DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and are rejected.
Response to Amendment
This Office Action is responsive to the amendment filed on 05/06/2026.
Claims 1, 6, 8, 13, 15 and 19 are amended and are being fully considered by the examiner.
In response to applicant’s amendments to claim 8, all the 35 USC § 101 rejections of claims 8-14 as set forth in the previous office action has been withdrawn.
In response to applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 6, 8, 13, 15 and 19, all the claim objections of claims 6, 13 and 19 as set forth in the previous office action has been withdrawn.
This action is MADE FINAL. Please see response to arguments section for further details.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 9-10 of applicant’s remarks, filed 12/22/201, with respect to rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejections of claims 1-4 and 15-18 has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of the references as presented in the current office action.
Applicant responds
(a) Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102
Because of the foregoing discussion, inter alia, Applicant respectfully contends that Li at least fails to anticipate the claimed features under 35 U.S.C. § 102 because of the absence from Li of Applicant's claimed "receiving a TCPFL actuator, wherein the TCPm actuator is fabricated from a plurality of TCPm muscles coated with a synthesized polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) solution" similarly recited in independent claims 1, 8, and 15. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests that the rejection be withdrawn.
(Page: 11)
With respect to (a) above, Examiner appreciates the interpretative description given by Applicant in response.
Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 8 and 15 have overcome the 35 U.S.C. § 102 rejections of claims 1-4 and 15-18; however, all claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 in view of the references as presented in the current office action in response to the amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed 05/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant responds
(b) Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 102:
Applicant respectfully submits that Li at least fails to anticipate Applicant's claimed "receiving a TCPFL actuator, wherein the TCPFL actuator is fabricated from a plurality of TCPFL muscles."
As seen above, Li appears to describe artificial muscles fabricated from twisted polymer fibers. See Li f[0027]. Li further appears to describe suitable polymer materials for such polymer fiber muscles, including fibers commonly used for fishing lines. See Li f[0134]. However, these disclosures describe the structure and materials of individual artificial muscles, not an actuator fabricated from a plurality of TCPFL muscles as claimed.
Li does not disclose that such a device includes a plurality of artificial muscles forming a single actuator, nor does Li describe an actuator fabricated from multiple TCPFL muscles. Accordingly, Li fails to disclose the claimed "receiving a TCPFL actuator, wherein the TCPFL actuator is fabricated from a plurality of TCPFL muscles."
(Pages: 7-9)
With respect to (b) above, Examiner appreciates the interpretative description given by Applicant in response.
The limitation, receiving a TCPFL actuator, wherein the TCPFL actuator is fabricated from a plurality of TCPFL muscles is broad.
In broadest reasonable interpretation, receiving a TCPFL actuator means receiving the TCPFL actuator from any place in any manner for any use.
In broadest reasonable interpretation, TCPFL actuator is fabricated from a plurality of TCPFL muscles describes plurality of TCPFL muscles with actuation ability, because claim doesn’t provide any specific detail about how exactly this TCPFL actuator is fabricated from the TCPFL muscles and what the exact structure of this TCPFL actuator.
As described above, combination of the Li and Custer disclose all the elements of claims 1 and 15, and combination of the Li, Custer and BROWNE disclose all the elements of claim 8.
Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but for the above described reasons, they are not persuasive; therefore, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC §103 in view of the references as set forth in this office action.
(c) Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103:
Additionally, regarding claim 6
However, the cited portions of Custer do not disclose, either individually or collectively, the claimed synthesis of a PVA solution or the specific process steps recited in claim 6. Custer discloses that a fibrous material "may be coated or impregnated with curative"
Custer neither discloses mesoporous carbon nor any NiAg alloy or metal mesh powder, and instead lists these materials as independent alternatives rather than as a specific combined composition.
yet none of the cited portions of Custer disclose the formation of a solution from which a supernatant would be removed, nor any precipitation or separation step.
Custer does not disclose synthesizing a PVA solution using the recited steps, and the rejection is based on an improper reconstruction of the claimed process using Applicant's disclosure as a template. Accordingly, Custer fails to teach the limitations of claim 6, and the rejection should be withdrawn.
(Page: 10)
With respect to (c) above, Examiner appreciates the interpretative description given by Applicant in response.
The claimed limitation is broad, and in broadest reasonable interpretation describes creating a PVA solution by mixing mesoporous C, and NiAg metal mesh powder with (polyvinyl alcohol) PVA and water and then removing supernatant. There are no specific steps with detailed chemical reactions other than just mixing these elements and then removing supernatant.
Custer describes mixture of fillers Ni Ag and conducting grades of carbons and PVA solution. As described in the current office action, Examiner noted that, Custer teaches, creating a mixture (combination) and combining it with the element (fibrous material). Examiner further notes that one of the ordinary skilled in the art will understand that, the supernatant that is liquid lying above solid residue after chemical combination/reaction can be removed and disposed off before obtaining the solid residue after precipitation (coating/combining).
Applicant’s arguments are fully considered, but for the above described reasons, they are not persuasive; therefore, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 USC §103 in view of the references as set forth in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6 and 15-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US20200088175A1) [hereinafter Li] and further in view of Custer et al. (US20100189988A1) [hereinafter Custer].
Regarding claim 1 (amended):
Li discloses, A method for using a twisted and coiled polymer fishing line (TCPFL) actuator for controlling a component comprising:, [¶27: actuators (artificial muscles) including twist-spun nanofiber yarn and twisted polymer fibers that generate torsional and/or tensile actuation when powered electrically,…thermally…
¶122: Though polymer fibers used as precursors for making twist-inserted,..coiled polymer fiber muscles can be specially made using well known methods, advantage has been found in using commercially available high-strength fibers (either single filament or multifilament)—most often those used as fishing line...
¶163: Both torsional and tensile actuation of hybrid twist-spun yarns and twist inserted fibers can be deployed for actuating smart surfaces on local and larger scales. For instance, tensile actuation can reversibly retract…thereby changing surface roughness. One or more cycles of pin extension and retraction can be used to remove marine organisms from the surface of marine vehicles…Such actuation, like the torsional rotation of a paddle so that either hydrophilic or hydrophobic paddle surface is exterior, can also be used to change surface energy.];
receiving a TCPFL actuator, wherein the TCPFL actuator is fabricated from a plurality of TCPFL muscles coated….; …TCPFL actuator that is fabricated from the plurality of TCPFL muscles; [¶134: Because of their high strengths, all of these suitable polymer fibers are often used for fishing lines…These polymer fibers that are suitable for conversion to polymer fiber artificial muscles…
¶27: actuators (artificial muscles) including twist-spun nanofiber yarn and twisted polymer fibers that generate torsional and/or tensile actuation when powered electrically,…thermally…
¶130: This conductor can be, for example, a conducting coating (like a metal or carbon coating) on a high-strength polymer fiber; metal wire or wires, … polymer fibers that are coated with an electronically conducting carbon or carbon composite can be usefully deployed
Examiner notes that receiving TCPFL actuator is broad; therefore, in broadest reasonable interpretation, plain meaning of this limitation has been used, such as receiving the TCPFL actuator in any manner in any type of installation, and the TCPFL actuator is composed of actuating TCPFL muscles];
using the TCPFL actuator….and adjusting a vehicle component using the TCPFL actuator. [¶163: Both torsional and tensile actuation of hybrid twist-spun yarns and twist inserted fibers can be deployed for actuating smart surfaces on local and larger scales. For instance, tensile actuation can reversibly retract…thereby changing surface roughness. One or more cycles of pin extension and retraction can be used to remove marine organisms from the surface of marine vehicles…Such actuation, like the torsional rotation of a paddle so that either hydrophilic or hydrophobic paddle surface is exterior, can also be used to change surface energy…
Examiner notes that, in broadest reasonable interpretation, claim recites using the TCPFL actuator to adjust any component of a vehicle, where adjustment can be any adjustment and in any manner.], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Custer discloses, TCPFL muscles coated with a synthesized polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) solution; [¶22: The fibrous material 10, 11 and 12 may be coated or impregnated with curative…
¶52: suitable curatives may include…poly(vinyl alcohol);…
¶11: combining a fibrous element with one or more matrix precursor elements…
¶25: The matrix precursor elements may be composed of thermosetting resin (R), curatives (C) for the thermosetting resin or a mixture of thermosetting resin and curative for the thermosetting resin (M)….
¶55: The thermosetting resin in matrix precursor element R may also include any of the known additives… Exemplary additives include performance enhancing or modifying agents…The performance enhancing or modifying agents, for example, may be selected from…fillers,…
¶56: Suitable fillers include, by way of example, any of the following…in combination:..Suitable conducting particles,…Metal-coated fillers may also be used, for example nickel coated carbon particles and silver coated copper particles.
Examiner notes that, Custer teaches of creating a mixture (combination) and coating the element (fibrous material) with the mixture/solution.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the TCPFL muscles coated with a synthesized polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) solution in order to have the improved coated TCPFL muscles without undesirable pores giving it improved shaping capability and increased toughness improving its functionality taught by Custer with the method taught by Li as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to have the improved coated TCPFL muscles without undesirable pores, improved shaping capability, and increased toughness improving its functionality [Custer, ¶9: eliminate the formation of undesirable pores…¶21: improve its capability of being shaped…. ¶54: Thermoplastics are commonly blended with epoxy resins to increase toughness].
Regarding claim 2:
Li and Custer disclose, The method of claim 1, and
Li further discloses, wherein the TCPFL actuator adjusts the vehicle component based upon at least one of air temperature and water temperature. [Examiner notes that claim requires only one of the element separate by “or,” and thus, only one of them is given the patentable weight.
Accordingly, Li discloses, TCPFL actuator adjusts the vehicle component based on one of air/gas temperature and water temperature (heating/cooling)
¶27: actuators (artificial muscles) including twist-spun nanofiber yarn and twisted polymer fibers that generate torsional and/or tensile actuation when powered electrically,…thermally…
¶165: the nanofiber yarn and twist-inserted polymer fiber muscles by using active cooling to reverse actuation or by using surrounding ambient temperature media that rapidly absorb the heat of actuation. Water is one such useful media for cooling. Other useful choices for passive cooling are high thermal diffusivity gases, like hydrogen and helium…in preparation with subsequent mixture of the hydrogen with air (or oxygen) to provide forward actuation…
¶261: Upon heating to approximately 80° C. by using the hot air…the coils expanded, moving apart a set of plastic tubes that were supported by nylon filament running between the turns of the coils (FIG. 23A). Upon natural cooling, the coils return to their original position (FIG. 23B), thereby closing the shutter.].
Regarding claim 3:
Li and Custer disclose, The method of claim 1, and
Li further discloses, wherein fabricating the plurality of TCPFL muscles includes incorporating a resistance wire into the plurality of TCPFL muscles. [¶102: an actuating yarn can…include actuating non-yarn segments, such as a thermally actuated shape memory polymer or a shape metal memory wire…
¶102: conductor is needed to provide electrothermal actuation…This conductor can be, for example, a conducting coating (like a metal or carbon coating) on a high-strength polymer fiber; metal wire or wires; electronically conducting nanofibers that are helically wrapped about an non-twisted polymer fiber muscle, a coiled polymer fiber muscle, or a twisted but non-coiled polymer fiber muscle; an electronic conductor that is external to the muscle fiber (like metal wires woven into an actuating textile); or an electronic conductor that is interior to a muscle array (like interior to actuating polymer fiber braids).].
Regarding claim 4:
Li and Custer disclose, The method of claim 1, and
Li further discloses, wherein fabricating the plurality of TCPFL muscles includes utilizing one of a mandrel coiling process [¶51: FIG. 18A shows a schematic illustration of an apparatus for fiber coiling about a mandrel…
¶128: process for simultaneously introducing polymer fiber twist and fiber coiling around a mandrel and FIGS. 18B-18C show examples of coiled polymer fibers made by mandrel wrapping…
¶127: producing polymer fiber muscles, a twisted polymer fiber can be helically wrapped around a capillary tube or any like cylindrical or non-cylindrical mandrel, and subsequently and optionally released from this mandrel];
and a thermal annealing process. [¶128: FIG. 18A schematically illustrates a process for simultaneously introducing polymer fiber twist and fiber coiling around a mandrel and FIGS. 18B-18C show examples of coiled polymer fibers made by mandrel wrapping. The exact coil shape and the degree and direction of twist both for the coil and fiber can be controlled and the geometry of the coil can be set by thermal annealing.].
Regarding claim 6 (amended):
Li and Custer disclose, The method of claim 1, and
Custer further discloses, further comprising synthesizing the PVA solution, wherein synthesizing the PVA solution includes: dissolving an amount of PVA in water to create a solution; adding mesoporous C, and NiAg metal mesh powder to the solution; and removing supernatant from the solution. [¶22: The fibrous material 10, 11 and 12 may be coated or impregnated with curative…
¶52: suitable curatives may include…poly(vinyl alcohol);…
¶11: combining a fibrous element with one or more matrix precursor elements…
¶25: The matrix precursor elements may be composed of thermosetting resin (R), curatives (C) for the thermosetting resin or a mixture of thermosetting resin and curative for the thermosetting resin (M)….
¶55: The thermosetting resin in matrix precursor element R may also include any of the known additives… Exemplary additives include performance enhancing or modifying agents…The performance enhancing or modifying agents, for example, may be selected from…fillers,…
¶56: Suitable fillers include, by way of example, any of the following…in combination:..Suitable conducting particles, by way of example, include any of the following…in combination: silver,…nickel, conducting grades of carbon,... Metal-coated fillers may also be used, for example nickel coated carbon particles and silver coated copper particles.
Examiner notes that, Custer teaches, creating a mixture (combination) and combining it with the element (fibrous material). Examiner further notes that one of the ordinary skilled in the art will understand that, the supernatant that is liquid lying above solid residue after chemical combination/reaction can be removed and disposed off before obtaining the solid residue after precipitation (coating/combining)].
Regarding claim 15 (amended):
Li discloses, A twisted and coiled polymer fishing line (TCPFL) actuator for adjusting a vehicle component comprising: [¶27: actuators (artificial muscles) including twist-spun nanofiber yarn and twisted polymer fibers that generate torsional and/or tensile actuation when powered electrically,…thermally…
¶122: Though polymer fibers used as precursors for making twist-inserted,..coiled polymer fiber muscles can be specially made using well known methods, advantage has been found in using commercially available high-strength fibers (either single filament or multifilament)—most often those used as fishing line...
¶163: Both torsional and tensile actuation of hybrid twist-spun yarns and twist inserted fibers can be deployed for actuating smart surfaces on local and larger scales. For instance, tensile actuation can reversibly retract…thereby changing surface roughness. One or more cycles of pin extension and retraction can be used to remove marine organisms from the surface of marine vehicles…Such actuation, like the torsional rotation of a paddle so that either hydrophilic or hydrophobic paddle surface is exterior, can also be used to change surface energy.];
a TCPFL actuator, wherein the TCPFL actuator is fabricated from a plurality of TCPFL muscles coated ….;… TCPFL actuator fabricated from a plurality of TCPFL muscles… [¶134: Because of their high strengths, all of these suitable polymer fibers are often used for fishing lines…These polymer fibers that are suitable for conversion to polymer fiber artificial muscles…
¶27: actuators (artificial muscles) including twist-spun nanofiber yarn and twisted polymer fibers that generate torsional and/or tensile actuation when powered electrically,…thermally…
¶130: This conductor can be, for example, a conducting coating (like a metal or carbon coating) on a high-strength polymer fiber; metal wire or wires, … polymer fibers that are coated with an electronically conducting carbon or carbon composite can be usefully deployed
Examiner notes that receiving TCPFL actuator is broad; therefore, in broadest reasonable interpretation, plain meaning of this limitation has been used, such as receiving the TCPFL actuator in any manner in any type of installation, and the TCPFL actuator is composed of actuating TCPFL muscles];
a vehicle component operatively connected to the TCPFL actuator TCPFL actuator fabricated from a plurality of TCPFL muscles enabling adjustment of the vehicle component via the TCPFL actuator. [¶163: Both torsional and tensile actuation of hybrid twist-spun yarns and twist inserted fibers can be deployed for actuating smart surfaces on local and larger scales. For instance, tensile actuation can reversibly retract…thereby changing surface roughness. One or more cycles of pin extension and retraction can be used to remove marine organisms from the surface of marine vehicles…Such actuation, like the torsional rotation of a paddle so that either hydrophilic or hydrophobic paddle surface is exterior, can also be used to change surface energy…
Examiner notes that, in broadest reasonable interpretation, claim recites using the TCPFL actuator to adjust any component of a vehicle, where adjustment can be any adjustment and in any manner.], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Custer discloses, TCPFL muscles coated with a synthesized polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) solution; [¶22: The fibrous material 10, 11 and 12 may be coated or impregnated with curative…
¶52: suitable curatives may include…poly(vinyl alcohol);…
¶11: combining a fibrous element with one or more matrix precursor elements…
¶25: The matrix precursor elements may be composed of thermosetting resin (R), curatives (C) for the thermosetting resin or a mixture of thermosetting resin and curative for the thermosetting resin (M)….
¶55: The thermosetting resin in matrix precursor element R may also include any of the known additives… Exemplary additives include performance enhancing or modifying agents…The performance enhancing or modifying agents, for example, may be selected from…fillers,…
¶56: Suitable fillers include, by way of example, any of the following…in combination:..Suitable conducting particles,…Metal-coated fillers may also be used, for example nickel coated carbon particles and silver coated copper particles.
Examiner notes that, Custer teaches of creating a mixture (combination) and coating the element (fibrous material) with the mixture/solution.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the TCPFL muscles coated with a synthesized polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) solution in order to have the improved coated TCPFL muscles without undesirable pores giving it improved shaping capability and increased toughness improving its functionality taught by Custer with the actuator taught by Li as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to have the improved coated TCPFL muscles without undesirable pores, improved shaping capability, and increased toughness improving its functionality [Custer, ¶9: eliminate the formation of undesirable pores…¶21: improve its capability of being shaped…. ¶54: Thermoplastics are commonly blended with epoxy resins to increase toughness].
Regarding claim 16:
Li and Custer disclose, The TCPFL actuator of claim 15, and
Li further discloses, wherein the TCPFL actuator adjusts the vehicle component based upon at least one of air temperature and water temperature. [Examiner notes that claim requires only one of the element separate by “or,” and thus, only one of them is given the patentable weight.
Accordingly, Li discloses, TCPFL actuator adjusts the vehicle component based on one of air/gas temperature and water temperature (heating/cooling)
¶27: actuators (artificial muscles) including twist-spun nanofiber yarn and twisted polymer fibers that generate torsional and/or tensile actuation when powered electrically,…thermally…
¶165: the nanofiber yarn and twist-inserted polymer fiber muscles by using active cooling to reverse actuation or by using surrounding ambient temperature media that rapidly absorb the heat of actuation. Water is one such useful media for cooling. Other useful choices for passive cooling are high thermal diffusivity gases, like hydrogen and helium…in preparation with subsequent mixture of the hydrogen with air (or oxygen) to provide forward actuation…
¶261: Upon heating to approximately 80° C. by using the hot air…the coils expanded, moving apart a set of plastic tubes that were supported by nylon filament running between the turns of the coils (FIG. 23A). Upon natural cooling, the coils return to their original position (FIG. 23B), thereby closing the shutter.].
Regarding claim 17:
Li and Custer disclose, The TCPFL actuator of claim 15, and
Li further discloses, wherein the plurality of TCPFL muscles includes a resistance wire incorporated into the plurality of TCPFL muscles. [¶102: an actuating yarn can…include actuating non-yarn segments, such as a thermally actuated shape memory polymer or a shape metal memory wire…
¶102: conductor is needed to provide electrothermal actuation…This conductor can be, for example, a conducting coating (like a metal or carbon coating) on a high-strength polymer fiber; metal wire or wires; electronically conducting nanofibers that are helically wrapped about an non-twisted polymer fiber muscle, a coiled polymer fiber muscle, or a twisted but non-coiled polymer fiber muscle; an electronic conductor that is external to the muscle fiber (like metal wires woven into an actuating textile); or an electronic conductor that is interior to a muscle array (like interior to actuating polymer fiber braids).].
Regarding claim 18:
Li and Custer disclose, The TCPFL actuator of claim 15, and
Li further discloses, wherein one of a mandrel coiling process… utilized to fabricate the plurality of TCPFL muscles. [¶51: FIG. 18A shows a schematic illustration of an apparatus for fiber coiling about a mandrel…
¶128: process for simultaneously introducing polymer fiber twist and fiber coiling around a mandrel and FIGS. 18B-18C show examples of coiled polymer fibers made by mandrel wrapping…
¶127: producing polymer fiber muscles, a twisted polymer fiber can be helically wrapped around a capillary tube or any like cylindrical or non-cylindrical mandrel, and subsequently and optionally released from this mandrel];
a thermal annealing process are utilized to fabricate the plurality of TCPFL muscles. [¶128: FIG. 18A schematically illustrates a process for simultaneously introducing polymer fiber twist and fiber coiling around a mandrel and FIGS. 18B-18C show examples of coiled polymer fibers made by mandrel wrapping. The exact coil shape and the degree and direction of twist both for the coil and fiber can be controlled and the geometry of the coil can be set by thermal annealing.].
Regarding claim 19 (amended):
Li and Custer disclose, The TCPFL actuator of claim 15, and
Custer further discloses, synthesizing the PVA solution, wherein the PVA solution is synthesized by at least one of: an amount of PVA dissolved in water to create a solution; mesoporous C, and NiAg metal mesh powder added to the solution; and supernatant removed from the solution. [¶22: The fibrous material 10, 11 and 12 may be coated or impregnated with curative…
¶52: suitable curatives may include…poly(vinyl alcohol);…
¶11: combining a fibrous element with one or more matrix precursor elements…
¶25: The matrix precursor elements may be composed of thermosetting resin (R), curatives (C) for the thermosetting resin or a mixture of thermosetting resin and curative for the thermosetting resin (M)….
¶55: The thermosetting resin in matrix precursor element R may also include any of the known additives… Exemplary additives include performance enhancing or modifying agents…The performance enhancing or modifying agents, for example, may be selected from…fillers,…
¶56: Suitable fillers include, by way of example, any of the following…in combination:..Suitable conducting particles, by way of example, include any of the following…in combination: silver,…nickel, conducting grades of carbon,... Metal-coated fillers may also be used, for example nickel coated carbon particles and silver coated copper particles.
Examiner notes the claim objections as set forth in this office action, and it is construed that the mixture claimed is used for coating.
Examiner notes that, Custer teaches of creating a mixture (combination) and combining it with the element (fibrous material). Examiner further notes that one of the ordinary skilled in the art will understand that, the supernatant that is liquid lying above solid residue after chemical combination/reaction can be removed and disposed off before obtaining the solid residue after precipitation (coating/combining)].
Claim(s) 5 and 8-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Custer and further in view of Browne et al. (US20050218710A1) [hereinafter BROWNE].
Regarding claim 5:
Li and Custer disclose, The method of claim 1, and
Li further discloses, the vehicular component [¶163: Both torsional and tensile actuation of hybrid twist-spun yarns and twist inserted fibers can be deployed for actuating smart surfaces on local and larger scales. For instance, tensile actuation can reversibly retract…thereby changing surface roughness. One or more cycles of pin extension and retraction can be used to remove marine organisms from the surface of marine vehicles…
¶261: Upon heating to approximately 80° C. by using the hot air…the coils expanded, moving apart a set of plastic tubes that were supported by nylon filament running between the turns of the coils (FIG. 23A). Upon natural cooling, the coils return to their original position (FIG. 23B), thereby closing the shutter.
Examiner notes that, Li teaches the use of TCPFL actuators for various components of vehicles including various surfaces (could be seat)], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
BROWNE discloses, wherein the vehicular component includes a seat. [¶6: A seat assembly includes a seat fabric, wherein at least a portion of the seat fabric comprises a yarn comprising a shape memory polymer adapted to undergo a change in a modulus of elasticity at a thermal transition temperature;…
¶21: The shape memory polymer may be heated by any suitable means. For example, for elevated temperatures, heat may be supplied using hot gas (e.g., air), steam, hot liquid, or electrical current].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the technique of using the TCPFL actuators for various components of vehicles including various surfaces (could be seat) by taking advantage of the TCPFL extension and retraction properties in response to thermal changes and use these TCPFL actuators for the surface of a vehicle component such as a seat in order to providing a vehicle seat that is less expensive, quieter, more lightweight, and/or less interfering than existing seat assemblies with techniques that allows to avoid discomfort or sore spots by adjusting the shape of the seat assembly to the shape of the seat user taught by BROWNE with the method taught by Li and Custer as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to providing a vehicle seat that is less expensive, quieter, more lightweight, and/or less interfering than existing seat assemblies with techniques that allows to avoid discomfort or sore spots by adjusting the shape of the seat assembly to the shape of the seat user [BROWNE, ¶25: avoid discomfort or sore spots, the shape of the seat assembly 20 can be adjusted to the shape of the seat user….¶36: the seat assembly can be less expensive, quieter, more lightweight, and/or less interfering than existing seat assemblies.].
Regarding claim 8 (amended):
Li discloses, …perform operations for using a twisted and coiled polymer fishing line (TCPFL) actuator comprising: [¶27: actuators (artificial muscles) including twist-spun nanofiber yarn and twisted polymer fibers that generate torsional and/or tensile actuation when powered electrically,…thermally…
¶122: Though polymer fibers used as precursors for making twist-inserted,..coiled polymer fiber muscles can be specially made using well known methods, advantage has been found in using commercially available high-strength fibers (either single filament or multifilament)—most often those used as fishing line...
¶163: Both torsional and tensile actuation of hybrid twist-spun yarns and twist inserted fibers can be deployed for actuating smart surfaces on local and larger scales. For instance, tensile actuation can reversibly retract…thereby changing surface roughness. One or more cycles of pin extension and retraction can be used to remove marine organisms from the surface of marine vehicles…Such actuation, like the torsional rotation of a paddle so that either hydrophilic or hydrophobic paddle surface is exterior, can also be used to change surface energy.],
receiving a TCPFL actuator, wherein the TCPFL actuator is fabricated from a plurality of TCPFL muscles coated…;… the TCPFL actuator that is fabricated from the plurality of TCPFL muscles; [¶134: Because of their high strengths, all of these suitable polymer fibers are often used for fishing lines…These polymer fibers that are suitable for conversion to polymer fiber artificial muscles…
¶27: actuators (artificial muscles) including twist-spun nanofiber yarn and twisted polymer fibers that generate torsional and/or tensile actuation when powered electrically,…thermally…
¶130: This conductor can be, for example, a conducting coating (like a metal or carbon coating) on a high-strength polymer fiber; metal wire or wires, … polymer fibers that are coated with an electronically conducting carbon or carbon composite can be usefully deployed
Examiner notes that receiving TCPFL actuator is broad; therefore, in broadest reasonable interpretation, plain meaning of this limitation has been used, such as receiving the TCPFL actuator in any manner in any type of installation, and the TCPFL actuator is composed of actuating TCPFL muscles];
adjusting a vehicle component using the TCPFL actuator. [¶163: Both torsional and tensile actuation of hybrid twist-spun yarns and twist inserted fibers can be deployed for actuating smart surfaces on local and larger scales. For instance, tensile actuation can reversibly retract…thereby changing surface roughness. One or more cycles of pin extension and retraction can be used to remove marine organisms from the surface of marine vehicles…Such actuation, like the torsional rotation of a paddle so that either hydrophilic or hydrophobic paddle surface is exterior, can also be used to change surface energy.], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
[¶163: Both torsional and tensile actuation of hybrid twist-spun yarns and twist inserted fibers can be deployed for actuating smart surfaces on local and larger scales. For instance, tensile actuation can reversibly retract…thereby changing surface roughness. One or more cycles of pin extension and retraction can be used to remove marine organisms from the surface of marine vehicles…Such actuation, like the torsional rotation of a paddle so that either hydrophilic or hydrophobic paddle surface is exterior, can also be used to change surface energy…
Examiner notes that, in broadest reasonable interpretation, claim recites using the TCPFL actuator to adjust any component of a vehicle, where adjustment can be any adjustment and in any manner.], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Custer discloses, TCPFL muscles coated with a synthesized polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) solution; [¶22: The fibrous material 10, 11 and 12 may be coated or impregnated with curative…
¶52: suitable curatives may include…poly(vinyl alcohol);…
¶11: combining a fibrous element with one or more matrix precursor elements…
¶25: The matrix precursor elements may be composed of thermosetting resin (R), curatives (C) for the thermosetting resin or a mixture of thermosetting resin and curative for the thermosetting resin (M)….
¶55: The thermosetting resin in matrix precursor element R may also include any of the known additives… Exemplary additives include performance enhancing or modifying agents…The performance enhancing or modifying agents, for example, may be selected from…fillers,…
¶56: Suitable fillers include, by way of example, any of the following…in combination:..Suitable conducting particles,…Metal-coated fillers may also be used, for example nickel coated carbon particles and silver coated copper particles.
Examiner notes that, Custer teaches of creating a mixture (combination) and coating the element (fibrous material) with the mixture/solution.].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the TCPFL muscles coated with a synthesized polyvinyl alcohol (PVA) solution in order to have the improved coated TCPFL muscles without undesirable pores giving it improved shaping capability and increased toughness improving its functionality taught by Custer with the actuator taught by Li as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to have the improved coated TCPFL muscles without undesirable pores, improved shaping capability, and increased toughness improving its functionality [Custer, ¶9: eliminate the formation of undesirable pores…¶21: improve its capability of being shaped…. ¶54: Thermoplastics are commonly blended with epoxy resins to increase toughness], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
BROWNE discloses, A computer program product residing on a computer readable storage medium having a plurality of instructions stored thereon which, when executed across one or more processors, causes at least a portion of the one or more processors to perform operations for using a twisted and coiled polymer fishing line [¶22: The seat assembly further includes a controller 14 in operable communication with the SMP. The controller 14 is operable to selectively apply the activation signal (i.e., heat) to at least a portion of the SMP to effect the change in the modulus of elasticity, which enables the seat fabric 10 to undergo a change in its compliance and/or shape. In one embodiment, the change in compliance and/or shape is reversible.
Examiner notes that, BROWNE discloses, controller that includes cpu and storage medium, memory etc. to perform operations for using a twisted and coiled polymer fishing line].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the computer program product residing on a computer readable storage medium having a plurality of instructions stored thereon which, when executed across one or more processors, causes at least a portion of the one or more processors to perform operations for using a twisted and coiled polymer fishing line in order to providing a vehicle seat that is less expensive, quieter, more lightweight, and/or less interfering than existing seat assemblies with techniques that allows to avoid discomfort or sore spots by adjusting the shape of the seat assembly to the shape of the seat user taught by BROWNE with the system taught by Li as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to providing a vehicle seat that is less expensive, quieter, more lightweight, and/or less interfering than existing seat assemblies with techniques that allows to avoid discomfort or sore spots by adjusting the shape of the seat assembly to the shape of the seat user [BROWNE, ¶25: avoid discomfort or sore spots, the shape of the seat assembly 20 can be adjusted to the shape of the seat user….¶36: the seat assembly can be less expensive, quieter, more lightweight, and/or less interfering than existing seat assemblies.].
Regarding claim 9:
Li, Custer and BROWNE disclose, The computer program product of claim 8, and
Li further discloses, wherein the TCPFL actuator adjusts the vehicle component based upon at least one of air temperature and water temperature. [Examiner notes that claim requires only one of the element separate by “or,” and thus, only one of them is given the patentable weight.
Accordingly, Li discloses, TCPFL actuator adjusts the vehicle component based on one of air/gas temperature and water temperature (heating/cooling)
¶27: actuators (artificial muscles) including twist-spun nanofiber yarn and twisted polymer fibers that generate torsional and/or tensile actuation when powered electrically,…thermally…
¶165: the nanofiber yarn and twist-inserted polymer fiber muscles by using active cooling to reverse actuation or by using surrounding ambient temperature media that rapidly absorb the heat of actuation. Water is one such useful media for cooling. Other useful choices for passive cooling are high thermal diffusivity gases, like hydrogen and helium…in preparation with subsequent mixture of the hydrogen with air (or oxygen) to provide forward actuation…
¶261: Upon heating to approximately 80° C. by using the hot air…the coils expanded, moving apart a set of plastic tubes that were supported by nylon filament running between the turns of the coils (FIG. 23A). Upon natural cooling, the coils return to their original position (FIG. 23B), thereby closing the shutter.].
Regarding claim 10:
Li, Custer and BROWNE disclose, The computer program product of claim 8, and
Li further discloses, wherein fabricating the plurality of TCPFL muscles includes incorporating a resistance wire into the plurality of TCPFL muscles. [¶102: an actuating yarn can…include actuating non-yarn segments, such as a thermally actuated shape memory polymer or a shape metal memory wire…
¶102: conductor is needed to provide electrothermal actuation…This conductor can be, for example, a conducting coating (like a metal or carbon coating) on a high-strength polymer fiber; metal wire or wires; electronically conducting nanofibers that are helically wrapped about an non-twisted polymer fiber muscle, a coiled polymer fiber muscle, or a twisted but non-coiled polymer fiber muscle; an electronic conductor that is external to the muscle fiber (like metal wires woven into an actuating textile); or an electronic conductor that is interior to a muscle array (like interior to actuating polymer fiber braids).].
Regarding claim 11:
Li, Custer and BROWNE disclose, The computer program product of claim 8, and
Li further discloses, wherein fabricating the plurality of TCPFL muscles includes utilizing one of a mandrel coiling process and [¶51: FIG. 18A shows a schematic illustration of an apparatus for fiber coiling about a mandrel…
¶128: process for simultaneously introducing polymer fiber twist and fiber coiling around a mandrel and FIGS. 18B-18C show examples of coiled polymer fibers made by mandrel wrapping…
¶127: producing polymer fiber muscles, a twisted polymer fiber can be helically wrapped around a capillary tube or any like cylindrical or non-cylindrical mandrel, and subsequently and optionally released from this mandrel];
and a thermal annealing process. [¶128: FIG. 18A schematically illustrates a process for simultaneously introducing polymer fiber twist and fiber coiling around a mandrel and FIGS. 18B-18C show examples of coiled polymer fibers made by mandrel wrapping. The exact coil shape and the degree and direction of twist both for the coil and fiber can be controlled and the geometry of the coil can be set by thermal annealing.].
Regarding claim 12:
Li, Custer and BROWNE disclose, The computer program product of claim 8, and
Li further discloses, the vehicular component [¶163: Both torsional and tensile actuation of hybrid twist-spun yarns and twist inserted fibers can be deployed for actuating smart surfaces on local and larger scales. For instance, tensile actuation can reversibly retract…thereby changing surface roughness. One or more cycles of pin extension and retraction can be used to remove marine organisms from the surface of marine vehicles…
¶261: Upon heating to approximately 80° C. by using the hot air…the coils expanded, moving apart a set of plastic tubes that were supported by nylon filament running between the turns of the coils (FIG. 23A). Upon natural cooling, the coils return to their original position (FIG. 23B), thereby closing the shutter.
Examiner notes that, Li teaches the use of TCPFL actuators for various components of vehicles including various surfaces (could be seat)], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
BROWNE further discloses, wherein the vehicular component includes a seat. [¶6: A seat assembly includes a seat fabric, wherein at least a portion of the seat fabric comprises a yarn comprising a shape memory polymer adapted to undergo a change in a modulus of elasticity at a thermal transition temperature;…
¶21: The shape memory polymer may be heated by any suitable means. For example, for elevated temperatures, heat may be supplied using hot gas (e.g., air), steam, hot liquid, or electrical current].
Regarding claim 13 (amended):
Li, Custer and BROWNE disclose, The computer program product of claim 8, and
Custer further discloses, synthesizing a PVA solution, wherein synthesizing the PVA solution includes: dissolving an amount of PVA in water to create a solution; adding mesoporous C, and NiAg metal mesh powder to the solution; and removing supernatant from the solution. [¶22: The fibrous material 10, 11 and 12 may be coated or impregnated with curative…
¶52: suitable curatives may include…poly(vinyl alcohol);…
¶11: combining a fibrous element with one or more matrix precursor elements…
¶25: The matrix precursor elements may be composed of thermosetting resin (R), curatives (C) for the thermosetting resin or a mixture of thermosetting resin and curative for the thermosetting resin (M)….
¶55: The thermosetting resin in matrix precursor element R may also include any of the known additives… Exemplary additives include performance enhancing or modifying agents…The performance enhancing or modifying agents, for example, may be selected from…fillers,…
¶56: Suitable fillers include, by way of example, any of the following…in combination:..Suitable conducting particles, by way of example, include any of the following…in combination: silver,…nickel, conducting grades of carbon,... Metal-coated fillers may also be used, for example nickel coated carbon particles and silver coated copper particles.
Examiner notes the claim objections as set forth in this office action, and it is construed that the mixture claimed is used for coating.
Examiner notes that, Custer teaches of creating a mixture (combination) and combining it with the element (fibrous material). Examiner further notes that one of the ordinary skilled in the art will understand that, the supernatant that is liquid lying above solid residue after chemical combination/reaction can be removed and disposed off before obtaining the solid residue after precipitation (coating/combining)].
Claim(s) 7 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Custer and further in view of Lima et al. (US20200282551A1) [hereinafter Lima].
Regarding claim 7:
Li and Custer disclose, The method of claim 6, and
Custer further discloses, wherein coating the TCPFL with the PVA solution includes: placing the TCPFL in the solution; shaking the TCPFL in the solution; drying the TCPFL by placing the TCPFL in a pre-heated environment for a predetermined amount of time; [¶22: The fibrous material 10, 11 and 12 may be coated or impregnated with curative…
¶52: suitable curatives may include…poly(vinyl alcohol);…
¶11: combining a fibrous element with one or more matrix precursor elements…
¶25: The matrix precursor elements may be composed of thermosetting resin (R), curatives (C) for the thermosetting resin or a mixture of thermosetting resin and curative for the thermosetting resin (M)….
¶55: The thermosetting resin in matrix precursor element R may also include any of the known additives… Exemplary additives include performance enhancing or modifying agents…The performance enhancing or modifying agents, for example, may be selected from…fillers,…
¶56: Suitable fillers include, by way of example, any of the following…in combination:..Suitable conducting particles, by way of example, include any of the following…in combination: silver,…nickel, conducting grades of carbon,... Metal-coated fillers may also be used, for example nickel coated carbon particles and silver coated copper particles.
Examiner notes that, Custer explicitly discloses placing the material in the solution/combination of elements to provide coating,
Examiner notes that one of the ordinary skilled in the art will understand that for chemical reaction to occur properly the combination needs to be shaken/agitated such as using centrifuge, and then drying the end component to obtain the component is one of the regular procedure used in the laboratories to obtaining the clean and water residue free end product. Thus, one of the ordinary skilled in the art can use these regularly used chemical laboratory techniques to obtain a coated end product], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Lima discloses, crimping the TCPFL. [¶3: plurality of first actuating muscles disposed next to each other…a plurality of second actuating muscles disposed next to each other and in parallel with each other…a crimp secured to the fabric…
¶23: The crimp (104) connects middles of the first actuating muscles (101) to middles of the second actuating muscles (106)…
¶20: the actuating muscle may be a twisted and/or coiled polymer fiber,].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the technique of crimping twisted and coiled polymer muscle actuator in order to use the crimping to prevent the twisted and coiled polymer muscle actuator from loosening thereby ensuring secure bond in the creation of twisted and coiled polymer muscle actuator taught by Lima with the method taught by Li and Custer as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to prevent the twisted and coiled polymer muscle actuator from loosening thereby ensuring secure bond in the creation of twisted and coiled polymer muscle actuator [Lima, ¶50: prevent the fabric (302) loosening before the transverse ends are attached together.].
Regarding claim 20:
Li and Custer disclose, The TCPFL actuator of claim 19, and
Custer further discloses, wherein the TCPFL is coated with the PVA solution by at least one of: the TCPFL placed in the solution; the TCPFL shaken in the solution; the TCPFL dried by placing the TCPFL in a pre-heated environment for a predetermined amount of time; [¶22: The fibrous material 10, 11 and 12 may be coated or impregnated with curative…
¶52: suitable curatives may include…poly(vinyl alcohol);…
¶11: combining a fibrous element with one or more matrix precursor elements…
¶25: The matrix precursor elements may be composed of thermosetting resin (R), curatives (C) for the thermosetting resin or a mixture of thermosetting resin and curative for the thermosetting resin (M)….
¶55: The thermosetting resin in matrix precursor element R may also include any of the known additives… Exemplary additives include performance enhancing or modifying agents…The performance enhancing or modifying agents, for example, may be selected from…fillers,…
¶56: Suitable fillers include, by way of example, any of the following…in combination:..Suitable conducting particles, by way of example, include any of the following…in combination: silver,…nickel, conducting grades of carbon,... Metal-coated fillers may also be used, for example nickel coated carbon particles and silver coated copper particles.
Examiner notes that, Custer explicitly discloses placing the material in the solution/combination of elements to provide coating,
Examiner notes that one of the ordinary skilled in the art will understand that for chemical reaction to occur properly the combination needs to be shaken/agitated such as using centrifuge, and then drying the end component to obtain the component is one of the regular procedure used in the laboratories to obtaining the clean and water residue free end product. Thus, one of the ordinary skilled in the art can use these regularly used chemical laboratory techniques to obtain a coated end product], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Lima discloses, wherein the TCPFL is crimped. [¶3: plurality of first actuating muscles disposed next to each other…a plurality of second actuating muscles disposed next to each other and in parallel with each other…a crimp secured to the fabric…
¶23: The crimp (104) connects middles of the first actuating muscles (101) to middles of the second actuating muscles (106)…
¶20: the actuating muscle may be a twisted and/or coiled polymer fiber,].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the technique of crimping twisted and coiled polymer muscle actuator in order to use the crimping to prevent the twisted and coiled polymer muscle actuator from loosening thereby ensuring secure bond in the creation of twisted and coiled polymer muscle actuator taught by Lima with the method taught by Li and Custer as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to prevent the twisted and coiled polymer muscle actuator from loosening thereby ensuring secure bond in the creation of twisted and coiled polymer muscle actuator [Lima, ¶50: prevent the fabric (302) loosening before the transverse ends are attached together.].
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, BROWNE and Custer and further in view of Lima.
Regarding claim 14:
Li, BROWNE and Custer disclose, The computer program product of claim 13, and
Custer further discloses, wherein coating the TCPFL with the PVA solution includes: placing the TCPFL in the solution; shaking the TCPFL in the solution; drying the TCPFL by placing the TCPFL in a pre-heated environment for a predetermined amount of time; [¶22: The fibrous material 10, 11 and 12 may be coated or impregnated with curative…
¶52: suitable curatives may include…poly(vinyl alcohol);…
¶11: combining a fibrous element with one or more matrix precursor elements…
¶25: The matrix precursor elements may be composed of thermosetting resin (R), curatives (C) for the thermosetting resin or a mixture of thermosetting resin and curative for the thermosetting resin (M)….
¶55: The thermosetting resin in matrix precursor element R may also include any of the known additives… Exemplary additives include performance enhancing or modifying agents…The performance enhancing or modifying agents, for example, may be selected from…fillers,…
¶56: Suitable fillers include, by way of example, any of the following…in combination:..Suitable conducting particles, by way of example, include any of the following…in combination: silver,…nickel, conducting grades of carbon,... Metal-coated fillers may also be used, for example nickel coated carbon particles and silver coated copper particles.
Examiner notes that, Custer explicitly discloses placing the material in the solution/combination of elements to provide coating,
Examiner notes that one of the ordinary skilled in the art will understand that for chemical reaction to occur properly the combination needs to be shaken/agitated such as using centrifuge, and then drying the end component to obtain the component is one of the regular procedure used in the laboratories to obtaining the clean and water residue free end product. Thus, one of the ordinary skilled in the art can use these regularly used chemical laboratory techniques to obtain a coated end product], but doesn’t explicitly disclose, and
Lima discloses, crimping the TCPFL. [¶3: plurality of first actuating muscles disposed next to each other…a plurality of second actuating muscles disposed next to each other and in parallel with each other…a crimp secured to the fabric…
¶23: The crimp (104) connects middles of the first actuating muscles (101) to middles of the second actuating muscles (106)…
¶20: the actuating muscle may be a twisted and/or coiled polymer fiber,].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filling date of the claimed invention to have combined the technique of crimping twisted and coiled polymer muscle actuator in order to use the crimping to prevent the twisted and coiled polymer muscle actuator from loosening thereby ensuring secure bond in the creation of twisted and coiled polymer muscle actuator taught by Lima with the system taught by Li, Custer and BROWNE as discussed above in order to have reasonable expectation of success such as to prevent the twisted and coiled polymer muscle actuator from loosening thereby ensuring secure bond in the creation of twisted and coiled polymer muscle actuator [Lima, ¶50: prevent the fabric (302) loosening before the transverse ends are attached together.].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure is listed in the PTO-892 Notice of Reference Cited document mailed on 02/12/2026.
Ridley et al. (US20180291535A1) - Coiled actuator system and method:
¶24: coiled actuators (“artificial muscles”) can be produced through a twist insertion process. For example, a fiber can be twisted to the point of coiling. In another example, a fiber can be twisted nearly to the point of coiling and then wrapped around a mandrel or fiber or yarn core. Although various examples discussed herein refer to a fiber, it should be clear that various embodiments can comprise any suitable elongated element, including a fiber, filament, ribbon, yarn, line, or the like. Additionally, as used herein, a ‘fiber’ can encompass any such elongated elements, including a yarn comprising one or more fibers or other elements, a fiber comprising a single elongated element, or the like.
Sluis et al. (US20240336129A1) - Twisted coiled actuator kinematic system for automotive aero devices:
¶17: soft actuator preferably twisted coiled polymer (TCP) units which are arranged in a kinematic mechanism system that allows the TCP to act as a load generation unit for pre-loading a spring to engage in a trigger-latch mechanism also utilizing a TCP to release the trigger-latch element for each cycle of the overall system.
Hulway (US20150197173A1) - Electro-active polymer actuators for vehicle seating applications:
¶3: vehicle seat includes a seat base and a seat back, each having a spring structure and a cushion. Planar electro-active polymer actuators each have a first side coupled with the spring structure and an opposing second side positioned distal from the spring structure and in direct communication with the cushion. Each of the actuators is disposed in a first state. A control for the actuators is in communication with the actuators and is configured to deliver a predetermined electrical input to one or more of the actuators. The predetermined electrical input is configured to deform at least one of the actuators to a second state. The deformation of each actuator from the first state to the second state directly operates the cushion between a plurality of comfort positions.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.S./
Patent Examiner,
Art Unit 2116
/KENNETH M LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2116