DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a first office action on the merits. Claims 1-3, as originally filed are currently pending and have been considered below.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the provision of “more second soft grooves”, “more noise prevention protrusions” and an embodiment with one bead on the support arm or elastic arm must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Currently the figures only show an embodiment with a singular soft groove positioned between the first soft grooves. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 7 the phrase “the two” should be replaced by --the pair--.
In claim 1, lines 9 and 10 the terms “two” should be replaced by --the--.
In claim 1, line 19, the numeral “123” should be enclosed in parentheses.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The preamble of claim 1 appears to establish the claim is for a vehicle module clip. However, lines 4, 6 and 20 appear to have positive recitations of the first member and coupling hole suggesting the claim is drawn to the combination of structures. Whether the claims are for the combination or not, the language should be consistent.
In claim 1, line 8, its unclear how the term “cut” affects the structure of the claimed guides.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "both edges" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
In claim 2, it is unclear what direction the “outward direction of the base” is indicative of.
Claim 3 inherits the deficiencies of claim 1 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al. (US 2013/0202350) in view of Kwon (US 2016/0115987).
Regarding claim 1, Kwon et al. discloses an apparatus comprising:
a base (110) fastened to the first member using the screw; and
a pair of hooks (120) that are bent from portions of both edges of the base and fitted into and assembled with the coupling hole,
wherein the base includes guides (112) positioned between the two hooks and cut to protrude to face each other,
the guides are formed such that a distance between two guides facing each other decreases as a distance from the base to the two guides increases (Fig. 3 as shown), and
the hooks includes a pair of facing support arms (121a) formed on both sides of the base to be obliquely bent toward each other, flanges (121b) that are bent from protruding ends of the support arms to face each other and maintain a predetermined distance therebetween, two pairs of elastic arms (122) which are formed by cutting central portions of the support arms to be unfolded outward from the flanges, steps (124) that are bent from end portions of the elastic arms to face each other and caught in the coupling hole, two first soft grooves (upper portion of the cuts used to form the elastic arms) formed in portions of the flanges in contact with the elastic arms.
Kwon et al. fails to disclose one or more second soft grooves formed in the flanges to be positioned between the two first soft grooves.
Kwon teaches grooves at a central portion of a bent portion of arms (300 as visible in Fig. 4).
From this teaching of Kwon, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to include an additional soft groove to enhance flexible deformation of the arms to ease insertion of the clip within a coupling hole
Kwon et al. fails to explicitly disclose a width (W) and an angle (θ) between two elastic arms are in the range of 15.8 mm to 16.2 mm and the range of 48° and 52°, respectively.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have had a width and an angle between 15.8 and 16.2mm and 58 to 62° to sufficiently fit in coupling holes sized and as is common in the prior art to balance ease of insertion and secure fitting. It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Regarding claim 2, Kwon et al. further disclose wherein: one or more beads (126) are further formed on the support arms in an outward direction of the base; and one or more beads (127) are further formed on the elastic arms in the outward direction of the base.
Regarding claim 3, Kwon et al. further discloses wherein one or more noise prevention protrusions (125) are formed on facing surfaces of the flanges.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 of copending Application No. 18/515,336 in view of Kwon (US 2016/0115987). Claim 1 appears to be claim essentially the same subject matter except for the top end of the angle range being 62° instead of 52° and second soft grooves between the first soft grooves. Claims 2 and 3 from both applications are identical.
Kwon teaches an apparatus with grooves at a central portion of a bent portion of arms (300).
From this teaching of Kwon, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to include an additional soft groove to enhance flexible deformation of the arms to ease insertion of the clip within a coupling hole.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Form 892.
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677