DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Remarks
This Office action is considered fully responsive to the amendments filed 06/26/2026.
The previous claim objections are withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, filed 06/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under U.S.C. 102 and U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US 20220110088 A1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 10-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/038260 A1 to CHEN et al. (“Chen”) [For purposes of examination, Examiner cites to English language equivalent U.S. Publication No. 2021/0185551 A1, provided by Applicant] in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0110088 A1 to BAO et al. (“Bao”).
As to claim 1, see similar rejection to claim 19. The apparatus teaches the method.
As to claim 2, Chen and Bao further discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: determining the preset condition through an agreement or by receiving first information sent by a second device, wherein the first information indicates the preset condition (Chen, para. 0008-0010, 0039, 0040, the terminal determines to measure and/or track a target neighboring cell corresponding to a first condition, i.e. preset condition, when the threshold of the measurement quantity and a value of a measurement quantity of a cell in which the terminal is located or a neighboring cell meet the first condition; Receive a threshold of a measurement quantity configured by a network device, i.e. receiving first information, indicates the preset condition). In addition, as the primary reference is used to teach the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 1 applies.
As to claim 3, Chen and Bao further discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving second information sent by the second device, wherein the second information indicates a first sensing requirement (Chen, para. 0040, Receive a threshold, i.e. receiving second information, of a measurement quantity, i.e. indicates a first sensing requirement, configured by a network device), and the first sensing requirement is associated with at least one of the following: the preset condition (Chen, para. 0008-0010, 0039, 0040, the terminal determines to measure and/or track a target neighboring cell corresponding to a first condition, i.e. preset condition, when the threshold of the measurement quantity and a value of a measurement quantity of a cell in which the terminal is located or a neighboring cell meet the first condition); a source or format of the sensing signal; the measurement quantity (Chen, para. 0008-0010, 0039, 0040, the terminal determines to measure and/or track a target neighboring cell corresponding to a first condition, i.e. preset condition, when the threshold of the measurement quantity and a value of a measurement quantity of a cell in which the terminal is located or a neighboring cell meet the first condition) or a reporting quantity; and a resource used for reporting the measurement quantity. In addition, as the primary reference is used to teach the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 1 applies.
As to claim 4, Chen and Bao further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the signal quality is indicated by at least one of the following: reference signal received power (RSRP); signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR); signal-to-noise ratio (SNR); a ratio of carrier signal strength to interference signal strength (C/I); and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) (Chen, para. 0045, measurement (i.e. sensing) quantity ….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ). In addition, as the primary reference is used to teach the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 1 applies.
As to claim 5, Chen and Bao further discloses the method according to claim 1 [see claim 1 rejection], wherein the first indicator comprises at least one of the following: a signal-to-clutter ratio; sensing resolution or sensing resolution precision; a signal side lobe characteristic; and peak to average power ratio (PAPR) [Examiner notes that this claim further limits an optional limitation “first indicator” from claim 1, therefore these limitations are not given patentable weight].
As to claim 6, Chen further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the sensing result comprises at least one of the following: a location of a target object (para. 0045, measurement (i.e. sensing) quantity ….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ (i.e. any being a third target); para. 0053-0055, The first condition (i.e. third condition) may include at least one of the following: the value of the measurement quantity of the neighboring cell is greater than the second threshold; para. 0046, Step 202: Determine to measure and/or track (tracking) a target neighboring cell (i.e. neighbor is a location) corresponding to a first condition when the threshold of the measurement quantity and a value of a measurement quantity of a cell in which the terminal is located or a neighboring cell meet the first condition); a speed of the target object; a detection result of the target object (para. 0045, measurement (i.e. sensing) quantity ….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ (i.e. any being a third target); para. 0053-0055, The first condition (i.e. third condition) may include at least one of the following: the value of the measurement quantity of the neighboring cell is greater than the second threshold; para. 0046, Step 202: Determine to measure and/or track (tracking) a target neighboring cell (i.e. measure/track are detections) corresponding to a first condition when the threshold of the measurement quantity and a value of a measurement quantity of a cell in which the terminal is located or a neighboring cell meet the first condition); a tracking result of the target object (para. 0045, measurement (i.e. sensing) quantity ….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ (i.e. any being a third target); para. 0053-0055, The first condition (i.e. third condition) may include at least one of the following: the value of the measurement quantity of the neighboring cell is greater than the second threshold; para. 0046, Step 202: Determine to measure and/or track (tracking) a target neighboring cell corresponding to a first condition when the threshold of the measurement quantity and a value of a measurement quantity of a cell in which the terminal is located or a neighboring cell meet the first condition); an imaging result of the target object; humidity; a temperature; and air quality.
Chen does not expressly disclose a distance of the target object, a recognition result of the target object.
Bao discloses at para. 0112: target UE 700 (e.g., the anchor unit 750) may be configured to measure the reference signal(s) 924, determine one or more corresponding measurements, e.g., RSRP, pathloss, SINR, SNR, and estimate a relative distance between the target UE 700 and a respective one of the anchor(s) 905 (i.e. a distance of the target object, a recognition result of the target object).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the measurements of Bao into the invention of Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been for determining position information (Bao, para. 0112, fig. 9). Including the measurements of Bao into the invention of Chen was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Bao.
As to claim 7, Chen and Bao further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a first-type measurement quantity; and a second-type measurement quantity, wherein the first-type measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a channel matrix H; channel state information (CSI); power, a delay and/or angle information of each path in a multipath channel; Doppler spread; Doppler shift; a phase difference between a first antenna and a second antenna; and a delay difference between the first antenna and the second antenna; and the second-type measurement quantity (Chen, para. 0045, measurement quantity ….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ (i.e. any being a second type)) comprises at least one of the following: feature information of a target object (Chen, para. 0045, measurement quantity ….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ; para. 0053-0055, The first condition may include at least one of the following: the value of the measurement quantity of the neighboring cell is greater than the second threshold; para. 0046, Step 202: Determine to measure and/or track (tracking) a target neighboring cell (i.e. neighboring is a feature information of the target cell) corresponding to a first condition when the threshold of the measurement quantity and a value of a measurement quantity of a cell in which the terminal is located or a neighboring cell meet the first condition); target event-related information; and target environment-related information (Chen, para. 0045, measurement quantity ….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ; para. 0053-0055, The first condition may include at least one of the following: the value of the measurement quantity of the neighboring cell is greater than the second threshold; para. 0046, Step 202: Determine to measure and/or track (tracking) a target neighboring cell (i.e. neighboring is environment-related) corresponding to a first condition when the threshold of the measurement quantity and a value of a measurement quantity of a cell in which the terminal is located or a neighboring cell meet the first condition). In addition, as the primary reference is used to teach the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 1 applies.
As to claim 8, Chen and Bao further discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the measurement quantity is a measurement quantity for each antenna or a measurement quantity for each sensing resource (Chen, para. 0098, A terminal receives an at-least-two-level threshold of a measurement quantity (measurement quantity) that is used for neighboring cell measurement and that is configured by a network device for the terminal by using information carried in a broadcast message, a system message (for example, system information block (SIB)), a dedicated radio resource control (RRC) message (i.e. each sensing resource) (for example, an RRC release (release) or RRC suspend (suspend) message)). In addition, as the primary reference is used to teach the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 1 applies.
As to claim 10, Chen and Bao further discloses the method according to claim 1, further comprising: obtaining configuration information of the first signal (Chen, para. 0040, Receive a threshold (i.e. first signal) of a measurement quantity configured by a network device; para. 0041, multi-level threshold of the measurement quantity is configured (i.e. configuration information of the first signal)), wherein the performing, by the first device, the first operation comprises: performing, by the first device, the first operation based on the configuration information of the first signal (Chen, para. 0008-0010, 0039, 0040, the terminal determines to measure and/or track a target neighboring cell, i.e. first operation, corresponding to a first condition when the threshold (i.e. based on the configuration information) of the measurement quantity and a value of a measurement quantity of a cell in which the terminal is located or a neighboring cell meet the first condition), wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a waveform; a signal parameter (Chen, para. 0042, multi-level threshold, i.e. parameter, of the measurement quantity used for neighboring cell measurement and configured for the terminal is received by using information carried in a broadcast message, a system message (for example, a system information block (SIB)), a dedicated radio resource control (RRC) message (for example, an RRC release (release) or RRC suspend (suspend) message), i.e. signals); signal transmission power; a signal format; a signal direction; a time resource; a frequency resource; a quasi-co-location (QCL) relationship; and measurement quantity information (Chen, para. 0041, multi-level threshold of the measurement quantity). In addition, as the primary reference is used to teach the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 1 applies.
As to claim 11, Chen and Bao further discloses the method according to claim 10, wherein the signal parameter comprises at least one of the following: a subcarrier spacing; a guard interval; a bandwidth (Chen, para. 0004, Cell selection received signal strength value (S.sub.rxlev)>Intra-frequency (i.e. bandwidth) measurement start reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold (S.sub.IntraSearchP) (i.e. signal parameter), and Cell selection signal quality value (S.sub.qual)>Intra-frequency measurement start reference signal received power (RSRQ) threshold (S.sub.IntraSearchQ).); burst burst duration; and a time domain interval. In addition, as the primary reference is used to teach the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 1 applies.
As to claim 12, Chen discloses a communication sensing method (para. 0008-0010, 0039, 0040), comprising: sending, by a second device, first information, wherein the first information indicates a preset condition (para. 0008-0010, 0039, 0040, the terminal determines to measure and/or track a target neighboring cell corresponding to a first condition, i.e. preset condition, when the threshold of the measurement quantity and a value of a measurement quantity of a cell in which the terminal is located or a neighboring cell meet the first condition; Receive a threshold of a measurement quantity configured by a network device, i.e. receiving first information, indicates the preset condition); or sending, by the second device, second information, wherein the second information indicates a first sensing requirement for sensing information comprising at least one of an orientation, a distance, or a speed of a target object, or detecting, tracking, recognizing, or imaging the target object, event or environment (para. 0040, Receive a threshold, i.e. receiving second information, of a measurement quantity, i.e. indicates a first sensing requirement, configured by a network device; para. 0045 discloses “measurement (i.e. sensing) quantity….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ.” SINR, RSRP, RSRQ are detected or recognized events as they pertain to sensing of signal strength. SINR, RSRP, RSRQ also pertain to the environment as in general the sensed signals are sent in an environment, and even more specifically SINR pertains to an environment of signal and noise), wherein the first sensing requirement is associated with at least one of the following: the preset condition (para. 0008-0010, 0039, 0040, the terminal determines to measure and/or track a target neighboring cell corresponding to a first condition, i.e. preset condition, when the threshold of the measurement quantity and a value of a measurement quantity of a cell in which the terminal is located or a neighboring cell meet the first condition); a source or format of a sensing signal; a measurement quantity para. 0008-0010, 0039, 0040, the terminal determines to measure and/or track a target neighboring cell corresponding to a first condition, i.e. preset condition, when the threshold of the measurement quantity and a value of a measurement quantity of a cell in which the terminal is located or a neighboring cell meet the first condition) or a reporting quantity; and a resource used for reporting the measurement quantity; and the preset condition comprises at least one of the following: signal quality of a first target signal satisfies a first condition (para. 0045, measurement quantity ….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ (i.e. any being a first target signal); para. 0053-0054, The first condition may include at least one of the following: the value of the measurement quantity of the cell in which the terminal is located is less than the first threshold); a first indicator corresponding to a second target signal satisfies a second condition, wherein the first indicator is an indicator related to quality of the sensing signal; a sensing result associated with a third target signal satisfies a third condition, wherein the third target signal is a signal used for sensing (para. 0045, measurement (i.e. sensing) quantity ….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ (i.e. any being a third target); para. 0053-0055, The first condition (i.e. third condition) may include at least one of the following: the value of the measurement quantity of the neighboring cell is greater than the second threshold); and a sensing-related measurement quantity associated with a fourth target signal satisfies a fourth condition, wherein the fourth target signal is a signal used for sensing (para. 0045, measurement (i.e. sensing) quantity ….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ (i.e. any being a fourth target); para. 0053-0056, The first condition (i.e. fourth condition) may include at least one of the following: a number of neighboring cells whose values of a corresponding measurement quantity are greater than the third threshold is greater than a second preset number).
Chen does not expressly disclose sensing, through sending and receiving of a wireless signal, information of physical objects or environments comprising at least one of an orientation, a distance, or a speed of a target object, or detecting, tracking, recognizing, or imaging the target object, or sensing humidity, a temperature, or air quality.
Bao discloses at para. 0112: target UE 700 (e.g., the anchor unit 750) may be configured to measure the reference signal(s) 924, determine one or more corresponding measurements, e.g., RSRP, pathloss, SINR, SNR, and estimate a relative distance between the target UE 700 and a respective one of the anchor(s) 905 (i.e. sensing, through sending and receiving of a wireless signal, information of physical objects or environments comprising at least one of an orientation, a distance, or a speed of a target object).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the measurements of Bao into the invention of Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been for determining position information (Bao, para. 0112, fig. 9). Including the measurements of Bao into the invention of Chen was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Bao.
As to claim 13, Chen and Bao further discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the signal quality is indicated by at least one of the following: reference signal received power (RSRP); signal to interference plus noise ratio (SINR); signal-to-noise ratio (SNR); C/I; and reference signal received quality (RSRQ) (Chen, para. 0045, measurement (i.e. sensing) quantity ….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ). In addition, as the primary reference is used to teach the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 12 applies.
As to claim 14, Chen and Bao further discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the first indicator comprises at least one of the following: a signal-to-clutter ratio; sensing resolution or sensing resolution precision; a signal side lobe characteristic; and peak to average power ratio (PAPR) [Examiner notes that this claim further limits an optional limitation “first indicator” from claim 12, therefore these limitations are not given patentable weight].
As to claim 15, Chen further discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the sensing result comprises at least one of the following: a location of a target object ( para. 0045, measurement (i.e. sensing) quantity ….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ (i.e. any being a third target); para. 0053-0055, The first condition (i.e. third condition) may include at least one of the following: the value of the measurement quantity of the neighboring cell is greater than the second threshold; para. 0046, Step 202: Determine to measure and/or track (tracking) a target neighboring cell (i.e. neighbor is a location) corresponding to a first condition when the threshold of the measurement quantity and a value of a measurement quantity of a cell in which the terminal is located or a neighboring cell meet the first condition); a speed of the target object; a detection result of the target object (para. 0045, measurement (i.e. sensing) quantity ….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ (i.e. any being a third target); para. 0053-0055, The first condition (i.e. third condition) may include at least one of the following: the value of the measurement quantity of the neighboring cell is greater than the second threshold; para. 0046, Step 202: Determine to measure and/or track (tracking) a target neighboring cell (i.e. measure/track are detections) corresponding to a first condition when the threshold of the measurement quantity and a value of a measurement quantity of a cell in which the terminal is located or a neighboring cell meet the first condition); a tracking result of the target object (para. 0045, measurement (i.e. sensing) quantity ….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ (i.e. any being a third target); para. 0053-0055, The first condition (i.e. third condition) may include at least one of the following: the value of the measurement quantity of the neighboring cell is greater than the second threshold; para. 0046, Step 202: Determine to measure and/or track (tracking) a target neighboring cell corresponding to a first condition when the threshold of the measurement quantity and a value of a measurement quantity of a cell in which the terminal is located or a neighboring cell meet the first condition); an imaging result of the target object; humidity; a temperature; and air quality.
Chen does not expressly disclose a distance of the target object, a recognition result of the target object.
Bao discloses at para. 0112: target UE 700 (e.g., the anchor unit 750) may be configured to measure the reference signal(s) 924, determine one or more corresponding measurements, e.g., RSRP, pathloss, SINR, SNR, and estimate a relative distance between the target UE 700 and a respective one of the anchor(s) 905 (i.e. a distance of the target object, a recognition result of the target object).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the measurements of Bao into the invention of Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been for determining position information (Bao, para. 0112, fig. 9). Including the measurements of Bao into the invention of Chen was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Bao.
As to claim 16, Chen and Bao further discloses the method according to claim 12, wherein the measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a first-type measurement quantity; and a second-type measurement quantity, wherein the first-type measurement quantity comprises at least one of the following: a channel matrix H; channel state information (CSI); power, a delay and/or angle information of each path in a multipath channel; Doppler spread; Doppler shift; a phase difference between a first antenna and a second antenna; and a delay difference between the first antenna and the second antenna; and the second-type measurement quantity (Chen, para. 0045, measurement quantity ….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ (i.e. any being a second type)) comprises at least one of the following: feature information of a target object (Chen, para. 0045, measurement quantity ….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ; para. 0053-0055, The first condition may include at least one of the following: the value of the measurement quantity of the neighboring cell is greater than the second threshold; para. 0046, Step 202: Determine to measure and/or track (tracking) a target neighboring cell (i.e. neighboring is a feature information of the target cell) corresponding to a first condition when the threshold of the measurement quantity and a value of a measurement quantity of a cell in which the terminal is located or a neighboring cell meet the first condition); target event-related information; and target environment-related information (Chen, para. 0045, measurement quantity ….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ; para. 0053-0055, The first condition may include at least one of the following: the value of the measurement quantity of the neighboring cell is greater than the second threshold; para. 0046, Step 202: Determine to measure and/or track (tracking) a target neighboring cell (i.e. neighboring is environment-related) corresponding to a first condition when the threshold of the measurement quantity and a value of a measurement quantity of a cell in which the terminal is located or a neighboring cell meet the first condition). In addition, as the primary reference is used to teach the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 12 applies.
As to claim 17, Chen and Bao further discloses the method according to claim 12, further comprising: sending configuration information of a first signal (Chen, para. 0040, Receive a threshold (i.e. first signal) of a measurement quantity configured by a network device; para. 0041, multi-level threshold of the measurement quantity is configured (i.e. configuration information of the first signal)), wherein the first signal is a signal used for sensing (Chen, para. 0040, Receive a threshold of a measurement quantity, i.e. indicates a first sensing requirement, configured by a network device); and the configuration information comprises at least one of the following: a waveform; a signal parameter (Chen, para. 0042, multi-level threshold, i.e. parameter, of the measurement quantity used for neighboring cell measurement and configured for the terminal is received by using information carried in a broadcast message, a system message (for example, a system information block (SIB)), a dedicated radio resource control (RRC) message (for example, an RRC release (release) or RRC suspend (suspend) message), i.e. signals); signal transmission power; a signal format; a signal direction; a time resource; a frequency resource; a quasi-co-location (QCL) relationship; and measurement quantity information (Chen, para. 0041, multi-level threshold of the measurement quantity). In addition, as the primary reference is used to teach the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 12 applies.
As to claim 18, Chen and Bao further discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein the signal parameter comprises at least one of the following: a subcarrier spacing; a guard interval; a bandwidth (Chen, para. 0004, Cell selection received signal strength value (S.sub.rxlev)>Intra-frequency (i.e. bandwidth) measurement start reference signal received power (RSRP) threshold (S.sub.IntraSearchP) (i.e. signal parameter), and Cell selection signal quality value (S.sub.qual)>Intra-frequency measurement start reference signal received power (RSRQ) threshold (S.sub.IntraSearchQ).); burst burst duration; and a time domain interval. In addition, as the primary reference is used to teach the instant claim limitations, the same suggestion/motivation of claim 12 applies.
As to claim 19, Chen discloses a network device (para. 0008-0010, 0039, 0040, terminal), comprising a processor (para. 0192, processor), a memory (para. 0192, memory), and a program or instructions stored on the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor, the processor is configured to (para. 0204, steps described in combination with the content disclosed in the present disclosure may be implemented by hardware, or may be implemented by a processor by executing a software instruction): perform a first operation in a case that a preset condition is satisfied (para. 0008-0010, 0039, 0040, the terminal determines to measure and/or track a target neighboring cell, i.e. first operation, corresponding to a first condition when the threshold of the measurement quantity and a value of a measurement quantity of a cell in which the terminal is located or a neighboring cell meet the first condition, i.e. preset condition is satisfied), wherein the first operation comprises one of the following: detecting a first signal (para. 0040, Receive a threshold of a measurement quantity configured by a network device); sending a measurement quantity related to the first signal; detecting the first signal and sending the measurement quantity related to the first signal; and sending the first signal, wherein the first signal is a wireless signal used for sensing information comprising at least one of an orientation, a distance, or a speed of a target object, or detecting, tracking, recognizing, or imaging the target object, event or environment (para. 0045 discloses “measurement (i.e. sensing) quantity….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ.” SINR, RSRP, RSRQ are detected or recognized events as they pertain to sensing of signal strength. SINR, RSRP, RSRQ also pertain to the environment as in general the sensed signals are sent in an environment, and even more specifically SINR pertains to an environment of signal and noise.);
the preset condition comprises at least one of the following: signal quality of a first target signal satisfies a first condition (para. 0045, measurement quantity ….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ (i.e. any being a first target signal); para. 0053-0054, The first condition may include at least one of the following: the value of the measurement quantity of the cell in which the terminal is located is less than the first threshold); a first indicator corresponding to a second target signal satisfies a second condition, wherein the first indicator is an indicator related to quality of the sensing signal; a sensing result associated with a third target signal satisfies a third condition, wherein the third target signal is a signal used for sensing (para. 0045, measurement (i.e. sensing) quantity ….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ (i.e. any being a third target); para. 0053-0055, The first condition (i.e. third condition) may include at least one of the following: the value of the measurement quantity of the neighboring cell is greater than the second threshold); and a sensing-related measurement quantity associated with a fourth target signal satisfies a fourth condition, wherein the fourth target signal is a signal used for sensing (para. 0045, measurement (i.e. sensing) quantity ….referred to as….SINR, RSRP, RSRQ (i.e. any being a fourth target); para. 0053-0056, The first condition (i.e. fourth condition) may include at least one of the following: a number of neighboring cells whose values of a corresponding measurement quantity are greater than the third threshold is greater than a second preset number).
Chen does not expressly disclose sensing, through sending and receiving of a wireless signal, information of physical objects or environments comprising at least one of an orientation, a distance, or a speed of a target object, or detecting, tracking, recognizing, or imaging the target object, or sensing humidity, a temperature, or air quality.
Bao discloses at para. 0112: target UE 700 (e.g., the anchor unit 750) may be configured to measure the reference signal(s) 924, determine one or more corresponding measurements, e.g., RSRP, pathloss, SINR, SNR, and estimate a relative distance between the target UE 700 and a respective one of the anchor(s) 905 (i.e. sensing, through sending and receiving of a wireless signal, information of physical objects or environments comprising at least one of an orientation, a distance, or a speed of a target object).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the measurements of Bao into the invention of Chen. The suggestion/motivation would have been for determining position information (Bao, para. 0112, fig. 9). Including the measurements of Bao into the invention of Chen was within the ordinary ability of one of ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of Bao.
As to claim 20, Chen and Bao further discloses a network device (Chen, para. 0199, network device 700), comprising a processor (Chen, para. 0199, processor 701), a memory (Chen, para. 0199, memory 703), and a program or instructions stored on the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein when the program or the instructions are executed by the processor, the communication sensing method according to claim 12 is implemented (Chen, para. 0204, steps described in combination with the content disclosed in the present disclosure may be implemented by hardware, or may be implemented by a processor by executing a software instruction).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2020/038260 A1 to CHEN et al. (“Chen”) [For purposes of examination, Examiner cites to English language equivalent U.S. Publication No. 2021/0185551 A1, provided by Applicant] in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0110088 A1 to BAO et al. (“Bao”) and in further view of WO 2019/184690 A1 to YANG [For purposes of examination, Examiner cites to English language equivalent U.S. Publication No. 2021/0014022 A1].
As to claim 9, Chen and Bao does not expressly disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the first operation further comprises: reporting measurement information related to the preset condition.
YANG discloses when the physical layer of the UE receives a request or instruction or notification from a higher layer of the UE, it reports a measurement result that meets a preset condition to the higher layer of the UE (para. 0069).
Prior to the effective filing date of invention, it would have been obvious to a
person of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the reporting of YANG into the invention of Chen and Bao. The suggestion/motivation would have been for determining a beam failure detection reference signal resource (YANG, para. 0002). Including the reporting of YANG into the invention of Chen and Bao was within the ordinary ability of one of
ordinary skill in the art based on the teachings of YANG.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20210143923 A1 discloses at para. [0062]: The database 160 can include one or more relational databases. The database 160 can include CSSM records for each user, MCD 40 or ECD 10 that has accessed or may be given access to the SSM system 5 (shown in FIG. 2) or CSSM 90. The CSSM records can include historical signal strength data (including, for example, RSSI values and/or positional data) for each MCD 40 and ECD 10, including all geographic locations visited by the MCD 40 or ECD 10 at which a signal strength was measured or determined for the location. Each CSSM record can include geospatial coordinates for each signal strength measurement, time when the signal strength was measured, and identification of the ECD 10 or MCD 40 that measured the signal strength. The CSSM record can include weather conditions when the signal strength was measured, such as, for example, temperature, air pressure, wind direction, wind speed, humidity, precipitation, cloud cover, or any other information that might be useful in determining signal strength at a geographic location.
.Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to OMAR J GHOWRWAL whose telephone number is (571)270-5691. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9:00am-6:00pm.
/OMAR J GHOWRWAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463