more PRN codes [0057-0058],
and wherein the one or more PRN codes are routed including the time-registration metadata embedded with the one or more PRN codes [figure 3 element 208 for transmission from 140 to satellite, and 0051-0052 for signal timing].
Regarding Claim 6 and 17, Robinson teaches the at least one processing circuitry is configured to execute the computer-readable program code to cause the apparatus to further encrypt the one or more PRN codes with the time-registration metadata before the one or more PRN codes with the time-registration metadata are routed to the one or more broadcast satellites.
Reid has a satellite orbiting in one of a plurality of orbital planes of a satellite constellation system (abstract) and teaches the at least one processing circuitry is configured to execute the computer-readable program code to cause the apparatus to further encrypt the one or more PRN codes with the time-registration metadata before the one or more PRN codes with the time-registration metadata are routed to the one or more broadcast satellites [0178]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the PVT position techniques, as disclosed by Robinson, further including the timing calculations as taught by Reid for the purpose to allow the user can trust that the signal came from a trusted satellite in this constellation and thus the clock bias calculation can be trusted (Reid, 0178).
Regarding Claim 9 and 20, Robinson fails to explicitly teach the PRN code with the time-registration metadata as received is encrypted, and the at least one processing circuitry is configured to execute the computer-readable program code to cause the apparatus to further decrypt the PRN code with the time-registration metadata before the PRN code is time-registered and modulated onto the carrier to produce the PNT signal.
Reid has a satellite orbiting in one of a plurality of orbital planes of a satellite constellation system (abstract) and teaches the PRN code with the time-registration metadata as received is encrypted, and the at least one processing circuitry is configured to execute the computer-readable program code to cause the apparatus to further decrypt the PRN code with the time-registration metadata before the PRN code is time-registered and modulated onto the carrier to produce the PNT signal [0210-0212]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the PVT position techniques, as disclosed by Robinson, further including the timing calculations as taught by Reid for the purpose to ignore faulty satellite signals (Reid, 0210).
Regarding Claim 10 and 21, Robinson teaches the PNT service is dual-use, and the at least one processing circuitry is configured to execute the computer-readable program code to cause the apparatus to further broadcast second PNT signals for receipt by the user equipment, the second PNT signals including commercially-proprietary or civil onboard-generated ranging codes [0001].
Regarding Claim 11 and 22, Robinson fails to explicitly teach the PRN code and the carrier are coherently synchronized to each other.
Reid has a satellite orbiting in one of a plurality of orbital planes of a satellite constellation system (abstract) and teaches the PRN code and the carrier are coherently synchronized to each other [0234-0235]
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the PVT position techniques, as disclosed by Robinson, further including the timing calculations as taught by Reid for the purpose to provide ultimate generation of precision timing data by client devices (Reid, 02356).
Claims 3, 8, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Robinson (US 2014/0002302 A1) in view of Reid et al (WO 2022/226466 A1), as applied to Claim 1, 7, 12, and 18 above, and further in view of Pande et al (US 2005/0146461 A1).
Regarding Claim 3, Robinson fails to explicitly teach teaches the one or more PRN codes that are generated are Global Positioning System (GPS) M-code or Y-code.
Pande has a GPS server capable of receiving information for use in determining ionospheric errors (abstract) and teaches the one or more PRN codes that are generated are Global Positioning System (GPS) M-code or Y-code [0013].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the PVT position techniques, as disclosed by Robinson, further including the code calculations as taught by Pande for the purpose to to deny access to unauthorized users (Pande, 0013).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim et al (US 2006/0224320 A1) has a pseudolite PRN code assigning system and method are provided. In the system.
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648