Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by An (US 20210371013 A1).
Regarding claim 1, An discloses a vehicle(para 0053) comprising: a crossbeam(110a,b) extending along a width of the vehicle(para 0053), wherein the crossbeam includes: a first section(110a); and a second section(110b) secured to the first section at an interface(area around 130); a coupler(130) secured to the crossbeam at the interface such that the coupler extends from the crossbeam along a height of the vehicle(fig 1,5,6); a front mounting member(140) secured to the crossbeam; a steering column(para 0005,0058) secured to the front mounting member; a steering wheel(As noted in para 32, the vehicle of An includes passenger automobiles including SUVs, buses, trucks etc, and it is well known that steering columns in such vehicles are secured to a steering wheel para 0032) secured to the steering column; a reinforcing bracket(141) positioned between the front mounting member and the steering column(fig 1a); and a stabilizing bracket(120) positioned between the crossbeam and the coupler, wherein the reinforcing bracket and the stabilizing bracket are configured to inhibit deflection of the crossbeam and thereby reduce vibration through the steering wheel during operation of the vehicle(para 0062,0063).
Regarding claim 2, An discloses wherein the reinforcing bracket nests within the front mounting member(fig 4 the reinforcing bracket can be seen comprising a flange extending downwards towards the mounting member).
Regarding claim 3, An discloses wherein the reinforcing bracket defines an outer contour corresponding to an inner contour defined by the front mounting member(fig 4 part of the reinforcing bracket can be seen covering the inner contour).
Regarding claim 4, An discloses wherein the reinforcing bracket is directly secured to the crossbeam and the front mounting member(para 0074).
Regarding claim 5, An discloses wherein the reinforcing bracket is welded to the crossbeam and the front mounting member(para 0009).
Regarding claim 6, An discloses wherein the stabilizing bracket includes: a body(122) defining an outer contour corresponding to an outer contour defined by the crossbeam(para 0064); and a mounting flange extending laterally outward from the body along a length of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 7, An discloses wherein the outer contour defined by the body includes an arcuate recess(see fig below) configured to receive the crossbeam.
Regarding claim 8, An discloses wherein the mounting flange includes a notch(see fig above) configured to receive the coupler.
Regarding claim 9, An discloses wherein the stabilizing bracket is directly secured to the crossbeam and the coupler(fig 1a,5).
Regarding claim 10, An discloses wherein the stabilizing bracket is welded to the crossbeam and the coupler(para 0009).
Regarding claim 11, An discloses a vehicle(para 0053) comprising: a crossbeam(110a,b) extending along a width of the vehicle(fig 1a); a front mounting member(140) secured to the crossbeam; a steering column(para 0005,0058) secured to the front mounting member; and a reinforcing bracket(141) secured to the crossbeam and the front mounting member to inhibit deformation of the front mounting member and deflection of the crossbeam to thereby reduce vibration through the steering column(para 0074,0080), wherein the reinforcing bracket is positioned vertically between the front mounting member and the steering column along a height of the vehicle(fig 1a).
Regarding claim 12, An discloses wherein the reinforcing bracket is unitary in construction(141 can be seen as a singular unit fig 1a,fig 4).
Regarding claim 13, An discloses wherein the reinforcing bracket nests within the front mounting member(fig 4 the reinforcing bracket can be seen comprising a flange extending downwards towards the mounting member).
Regarding claim 14, An discloses wherein the reinforcing bracket includes an outer wall(outer surface of 141, fig 4) configured in correspondence with an inner wall of the front mounting member(the outer surface of 141 can be seen placed on the upper inner layer of 140 fig 4).
Regarding claim 15, An discloses wherein the reinforcing bracket includes at least one locating feature(fig 4, the bracket can be seen comprising multiple cavities for screws/rivets) to facilitate proper alignment of the reinforcing bracket and the front mounting member.
Regarding claim 16, An discloses A vehicle comprising: a crossbeam(110 a,b) extending along a width of the vehicle, wherein the crossbeam includes: a first section(110a); and a second section(110b) secured to the first section at an interface(area around 130); a coupler(130) secured to the crossbeam at the interface such that the coupler extends from the crossbeam along a height of the vehicle; a steering column(para 0005, 0058) secured to the crossbeam; and a stabilizing bracket(120) secured to the crossbeam and the coupler, wherein the stabilizing bracket is configured to inhibit deflection of the crossbeam and thereby reduce vibration through the steering column(para 0062).
Regarding claim 17, An discloses wherein the stabilizing bracket includes: a body(122); and a mounting flange(see fig below) extending laterally outward from the body along a length of the vehicle.
Regarding claim 18, An discloses wherein the body is welded to the crossbeam and the coupler, and the mounting flange is welded to the coupler(para 0009).
Regarding claim 19, An discloses wherein the body defines an arcuate recess configured to receive the crossbeam.
Regarding claim 20, An discloses wherein the mounting flange includes a notch(see fig above) configured to receive the coupler such that, upon assembly of the vehicle, the coupler extends into the stabilizing bracket.
Conclusion
SHAMS . DHANANI
Examiner
Art Unit 3614
/JASON D SHANSKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3614