2. The Office Action is in response to amendment filed on 02/17/2026.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Application No. 18515365 filed on 11/21/2023.
Priority # Filling Data Country
202110706400.4 2021-06-24 CN
Response to Amendment
4. The amendment filed on 02/17/2026, Claim 1, 5, 7-11, 13, 17 and 19 have been amended; Claims 4 and 16 are canceled; therefore, 1-3, 5-15 and 17-20 are pending.
5. Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 02/17/2026, pages 11-19 have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §112
The applicant has amended claims properly; therefore, the 112(b) rejection in the non-final rejection 11/17/2026 is withdrawn.
However, new group of rejection is found and presented in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim under 35 U.S.C. § 103 has been fully considered.
Basically, applicant argued that the prior arts (YUAN (CN 1852196) and in view of ZHU et al. ( EP 3955532)) does not discloses the amended limitation of independent claims, since: “It can be seen that Yuan only provides a solution for releasing idle context resources for the handover procedure and MS idle mode in a WiMAX system. The manner in which Yuan learns the inactive state of a service is passively receiving a deregistration request from an MS or determining the absence of data transmission upon timer expiration, and Yuan does not disclose, teach or suggest the technical means for actively determining the inactive state of a service based on target indication information. Meanwhile, the "idle resources" in Yuan specifically refer to memory and hard disk resources for storing MS context information and are not clearly defined as "resources used for a target service between a target node and a communication peer node". In addition, the main processing manner of Yuan is "resource release" rather than "maintaining the state of resources". Therefore, Yuan does not disclose, teach or suggest the technical features in amended claim 1, including "determining the inactive state of a service based on target indication information", "the target resources being inter-node resources for the target service", and "the first target processing including maintaining the state of resources".".
“In summary, compared with Yuan, the distinguishing technical features of amended claim 1 are as follows: a target node learns that a target service is in an inactive state based on target indication information, and the target node performs target processing on target resources; wherein the target processing includes first target processing, the target resources are resources used for the target service between the target node and a communication peer node, and the first target processing includes maintaining the state of the target resources.
The technical problem actually solved by the aforesaid distinguishing technical features relative to Yuan is how to quickly and accurately learn the inactive state of a target service, and perform targeted state maintenance processing on inter-node resources used for the target service, SO as to optimize the efficiency of resource management..”
And:
“Amended claim 1 is non-obvious over the combination of Yuan and Zhu, for the following reasons: The technical scenario of Zhu is active communication between terminals in a 5G LAN group, with the main processing object being routing rule configuration. Zhu does not involve the "judgment on the inactive state of a service", nor does it disclose, teach or suggest the technical means for "determining the inactive state based on target indication information" and "maintaining the state of inter-node service resources".”
“To achieve the aforesaid purpose, the technical means adopted by Yuan is releasing resources through "timer triggering" or "message triggering": after an MS enters an idle mode or a handover is completed, the SBS and the SGW start a timer and release resources for storing MS context information upon the timer expiration; or actively release unused idle resources by receiving trigger messages sent by an MS, a target base station, etc. (such as a handover confirmation response message and a timeout notification message). The technical logic of Yuan centers on "resource release", and all operations are for reclaiming idle or confirmed unused resources without involving the maintenance of resource states.
By contrast, the technical problem solved by amended claim 1 is how to quickly and accurately learn the inactive state of a target service and perform targeted state maintenance on inter-node resources used for the target service, aiming to optimize the efficiency of resource management and avoid the overhead caused by frequent establishment and release of resources. The technical means adopted by amended claim 1 is actively judging the inactive state of a service based on target indication information, defining target resources as inter-node dedicated service resources, and performing state maintenance processing on such resources, with the technical logic centering on "resource maintenance".
The technical objectives of the two are completely opposite: Yuan focuses on "resource reclamation" to solve the problem of resource waste, while amended claim 1 focuses on "resource maintenance" to solve the problem of overhead caused by resource re-establishment. The corresponding technical means are also essentially different: Yuan is oriented to "release", triggering resource reclamation through a timer or passive reception of messages; amended claim 1 is oriented to "maintenance", triggering resource state maintenance through active acquisition of indication information.
Since the technical system and implementation purpose of Yuan are completely different from those of amended claim 1, and the existing technical solution of Yuan can already meet the resource management requirements in its own scenario, there is no technical defect that needs to be remedied by supplementing the "definition of inter-node service resources" and "resource state maintenance". When faced with the technical solution of Yuan, a person skilled in the art cannot obtain any technical inspiration pointing to "judging the inactive state based on indication information and maintaining the resource state", and thus naturally lacks a reasonable motivation to make relevant improvements to Yuan.”
“More crucially, Yuan and Zhu belong to technical systems of different generations and standards: Yuan is directed to a WiMAX system (a wireless metropolitan area network technology complying with the IEEE 802.16 standard) and solves the problem of resource reclamation in a traditional radio access network; Zhu is directed to a 5G system (a new-generation mobile communication technology complying with the 3GPP standard) and solves the problem of routing for private communication in a 5G LAN group. The two have completely independent technical architectures and application scenarios. When studying the resource management solution of the WiMAX system, a person skilled in the art has no reasonable reason to refer to the LAN service-related technologies of the 5G system, and thus there is no technical inspiration for combining the two. Even if it is assumed that Yuan and Zhu are combined, the obtained solution can only be "applying the resource naming method of 5G LAN in a WiMAX system and still solving the problem of idle resource occupation by releasing resources". Such a solution still does not involve the core logic of "judging the inactive state based on target indication information" and "maintaining the resource state" and is essentially different from the technical solution of amended claim 1. “
“”The distinguishing technical features bring about unexpected technical effects:
when a target service is in an inactive state, it is unnecessary to immediately release inter-node dedicated resources for the target service; resource state maintenance enables a quick response to subsequent service activation requirements and reduces the overhead of resource re-establishment. Meanwhile, the active judgment of the service state based on target indication information achieves accurate state recognition, avoiding delays or misjudgments caused by timer expiration judgment. Such technical effects cannot be achieved by the "resource release" of Yuan or the "routing optimization" of Zhu, and are also beyond the ordinary expectation of a person skilled in the art.”
“For at least the above reasons, the cited references, taken alone or in combination,
fail to disclose, teach or suggest all limitations of claim 1, and therefore, claim 1 defines over the
cited art.”
Examiner’s Response:
After updating search, examiner believe that the current prior arts (YUAN (CN 1852196) and in view of and in view of LONG et al. (CN 105812910)) teach the aforementioned limitation, as presented in this office action.
For example, LONG discloses that “wherein the determining that a target service is in an inactive state comprises: determining, based on target indication information, that the target service is in an inactive state” in fig. 2, step 201-203; also in page 8-9, as: “connection number value indication carries at least a local resource of the access priority of the number of idle resource of each service type and each access source terminal indicating any conflict of source terminal sends the idle resource corresponding to the service type… determining the service type idle resource in the local resource….specifically, if the source terminal sends the service access request of the sound source, the number of bearing sound source of the sink end of the local free resource is 0,namely the local lack of idle resource of the sound source. then executing the step 204.” And page 11, as: “indication carries local resource connection number upper limit. each service type of idle resource number and one or any combination of each access client of the access priority indicating any conflict of client sending the idle resource corresponding to the service type of the service access request”, in which, indication is used to determine idle resource (number and priority).
Therefore, the combination of YUAN and LONG discloses the limitations of: in independent claims.
Examiner’s Note:
Examiner does not agreed that YUAN cannot combine with Zhu since YUAN is for WiMax and Zhu is for 5G LAN as applicant argued.
It is well known that Wimax and 5G Lan have many common technologies, and both are for high-speed wireless service; although Wimax is regarded as 4G, the technologies is developed and 5G technology is based on 4G and other technologies.
Therefore, it is justified to applied some technology in 5G into Wimax application.
The applicant argued that “the "idle resources" in Yuan specifically refer to memory and hard disk resources for storing MS context information and are not clearly defined as "resources used for a target service between a target node and a communication peer node"”, even that is true (which examiner does not agree, since as clearly shown in fig. 3, for example, the resource can be the data channels), the resource still can be interpreted as resources used for a target service between a target node and a communication peer node, since the target service definitely causes the consumption of memory and hard disk resources and any target service needs memory and hard disk resources.
Applicant argued that its application can “quickly and accurately learn the inactive state of a target service, and perform targeted state maintenance processing on inter-node resources used for the target service, SO as to optimize the efficiency of resource management.”; however, the broad limitations recited in the current independent claims does not reflect it. Examiner expect more detailed limitations can be incorporated into independent claims to reflect the real invention.
The applicant also argued that dependent claims should be allowed due to their dependency on independent claims.
Examiner’s Response:
As discussed above, the combination of YUAN and LONG discloses the limitations of: in independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-3, 5-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
For claim 1, it recites “first target processing”, in “the target processing comprises first target processing” first, then it recites: “wherein when the target processing comprises the first target processing, the target resource is a resource used for the target service between the target node and a communication peer node.” However, it is not clear if the target process always comprises the first target process or not; since if “the target processing comprises first target processing “, then the first target processing should always be there; then why the “the target resource is a resource used for the target service between the target node and a communication peer node” should be based on “when the target processing comprises the first target processing”? Since the first target processing should always be there , then the target resource should always be a resource used for the target service between the target node and a communication peer node;
However, in its dependent claims, for example, claim 7, it recites that: “in a case of being in the handover scenario, performing, by the target node, the second target processing on the target resource”, it is conflicted with independent claims, since according to independent claims, “the target processing comprises first target processing” and the first target processing is always there, how could the first target processing do when “in a case of being in the handover scenario, performing, by the target node, the second target processing on the target resource”?
Thus the scope of the claim and its dependent claims 2-3, 5-12 are unclear.
7. Independent claims 13 and its dependent claims 14-15, 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the similar reason as for independent claim 1 and its dependent claims 2-3, 5-12.
8. Claim 5 and its dependent claims 6, 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
For claim 5, it recites “the handover scenario”, in “in a case that the target node is a target base station in the handover scenario, determining, based on second indication information sent by a source base station, that the target service is in an inactive state.” However, there is no antecedence basis for this limitation.
Thus the scope of the claim and its dependent claims 6, 8-10 are unclear.
9. Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
For claim 7, it recites “the handover scenario” and “the second target processing on the target resource”, in “performing, by the target node, the first target processing on the target resource, or in a case of being in the handover scenario, performing, by the target node, the second target processing on the target resource.” However, there is no antecedence basis for these limitations.
Thus the scope of the claim is unclear.
10. Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
For claim 9, it recites “the second target processing on the target resource”, in “in a case that the target indication information comprises only the second indication information, performing, by the target node, the second target processing on the target resource.” However, there is no antecedence basis for the limitation.
Thus the scope of the claim is unclear.
11. Claim 17 and its dependent claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for the similar reason as for Claim 5 and its dependent claims 6, 8-10.
12. Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite.
For claim 19, it recites “the second target processing on the target resource”, in “in a case that the target indication information comprises only the second indication information, performing, by the target node, the second target processing on the target resource.” However, there is no antecedence basis for the limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
14. Claims 1-3, 5-8, 12-15, 17-18, 20 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUAN (CN 1852196) and in view of LONG et al. ( CN 105812910).
Regarding claim 1, YUAN teaches a resource processing method (fig. 1), comprising:
in a case of determining that a target service is in an inactive state (fig. 3, MS indication of idle status; page 3, … As shown in FIG. 3, is a network workgroup second phase [NWG Stage2) specifies the MS entering the idle mode), performing, by the target node (fig. 1, MS or BS1-4, ASN-GW1-2), target processing on a target resource (fig. 3);
wherein the target processing comprises: first target processing, wherein when the target processing comprises the first target processing (the first target processing is shown in fig. 3) , the target resource is a resource used for the target service between the target node and a communication node (as shown in fig. 1, the target node is BS1/BS2 and the communication node is ASN-GW1; the service between them are the target service; the resource can be channels/frequency bands and other resources for communications);
the first target processing comprises maintaining a state of the target resource (fig. 4; page 6, …set a system resource retain timer on the SGW (System Resource-Retain-Time, hereinafter called second timer); in which, during the retain timer, the state of the target resource is maintained).
It is noticed that YUAN does not disclose explicitly of the determining that a target service is in an inactive state comprises: determining, based on target indication information, that the target service is in an inactive state.
LONG discloses of the determining that a target service is in an inactive state comprises: determining, based on target indication information, that the target service is in an inactive state (fig. 2, step 201-203; also in page 8-9, as: “connection number value indication carries at least a local resource of the access priority of the number of idle resource of each service type and each access source terminal indicating any conflict of source terminal sends the idle resource corresponding to the service type… determining the service type idle resource in the local resource….specifically, if the source terminal sends the service access request of the sound source, the number of bearing sound source of the sink end of the local free resource is 0,namely the local lack of idle resource of the sound source. then executing the step 204.” And page 11, as: “indication carries local resource connection number upper limit. each service type of idle resource number and one or any combination of each access client of the access priority indicating any conflict of client sending the idle resource corresponding to the service type of the service access request”, in which, indication is used to determine idle resource (number and priority)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that t the determining that a target service is in an inactive state comprises: determining, based on target indication information, that the target service is in an inactive state as a modification to the method for the benefit of that to know the inactive status efficiently (8-9).
Regarding claim 13, YUAN teaches a target node (fig. 1, either MS or BS1-BS4 or ASN_GW1-2), comprising a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor, wherein the program or instructions are executed by the processor to implement (by inheritance, MS or BS or core network has a processor, a memory, and a program or instructions stored in the memory and capable of running on the processor) :
in a case of determining that a target service is in an inactive state (fig. 3, MS indication of idle status; page 3, … As shown in FIG. 3, is a network workgroup second phase [NWG Stage2) specifies the MS entering the idle mode), performing, by the target node (fig. 3, AGW), target processing on a target resource (fig. 3);
wherein the target processing comprises first target processing, wherein when the target processing comprises the first target processing (the first target processing is shown in fig. 3) , the target resource is a resource used for the target service between the target node and a communication node (as shown in fig. 1, the target node is BS1/BS2 and the communication node is ASN-GW1; the resource can be channels/frequency bands and other resources for communications);
the first target processing comprises:
maintaining a state of the target resource fig. 4; page 6, …set a system resource retain timer on the SGW (System Resource-Retain-Time, hereinafter called second timer); in which, during the retain timer, the state of the target resource is maintained).
It is noticed that YUAN does not disclose explicitly of the determining that a target service is in an inactive state comprises: determining, based on target indication information, that the target service is in an inactive state.
LONG discloses of the determining that a target service is in an inactive state comprises: determining, based on target indication information, that the target service is in an inactive state (fig. 2, step 201-203; also in page 8-9, as: “connection number value indication carries at least a local resource of the access priority of the number of idle resource of each service type and each access source terminal indicating any conflict of source terminal sends the idle resource corresponding to the service type… determining the service type idle resource in the local resource….specifically, if the source terminal sends the service access request of the sound source, the number of bearing sound source of the sink end of the local free resource is 0,namely the local lack of idle resource of the sound source. then executing the step 204.” And page 11, as: “indication carries local resource connection number upper limit. each service type of idle resource number and one or any combination of each access client of the access priority indicating any conflict of client sending the idle resource corresponding to the service type of the service access request”, in which, indication is used to determine idle resource (number and priority)).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that t the determining that a target service is in an inactive state comprises: determining, based on target indication information, that the target service is in an inactive state as a modification to the node for the benefit of that to know the inactive status efficiently (8-9).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of YUAN and LONG teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, YUAN further discloses that the target node is a base station (fig. 1, BS1-BS4), and the communication peer node is a core network function (fig. 1, ASN-GW1-GW2); or the target node is a core network function, and the communication peer node is a core network function; or the target node is a core network function, and the communication peer node is a base station.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of YUAN and LONG teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, YUAN further discloses that the target node is a terminal (fig. 1, MS), and the communication peer node is a base station (fig. 1, BS1-BS4).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of YUAN and LONG teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, YUAN further discloses that the determining, based on target indication information, that the target service is in an inactive state comprises at least one of the following:
in a case that the target node is a base station, determining, based on first indication information sent by the core network function, that the target service is in an inactive state (fig. 3; page 3, … When the MS transmits de-registration request (CMD REG) message to the SBS, the SBS through the SGW and AGW… then transmitting the de-registration command (DREG CMD) message to the MS in response to the MS de-registration request; i.e. SGW and AGW are core network function.);
and in a case that the target node is a target base station in the handover scenario, determining, based on second indication information sent by a source base station, that the target service is in an inactive state
Regarding claim 6, the combination of YUAN and LONG teaches the limitations recited in claim 5 as discussed above. In addition, YUAN further discloses that the second indication information comprises at least one of the following: a handover request message Handover Request (fig. 4, handover request; page 6 SBS is required to service access network gateway (SGW) sends a handover request message); an Xn interface establishment request message Xn SETUP REQUEST; and a node configuration update message NG-RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE
Regarding claim 7, the combination of YUAN and LONG teaches the limitations recited in claim 2 as discussed above. In addition, YUAN further discloses that wherein the target processing performed by the target node on a target resource comprises at least one of the following: performing, by the target node, the first target processing on the target resource (fig. 3), or in a case of being in the handover scenario, performing, by the target node, the second target processing on the target resource (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of YUAN and LONG teaches the limitations recited in claim 6 as discussed above. In addition, YUAN further discloses that the target processing performed by the target node on a target resource comprise in a case of being in the handover scenario, performing, by the target node, the target processing on the target resource based on the target indication information obtained (fig. 4; page 6; Referring to FIG. 4 and FIG. 5, the present invention switch function for transmission of the present invention. when the MS in the moving process, it may need from a currently serving as the serving base station (SBS) coverage area moves to the coverage of another BS (hereinafter called the target BS), then, SBS is required to service access network gateway (SGW) sends a handover request message (HO Request),).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of YUAN and LONG teaches the limitations recited in claim 2 as discussed above. In addition, YUAN further discloses that in a case that the target node is a base station or a core network function (fig. 1, BS1-4 and ASN-GW1-GW2), the method further comprises:
in a case that the target service is changed to an active state (page 6, … the system re-entry (indicating the MS from the idle mode back to the original state or handover cancel)), performing at least one of the following:
establishing the target resource in a case that the target resource has not been established ; sending an activation notification of the target service (fig. 4/fig. 5; page 7, … when the target BS receives from the MS a handover confirm message, it will return a switching acknowledgement response message (HO Confirm Response); When the SGW receives the switching acknowledgement response message, it indicates that the MS has re-entry is finished); establishing the target resource in a case that the target resource having not been established and a terminal serving by a base station corresponding to the target resource needing to execute the target service are determined; and sending an activation notification of the target service in a case that a terminal serving by a base station corresponding to the target resource needing to execute the target service is determined
Regarding claim 14, the combination of YUAN and LONG teaches the limitations recited in claim 13 as discussed above. In addition, YUAN further discloses that the target node is a base station (fig. 1, BS1-BS4), and the communication peer node is a core network function (fig. 1, ASN-GW1-GW2); or the target node is a core network function, and the communication peer node is a core network function; or the target node is a core network function, and the communication peer node is a base station.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of YUAN and ZHU teaches the limitations recited in claim 13 as discussed above. In addition, YUAN further discloses that the target node is a terminal (fig. 1, MS), and the communication peer node is a base station (fig. 1, BS1-BS4).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of YUAN and LONG teaches the limitations recited in claim 13 as discussed above. In addition, YUAN further discloses that the determining, based on target indication information, that the target service is in an inactive state comprises at least one of the following:
in a case that the target node is a base station, determining, based on first indication information sent by the core network function, that the target service is in an inactive state (fig. 3; page 3, … When the MS transmits de-registration request (CMD REG) message to the SBS, the SBS through the SGW and AGW… then transmitting the de-registration command (DREG CMD) message to the MS in response to the MS de-registration request; ( i.e. SGW and AGW are core network function).);
and in a case that the target node is a target base station in the handover scenario, determining, based on second indication information sent by a source base station, that the target service is in an inactive state.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of YUAN and LONG teaches the limitations recited in claim 17 as discussed above. In addition, YUAN further discloses that the second indication information comprises at least one of the following: a handover request message Handover Request (fig. 4, handover request; page 6 SBS is required to service access network gateway (SGW) sends a handover request message); an Xn interface establishment request message Xn SETUP REQUEST; and a node configuration update message NG-RAN NODE CONFIGURATION UPDATE
Regarding claim 20, the combination of YUAN and LONG teaches the limitations recited in claim 14 as discussed above. In addition, YUAN further discloses that in a case that the target node is a base station or a core network function (fig. 1, BS1-4 and ASN-GW1-GW2), the program or instructions are executed by the processor to further implement:
in a case that the target service is changed to an active state (page 6, … the system re-entry (indicating the MS from the idle mode back to the original state or handover cancel)), performing at least one of the following:
establishing the target resource in a case that the target resource has not been established ; sending an activation notification of the target service (fig. 4/fig. 5; page 7, … when the target BS receives from the MS a handover confirm message, it will return a switching acknowledgement response message (HO Confirm Response); When the SGW receives the switching acknowledgement response message, it indicates that the MS has re-entry is finished); establishing the target resource in a case that the target resource having not been established and a terminal serving by a base station corresponding to the target resource needing to execute the target service are determined; and sending an activation notification of the target service in a case that a terminal serving by a base station corresponding to the target resource needing to execute the target service is determined
15. Conclusion
. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
16. Contact Information
/ZAIHAN JIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488