DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ito et al. (US 20160264178 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ito discloses a vehicle structure (Fig. 1 and 8) comprising: a first engagement portion (Fig. 1 and 8, portion of 40 engaging with side frame 12) that is formed at an end portion (Fig. 1 and 8, laterally right end) of a bumper reinforcement (Fig. 1 and 8, 40 is a bumper reinforcement as it increases front bumper contact surface and shares impact load with the bumper during a collision as shown in Fig. 3B); and a second engagement portion (Fig. 1 and 8, portion of 12 engaging with 40) that is provided at a side member (12 in Fig. 1 and 8) and that engages with the first engagement portion, wherein, the first engagement portion and the second engagement portion engage with each other in both directions of a plan view (Fig. 8 and 4B, engaged with the stepped geometry and the bolts) and a side view (Fig. 1, engaged with the bolts) of a vehicle (10 in Fig. 1 and 8).
Regarding claim 2, Ito discloses the vehicle structure according to claim 1, wherein the first engagement portion and the second engagement portion engage with each other by concavo-convex shapes (Fig. 8, the stepped structures of both engagement portions have concavo-convex shapes that match with each other in order to engage).
Regarding claim 3, Ito discloses the vehicle structure according to claim 1, wherein, in the plan view, the first engagement portion has a plurality of shoulder portions in a stepped shape (see annotated Fig. 8), and the second engagement portion has a stepped portion (see annotated Fig. 8) that engages with at least a portion of the plurality of shoulder portions.
Figure 1 Annotated Fig. 8 from Ito
Regarding claim 4, Ito discloses the vehicle structure according to claim 1, wherein, in the side view, the first engagement portion is formed in a prism shape (Fig. 1 and 8, also shown in other embodiment figures, engagement portion has same upper and bottom base shapes that is matching and not rotated, therefore is a prism shape), and the second engagement portion is formed in a concave shape (Fig. 1 and 8, due to stepped structures).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rai et al. (US 20230373563 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Ito discloses the vehicle structure according to claim 1, but fails to disclose the side member is integrally formed by die casting.
Rai teaches the side member is integrally formed by die casting (Rai, abstract and paragraph 29, vehicle body parts can be formed by single unified die casting).
Rai is considered to be analogous art because it is in the same field of vehicle energy absorbing structures as Ito.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the vehicle structure as taught by Ito to incorporate the teachings of Rai with a reasonable expectation of success and use die casting. Doing so produces a final product with desired properties including strength, weight, and various resistances (Rai, paragraph 30).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The cited references that are not relied upon all disclose vehicle bumper reinforcement and side member connections.
/WENWEI ZHUO/Examiner, Art Unit 3612