DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jaulin et al (US Pub. No. 2020/0068279 A1).
Regarding claim 7, shown on Fig. 2, Jaulin et al teaches a method for connecting optical fiber for different optical communication standards, the method comprising:
receiving, by an optical-electrical module, a light signal from an external network (para [0045]; “The connection circuit 10 also has a plurality of optical-electrical interfaces, specifically a first optical-electrical interface 24 and a second optical-electrical interface 25.”; para [0008]; “Each subscriber 1 has an Internet gateway 5 with an optical-electrical interface 6 enabling light signals to be exchanged by applying the optical communication standard. An optical-electrical interface 6 conventionally comprises an emitter comprising a laser diode that generates light signals from electrical signals containing information for transmission, and a receiver comprising a photodiode for converting received light signals into usable electrical signals”; para [0010]; “These components are commonly grouped together within a macro-component known as a bidirectional optical subassembly (BOSA) that is designed specifically to interface one particular optical communication standard and thus one pair of wavelengths, thereby being protected from and incompatible with any other optical communication standard.”; module 11 shown on Fig. 2 is a macro-component known as a bidirectional optical subassembly (BOSA) considered as optical-electrical module);
splitting, by the optical-electrical module, the light signal into a first optical signal and a second optical signal based on the different wavelength of the light signal (para [0039]; “…the branch R is connected to a first intermediate fiber 21 that is connected to the first downstream port 18 of the wavelength multiplexer 16. The branch R transports at least the wavelengths 1310 nm and 1490 nm corresponding to the G-PON optical communication standard. The branch T is connected to a second intermediate fiber 22 that is connected to the second downstream port 19 of the wavelength multiplexer 16. The branch T transports at least the wavelengths 1270 nm and 1577 nm corresponding to the XG-PON optical communication standard.”);
converting, by the optical-electrical module, the first optical signal and the second optical signal into a first data signal and a second data signal separately (para [0045]; “The connection circuit 10 also has a plurality of optical-electrical interfaces, specifically a first optical-electrical interface 24 and a second optical-electrical interface 25.”); and
controlling, by a detection module, a multiplexer to output the first data signal or the second data signal selectively based on a detection result according to a first state signal and a second state signal, wherein the first state signal indicating the presence of the first data signal and the second state signal indicating the presence of the second data signal (para [0081]; “…it is verified whether only the G-PON standard is to be used (step E3). If so, the communication management method has a selection stage E4 that comprises the step of the processor 35 operating the switch 45 so as to select the first optical-electrical interface 24 that is compatible with the G-PON standard.”; para [0082]; “It is also verified whether only the XG-PON standard is to be used (step E5). If so, the communication method has a selection stage E6 that comprises the step of causing the processor 35 to operate the switch 45 so as to select the second optical-electrical interface 25 that is compatible with the XG-PON standard.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaulin et al (US Pub. No. 2020/0068279 A1) in view of Wang et al (US Pub. No. 2022/0303013 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jaulin et al teaches a circuit suitable for connecting a local optical communicating device to an external optical network, shown on Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, the circuit comprising:
an optical-electrical module, connected to the external optical network, configured to receive a light signal from the external optical network and split the light signal into a first optical signal complying with a first optical communication standard and a second optical signal complying with a second optical communication standard based on the different wavelength of the light signal and convert the first optical signal and the second optical signal into a first data signal and a second data signal separately (para [0045]; “The connection circuit 10 also has a plurality of optical-electrical interfaces, specifically a first optical-electrical interface 24 and a second optical-electrical interface 25.”; para [0008]; “Each subscriber 1 has an Internet gateway 5 with an optical-electrical interface 6 enabling light signals to be exchanged by applying the optical communication standard. An optical-electrical interface 6 conventionally comprises an emitter comprising a laser diode that generates light signals from electrical signals containing information for transmission, and a receiver comprising a photodiode for converting received light signals into usable electrical signals”; para [0010]; “These components are commonly grouped together within a macro-component known as a bidirectional optical subassembly (BOSA) that is designed specifically to interface one particular optical communication standard and thus one pair of wavelengths, thereby being protected from and incompatible with any other optical communication standard.”; module 11 shown on Fig. 2 is a macro-component known as a bidirectional optical subassembly (BOSA) considered as optical-electrical module; para [0039]; “…the branch R is connected to a first intermediate fiber 21 that is connected to the first downstream port 18 of the wavelength multiplexer 16. The branch R transports at least the wavelengths 1310 nm and 1490 nm corresponding to the G-PON optical communication standard. The branch T is connected to a second intermediate fiber 22 that is connected to the second downstream port 19 of the wavelength multiplexer 16. The branch T transports at least the wavelengths 1270 nm and 1577 nm corresponding to the XG-PON optical communication standard.”);
a detection module, connected to the first amplifying module and the second amplifying module, configured to generate a control signal based on the first state signal and the second state signal (para [0081]; “…it is verified whether only the G-PON standard is to be used (step E3). If so, the communication management method has a selection stage E4 that comprises the step of the processor 35 operating the switch 45 so as to select the first optical-electrical interface 24 that is compatible with the G-PON standard.”; para [0082]; “It is also verified whether only the XG-PON standard is to be used (step E5). If so, the communication method has a selection stage E6 that comprises the step of causing the processor 35 to operate the switch 45 so as to select the second optical-electrical interface 25 that is compatible with the XG-PON standard.”);
a multiplexer (45), connected to the detection module configured to output the first data signal or the second data signal selectively based on the control signal (para [0081]; “…it is verified whether only the G-PON standard is to be used (step E3). If so, the communication management method has a selection stage E4 that comprises the step of the processor 35 operating the switch 45 so as to select the first optical-electrical interface 24 that is compatible with the G-PON standard.”; para [0082]; “It is also verified whether only the XG-PON standard is to be used (step E5). If so, the communication method has a selection stage E6 that comprises the step of causing the processor 35 to operate the switch 45 so as to select the second optical-electrical interface 25 that is compatible with the XG-PON standard.”; );
a processor, connected to the multiplexer, configured to receive the first data signal or the second data signal selected by the multiplexer, and capable of processing both the first data signal and the second data signal (para [0081]; “…it is verified whether only the G-PON standard is to be used (step E3). If so, the communication management method has a selection stage E4 that comprises the step of the processor 35 operating the switch 45 so as to select the first optical-electrical interface 24 that is compatible with the G-PON standard.”; para [0082]; “It is also verified whether only the XG-PON standard is to be used (step E5). If so, the communication method has a selection stage E6 that comprises the step of causing the processor 35 to operate the switch 45 so as to select the second optical-electrical interface 25 that is compatible with the XG-PON standard.”).
Jaulin et al teaches optical-electrical module as discussed above and differs from the claimed invention in that Jaulin et al does not specifically teach a first amplifying module, connected to the optical-electrical module, configured to amplify the first data signal and generate a first state signal indicating the presence of the first data signal; and a second amplifying module, connected to the optical-electrical module, configured to amplify the second data signal and generate a second state signal indicating the presence of the second data signal. Since signal level degrades over time as it travels through medium, it is well known to provide amplifier. Wang et al teaches optical communication system, shown on Fig. 47B, comprising a first amplifying module (PA), connected to the optical-electrical module (211), configured to amplify the first data signal and generate a first state signal indicating the presence of the first data signal; and a second amplifying module (PA), connected to the optical-electrical module (212), configured to amplify the second data signal and generate a second state signal indicating the presence of the second data signal (para [0286]; “An input terminal of the PA3 is connected to an output terminal of the optical-electrical modules 211…”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of Jaulin et al by providing amplifier, as taught by Wang et al, in order to increase signal level for further transmission or processing.
Regarding claim 2, Jaulin et al teaches wherein the first optical communication standard is the GPON optical communication standard and the second optical communication standard is the XGPON optical communication standard (para [0039]; “…the branch R is connected to a first intermediate fiber 21 that is connected to the first downstream port 18 of the wavelength multiplexer 16. The branch R transports at least the wavelengths 1310 nm and 1490 nm corresponding to the G-PON optical communication standard. The branch T is connected to a second intermediate fiber 22 that is connected to the second downstream port 19 of the wavelength multiplexer 16. The branch T transports at least the wavelengths 1270 nm and 1577 nm corresponding to the XG-PON optical communication standard.”).
Regarding claim 4, wherein the optical-electrical module is a bidirectional optical sub-assembly (BOSA) or Combo BOSA/QOSA (para [0045]; “The connection circuit 10 also has a plurality of optical-electrical interfaces, specifically a first optical-electrical interface 24 and a second optical-electrical interface 25.”; para [0008]; “Each subscriber 1 has an Internet gateway 5 with an optical-electrical interface 6 enabling light signals to be exchanged by applying the optical communication standard. An optical-electrical interface 6 conventionally comprises an emitter comprising a laser diode that generates light signals from electrical signals containing information for transmission, and a receiver comprising a photodiode for converting received light signals into usable electrical signals”; para [0010]; “These components are commonly grouped together within a macro-component known as a bidirectional optical subassembly (BOSA) that is designed specifically to interface one particular optical communication standard and thus one pair of wavelengths, thereby being protected from and incompatible with any other optical communication standard.”; module 11 shown on Fig. 2 is considered as optical-electrical module).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaulin et al (US Pub. No. 2020/0068279 A1) in view of Wang et al (US Pub. No. 2022/0303013 A1) and further in view of Soto et al (US Pub. No. 2011/0150475 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Jaulin et al as modified by Wang et al teaches first and second amplifying module, as discussed above, and differs from the claimed invention in that the combination does not specifically teach wherein the first amplifying module further integrated with a first laser diode driver, and wherein the second amplifying module further integrated with a second laser diode driver. Soto et al teaches optical modules comprising laser diode driver (para [0006]; “A typical optical module 1100, as shown in FIG. 11, is composed of a: laser 1101; laser driver (LD) 1102; photo detector (PD) 1103; transimpedance amplifier (TIA) 1104; limiting amplifier (LA) 1105 and sometimes physical-layer devices 1108 such as a mux/demux with associated clock multiplier unit (CMU) and clock data recovery (CDR) functions in a serializer 1109 and deserializer 1110. A typical optical module 1100 has dual optical fibers for reception 1106 and transmission 1107 of signals and can have serial or parallel input 1111 and output 1112 pins.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the circuit of the combination by providing laser diode driver, as taught by Soto et al in order to provide sufficient bias and power to the laser diodes.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Liang et al (US Pub. No. 2024/0149632 A1) is cited to show integrated optical transceiver.
Izenberg et al (US Patent No. 9,338,530 B2) is cited to show optical network circuit comprising controllable multiplexer.
Chow et al (US Patent No. 8,712,243 B2) is cited to show apparatus for achieving multiple bit rates in PON.
Nagarajan et al (US Patent No. 8,548,333 B2) is cited to show transceiver photonic integrated circuit.
DALZID E. SINGH
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2635
/DALZID E SINGH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635