DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “R” in figs. 8-12. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1:
The phrase “at least partially” uses a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear to what extent a closed bottom of a pot may deviate from roundness while still satisfying the limitations of the claim. Claim 1 will be interpreted as reciting
“…a pot having…a closed ”
The limitations “the containment ring” lack sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as “the cylindrical containment ring”
Claim 2:
The limitation “the vent holes” lack sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as “the plurality of vent holes”
The limitation “the containment ring” lack sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as “the cylindrical containment ring”
Claim 3:
The limitation “the vent holes” lack sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as “the plurality of vent holes”
Claim 4:
The limitation “the webs” lack sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as “the plurality of webs”
The limitation “the containment ring” lack sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as “the cylindrical containment ring”
Claim 5:
The limitation “the containment ring” lack sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as “the cylindrical containment ring”
Claim 6:
The limitation “the containment ring” lack sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as “the cylindrical containment ring”
Claim 7:
The limitations “the containment ring” lack sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as “the cylindrical containment ring”
Claim 8:
The limitations “the containment ring” lack sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as “the cylindrical containment ring”
Claim 9:
The term “near” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear to what extent the annular space may be positioned away from the upper area while still satisfying the limitations of the claim. Claim 9 will be interpreted as reciting
“…wherein an outer diameter of the pot steps down to create an annular space [[near]]adjacent the upper area of the containment volume”
Claim 11:
The claim recites “wherein the portable stove includes a mount connected to a pot interface ring that interfaces with the pot”, however, since fig. 21 and para. 0058 [“The stove 11 includes a mount 15 that connects to the stove and may provide an interface with the ring bottom 12 of the containment ring 2 via pot interface ring 50.”] show the pot interface ring interfacing with the containment ring, it is unclear if applicant intends the claim to require the mount interfacing with the pot. In view of fig. 21, the claim will be interpreted as reciting
“…wherein the portable stove includes a mount connected to a pot interface ring that interfaces with the [[pot]]cylindrical containment ring and promotes location of the [[pot]]cooking assembly on the mount”
Claim 12:
The limitation “the mounts” lacks sufficient antecedent basis and the claim will be interpreted as reciting “…wherein the [[mounts are]]mount is rigid and [[do]]does not fold”
Claim 13:
The limitations “the containment ring” lack sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as “the cylindrical containment ring”
Claim 14:
The limitation “the containment ring” lacks sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as “the cylindrical containment ring”
Claim 17:
The limitations “the containment ring” lack sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as “the cylindrical containment ring”
The recitation of “wherein the containment ring includes a plurality of air holes at the upper portion of the containment ring” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if this is intended to be distinct from the plurality of vent holes at an upper area of the containment volume recited in claim 1. Claim 17 will be interpreted as requiring the handle of claim 16 be arranged such that the plurality of vent holes of claim 1 are under the handle.
The limitation “the upper portion” lacks sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as “[[the]]an upper portion”
Claim 18:
The limitation “the containment ring” lacks sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as “the cylindrical containment ring”
Claim 19:
The limitation “the at least partially rounded bottom” lacks sufficient antecedent basis and in view of the interpretation of claim 1 above, will be interpreted as “the [[at least partially]]closed rounded bottom”
Claim 20:
The limitation “the rounded bottom” lacks sufficient antecedent basis and in view of the interpretation of claim 1 above, will be interpreted as “the closed rounded bottom”
Claim 21:
The limitation “the rounded bottom” lacks sufficient antecedent basis and in view of the interpretation of claim 1 above, will be interpreted as “the closed rounded bottom”
Claim 22:
The limitation “the rounded bottom” lacks sufficient antecedent basis and in view of the interpretation of claim 1 above, will be interpreted as “the closed rounded bottom”
Claim 23:
The limitation “the rounded bottom” lacks sufficient antecedent basis and in view of the interpretation of claim 1 above, will be interpreted as “the closed rounded bottom”
Claim 24:
The limitations “the containment ring” lack sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as “the cylindrical containment ring”
Claim 25:
The limitations “the containment ring” lack sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as “the cylindrical containment ring”
The limitations “the vertical sides” lack sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as “the cylindrical vertical sides”
Claim 26:
The limitations “the containment ring” lack sufficient antecedent basis and will be interpreted as “the cylindrical containment ring”
Claims 2-26 are also rejected due to dependence on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7-9, 13-14, 16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lindsly (US 20070039603 A1).
Regarding claim 1,
Lindsly teaches:
A cooking assembly [see figs. 6 and 7], comprising:
a pot [cooking pot 14] having cylindrical vertical sides [side wall 44], an open circular top [see fig. 7, showing a lid 16 for covering an open circular top of the pot formed by upper edge 20] and a closed at least partially rounded bottom [i.e., the pot, for containing and cooking food, has a closed bottom wall with at least a rounded portion formed at the shared boundary with the cylindrical vertical sides, see also fig. 11, showing a pot with a bowl shape having a closed rounded bottom]; and
a cylindrical containment ring [windscreen 10] positioned around a portion of the pot creating a containment volume between the containment ring and the pot, the containment ring including an open circular bottom receiving a portable stove when configured for cooking, holding the pot in a vertical orientation, and letting flame from the portable stove and air to flow freely into the containment volume to increase heating efficiency, without disrupting combustion reactions [e.g., see fig. 6: showing an annular containment volume formed by the side wall 41 of the containment ring surrounding the outer cylindrical wall of the pot; showing stove 12 in the open circular bottom of the containment ring; showing the pot in a vertical orientation; wherein flame from stove 12 and air is allowed to flow freely into the containment volume];
wherein the containment ring further including a plurality of vent holes at an upper area of the containment volume letting combustion gases escape freely [upper venting apertures 62 at an upper end 40 of the containment ring, allowing combustion gases from conventional backpacking stoves to escape; para. 0006: “One of the contributing factors to the weight of the pack is the need to carry equipment to cook food and heat liquids, including in some cases to boil water so as to make it suitable for drinking. Typically, such equipment includes a backpacking stove, fuel for the stove and a cooking pot. Although there is a wide variety of backpacking stoves that utilize a variety of fuel sources, perhaps the most common types are those that use hydrocarbon fuels, typically white gas, kerosene, butane, propane, unleaded gas or the like.”].
Regarding claim 2, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 1.
Lindsly further teaches:
wherein the vent holes are formed below a connection between the pot and the containment ring.
Regarding claim 3, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 1.
Lindsly further teaches:
wherein the containment ring includes a plurality of webs, each web among the plurality of webs formed between the vent holes, and wherein the plurality of webs does not impinge the flame from the portable stove [see fig. 7, showing a plurality of webs between the vent holes 62, formed so as allow non-impingement with a flame from the stove].
Regarding claim 4, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 3.
Lindsly further teaches:
wherein the webs have a cross-sectional area [see fig. 7, showing the webs with cross-sectional area] sufficient to enable heat transfer from the containment ring to the pot [para. 0003: “Even more particularly, this invention relates to windscreens that are used to improve the use and efficiency of such cooking systems by improving the heat transfer from the stove to the cooking pot.”].
Regarding claim 5, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 1.
Lindsly further teaches:
wherein the containment ring is thermally and structurally connected to the pot to promote heat transfer [the containment ring and pot are configured to engage with each other, preventing heat escape; para. 0012: “In a preferred embodiment, the upper end of the upright structure includes a mechanism for directing the heat from the stove inside the windscreen to the side wall of the cooking container. The directing mechanism can comprise the upper end of the upright structure being shaped and configured to substantially engage either the side wall or a lip of the cooking container to block off the majority of heat from the stove passing directly through the upper end.”].
Regarding claim 7, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 5.
Lindsly further teaches:
wherein the containment ring is structurally connected by a tight fit between the containment ring and the pot [the containment ring and pot are configured to engage with each other tightly so as to prevent heat escape; para. 0012: “In a preferred embodiment, the upper end of the upright structure includes a mechanism for directing the heat from the stove inside the windscreen to the side wall of the cooking container. The directing mechanism can comprise the upper end of the upright structure being shaped and configured to substantially engage either the side wall or a lip of the cooking container to block off the majority of heat from the stove passing directly through the upper end.”].
Regarding claim 8, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 1.
Lindsly further teaches:
wherein the containment ring is structurally connected to the pot by at least one of a series of welds and a tight fit between the containment ring and the pot [the containment ring and pot are configured to engage with each other tightly so as to prevent heat escape; para. 0012: “In a preferred embodiment, the upper end of the upright structure includes a mechanism for directing the heat from the stove inside the windscreen to the side wall of the cooking container. The directing mechanism can comprise the upper end of the upright structure being shaped and configured to substantially engage either the side wall or a lip of the cooking container to block off the majority of heat from the stove passing directly through the upper end.”].
Regarding claim 9, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 1.
Lindsly further teaches:
wherein an outer diameter of the pot steps down to create an annular space near the upper area of the containment volume [Lindsly at least discloses an alternative bowl shape of the pot in fig. 11, wherein an outer diameter steps down to create the annular space between the containment ring and the shaped side wall of the pot].
Regarding claim 13, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 1.
Lindsly further teaches:
wherein the containment ring steps down in diameter from a first diameter of an upper portion of the containment ring to a second diameter of a lower portion of the containment ring [see fig. 14, showing an alternative embodiment of the windscreen, formed as a cone, with a larger diameter at an upper portion; para. 0034].
Regarding claim 14, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 13.
Lindsly further teaches:
wherein the lower portion of the containment ring includes a plurality of air openings [see fig. 14, showing a plurality of air openings as lower venting apertures 60 formed in the lower end 38].
Regarding claim 16, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 1.
Lindsly further teaches:
further comprising a handle [para. 0013: “The windscreen of the present invention can be provided with an access opening at the upper end of the upright structure to allow the user to more easily insert and remove the cooking container from the windscreen by using pot tongs, handles or the like.”].
Regarding claim 17, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 16.
Lindsly further teaches:
wherein the containment ring includes a plurality of air holes at the upper portion of the containment ring under the handle that allow exhaust to exit the containment volume [i.e., upper venting apertures 62].
Regarding claim 19, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 1.
Lindsly further teaches:
wherein the at least partially rounded bottom has a shape that is one of hemispherical, ellipsoidal, paraboloid, and a combination thereof [e.g., a bowl shape; para. 0011: “The stove is received in the interior area and a cooking container, such as a pot, bowl or cup, is received at the upper end of the upright structure.”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindsly (US 20070039603 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 5.
Lindsly further teaches:
wherein the containment ring is structurally connected to the pot by a series of welds.
In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the cooking assembly such that the containment ring is structurally connected to the pot by a series of welds, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together involves only routine skill in the art, and since Lindsly discloses the conventional practice of using welding as a conventional fixed connecting mechanism [para. 0046: “Other types of fixed connecting mechanisms 28, including welding, adhesives, soldering and the like, will also be suitable for use with windscreen 10”]. See MPEP 2144.04(V.)(B.).
Claims 10-12, 15, 18, 22-24, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindsly (US 20070039603 A1) in view of Dowst (US 20040011350 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 9.
However, Lindsly does not disclose:
further comprising a plurality of fins within the annular space below the plurality of vent holes.
Dowst, in the same field of endeavor [para. 0003: “The inventive concepts generally relate to highly efficient systems and methods of heat exchange, for use in any of a variety of fields, including to field of systems and methods for heating food and beverages.”; para. 0012], teaches the use of a plurality of fins [fig. 2: protrusions 160] formed within a containment ring [fig. 1: skirt 158; para. 0034: “In other embodiments, the top portion 150, or at least some components thereof, may be integral with bottom portion 140, or at least some components thereof. For example, top housing 158 may be integral with bottom portion 140. In other forms, protrusions 160 may be coupled to a thermally conductive plate configured to mate with external bottom side 116 of chamber 110, so could also be integral with skirt 158, or at least detachable from external bottom side 116.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the cooking assembly of Lindsly as suggested by Dowst by further comprising a plurality of fins within the annular space below the plurality of vent holes [e.g., by having the plurality of fins arranged to thermally contact the bottom surface of the Lindsly’s pot in fig. 6], since Dowst teaches this would improve the heat exchange of the assembly.
Regarding claim 11, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 1.
However, although Lindsly discloses the conventional backpacking stove as being set on the ground, with the windscreen set on the ground so as to surround the stove [para. 0044], Lindsly does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the portable stove includes a mount connected to a pot interface ring that interfaces with the pot and promotes location of the pot on the mount.
Dowst, in the same field of endeavor [arrangements of conventional backpacking stoves; para. 0035: “In this embodiment, the fuel source 104 is a gas source, such as a pressurized canister of mixed propane and butane. Such fuel sources are known in the art, particularly in the camping and hiking fields. In other embodiments, the fuel source could be of a different type, such as white gas, kerosene, alcohol or gasoline. In yet other embodiments, fuel sources could include electricity or solid fuels.”; para. 0003; para. 0012], teaches the use of a mount connected to a pot interface ring that interfaces with the pot and promotes location of the pot on the mount [see fig. 1, showing a mount formed by bottom portion 140, configured to couple to a containment ring formed by top portion 150 via a pot interface ring formed by bottom rim 154, thereby securing the location of a pot formed by heating vessel 110; para. 0033].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify cooking assembly of Lindsly such that the portable stove includes a mount connected to a pot interface ring that interfaces with the pot, since this would secure the pot and containment ring to the stove, thereby improving stability while promoting the location of the pot.
Regarding claim 12, Lindsly in view of Dowst discloses the cooking assembly of claim 11.
Lindsly as modified by Dowst further discloses:
wherein the mounts are rigid and do not fold [see fig. 1 of Dowst, showing the rigid/non-foldable bottom housing 147 of the bottom portion 140; para. 0037: “Bottom portion 140 includes a bottom housing 147 that includes a plurality of air inlet vents 142 that allow air to flow to the burner from the external environment. In this embodiment, bottom housing 147 may be made of a thermoplastic material,”].
Regarding claim 15, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 1.
However, Lindsley does not disclose:
further comprising an insulated collar that surrounds an upper portion of the pot.
Dowst, in the same field of endeavor [para. 0003: “The inventive concepts generally relate to highly efficient systems and methods of heat exchange, for use in any of a variety of fields, including to field of systems and methods for heating food and beverages.”; para. 0012], teaches an insulated collar that surrounds an upper portion of the pot [para. 0016: “The heating vessel may also include a cover (or lid) configured to close the top opening of the chamber. A thermal insulator configured to substantially encase the sides of the chamber may also be include”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the cooking assembly of Lindsly as suggested by Dowst by further comprising an insulated collar that surrounds an upper portion of the pot, since Dowst teaches this would increase safety and comfort of the user [para. 0045: “In the preferred form, largely owing to the efficiency of the heat exchanger, the large majority of the heat is transferred to the interior of chamber 110 instead of exiting the exhaust vents 156, and, as is shown in FIG. 5, for additional comfort and insulator 500, of low temperature service range, may be provided that fits over a substantial portion of chamber sides 112 and heater top portion 150.”].
Regarding claim 18, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 1.
Lindsly further teaches:
wherein the pot and the containment ring are formed of anodized aluminum [para. 0055: “As stated above, preferably windscreen 10 and the various components thereof are made out of lightweight materials that are sufficiently stiff to form windscreen 10 so as to support the cooking container (i.e., pot 14 or cup 70) and any food and/or liquid therein above stove 12 and corrosion resistant for use in the outdoors, such as aluminum or stainless steel.”].
In this case, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made to select anodized aluminum for forming the containment ring, since it has been held by the courts that selection of a prior art material on the basis of its suitability for its intended purpose is within the level of ordinary skill. See MPEP 2144.07. In this case, as evidenced by Dowst, anodized aluminum is a known and conventional prior art material [para. 0033: “The top housing 158 may be made from an anodized aluminum material, but need not be highly thermally conductive.”].
Regarding claim 22, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 1.
However, Lindsly does not disclose:
wherein the rounded bottom includes a plurality of curved grooves on a surface of the rounded bottom.
Dowst, in the same field of endeavor [para. 0003: “The inventive concepts generally relate to highly efficient systems and methods of heat exchange, for use in any of a variety of fields, including to field of systems and methods for heating food and beverages.”; para. 0012], teaches the use of a plurality of curved grooves on a surface of the rounded bottom [i.e., grooves formed between protrusions 160, see fig. 2; para. 0034: “In other embodiments, the top portion 150, or at least some components thereof, may be integral with bottom portion 140, or at least some components thereof. For example, top housing 158 may be integral with bottom portion 140. In other forms, protrusions 160 may be coupled to a thermally conductive plate configured to mate with external bottom side 116 of chamber 110, so could also be integral with skirt 158, or at least detachable from external bottom side 116.”]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the cooking assembly of Lindsly as suggested by Dowst such that the rounded bottom includes a plurality of curved grooves on a surface of the rounded bottom [e.g., by having the plurality of fins arranged to thermally contact the bottom surface of the Lindsly’s pot in fig. 6], since Dowst teaches this would improve the heat exchange of the assembly.
Regarding claim 23, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 1.
However, Lindsly does not disclose:
wherein the rounded bottom includes a plurality of curved protrusions on a surface of the rounded bottom.
Dowst, in the same field of endeavor [para. 0003: “The inventive concepts generally relate to highly efficient systems and methods of heat exchange, for use in any of a variety of fields, including to field of systems and methods for heating food and beverages.”; para. 0012], teaches the use of a plurality of curved protrusions on a surface of the rounded bottom [i.e., protrusions 160, see fig. 2; para. 0034: “In other embodiments, the top portion 150, or at least some components thereof, may be integral with bottom portion 140, or at least some components thereof. For example, top housing 158 may be integral with bottom portion 140. In other forms, protrusions 160 may be coupled to a thermally conductive plate configured to mate with external bottom side 116 of chamber 110, so could also be integral with skirt 158, or at least detachable from external bottom side 116.”]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the cooking assembly of Lindsly as suggested by Dowst such that the rounded bottom includes a plurality of curved protrusions on a surface of the rounded bottom [e.g., by having the plurality of fins arranged to thermally contact the bottom surface of the Lindsly’s pot in fig. 6], since Dowst teaches this would improve the heat exchange of the assembly.
Regarding claim 24, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 1.
However, Lindsly does not disclose:
wherein the containment ring includes a series of flow channels between the containment volume and outer sides of the containment ring for hot exhaust gas to travel along a longer flow path.
Dowst, in the same field of endeavor [para. 0003: “The inventive concepts generally relate to highly efficient systems and methods of heat exchange, for use in any of a variety of fields, including to field of systems and methods for heating food and beverages.”; para. 0012], teaches the containment ring includes a series of flow channels between the containment volume and outer sides of the containment ring for hot exhaust gas to travel along a longer flow path [i.e., protrusions 160 integral with skirt 158, see fig. 2; para. 0034: “In other embodiments, the top portion 150, or at least some components thereof, may be integral with bottom portion 140, or at least some components thereof. For example, top housing 158 may be integral with bottom portion 140. In other forms, protrusions 160 may be coupled to a thermally conductive plate configured to mate with external bottom side 116 of chamber 110, so could also be integral with skirt 158, or at least detachable from external bottom side 116.”]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the cooking assembly of Lindsly as suggested by Dowst such that the containment ring includes a series of flow channels between the containment volume and outer sides of the containment ring for hot exhaust gas to travel along a longer flow path [e.g., the fins, formed integrally with the containment ring as a portion of the bottom portion 140, thereby creating a longer gas flow path; para. 0037: “Portions of the heater top portion 150 and bottom portion 140 combine to form the gas flow path.”], since Dowst teaches this would improve the heat exchange of the assembly.
Regarding claim 26, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 1.
However, Lindsly does not disclose:
wherein the containment ring includes a plurality of fins at the open circular bottom of the containment ring that radiate outward from a smaller diameter central area.
Dowst, in the same field of endeavor [para. 0003: “The inventive concepts generally relate to highly efficient systems and methods of heat exchange, for use in any of a variety of fields, including to field of systems and methods for heating food and beverages.”; para. 0012], teaches the use of a plurality of fins [fig. 2: protrusions 160] formed within a containment ring [see fig. 2, showing fins radiating outward; para. 0034: “In other embodiments, the top portion 150, or at least some components thereof, may be integral with bottom portion 140, or at least some components thereof. For example, top housing 158 may be integral with bottom portion 140. In other forms, protrusions 160 may be coupled to a thermally conductive plate configured to mate with external bottom side 116 of chamber 110, so could also be integral with skirt 158, or at least detachable from external bottom side 116.”].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the cooking assembly of Lindsly as suggested by Dowst such that the containment ring includes a plurality of fins at the open circular bottom of the containment ring that radiate outward from a smaller diameter central area [e.g., by having the plurality of fins arranged to thermally contact the bottom surface an elongated pot], since Dowst teaches this would improve the heat exchange of the assembly.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindsly (US 20070039603 A1) in view of Chiu (US 20100025410 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 1.
However, Lindsly does not disclose:
wherein the rounded bottom includes a plurality of raised bumps on a surface of the rounded bottom.
Chiu, in the same field of endeavor [para. 0002: “The present invention relates to a container, and in particular to an improved container that has an increased heat absorbing surface area to enhance the efficiency of the amount of heat transferred from a heating source such as a kitchen range to a container and to the object inside to be heated, which is conventionally very low.”], teaches wherein a bottom of a pot includes a plurality of raised bumps [see fig. 2, showing a heat collector 22 as a group of multiple raised portions; para. 0017 ].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the cooking assembly of Lindsly wherein the rounded bottom includes a plurality of raised bumps on a surface of the rounded bottom, since Chiu teaches this increases an overall heat absorbing surface area, thereby improving efficiency [para. 0019].
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindsly (US 20070039603 A1) in view of Lee (KR 20080011509 A).
Regarding claim 21, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 1.
However, Lindsly does not disclose:
wherein the rounded bottom includes a plurality of indented dimples on a surface of the rounded bottom.
Lee, in the same field of endeavor [a cooking pot; p. 2: “The present invention relates to an inner pot and the inner pot of the manufacturing method provided in the electric rice cooker, and more particularly to the inner pot for rice cooker to cook uniformly the food contained in the inner pot to a method of manufacturing the same relates.”], teaches wherein a bottom of a pot includes a plurality of indented dimples [fig. 3: dimples 104].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the cooking assembly of Lindsly wherein the rounded bottom includes a plurality of indented dimples on a surface of the rounded bottom, since Lee teaches this increases an overall heat absorbing surface area, thereby improving efficiency [p. 4: “Since the inner pot of the present invention made as described above (100a) has a plurality of dimples (102, 104) form an enlarged surface area that can deliver heat to, it is possible to shorten the cooking time of the food.”].
Claim 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindsly (US 20070039603 A1) in view of Repetti (US 20090218359 A1).
Regarding claim 25, Lindsly teaches the cooking assembly of claim 1.
However, Lindsly does not teach:
wherein the containment ring is configured to slide up and down along the vertical sides of the pot and includes a latch assembly for securing the containment ring to the vertical sides of the pot.
Repetti, in the same field of endeavor [cooking vessel; para. 0008: “The invention is an intervening heat conducting medium having a skirt-like device connected to a slip-like portion, both of which may be attached to a cooking vessel. The device increases the vessel's ability to efficiently utilize heat emitted from a heat source by preventing heat loss into the atmosphere.”], teaches a latch assembly [fig. 1C: attachment means 102] that connects a containment ring [fig. 1C: device 100] to a pot [fig. 1C: cooking vessel 101], thereby allowing the containment ring to slide up and down along the vertical sides of the pot.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the cooking assembly of Lindsly such that the containment ring is configured to slide up and down along the vertical sides of the pot and includes a latch assembly for securing the containment ring to the vertical sides of the pot, since Repetti teaches this allows for a user to adjust the relative height of the containment ring to the pot [para. 0055: “In operation as shown in FIG. 5, device 500 is wrapped around cooking vessel 501 and positioned at a desired location. Then, device 500 is adjusted to hug the exterior surface of sidewall 509 by wrapping cylindrical portion 505 around circumferentially around side wall 509 at a preferred height, which correspondingly wraps slip portion 506 around side wall 509.”] as well as accommodating for differently sized pots [para. 0044: “Cylindrical portion 106 also comprises attachment means 102 to attach device 100 to side wall 109 of cooking vessel 101. Further, cylindrical portion 106 can comprise adjusting means 103 to adjust cylindrical portion 106 and thereby device 100 to fit different sized cooking vessels.”]
Conclusion
/THEODORE J EVANGELISTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 /EDWARD F LANDRUM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3761