DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-14 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 9-11, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Street et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0261221 (hereinafter Street).
As for claim 1, Street discloses a cooling system (A combined heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration HVACR 410 system ; figure 5; paragraphs [0055]) comprising: a first air to fluid heat exchanger (AC evaporator 45; figure 5; paragraphs [0028, 0055-0057]); a first-refrigerant circuit comprising a first evaporator, a first condenser, and a first compressor (the medium temperature display case 95 having an evaporator 105 is coupled to the MT compressor 115 and condensers 125A and 1258; figures 5; paragraphs [0033-0036, 0056]); and a second refrigerant circuit comprising a second evaporator, a second condenser, and a second compressor (the low temperature display case 100 having an evaporator 105 is coupled to the LT compressor 120 and de-superheater 455 which includes a condenser coil 460; figures 5; paragraphs [0033-0036, 0056, 0057, 0059]), wherein: the first evaporator is associated with a higher evaporating temperature relative to the second evaporator (the medium temperature display case 95 versus low temperature display case 100 figures 5; paragraphs [0033-0036, 0056]), a fluid is in a series flow relationship through a fluid cooler heat exchanger followed by the first evaporator and followed by the second evaporator (the refrigerant flows from the AC evaporator 45 to the compressor 35 then via the common receiver to the MT display case 95 then via the loop back to the LT display cases 100 figures 5; paragraphs [0056-0058]), and air is in a series flow through the fluid cooler heat exchanger followed by both the first and second condensers (air flows in via AC evaporator coil 45 and flows to the inlet section 235 which provides air for the -desuperheater 455 via inlet 455 and the air condenser inlets 150; figures 5; paragraphs [0042, 0043, 0060-0061]).
As for claim 2, Street discloses the cooling system of claim 1, wherein the first and second refrigerant circuits each further comprise an integrated fluid cooling and condenser heat exchanger (de-superheater 455 which includes a condenser coil 460 and Condensers 125a and 125B are providing cooling; figures 5; paragraphs [0033-0036, 0056, 00601).
As for claim 5, Street discloses the cooling system of claim 1, wherein a fan draws the air through both the fluid cooler heat exchanger and the first and second condensers (blowers 200 and 210 are fans which blow in vía AC evaporator coil 45 and flows to the inlet section 235 which provides air for the -desuperheater 455 via Inlet 455 and the air condenser inlets 150; figures 5; paragraphs [0039, 0042, 0043, 0060-0061]).
As for claim 6, Street discloses a method of operating a cooling system (A combined heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration HVACR 410 system figure 5; paragraphs [0055]), the cooling system comprising: at least one air to fluid heat exchangers (AC evaporator 45; figure 5; paragraphs [0028, 0055-0057]); a first refrigerant circuit comprising at least one first evaporator, condenser and a first compressor (the medium temperature display case 95 having an evaporator 105 is coupled to the MT compressor 115 and condensers 125A and 125B; figures 5; paragraphs [0033-0036, 0056]); and a second refrigerant circuit comprising at least one second evaporator condenser and a second compressor (the low temperature display case 100 having an evaporator 105 is coupled to the LT compressor 120 and de-superheater 455 which includes a condenser coil 460; figures 5; paragraphs [0033-0036, 0056, 0057, 0059]), wherein the first evaporator is associated with a higher evaporating temperature relative to the second evaporator (the medium temperature display case 95 versus low temperature display case 100 figures 5; paragraphs [0033-0036, 0056]), wherein a working fluid such as water is in a series flow relationship through first the fluid cooler heat exchanger followed by the higher temperature evaporator and lastly by the lower temperature evaporator (the refrigerant such as water or glycol flows from the AC evaporator 45 to the compressor 35 then via the common receiver to the MT display case 95 then via the loop back to the LT display cases 100 figures 5; paragraphs [0056-0058, 0063]), and wherein ambient air flow is in a series relationship, through first the fluid cooler heat exchanger followed by both first and second refrigeration circuit condensers (air flows in via AC evaporator coil 45 and flows to the inlet section 235 which provides air for the -desuperheater 455 vía inlet 455 and the air condenser inlets 150; figures 5; paragraphs [0042, 0043, 0060-0061]) the method comprising: reading of various inputs such as glycol/water flow rate, percent loading, and ambient air temperature (a control system 325 controls the flow rate of ambient air based on the air temperature using algorithms; figures 4,5 and 8; paragraphs [0053-0054, 0071-0073]); using continuous functions and/or lookup tables to determine an operating configuration that minimizes overall input power (a control system 325 controls the flow rate of ambient air based on the air temperature using algorithms; figures 4,5 and 8; paragraphs [0053-0054, 0071-0073]); and setting outputs such as compressor(s) running status, condenser fan(s) speed(s) and others to values such that the minimal overall power use is achieved (a control system 325 controls the flow rate of ambient air based on the air temperature using algorithms to control the speed of the blowers to minimize energy use; figures 4,5 and 8; paragraphs [0053-0054, 0071-0073, 0080]).
As for claim 9, Hussmann discloses the method of claim 6, wherein a fan draws the air through both the fluid cooler heat exchanger and the condenser heat exchanger (blowers 200 and 210 are fans which blow in via AC evaporator coil 45 and flows to the inlet section 235 which-provides air for the -desuperheater 455 via inlet 455 and the air condenser inlets 150; figures 5; paragraphs [0039, 0042, 0043, 0060-0061]).
As for claim 10, Street discloses a control system for controlling a cooling system (A combined heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration HVACR 410 system ; figure 5; paragraphs [0055]), the cooling system comprising: at least one air to fluid heat exchangers (AC evaporator 45; figure 5; paragraphs [0028, 0055-0057]); a first refrigerant circuit comprising at least one first evaporator, condenser, and compressor (the medium temperature display case 95 having an evaporator 105 is coupled to the MT compressor 115 and condensers 125A and 125B; figures 5; paragraphs [0033-0036, 0056]); and a second refrigerant circuit comprising at least one second evaporator condenser and compressor (the low temperature display case 100 having an evaporator 105 is coupled to the LT compressor 120 and de-superheater 455 which includes a condenser coil 460; figures 5; paragraphs [0033-0036, 0056, 0057, 0059]), wherein the first evaporator is associated with a higher evaporating temperature relative to the second evaporator (the medium temperature display case 95 versus low temperature display case 100 figures 5; paragraphs [0033-0036, 0056]), and a working fluid such as water is in a series flow relationship through first the fluid cooler heat exchanger followed by the higher temperature evaporator and lastly by the lower temperature evaporator (the refrigerant flows from the AC evaporator 45 to the compressor 35 then via the common receiver to the MT display case 95 then via the loop back to the LT display cases 100 : figures 5; paragraphs [0056-0058]), and further where ambient air flow is in a series relationship through first the fluid cooler heat exchanger followed by both first and second refrigeration circuit condensers (air flows in via AC evaporator coil 45 and flows to the inlet section 235 which provides air for the -desuperheater 455 via inlet 455 and the air condenser inlets 150; figures 5; paragraphs [0042, 0043, 0060-0061]), wherein the control system comprises a processor and computer-readable program instructions which, when executed by the processor (electronic control system 325 controls the flow rate of ambient air based on the air temperature using algorithms; figures 4,5 and 8; paragraphs [0053-0054, 0071-0073]). cause the processor to: read various inputs such as glycol/water flow rate, percent loading, and ambient air temperature; use continuous functions and/or lookup tables to determine an operating configuration that minimizes overall input power (control system 325 controls the flow rate of ambient air based on the air temperature using algorithms; figures 4,5 and 8; paragraphs [0053-0054. 0071-0073]); and set outputs such as compressor(s) running status, condenser fan(s) speed(s) and others to values such that the minimal overall power use is achieved (a control system 325 controls the flow rate of ambient air based on the air temperature using algorithms to control the speed of the blowers to minimize energy use; figures 4,5 and 8; paragraphs [0053-0054, 0071-0073, 0080]).
As for claim 11, Street discloses the control system of claim 10, wherein the first and second refrigerant circuits each further comprise integrated fluid cooling and condenser heat exchangers (de-superheater 455 which includes a condenser coil 460 and Condensers 125a and 125B are providing cooling; figures 5; paragraphs [0033-0036, 0056, 0060]) with series air flow through first the air/water heat exchanger followed by the condenser (air flows in via AC evaporator coil 45 and flows to the inlet section 235 which provides air for the -desuperheater 455 via inlet 455 and the air condenser Inlets 150; figures 5; paragraphs [0042, 0043, 0060-0061]).
As for claim 14, Street discloses the control system of claim 10, wherein air enters the cooling system through a fluid cooler heat exchanger and a condenser heat exchanger, wherein the fluid cooler heat exchanger and the condenser heat exchanger are in series (AC evaporator 45; figure 5; paragraphs [0028, 0055-0057]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 7-8, and 12-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Street et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0261221 (hereinafter Street) in view of Dinnage et al., US Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0038660 (hereinafter Dinnage).
As for claim 3, Street discloses the cooling system of claim 1, but Street fails to disclose further comprising aluminum microchannel type air, water, and condenser heat exchangers. However, Dinnage discloses aluminum microchannel type air, water, and condenser heat exchangers (microchannel heat exchangers using aluminum fins 340 may be used for passive condenser 214 with a primary refrigerant such as water to exchange heat with scavenger air 118; figures 1-3, 5A and 5B; paragraphs [0034, 0036, 0044, 0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the relevant date to modify the cooling system of Street to provide aluminum microchannel type air, water, and condenser heat exchangers, as taught by Dinnage, in order to provide the advantage of a known microchannel condenser suitable for passive use in large cooling systems.
As for claim 4, Street discloses the cooling system of claim 1, but Street fails to disclose further comprising an integrated variable speed water pump. However, Dinnage discloses an integrated variable speed water pump (pumped refrigerant systems using a pump to control the refrigerant velocity; paragraphs [0005-0006, 0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the relevant date to modify the cooling system of Street to provide an integrated variable speed water pump, as taught by Dinnage, in order to provide the advantage of a known method of controlling the refrigeration velocity against pressure changes by evaporators and condensers.
As for claim 7, Street discloses the method of claim 6, but Street fails to disclose further comprising aluminum micro-channel type air, water, and condenser heat exchangers. However, Dinnage discloses aluminum microchannel type air, water, and condenser heat exchangers (microchannel heat exchangers using aluminum fins 340 may be used for passive condenser 214 with a primary refrigerant such as water to exchange heat with scavenger air 118; figures 1-3, 5A and 5B; paragraphs [0034, 0036, 0044, 0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the relevant date to modify the method of Street to provide aluminum microchannel type air, water, and condenser heat exchangers, as taught by Dinnage, in order to provide the advantage of a known microchannel condenser suitable for passive use in large cooling systems.
As for claim 8, Street discloses the method of claim 6, but Street fails to disclose further comprising an integrated variable speed water pump(s). However, Dinnage discloses an integrated-variable speed water pump(s) (pumped refrigerant systems using a pump to control the refrigerant velocity; paragraphs [0005-0006, 0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the relevant date to modify the method of Street to provide an integrated variable speed water pump(s), as taught by Dinnage, in order to provide the advantage of a known method of controlling the refrigeration velocity against pressure changes by evaporators and condensers.
As for claim 12, Street discloses the control system of claim 10, but Street fails to disclose wherein the cooling system further comprises aluminum micro-channel type air, water, and condenser heat exchangers. However, Dinnage discloses wherein the cooling system further comprises aluminum micro-channel type air, water, and condenser heat exchangers (microchannel heat exchangers using aluminum fins 340 may be used for passive condenser 214 with a primary refrigerant such as water to exchange heat with scavenger air 118; figures 1-3, 5A and 5B; paragraphs [0034, 0036, 0044, 0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the relevant date to modify the control system of Street to provide wherein the cooling system further comprises aluminum micro-channel type air, water, and condenser heat exchangers, as taught by Dinnage, in order to provide the advantage of a known microchannel condenser suitable for passive use in large cooling systems.
As for claim 13, Street discloses the control system of claim 10, but Street fails to disclose wherein the cooling system further comprises an integrated variable speed water pump. However, Dinnage discloses an integrated variable speed water pump (pumped refrigerant systems using a pump to control the refrigerant velocity; paragraphs [0005-0006, 0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the relevant date to modify the control system of Street to provide an integrated variable speed water pump, as taught by Dinnage, in order to provide the advantage of a known method of controlling the refrigeration velocity against pressure changes by evaporators and condensers.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
1. US Patent Application Publication No. 2008/0148746 – relates to multi-function multi-channel heat exchanger.
2. US Patent No. 8,590,328 – relates to refrigeration system with multi-function heat exchanger.
3. US Patent No. 9,146,045 – relates to modular chiller system comprising interconnected flooded heat exchangers.
Conclusion
/CARLOS R ORTIZ RODRIGUEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119