DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
The claims are rejected as follows:
Claims 1, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nakane, JP 2009–45571 A (“Nakane”)1.
Regarding claim 1:
It is noted that the published specification (hereinafter “Spec.”) discloses that the filter pan 18a has a generally rectangular shape that has two sides longer than the other two. Spec. [0021] and Fig. 4. The examiner is interpreting the limitation of a rectangular shaped filter consistent with what is shown in Fig. 4 of the Spec.
Nakane discloses that a cartridge (Nakane’s cabinet 1) for a vertically oriented dust collector (intended use). Nakane Fig. 1, p. 2. Nekane discloses its cartridge 1 comprises: a rectangular filter pan (Nakane’s filter attaching/detaching mechanism 5) having an opening (Nakane’s circular opening 7). Nakane Fig. 2B, p. 2. Nakane also discloses the claimed limitation of that a filter (Nakane’s filter F) incorporated into said opening 7. Nakane Fig. 2B, p. 2. Nakane also discloses that the filter pan 5 have two alignment openings on opposite sides of said filter pan 5 (Nakane’s notch 11 and insertion hole 10 are located on opposite sides on filter pan 5), each said alignment opening 10 and 11 are configured to align with an alignment block (Nakane’s bolt 13 and support pin 12, respectively) in the vertically oriented (intended use) dust collector 1. Nakane Fig. 1, p. 3.
Regarding claim 3:
Modified Nakane discloses the claimed limitation of that the cartridge of claim 1 further comprising said opening 7 is circular and said filter F has a circular cross-section. Nakane Figs. 1 and 2B, p. 4.
Regarding claim 5:
Modified Nakane discloses the claimed limitation of that the cartridge of claim 1, wherein said filter pan 5 is a double walled pan that comprises a top pan (main body 8) and a bottom pan (reinforcing member 9). Nakane Fig. 2A, p. 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claims are rejected as follows:
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nakane in view of Clements, US 9,616,371 B1 (“Clements”)
Regarding claim 2:
Nakane does not disclose the claimed limitation of that the cartridge of claim 1 further comprising said opening is elliptical and said filter has an elliptical cross section.
Similar to Nakane, Clements is directed to cartridge dust collectors. Clements col. 1, ll. 26–34. Similar to Nakane, Clements discloses a filter cartridge 38 fitted in a filter pan 32. Clements Fig. 9, col. 8, ll. 14–19. Additionally, Clements discloses that its filter cartridge could have an oval or elliptical shape. Clements col. 13, ll. 45–49. Clements discloses that the purpose of making filter cartridge oval or elliptical is to adapt to baghouses having oval or oblong openings. Clements col. 2, ll. 30–34. It would have been obvious for Nakane’s filter to have an elliptical cross section such that Nakane’s filter could be adapt to baghouses having oval or oblong openings.
Claims 4 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nakane in view of Clements ’292, US 6,358,292 B1 (“Clements ’292”).
Regarding claim 4:
Nakane does not disclose that the filter pan 5 has mitered corners.
Similar to Nakane, Clements ’292 is directed to dust collectors. Clements ’292 Fig. 1, col. 1, ll. 13–16. Additionally, Clements ’292 discloses a similar configuration of a filter cartridge 14 fitted in a filter pan 12. Clements ’292 col. 3, ll. 14–23. Furthermore, Clements ’292’s filter pan 12 has mitered corners as shown in Fig. 3. Clements ’292 Fig. 3. It would have been obvious for Moore’s filter pan 36 has mitered corners as Clements ’292 because such design is known in the art as being suitable for dust collection system with filter pans.
Regarding claim 8:
Nakane discloses that the cartridge of claim 1 further comprising, said filter pan 5 having a top surface (where label 8 points in Fig. 2(A)). Nakane Fig. 2(A).
Nakane does not disclose the claimed at least one gasket on said top surface, wherein said filter pan 5 is pressed against said at least one gasket to seal the cartridge within the vertically oriented dust collector.
Similar to Nakane, Clements ’292 is directed to dust collectors. Clements ’292 Fig. 1, col. 1, ll. 13–16. Additionally, Clements ’292 discloses a similar configuration of a filter cartridge 14 fitted in a filter pan 12. Clements ’292 col. 3, ll. 14–23. Additionally, Clements ’292 discloses a gasket 38, wherein the filter pan 12 is pressed against the gasket 38 to seal the cartridge 14 within the dust collector 10. Clements ’292 Figs. 1 and 4, col. 4, ll. 15–25. It would have been obvious for Nakane’s filter pan to comprises a gasket similar to Clements ’292’s gasket 38 to ensure air tight seal between Nakane’s filter pan and dust collector. Additionally, such gasket is known in the art as being suitable for sealing filter pan and dust collector.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nakane in view of Clements ’004, US 8,580,004 (“Clements ’004”).
Regarding claim 6:
Nakane does not disclose that the cartridge of claim 1 further comprising a grounding clip.
Similar to Nakane, Clements ’004 is directed to dust collectors. Clements ’004 col. 1, ll. 27–31. Additionally, Clements ’004 discloses an improved embodiment with a grounding clip (i.e., grounding wire 200). Clements’004, Fig. 21, col. 12, ll. 50–59. Clements ’004 also discloses that it is a standard industry practice to electrically ground filter cartridges have metallic components. Id. at col. 12, ll. 34–39. It would have been obvious for the filter cartridge 38 to have a grounding clip 200 because it is standard industry practice.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Nakane in view of Kao, US 2004/0250518 A1 (“Kao”).
Regarding claim 7:
Nakane discloses that each alignment opening 10, 11 extend through the thickness of filter pan 5. Nakane Fig. 2(c), p. 2.
Nakane does not disclose that the cartridge of claim 1 further comprising: each said alignment opening is on its outermost perimeter of said filter pan (Nakane’s notch 11 is on the outermost perimeter while Nakane’s insertion hole is not). Nakane Fig. 2(c), p. 2, last para and p. 3, first para. Nakane does not disclose that the two alignment openings 10, 11 each is shaped such that the outer perimeter of said filter pan is other than rectangular because Nakane’s alignment opening 10 does not change the outer perimeter of its filter pan to be other than rectangular.
Similar to Nakane, Kao discloses a filter member 2 attached to a filter pan 6. Kao Fig. 3, [0024]. Similar to Nakane, Kao’s filter pan 6 comprises a plurality of alignment openings (Kao shows three notches on its filter pan 6). Kao Fig. 3, [0024]. Additionally, Kao’s notches are identical to each other. It would have been obvious for Nakane’s alignment opening 10 to be a notch similar to its notch 11 because such design is known in the art. Additionally, identical notches making the manufacturing process easier and cost effective because notch requires less material than a surrounding hole. With such modification, Nakane would have two identical notches 11 instead of 10 and 11, wherein each notch would change the outer perimeter of the filter pan to be other than rectangular.
Double Patenting2
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1–6 of this application is patentably indistinct from claim 1–3, 7 and 9–10 of US 11,857,905 B2. Specifically,
Claim 1 of the instant applicant requires, inter alia, a filter pan, a filter and alignment opening align with an alignment block. All of the recited limitations are also recited in the patent US 11,857,905 B2. The amended further limitation is intended use and Nakane’s filter cartridge is capable of performing the intended use function, and therefore, instant claim 1 would be obvious over the patent US 11,857,905 B2 in view of Nakane.
Claim 2 of the instant application is identical to claim 2 of the Patent US 11,857,905 B2.
Claim 3 of the instant application is identical to claim 3 of the Patent US 11,857,905 B2.
Claim 4 of the instant application is identical to claim 7 of the Patent US 11,857,905 B2.
Claim 5 of the instant application is identical to claim 9 of the Patent US 11,857,905 B2.
Claim 6 of the instant application is identical to claim 10 of the Patent US 11,857,905 B2.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
The examiner drops the current rejection because the applicant has amended the claims to overcome the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102(a)(1)
The applicant amends claim 1 and argues that Claim 1 is clearly distinguishable from Nakane which has only one notch and nothing on the opposite side from that notch that would allow Nakane’s device to be properly installed. Applicant Rem. dated Aug. 12, 2025 (“Applicant Rem.”) p. 5. The applicant also amends claim 1 to require the filter pan to be rectangular. The applicant argues that its design allows the cartridge to be installed in either direction and Nakane’s cartridge only has a notch 11 on one side and the other side has the insertion hole 10 orientation, it is not possible to rotate the filter pan 5 for use and there is no suggestion that there is any consideration of that. Applicant Rem. ps. 5–6.
The examiner does not agree. As stated in the rejection of claim 1 above, applicant’s amendment does not overcome Nakane. The instant claim does not require the two alignment openings to be identical, and Nakane’s support insertion pin 10 and notch 11 reads on the claimed alignment opening because they have to be properly aligned to properly install the filter pan. The limitation of “rectangular pan” is shown in Applicant’s Fig. 4 as a “generally” rectangular shape, with two alignment notches on both sides. And Nakane’s filter pan 5 is in a similar rectangular shape as shown in Nakane’s Fig. 2(B). Nakane therefore reads on the term “rectangular.” Applicant’s arguments regarding the specific function of the claimed invention is not commensurate with the scope of the invention because the claim does not require such limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The applicant’s argument regarding claims 2, 4, 6 and 8 depends on the allowability of claim 1. Applicant Rem. p. 7. Since the examiner does not think claim 1 is allowable, applicant’s argument regarding those claims are not persuasive.
The applicant’s arguments regarding claim 7 focuses on the claimed “rectangular filter pan.” The applicant argues that this is not merely a design choice because its rectangular design allows its pan to turn around. Kao is not possible for such function. Kao does not show or at all discusses what the purposes of the notches are. The applicant argues that Kao does not identify the notches and there is not teaching in Kao regarding the notches. The applicant argues that Kao focuses on the construction rather than the installation alignment of the claim. Applicant Rem. p. 7.
The examiner does not agree. Kao’s figures, which are part of his invention, clearly shows notches on opposite side of a filter pan structure, indicating that such notch design is known in the art. The function of such notches are not commensurate with the scope of the invention because those functional limitations are not included in applicant’s claim. Additionally, the applicant’s invention is directed to an apparatus, and the examination is focused on the structure. MPEP 2114.
Double Patenting
The applicant argues that its amendment of claim 1 would overcome the current double patenting rejection. Applicant Rem. p. 7.
The examiner does not agree. All the structure limitations of current claim 1 is recited in claims of US 11,857,905 B2, and therefore the examiner maintains the current rejection.
Conclusion
/Qianping He/Examiner, Art Unit 1776
1 A copy of Nakane’s original document and machine translation are provided with the office action. The examiner relies on the original document for the figure and the machine translation for the text.
2 Per MPEP 804, since same invention belongs to same inventive entity and it is between the current application and a patent US 11,857,905 B2, this is a Statutory Double-Patenting Rejection.