DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-2, 4-7 and 9-12 are pending in this application and have been examined with the priority date of 11/23/2022 in accordance with the applicant’s claim for foreign priority. Claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 9, and 10 have been amended, claims 3 and 8 have been canceled and claims 11 and 12 have been newly added.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Arguments
35 U.S.C. 103
Applicant’s arguments (see Remarks, filed 05/04/2026) have been fully considered by the examiner and are persuasive in view of the amendments to claims 1 and 6. In view of the amendments presented, a new ground of rejection is presented in view of Shen, Alon and He, as fully discussed below.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
Infrastructure sensor in claim 1
Acquisition unit in claim 6
And control unit I claims 6-10
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-2, 5, 6-7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (US 20170243069 A1) in view of Alon (US 20180018547 A1), and in further view of He (Q. He, C. Hu, L. Cui, W. Liu and M. Q. . -H. Meng, "A novel X-corner detector based on video," 2009 IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Biomimetics (ROBIO), Guilin, China, 2009, pp. 1832-1837, doi: 10.1109).
Regarding claim 1, Shen discloses; A method for detecting and correcting positioning errors of sensed objects in real time in infrastructure sensors, the method comprising:
(a) acquiring an image from an infrastructure sensor (Shen, [0016] and [0017] an image sensor captures image frames and acquires pixel data, figure 6, image sensor 665);
(b) determining a first pixel corresponding to a corner of each object included in the image, and a second pixel which does not correspond to the corner of the object (Shen, [0022] candidate corners in the pixel data are detecting for object in the image, [0024] the system may generate a set of candidate corner pixels in the image frame and a set of pixel data which surrounds the candidate corner (non-corner pixels));
[(c) generating a binary matrix corresponding to the first pixel and the second pixel;
and (d) calibrating an absolute coordinate of the image according to a similarity based on the binary matrix,]
wherein step (d) comprises: calculating a similarity between a binary matrix based on the image at a previous time point and a binary matrix of the image at a current time point (Shen, [0029] the features between two sequential image frames may be compared to match features);
and maintaining the absolute coordinate of the image at the current time point when the similarity is larger than a threshold (Shen, [0028] the determination of the matching pair is done using comparison for a set of matched features which must have a certain number of matched features or higher to be determined as a pair, [0035] each pair of features may be compared),
[ and wherein the similarity is calculated using Equation 1:
[Equation 1]
ρ
I
0
,
I
k
=
1
D
0
1
D
k
∑
m
=
1
M
∑
n
=
1
N
I
0
(
m
,
n
)
×
I
k
(
m
,
n
)
where
ρ
(
I
0
,
I
k
)
is the similarity between a corner matrix I0 and a k-th corner matrix Ik ,
and D0 and Dk represent numbers of 1s of the corner matrix I0 and the corner matrix Ik, respectively.]
Shen does not teach; (c) generating a binary matrix corresponding to the first pixel and the second pixel;
and (d) calibrating an absolute coordinate of the image according to a similarity based on the binary matrix,
and wherein the similarity is calculated using Equation 1:
[Equation 1]
ρ
I
0
,
I
k
=
1
D
0
1
D
k
∑
m
=
1
M
∑
n
=
1
N
I
0
(
m
,
n
)
×
I
k
(
m
,
n
)
where
ρ
(
I
0
,
I
k
)
is the similarity between a corner matrix I0 and a k-th corner matrix Ik ,
and D0 and Dk represent numbers of 1s of the corner matrix I0 and the corner matrix Ik, respectively.
In the same field of endeavor Alon teaches; (c) generating a binary matrix corresponding to the first pixel and the second pixel (Alon, [0049] corner encoding may be a binary matrix corresponding to pixels which contain a corner or not);
and (d) calibrating an absolute coordinate of the image according to a similarity based on the binary matrix (Alon, [0049] corner encoding may be a binary matrix corresponding to pixels which contain a corner or not, for pixels containing a corner a value of 1 is assigned and for pixels not containing a corner a value of 0 is assigned, which is analogous to an absolute coordinate as detailed in page 4 of the applicant’ s specification).
The combination of Shen and Alon would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Shen teaches a corner detection method using arrays of corner detection values, but does not teach the use of binary matrices to simply show whether or not a corner is present. Alon teaches this limitation, the use of a binary threshold method for determining whether a corner exists or not would be advantageous in simplifying the encoding process and cutting down of processing power. (Alon, [0047]-[0050])
Neither Shen nor Alon teaches;
and wherein the similarity is calculated using Equation 1:
[Equation 1]
ρ
I
0
,
I
k
=
1
D
0
1
D
k
∑
m
=
1
M
∑
n
=
1
N
I
0
(
m
,
n
)
×
I
k
(
m
,
n
)
where
ρ
(
I
0
,
I
k
)
is the similarity between a corner matrix I0 and a k-th corner matrix Ik ,
and D0 and Dk represent numbers of 1s of the corner matrix I0 and the corner matrix Ik, respectively.
However, in the same field of endeavor, He teaches;
and wherein the similarity is calculated using Equation 1:
[Equation 1]
ρ
I
0
,
I
k
=
1
D
0
1
D
k
∑
m
=
1
M
∑
n
=
1
N
I
0
(
m
,
n
)
×
I
k
(
m
,
n
)
(He, Section III. Column 1, a correlation matrix is generated for the two binary matrices (corner matrices), where an inner product of the two binary matrices is computed for the number of valid elements, Given that D0 and Dk are noted as representing the number of 1’s in the matrices, the formula taught by He would be analogous to the claimed formula because <P,P> and <Z,Z> are matrices representing the 1’s in those matrices, therefore taking 1 over the square root of these values would be analogous to the coefficients
1
D
0
, and
1
D
k
as claimed above, further if the equation claimed were simplified to apply the terms
1
D
0
1
D
k
to the summation formula, it would result in a formula which is functionally equivalent to what is taught in He as shown below)
(He, Section III. Column 1)
where
ρ
(
I
0
,
I
k
)
is the similarity between a corner matrix I0 and a k-th corner matrix Ik (He, section III. Similarity Calculation, section A, paragraph 2, the value PZP (equivalent to
ρ
(
I
0
,
I
k
)
) is a correlation coefficient for the two corner matrices Z and P),
and D0 and Dk represent numbers of 1s of the corner matrix I0 and the corner matrix Ik, respectively (He, Section III. Column 1, Paragraph 2, the values of the square roots of <P,P> and <Z,Z> are equivalent to the number of ones in each corner matrix).
(He, Section III. Column 1)
The combination of Shen, Alon and He would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. The motivation to add the similarity computation of He to the system of Shen and Alon is that this allows for better boundary detection for detecting the corners, which allows for more accurate detection. (He, Introduction, column 2 paragraphs 1 and 2)
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Shen, Alon and He teaches; The method for detecting and correcting positioning errors of sensed objects in real time in infrastructure sensors of claim 1,
wherein step (c) above includes allocating an element corresponding to an absolute coordinate of the first pixel corresponding to the corner of the object with 1 and allocating an element corresponding to an absolute coordinate of the second pixel which does not correspond to the corner of the object with 0 to generate the binary matrix (Alon, [0049] corner encoding may be a binary matric corresponding to pixels which contain a corner or not, for pixels containing a corner a value of 1 is assigned and for pixels not containing a corner a value of 0 is assigned, which is analogous to an absolute coordinate as detailed in page 4 of the applicant’ s specification).
The combination of Shen, Alon and He would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Shen teaches a corner detection method using arrays of corner detection values, but does not teach the use of binary matrices to simply show whether or not a corner is present. Alon teaches this limitation, the use of a binary threshold method for determining whether a corner exists or not would be advantageous in simplifying the encoding process and cutting down of processing power. (Alon, [0047]-[0050])
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Shen, Alon and He teaches; The method for detecting and correcting positioning errors of sensed objects in real time in infrastructure sensors of claim 1,
wherein step (d) above further includes calculating, when the similarity is smaller than the threshold, a similarity based on a direction for acquiring the image of the infrastructure sensor according to a 2D convolution of the binary matrix at the previous time point and the binary matrix at the current time point (Shen, figure 7, the pixel data undergoes feature matching and camera orientation estimation, and then a tolerance level is assessed, if this tolerance has not been met more data is acquired repeatedly, since the system recollects data and re-matches features between time points and computes the calibration in response to the threshold not being met, the steps of the data undergoing a gradient computation in two directions per [0025] would occur on the arrays of data in response to the threshold being met, the step of gradient computing is a convolution of the two matrices of data),
calculating pixel information corresponding to the similarity based on the direction of the infrastructure sensor (Shen, [0038] the matched features may be determined directionally based on the direction the vehicle is moving),
and calibrating the absolute coordinate of the image at the current time point based on the pixel information (Alon, [0049] corner encoding may be a binary matric corresponding to pixels which contain a corner or not, for pixels containing a corner a value of 1 is assigned and for pixels not containing a corner a value of 0 is assigned, which is analogous to an absolute coordinate as detailed in page 4 of the applicant’ s specification).
The combination of Shen, Alon and He would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Shen teaches a corner detection method using arrays of corner detection values, but does not teach the use of binary matrices to simply show whether or not a corner is present. Alon teaches this limitation, the use of a binary threshold method for determining whether a corner exists or not would be advantageous in simplifying the encoding process and cutting down of processing power. (Alon, [0047]-[0050])
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Shen, Alon and He teaches; An apparatus for detecting and correcting positioning errors of sensed objects in real time in infrastructure sensors, the apparatus comprising:
an acquisition unit acquiring an image from an infrastructure sensor (Shen, [0016] and [0017] an image sensor captures image frames and acquires pixel data, figure 6, image sensor 665);
and a control unit determining a first pixel corresponding to a corner of each object included in the image, and a second pixel which does not correspond to the corner of the object (Shen, [0022] candidate corners in the pixel data are detecting for object in the image, [0024] the system may generate a set of candidate corner pixels in the image frame and a set of pixel data which surrounds the candidate corner (non-corner pixels)),
generating a binary matrix corresponding to the first pixel and the second pixel (Alon, [0049] corner encoding may be a binary matric corresponding to pixels which contain a corner or not),
and calibrating an absolute coordinate of the image according to a similarity based on the binary matrix (Alon, [0049] corner encoding may be a binary matric corresponding to pixels which contain a corner or not, for pixels containing a corner a value of 1 is assigned and for pixels not containing a corner a value of 0 is assigned, which is analogous to an absolute coordinate as detailed in page 4 of the applicant’ s specification) ,
wherein the control unit calculates a similarity between a binary matrix based on the image at a previous time point and a binary matrix of the image at a current time point(Shen, [0029] the features between two sequential image frames may be compared to match features);
and maintaining the absolute coordinate of the image at the current time point when the similarity is larger than a threshold (Shen, [0028] the determination of the matching pair is done using comparison for a set of matched features which must have a certain number of matched features or higher to be determined as a pair, [0035] each pair of features may be compared),
and wherein the similarity is calculated using Equation 1:
[Equation 1]
(He, Section III. Column 1, a correlation matrix is generated for the two binary matrices (corner matrices), where an inner product of the two binary matrices is computed for the number of valid elements, Given that D0 and Dk are noted as representing the number of 1’s in the matrices, the formula taught by He would be analogous to the claimed formula because <P,P> and <Z,Z> are matrices representing the 1’s in those matrices, therefore taking 1 over the square root of these values would be analogous to the coefficients
1
D
0
, and
1
D
k
as claimed above, further if the equation claimed were simplified to apply the terms
1
D
0
1
D
k
to the summation formula, it would result in a formula which is functionally equivalent to what is taught in He as shown below)
(He, Section III. Column 1)
where
ρ
(
I
0
,
I
k
)
is the similarity between a corner matrix I0 and a k-th corner matrix Ik (He, section III. Similarity Calculation, section A, paragraph 2, the value PZP (equivalent to
ρ
(
I
0
,
I
k
)
) is a correlation coefficient for the two corner matrices Z and P),
and D0 and Dk represent numbers of 1s of the corner matrix I0 and the corner matrix Ik, respectively (He, Section III. Column 1, Paragraph 2, the values of the square roots of <P,P> and <Z,Z> are equivalent to the number of ones in each corner matrix).
(He, Section III. Column 1)
The combination of Shen, Alon and He would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Shen teaches a corner detection method using arrays of corner detection values, but does not teach the use of binary matrices to simply show whether or not a corner is present. Alon teaches this limitation, the use of a binary threshold method for determining whether a corner exists or not would be advantageous in simplifying the encoding process and cutting down of processing power (Alon, [0047]-[0050]). The motivation to add the similarity computation of He to the system of Shen and Alon is that this allows for better boundary detection for detecting the corners, which allows for more accurate detection. (He, Introduction, column 2 paragraphs 1 and 2)
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Shen, Alon and He teaches; The apparatus for detecting and correcting positioning errors of sensed objects in real time in infrastructure sensors of claim 6, wherein the control unit allocates an element corresponding to an absolute coordinate of the first pixel corresponding to the corner of the object with 1 and allocates an element corresponding to an absolute coordinate of the second pixel which does not correspond to the corner of the object with 0 to generate the binary matrix (Alon, [0049] corner encoding may be a binary matric corresponding to pixels which contain a corner or not, for pixels containing a corner a value of 1 is assigned and for pixels not containing a corner a value of 0 is assigned, which is analogous to an absolute coordinate as detailed in page 4 of the applicant’ s specification).
The combination of Shen, Alon and He would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Shen teaches a corner detection method using arrays of corner detection values, but does not teach the use of binary matrices to simply show whether or not a corner is present. Alon teaches this limitation, the use of a binary threshold method for determining whether a corner exists or not would be advantageous in simplifying the encoding process and cutting down of processing power. (Alon, [0047]-[0050])
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Shen, Alon and He teaches; The apparatus for detecting and correcting positioning errors of sensed objects in real time in infrastructure sensors of claim 6,
wherein the control unit calculates, when the similarity is smaller than the threshold, a similarity based on a direction for acquiring the image of the infrastructure sensor according to a 2D convolution of the binary matrix at the previous time point and the binary matrix at the current time point (Shen, figure 7, the pixel data undergoes feature matching and camera orientation estimation, and then a tolerance level is assessed, if this tolerance has not been met more data is acquired repeatedly, since the system recollects data and re-matches features between time points and computes the calibration in response to the threshold not being met, the steps of the data undergoing a gradient computation in two directions per [0025] would occur on the arrays of data in response to the threshold being met, the step of gradient computing is a convolution of the two matrices of data),
calculates pixel information corresponding to the similarity based on the direction of the infrastructure sensor (Shen, [0038] the matched features may be determined directionally based on the direction the vehicle is moving),
and calibrates the absolute coordinate of the image at the current time point based on the pixel information (Alon, [0049] corner encoding may be a binary matric corresponding to pixels which contain a corner or not, for pixels containing a corner a value of 1 is assigned and for pixels not containing a corner a value of 0 is assigned, which is analogous to an absolute coordinate as detailed in page 4 of the applicant’ s specification).
The combination of Shen, Alon and He would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Shen teaches a corner detection method using arrays of corner detection values, but does not teach the use of binary matrices to simply show whether or not a corner is present. Alon teaches this limitation, the use of a binary threshold method for determining whether a corner exists or not would be advantageous in simplifying the encoding process and cutting down of processing power. (Alon, [0047]-[0050])
2. Claims 4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (US 20170243069 A1) in view of Alon (US 20180018547 A1) and He (Q. He, C. Hu, L. Cui, W. Liu and M. Q. . -H. Meng, "A novel X-corner detector based on video," 2009 IEEE International Conference on Robotics and Biomimetics (ROBIO), Guilin, China, 2009, pp. 1832-1837, doi: 10.1109) and in further view of Mirza (US 20220165063 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Shen, Alon and He fails to teach; The method for detecting and correcting positioning errors of sensed objects in real time in infrastructure sensors of claim 1,
wherein step (d) above includes controlling a control server to transmit a positioning error occurrence message by the infrastructure sensor when the similarity is smaller than the threshold.
However, Mirza teaches; wherein step (d) above includes controlling a control server to transmit a positioning error occurrence message by the infrastructure sensor when the similarity is smaller than the threshold (Mirza, [0204]-[0214] and figure 8, pixel positions are matched, and if they do not match, and alert is sent that the sensor has moved and must be returned (positioning error), [0162]-[0164] thresholds are used to determine if the positions have changed, this determination is made by verifying that if the determined accuracy/similarity is less than a threshold, that the position has changed.).
The combination of Shen, Alon, He and Mirza, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Neither Shen nor Alon teach a method of sending a positioning error if a threshold of similarity is not met, however Mirza teaches this deficiency. The addition of this feature of Mirza would reasonably improve the systems of Shen and Alon because this feature allows for the user to be alerted if the calibrated position of the sensor is compromised so this can be corrected. (Mirza, [0104]-[2014] and [0162]-[0164])
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Shen, Alon, He, and Mirza teaches; The apparatus for detecting and correcting positioning errors of sensed objects in real time in infrastructure sensors of claim 6, wherein the control unit controls a control server to transmit a positioning error occurrence message by the infrastructure sensor when the similarity is smaller than the threshold (Mirza, [0204]-[0214] and figure 8, pixel positions are matched, and if they do not match, and alert is sent that the sensor has moved and must be returned (positioning error), [0162]-[0164] thresholds are used to determine if the positions have changed, this determination is made by verifying that if the determined accuracy/similarity is less than a threshold, that the position has changed.).
The combination of Shen, Alon, He and Mirza, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the presently claimed invention. Neither Shen nor Alon teach a method of sending a positioning error if a threshold of similarity is not met, however Mirza teaches this deficiency. The addition of this feature of Mirza would reasonably improve the systems of Shen and Alon because this feature allows for the user to be alerted if the calibrated position of the sensor is compromised so this can be corrected. (Mirza, [0104]-[2014] and [0162]-[0164])
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, neither the closest known prior art or any reasonable combination thereof teaches the following limitations;
wherein the similarity based on the direction is calculated using Equation 2
[Equation 2]
ρ
x
,
y
I
0
,
I
k
=
1
D
0
1
D
k
∑
m
=
1
M
∑
n
=
1
N
I
0
(
m
,
n
)
×
I
k
(
m
-
x
,
n
-
y
)
where
ρ
x
,
y
I
0
,
I
k
is the similarity based on the direction, and performs an inner product of the matrix
I
0
and the matrix
I
k
which moves in parallel by x pixels in a transverse direction and moves in parallel by y pixels in a longitudinal direction, and normalizes the inner product matrix to a number of 1s of each matrix.
The closest known prior art is He, which teaches a method of comparing two corner matrices to determine their similarity using the number of ones in each matrix, or “valid elements” to compute the similarity. He, however, does not teach that this similarity is computed directionally.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. For a listing of analogous prior art please see the attached PTO-892 Notice of References cited sheet.
/J.M.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2666
/EMILY C TERRELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2666