DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “a topological optimization process . . . to maximize absorption performance of the absorber” is indefinite because it is unclear what is considered to be “maximum absorption performance.” For example, it is unclear whether maximizing “absorption performance” requires absorbing a vibration at a single frequency, absorbing a vibration over a band of frequencies or at multiple frequencies, providing a certain reduction in an amplitude of the vibration, time response of the absorption or some other metric.
Regarding claim 3, the phrase “minimizes a reflection coefficient or maximizes an absorption coefficient” is indefinite because it is unclear whether the minimization of the reflection coefficient and/or the maximization of the absorption coefficient are the same as the previously recited “maximiz[ation] [of the] absorption performance of the absorber.”
Regarding claim 13, the phrase “a topological optimization process . . . that maximizes absorption performance of the absorber” is indefinite because it is unclear how “absorption performance” is indefinite because it is unclear what is considered to be “maximum absorption performance.” For example, it is unclear whether maximizing “absorption performance” requires absorbing a vibration at a single frequency, absorbing a vibration over a band of frequencies, reducing an amplitude of the vibration, time response of the absorption or some other metric.
Regarding claim 14, the phrase “minimizes a reflection coefficient or maximizes an absorption coefficient” is indefinite because it is unclear whether the minimization of the reflection coefficient and/or the maximization of the absorption coefficient are the same as the previously recited “maximiz[ation] [of the] absorption performance of the absorber.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-8, 10-13, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Harel, Swapnil Subhash, "FREQUENCY TUNING OF VIBRATION ABSORBER USING TOPOLOGY OPTIMIZATION" (2017). Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Theses. 975. https://mavmatrix.uta.edu/mechaerospace_theses/975.
Regarding independent claim 1, Harel discloses a method for designing an absorber for absorbing a vibration acting upon a structure (see page 20, “tuned vibration absorber”; see also pages 32-41), the method comprising steps of: defining a design domain for the absorber (see pages 35-36); and utilizing a topological optimization process to design a shape of the absorber within the design domain (see pages 35-36) to maximize absorption performance of the absorber (see pages 37, 38, 42, 43).
Regarding claim 5, Harel discloses that a width of the absorber is equal to a width of the structure (see page 71, FIG. 5-18; absorber is equal to a width of an interior cavity of the structure).
Regarding claim 6, Harel discloses the step of using a finite element method to evaluate the absorption performance of the absorber (see page 55).
Regarding claim 7, Harel discloses that the absorber is configured to be connected near an end of the structure (see page 65, FIG. 5-12(d)).
Regarding claim 8, Harel discloses that the structure is a beam (see page 65, FIG. 5-12(d)).
Regarding claim 10, Harel discloses that the absorber is configured to be attached to at least one side of the beam (see page 65, FIG. 5-12).
Regarding claim 11, Harel discloses that the vibration is one or more flexural waves acting upon the structure (see page 60, FIG. 5-8(a)).
Regarding claim 12, Harel discloses that a size of the design domain is at least one of: inversely proportional to a frequency of the vibration to be absorbed for a given material in the design domain; and varied based on different densities of material (see page 39).
Regarding claim 13, Harel discloses an absorber for absorbing a vibration acting upon a structure (see page 20, “tuned vibration absorber”; see also pages 32-41), the absorber designed using a topological optimization process to design a shape of the absorber (see pages 37, 38, 42, 43) within a design domain (see pages 35-36) that maximizes absorption performance of the absorber (see pages 37, 38, 42, 43).
Regarding claim 16, Harel discloses that the structure is a beam (see page 65, FIG. 5-12(d)).
Regarding claim 17, Harel discloses that the absorber is configured to be connected near an end of the beam (see page 65, FIG. 5-12(d)).
Regarding claim 19, Harel discloses that the absorber is attached to at least one side of the beam (see page 65, FIG. 5-12(d)).
Regarding claim 20, Harel discloses that a size of the design domain is at least one of: inversely proportional to a frequency of the vibration to be absorbed; and varied based on different densities of material (see page 39).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, 17 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/612,396 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the elements of the present claims are recited or rendered obvious by claims 1-20 of the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1, 2, 7, 8, 10, 11, 13, 14, 16, 17 and 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18/612,389 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the elements of the present claims are recited or rendered obvious by claims 1-20 of the copending application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 9, 14, 15 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
June 24, 2026