DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the drawing sheet numbering must be larger than the numbers used as reference characters. See 37 C.F.R. 1.84(t).
Additionally, the operation handle (10) recited in Claim 1, line 5, is not identified in the drawings. See 37 C.F.R. 1.84(p)(5).
Claim Objections
Regarding each of Claim 1, line 2, line 5, line 7, and line 9, and Claim 20, line 3, perhaps the language “installed to” should be changed to, e.g., “coupled to” or “installed on” (if fully supported in the Specification).
Regarding Claim 1, line 13, perhaps the term “together” should be changed to “together with the operating handle” or similar language (if fully supported in the Specification).
Regarding Claim 7, the last line, it appears that the language “the form” should be changed to “a form.”
Regarding Claim 17, line 2, perhaps the term “that” should be changed to “such that.”
Regarding Claim 18, line 3, perhaps the term “that” should be changed to “such that.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION. - The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Specifically, regarding Claim 1, line 6, it is not clear how the indication of the “closed position and the open position” is provided. It appears only a handle position is identified (e.g., left or right, up or down) by visual inspection but a status for “closed” or “open” does not appear be indicated.
Regarding Claim 1, the last two lines, it is not clear if the indication is made when the operation handle rotates “between” the “closed position to the open position” or when the handle rotated “from” the “closed position to the open position.”
Regarding Claim 2, line 8, there is no antecedent basis for the language “first direction.”
Regarding Claim 10, line 3, there is no antecedent basis for the language “other end.”
Regarding Claim 14, lines 3-4, there is no antecedent basis for the language “other end.”
Regarding Claim 17, line 6, it is not clear what is meant by the language “first driving element.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arenz et al. (U.K. Pat. Pub. No. GB 2279810 A, hereinafter “Arenz,” a copy of which was provided by Applicant on August 7, 2024).
Specifically, regarding Claim 1, Arenz discloses a bidirectional operation mechanism for a switching device (Abstract), the bidirectional operation mechanism being installed to [on] the switching device (Abstract), wherein the bidirectional operation mechanism comprises a housing (not labeled but see FIG. 1), an operation handle (10; FIG. 1), rotatably installed to [on] the housing (FIG. 1), capable of rotating between a closed position and an open position (col. 4, ll. 9-17), and indicating the closed position and the open position (via a position of handle 10), a first driving member (53), rotatably installed to [on] [on] the housing (FIG. 9), fixedly connected to the operation handle (10) and capable of rotating together with the operation handle (10; via 54, FIG. 1), a second driving member (52; FIG. 9), rotatably installed to [on] the housing (FIG. 9), operatively connected to the first driving member (53) and the switching device (FIG. 9, e.g., via 6), wherein, upon an external force acting on the operation handle (10) to drive the operation handle (10) to rotate between the closed position and the open position, the operation handle (10) drives the first driving member (53) to rotate together (via 10; FIG. 9), so that the first driving member (53) abuts against and drives the second driving member (52) to rotate (via spring 51; FIG. 9), thereby enabling the switching device to perform a closing operation and an opening operation (p. 1, ll. 1-4), upon the switching device performing the closing operation and the opening operation under an action of a driving force of the switching device itself (via spring 51; FIG. 9), the switching device is able to drive the second driving member (52) to rotate, so that the second driving member (52) abuts against and drives the first driving member (53) to rotate (via a coupling of 51, 52, and 53; FIG. 9), thereby driving the operation handle (10) to rotate, so as to indicate the closed position or the open position (p. 3, 25-28, p. 4, ll. 26-32).
Regarding Claim 20, Arenz discloses a switching device assembly, wherein the switching device assembly comprises a switching device and the bidirectional operation mechanism according to claim 1, the bidirectional operation mechanism is installed to [on] the switching device (Abstract, FIG. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arenz in view of Dauer et al. (U.S. Pat. No. 7,733,199 B2, hereinafter “Dauer”).
Arenz discloses substantially all of the limitations of the present invention but does not disclose the claimed transmission member and trigger member.
However, Dauer discloses a transmission member (40; FIG. 4), capable of pivoting between an abutting position (upon actuation in direction H2, 61 in contact with 30; FIG. 3), and a disengaged position (61 in the dashed position; FIG. 3), and a trigger member (30), capable of pivoting between a locked position (the solid-lined member 30; FIG. 4) and an unlocked position (the dashed-lined member 30; FIG. 4) under an action of an electromagnet (12; FIG. 3) associated with the trigger member (FIGS. 3 and 4), wherein, in the locked position of the trigger member, the trigger member (14) is located on a pivoting path of the transmission member along the first direction (FIG. 4), is able to abut against the transmission member in the abutting position and prevent the transmission member from pivoting in the first direction (FIGS. 3 and 4), upon the transmission member being in the disengaged position, the trigger member (14) does not abut against the transmission member (FIG. 4), the first direction corresponds to a rotating direction of the operation handle (10) from the closed position to the open position, in the unlocked position of the trigger member (14), the trigger member (14) is not located on the pivoting path of the transmission member (44) along the first direction and does not abut against the transmission member (e.g., when 30 is in the dashed position of FIG. 4).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to pivotally arrange the transmission and trigger member of Arenz on the second driving member of Dauer to provide electrically controlled movement and actuation.
Conclusion
/ANTHONY R JIMENEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2833