DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for App. 18/515,276 on December 7, 2025. Claims 1-3, 6, 7 and 10 are pending. Please note Claim 7 has been withdrawn in light of an earlier restriction requirement.
America Invents Act
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1, 2, 4-6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu ( US 12,093,471 B1 ) in view of Yeh ( US 11,861,079 B1 ) and Simmons et al.
( US 2012/0133591 A1 ).
Chiu teaches in Claim 1:
An illuminated touchpad ( Figure 1, Column 3, Lines 6-65 disclose a touchpad A with a backlight module B and can be applied to electronic device E ), comprising:
a protection layer, [provided with a plurality of non-illuminated patterns] ( Figure 9, Column 4, Lines 34-38 disclose a cover plate A2. Please note the combination below for aspects of the non-illuminated patterns );
a touch module ( Figure 9, Column 4, Lines 34-41 disclose a touch circuit A1 );
a lens array layer ( Figure 9, Column 5, Lines 15-21 disclose first microstructure 11 to scatter light to provide a predetermined light emitting effect ), and
a light source module ( Figure 9, Column 7, Lines 10-20 disclose a second light emitting element 53 ), comprising:
a pattern layer, disposed on one side of the lens array layer facing away from the touch module, and comprises a plurality of patterns ( Figure 9, Column 6, Lines 3-15 disclose a second microstructure 31 associated with the light guide plate and can change the direction of reflection of light. Please note the plurality of elements. Furthermore, microstructure 31 is facing upward (to allow light through) and this is facing away from touch aspects A1, which is below/downward of 31 ), wherein the pattern layer has a light-transmitting area and a non-light-transmitting area, the patterns are disposed in the light-transmitting area. ( Figure 9, Column 5, Lines 22-45 disclose a transmitting region 21 and light shielding area 22 with the microstructure 31 positioned to allow the light to transmit through 21 );
a light-guiding layer, wherein the pattern layer is disposed between the lens array layer and the light-guiding layer ( Figure 9, Column 11, Lines 40-50 disclose element such as bottom layer 40, second light guide plate 30, etc and the microstructure 31 is between 70, for example, and microstructure 11 ); and
a light source, disposed next to the light-guiding layer and configured to emit an illumination beam ( Figure 9, Column 4, Lines 20-30 disclose the second light emitting element 53 ) and
a controller, electrically connected to the touch module ( Figure 9, Column 4, Lines 17-23 disclose a circuit board 51 which connects to the light emitting elements 52 and 53. Furthermore, A1 comprises a touch circuit board, a controller in general ), wherein the lens array layer is disposed between the touch module and the light source module ( Figure 9 shows the microstructure 11 above the light emitting element 53 and as for the touch module, this will be addressed by the combination below ), the light source module is configured to generate a plurality of illuminated patterns, lights of the illuminated patterns pass through the lens array layer, the touch module and the protection layer to form a plurality of stereoscopic images ( Column 3, Lines 60-67 disclose the light emitting elements can perform different light emitting effects (read as illuminated patterns). Column 4, Lines 10-16 disclose the effects can be dazzling effects, etc, and in general, can be applied to a display type, i.e. form a plurality of stereoscopic images (read stereoscopic as light extending upward and outward, i.e. at a distance. Furthermore, please note the combination below as well ); but
Chiu does not explicitly teach “wherein the touch module is disposed between the protection layer and the lens array layer”. Furthermore, emphasis will be made on the stereoscopic images and in general, the display content, such as the patterns.
However, in the same field of endeavor, touch pads, Yeh teaches of a luminous touch pad module 2, ( Yeh, Figure 4, Columns 6-7, Lines 65-5 ). Notably, Yeh teaches of a touch member 20 which can be placed above the light aspects, such as the first light guide plate 22, second light guide plate 23 and light-emitting elements 25 and 26. To clarify, given the touch member above these aspects and below the cover plate A2 of Chiu would result in the touch module being disposed between the cover plate A2 and microstructure 11. Furthermore, as combined with Chiu, the interpreted pattern layer will still be facing away from the touch aspects, even still. As for emphasizing on the displayed images, Yeh teaches in Column 10, Lines 13-29 disclose multiple light-emitting elements to emit light beams to display a virtual numeric keypad with specific patterns, words or symbols (read as stereoscopic images).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the touch member between the cover plate and the microstructure (or optical elements of Yeh, in general), with the motivation that by the virtual display content can be displayed through the touch member, allowing for user interaction, ( Yeh, Column 8, Lines 59-65 and Column 10, Lines 13-29 disclose the functionality ). Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would be able to design the touchpad aspects in a plurality of locations as well.
Chiu and Yeh does not explicitly teach of the protection layer is “provided with a plurality of non-illuminated patterns” and “when a position corresponding to the non-illuminated patterns on the illuminated touchpad is touched, the controller generates a corresponding functional signal and the illumination beam is first transmitted to the light-guiding layer, and then transmitted to the patterns through the light-guiding layer to generate the illuminated patterns”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, touchpads, Simmons teaches of a touchpad/keypad combination unit 134, ( Simmons, Figure 19, [0060], [0063] ). Simmons teaches a touchpad 135, akin to Chiu and Yeh’s touchpads, and on this combination unit 134, there is also a keypad 136. Please note the keys are non-illuminated disposed on 134, akin to the protection layer. The keys can represents symbols (read as patterns), corresponding to 1-9, but it is not limited to simply this. Clearly, when one of these keys/positions is touched, a corresponding signal is generated. As combined with Chiu and Yeh, these physical (non-illuminated) keys are disposed on 134. In general, one of ordinary skill in the art would realize to have a wide variety of content/patterns on one side of the displayable area given both Chiu and Yeh teach of illuminated touchpads. Furthermore, Chiu teaches of aspects such as the patterns, the light-guiding layer, etc, and the illumination aspects/beams are still transmitted through the light-guiding layer and the patterns, as detailed above.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the keypad 136, as taught by Simmons, with the motivation that the keypad can provide easy access for the user to input information.
Chiu and Yeh teach in Claim 2:
The illuminated touchpad according to claim 1, further comprises:
a controller, electrically connected to the touch module and the light source module ( Figure 9, Column 4, Lines 17-23 disclose a circuit board 51 which connects to the light emitting elements 52 and 53. Also, please note touch circuit board A1 as well. Yeh, Column 6, Lines 40-47 also disclose a processor of the notebook computer and the connection to the touch pad module 2 ),
wherein the controller controls the light source module to generate the illuminated patterns, and generates a corresponding functional signal when a position corresponding to the stereoscopic images on the illuminated touchpad is touched. ( The above noted circuit board, processor, etc, provide the instructions/capability of the displayed images to be shown on the touch pad )
Chiu teaches in Claim 4:
The illuminated touchpad according to claim 1, wherein the light source module comprises:
a pattern layer, disposed on one side of the lens array layer relative to the touch module, and comprises a plurality of patterns ( Figure 9, Column 6, Lines 3-15 disclose a second microstructure 31 associated with the light guide plate and can change the direction of reflection of light. Please note the plurality of elements );
a light-guiding layer, wherein the pattern layer is disposed between the lens array layer and the light-guiding layer ( Figure 9, Column 11, Lines 40-50 disclose element such as bottom layer 40, second light guide plate 30, etc and the microstructure 31 is between 70, for example, and microstructure 11 ); and
a light source, disposed next to the light-guiding layer and configured to emit an illumination beam ( Figure 9, Column 4, Lines 20-30 disclose the second light emitting element 53 ),
wherein the illumination beam is first transmitted to the light-guiding layer, and then transmitted to the patterns through the light-guiding layer to generate the illuminated patterns. ( As disclosed above, the light emitting elements 52 and 53 emit the light through the light guide elements and through the microstructures to emit the effects )
Chiu teaches in Claim 5:
The illuminated touchpad according to claim 4, wherein the pattern layer has a light-transmitting area and a non-light-transmitting area, the patterns are disposed in the light-transmitting area. ( Figure 9, Column 5, Lines 22-45 disclose a transmitting region 21 and light shielding area 22 with the microstructure 31 positioned to allow the light to transmit through 21 )
As per Claim 6:
Chiu does not explicitly teach “wherein a light transmittance of the light-transmitting area is less than 70%.”
However, Chiu teaches in Figure 11 of a transflective layer 80 having an 80% transmittance and this is to impact the output from element 21, as shown, ( Chiu, Column 12, Lines 35-42 ). Respectfully, the transmittance percentage is a design choice/obvious to optimize situation in light of the Chiu specifically teaching of a value as well. One of ordinary skill in the art would realize it is an optimization issue to determine how much light should be able to pass through.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the transmittance percentage to be less than 70%, with the motivation that it is an optimization issue and in light of the fact Chiu teaches of a nearby value, ( Chiu, Column 12, Lines 35-42 ).
Simmons teaches in Claim 10:
The illuminated touchpad according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of non-illuminated patterns are on one side relative to the touch module. ( Figure 19, [0063], [0060] disclose a touchpad/keypad combination unit 134. As shown, the keypad 136 is on one side of the touchpad 135. As combined with Chiu, the keypad is also on one side as well )
7. Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chiu
( US 12,093,471 B1 ) in view of Yeh ( US 11,861,079 B1 ) and Simmons et al.
( US 2012/0133591 A1 ), as applied to Claim 1, further in view of Nichol et al.
( US 2014/0049983 A1 ).
As per Claim 3:
Chiu and Yeh may not explicitly teach “wherein a viewing angle of the stereoscopic images is less than or equal to 60 degrees.”
However, in the same field of endeavor, light emitting devices, Nichol teaches of a light emitting device with a stereoscopic display mode, ( Nichol, [0416] ). Notably, using similar elements such as a light source 1102 and lightguides 104 (see Figure 11), Nichol is able to output stereoscopic images and can output them at different angles, as shown in the various figures. Nicol teaches in [0137] of outputting light in one or more directions or planes such as 90 degrees or 45 degrees, etc. Respectfully, the key point here is that Nichol explicitly teaches of stereoscopic images and the limitation requiring an angle is within a design choice range of one of ordinary skill in the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the angle of output, with the motivation that it is a design choice issue and not a patentable distinction. One of ordinary skill in the art would realize that in light of a light guide, etc, light can be output at various angles relative to the user.
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are respectfully not persuasive.
Please note the updated rejection in light of the claim amendments. However, the combination still teaches these limitations. Most of these limitations are incorporated from Claims 4 and 5 and Chiu teaches of touch aspects A1, etc, arranged below and facing away from the scattering elements, such as 31, which are above it and meant to project/scatter light above/upwards. This is still true even when combined with Yeh’s touch aspect modifications.
Furthermore, Simmons is cited for the plurality of non-illuminated patterns, mostly on top for user interaction, but the concept of projecting/scattering light is maintained. Chiu teaches of the light-guiding aspects, which work through 31 and 32 to project the illumination beam upwards.
Conclusion
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621