DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
As discussed in the previous Office Action, in Figures 1A and 1B, reference characters 150 should be 140 (i.e., there are two remaining reference characters 150 in each of Figures 1A and 1B in the amended drawings filed 8/30/25 which should be 140).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dawson in view of Lindo et al. (US 2013/0313212, herein after Lindo).
In regard to claim 1, the Dawson reference discloses an adjustable shower seat and shelfing unit comprising:
an adjustable pole 14, 16; and
a bottom shelf 50 disposed near a bottom portion of the adjustable pole.
Although the Dawson device does not include a top shelf near the top portion of the adjustable pole wherein the top shelf comprises a plurality of top shelf slits at a base portion thereof to allow water to drain therethrough, attention is directed to the Lindo reference, which discloses another “shower caddy” type device wherein shelves 14 having shelf slits therein to allow water to drain from the shelves (see paragraph 0026) are telescopically mounted to a pole in order to enable user to conveniently store items which may be needed in shower. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made the Dawson device can include such a shelf thereon positioned above the armrest assembly 26 in order to enable a user to conveniently store items which may be needed in shower.
In regard to claim 2, the adjustable pole comprises a bottom pole section 16 to contact a floor and a top pole section 14 to slide over the bottom pole section to allow a length of the adjustable pole to be adjusted. Although the top pole slides over the bottom pole and not within the bottom pole, as claimed, it is the examiner’s position it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made the top pole can be designed to slide within the bottom pole wherein such a modification would amount to the mere reversal of the essential working parts of a device, which has been held to be obvious. In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167.
In regard to claim 5, both the shelf in the Lindo device and the bottom shelf In the Dawson device are disclosed as being movable up and down the length of the pole.
In regard to claim 6, the bottom shelf has a size that is large enough for a user to sit upon.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dawson in view of Lindo, as discussed above, and further in view of Agee (U.S. Patent 2,245,951) and Nera et al. (US 2017/0347841, hereinafter Nera).
In regard to claims 3 and 4, although the Dawson device does not disclose a plurality of pivoting, telescoping legs supporting the bottom shelf, attention is directed to the Agee reference, which discloses another shower seat pivotally attached to the wall of a shower (as is the seat 50 in the Dawson device, see column 3, lines 4-6) wherein a pivoting leg 20 is employed to better support the seat when in a user position and to enable the leg, when the seat is pivoted to a stored position, to be pivoted from a orthogonal angle with respect to the seat to a position parallel to the seat and thereby out of the way of the shower user. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made the seat in the Dawson device can include a such a pivoting leg in order to better support the seat when in the user position and to be pivoted against the seat and out of the way when in a stored position.
Further, although the Agee device does not disclose the user of a plurality of legs, as claimed, it is the examiner’s position it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made the device can include a plurality of legs wherein such a modification would amount to the mere duplication of essential working parts of a device, which has been held to be obvious. See St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193, USPQ 8. Further, although leg in the Agee device is not discloses as being telescoping, attention is directed to the Nera reference, which disclose another shower seat wherein the legs are telescoping in order to enable the height of the seat to be adjusted. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made the legs on the modified Dawson device can be telescoping in order to enable the seat, which can be adjusted along the length of the pole, to be supported by the legs regardless of the height of the seat.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
DJW
9/13/25
/DAVID J WALCZAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754