DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 10-12, 14, 15, 17-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metelitsa et al (WO2013/040371, of record, and the corresponding PGPUB US 20140255363 A1) in view of Hanai et al (WO 01/23573, of record) and Nakamura et al (Cancer Immunol., 2001, of record).
Metelitsa et al disclose chimeric antigen receptors comprising GD2 binding single chain antibodies derived from anti-GD2 14g2a, nucleic acids and T cells expressing the CARs, wherein T cells expressing the GD2 binding domains are used to target tumors expressing the GD2 antigen (Abstract; FIGs 13-15; paragraphs [0034]-[0038], [0050]-[0052]). Fig 13 represents an exemplary embodiment. Metelista et al discloses the chimeric antigen receptors can be encoded on nucleic acids which also encode suicide genes, expressed in T cells, and wherein the suicide gene is iCasp9 (page 9, 3rd full paragraph; FIG 13). The CARs comprise a transmembrane domain (¶ [0062]) that is separated by a spacer from the scFv (Figs. 11, 13). The CARs may comprise all of the CD28, OX40 and CD3-zeta endodomains (Fig. 11). Metelista et al discloses the T cells comprising the CAR can be formulated in a pharmaceutical composition together with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (¶ [0071]) and administered to neuroblastoma patients (abstract, ¶’s [0011], [0022], [0025]).
Metelitsa et al does not disclose the CDRs, VH SEQ ID NO: 10 or VL SEQ ID NO: 12 as required by instant claims 1 and 2.
Hanai et al discloses the generation of GD2-binding antibody and antibody fragments and single chain antibodies derived from murine anti-GD2 KM666; and subsequently clones and humanizes the VH and VL regions to generate anti-GD2 huKM666L (see Abstract, FIGs 1 and 2; see page 2, 4, 9-10 of the translation). Hanai et al discloses the single chain antibody can be structures VL-linker-VH or VH-linker-VL Page 4 of the translation). SEQ ID NO: 13 of Hanai is 100% identical to instant claimed heavy chain SEQ ID NO: 10, SEQ ID NO: 14 of Hanai comprises instant claimed SEQ ID NO: 12 with 100% identity, with an additional arginine residue at the C-terminus.
Nakamura et al discloses GD2 binding monoclonal antibodies derived from murine anti-GD2 KM666; and subsequently clones and humanizes the VH and VL regions to generate anti-GD2 huKM666L (see Abstract, Materials and Methods). Figure FIG 1A of Nakamura discloses the humanized Variable light chain of huKM666L, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO: 12; Figure FIG 1B of Nakamura discloses the humanized Variable heavy chain of huKM666L, which is 100% identical to instant SEQ ID NO 10.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in substituting the scFV GD2 antibody sequences of Hanai and Nakamura et al for the scFV GD2 antibody of Metelista et al because both are taught as specific for GD2. Therefore, these compositions are functional equivalents in the art, and substituting one for the other would have been obvious at the time of the invention. “When a patent ‘simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform’ and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007) at 1395-1396, quoting Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273 (1976) and In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301 (CCPA 1982) (“Express suggestion to substitute one equivalent for another need not be present to render such substitution obvious”).
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 10-12, 14, 15, 17-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Metelitsa et al (WO2013/040371, of record, and the corresponding PGPUB US 20140255363 A1) in view of Hanai et al (WO 01/23573, of record), Nakamura et al (Cancer Immunol., 2001, of record) and Tur et al (2001, of record).
The teachings of Metelitsa, Hanai and Nakamura et al are as above and applied as before. The references do not teach SEQ ID NO: 8, which is diagrammed as follows:
.
Metelitsa, Hanai and Nakamura et al teach such a structure with the exception of the specific linker sequence.
Tur et al discloses the generation of functional anti-GD2 single chain antibodies wherein using a (Gly4Ser)3 linker to join the variable light chain to the variable heavy chain was known (Page 581, first column “Results” section).
It would have been obvious to combine the scFv’s of Metelista, Hanai and Nakamura et al with the disclosure of Tur et al generating a functional scFv using a (G4S)3 linker. It is prima facie obvious to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results (MPEP 2143(I)(A): in the instant case while none of Metelista, Hanai or Nakamura et al disclose the specific linker used within the chimeric antibodies or scFv therein, Tur discloses a (G4S)3 linker was known, and was functional for the generation of functional GD2 scFv. In combination, each element merely performs the same function separately. In addition, it is noted that the combination of the Hanai et al sequences, in the VH-L-VL orientation, using the (G4S)3 linker of Tur, results in the claimed SEQ ID NO:8, with 100% identity:
Therefore, the generation of a chimeric antigen receptor comprising SEQ ID NO 8 is predictable from the prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15, 17-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
“[T]he purpose of the written description requirement is to ‘ensure that the scope of the right to exclude, as set forth in the claims, does not overreach the scope of the inventor’s contribution to the field of art as described in the patent specification.’” Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336, 1353-54 (Fed. Cir. 2010) (en banc) (quoting Univ. of Rochester v. G.D. Searle & Co., 358 F.3d 916, 920 (Fed. Cir. 2004)). To satisfy the written description requirement, the specification must describe the claimed invention in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention. Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1562-63, 19 USPQ2d 1111 (Fed. Cir. 1991). See also MPEP 2163.04.
For a claim to a genus, a generic statement that defines a genus of substances by only their functional activity does not provide an adequate written description of the genus. Reagents of the University of California v. Eli Lilly, 43 USPQ2d 1398 (CAFC 1997). The recitation of a functional property alone, which must be shared by the members of the genus, is merely descriptive of what the members of the genus must be capable of doing, not of the substance and structure of the members. The Federal Circuit has cautioned that, for claims reciting a genus of antibodies with particular functional properties (e.g., high affinity, neutralization activity, competing with a reference antibody for binding, binding to a certain epitope), “[c]laiming antibodies with specific properties, e.g., an antibody that binds to human TNF-α with A2 specificity, can result in a claim that does not meet written description even if the human TNF-α protein is disclosed because antibodies with those properties have not been adequately described." Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc. v. Abbott Labs., 97 USPQ2d 1870, 1875, 1877-78 (Fed. Cir. 2011).
Along these same lines, a more recent Federal Circuit decision, Amgen v. Sanofi, 872 F.3d 1367 (Fed. Cir. 2017), describes how when an antibody is claimed, 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) requires adequate written description of the antibody itself not just a description of the sequence to which the antibody binds. Amgen, 872 F.3d at 1378-79.
The importance of this court decision was recently expounded upon by Robert W. Bahr, Deputy Commissioner for Patent Examination Policy in a memorandum clarifying the applicability of USPTO guidance regarding the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) as it relates to claims drawn to antibodies (see Memorandum of February 22, 2018, 2 pages, https://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/amgen_22feb2018.pdf).
Specifically, the so-called “newly characterized antigen” test, which had been based on an example in previously issued USPTO training materials and had been used in the past for determining whether there is adequate written description under 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) for a claim drawn to an antibody is now considered defunct.
The Memorandum explains that USPTO personnel should continue to follow the relevant sections of the MPEP pertaining to the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. § 112(a) (without regard for any disclosure in the MPEP concerning the use of a fully characterized antigen to provide written description support for an antibody to said antigen).
As described in MPEP § 2163, “The written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice…reduction to drawings…or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus…See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406.
A "representative number of species" means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus. See AbbVie Deutschland GmbH & Co., KG v. Janssen Biotech, Inc., 759 F.3d 1285, 1300, 111 USPQ2d 1780, 1790 (Fed. Cir. 2014) (Claims directed to a functionally defined genus of antibodies were not supported by a disclosure that "only describe[d] one type of structurally similar antibodies" that "are not representative of the full variety or scope of the genus.").”
Note well: even if a selection procedure is disclosed that was, at the time of the invention, sufficient to enable the skilled artisan to identify antibodies with the recited functional properties, the written description provision of 35 U.S.C § 112 is severable from its enablement provision. Ariad, 94 USPQ2d at 1167; Centocor at 1876 (“The fact that a fully-human antibody could be made does not suffice to show that the inventors of the '775 patent possessed such an antibody.”)
In the instant case, the claims are drawn to CARs (and nucleic acids encoding them) having as little as 80% sequence identity to SEQ ID NOs: in claim 13; VH or VL domains with as little as 90% identity to the SEQ ID NOs in claim 2; or comprising the CDR’s with no specific framework structure (claim 1); Fc1 domains having as little as 80% identity to the SEQ ID NOs in claim 9. As a limited example, the binding domain of claim 3 could comprise as many as 24 amino acid changes, deletions, etc., located at any residue within the 242-residue amino acid sequence.
Any number of VH and VL CDR residues are expected, a priori, to contribute to antigen binding and yet the instant specification and the knowledge in the art do not establish which residues of the disclosed VH and VL CDRs are structurally essential to antigen binding versus those that are tolerant to change, and to what degree, i.e., conservative or radical.
To illustrate this point, consider Vajdos et al. (J Mol Biol. 2002 Jul 5;320(2):415-28, cited herewith) which teaches “[t]he specificity and affinity of an antibody for its cognate antigen is determined by the sequence and structure of the variable fragment (Fv): a heterodimer consisting of the N-terminal domains of the heavy and light chains. Even within the Fv, antigen binding is primarily mediated by the complementarity determining regions (CDRs), six hypervariable loops (three each in the heavy and light chains) which together present a large contiguous surface for potential antigen binding. Aside from the CDRs, the Fv also contains more highly conserved framework segments which connect the CDRs and are mainly involved in supporting the CDR loop conformations, although in some cases, framework residues also contact antigen. As an important step to understanding how a particular antibody functions, it would be very useful to assess the contributions of each CDR side-chain to antigen binding, and in so doing, to produce a functional map of the antigen-binding site.” (see, page 416, column bridging paragraph, emphasis added).
Vajdos goes on to teach that "[b]y analyzing panels of point mutants, a detailed map of the binding energetics can be obtained, but the process can be very laborious because individual
mutant proteins must be made and analyzed separately. In particular, a comprehensive analysis
of an antigen binding site would ideally encompass all CDR residues, and this would require the
analysis of dozens or even hundreds of point mutants." (see page 416, right column, first
paragraph). Vajdos solution to this dilemma was to make use of a shotgun scanning mutagenesis
which "uses phage displayed libraries of protein mutants constructed using degenerate codons
with restricted diversity." While this method of making libraries of mutants representative of the
potential antigen binding CDR residues was an improvement over previous strategies as taught
by Vajdos, it nonetheless required extensive experimentation to comprehensively scan the
potential CDR sequence space (see page 416, right column, 2nd paragraph and pages 425-427,
Materials and Methods.)
Furthermore, even after performing this comprehensive scanning mutagenesis of all CDR
residues from the particular anti-ErB2 antibody under study, Vajdos would still not have been
able to say which CDR residues were actually involved in antigen binding, and which were
involved in stabilizing the secondary and tertiary structure of the CDRs within the context of the
heavy and light chains as a whole, without the structure of the unbound antigen-binding site of
the antibody to aid in their analysis (see, in particular, Discussion, pages 422-425). Rather, Vajdos needed to perform not only a comprehensive shotgun scanning mutagenesis of all
CDR residues of the antibody under study, but also needed a structure of the unbound antigen binding site in hand to gain a sufficient understanding of the contribution of each CDR to
antigen-binding to adequately predict which CDR residues can be changed, and to what extent,
or in what context of additional compensatory mutations in other regions of the antibody.
Moreover, given an amino acid substitution that ablated binding, without the crystal structure in
hand, still further experimentation would have been required to determine the flexibility in this
particular residue, i.e., it's general tolerance or intolerance to change.
As yet another example to illustrate the sensitivity of some antibodies to changes in their CDR residues, especially CDR3, consider the teachings of Bedouelle et al. (FEBS J. 2006 Jan;273(1):34-46, cited herewith). While Bedouelle did not comprehensively scan all the CDR residues of their antibody using a combination of alanine and homologous substitutions as shown in Vajdos, Bedouelle did examine the effects of alanine substitutions on each of the residues of the antibody heavy and light chain CDR3 regions and showed mutation of certain residues cause a >100 fold drop in binding affinity (see Table 1). As described by Bedouelle, some of these loss of function mutations were hypothesized to have a direct effect on antigen binding while others were hypothesized to indirectly affect the conformation of the antigen binding site, thereby indirectly affecting antigen binding (see Discussion Section). Thus, the teachings of Bedouelle provide further illustration of the unpredictability of making mutations within the CDR region of an antibody.
Notably, while the teachings of Vajdos and Bedouelle demonstrate the unpredictable effects of even single amino acid changes on antibody:antigen binding, there is an additional level of unpredictability in the art associated with making multiple changes in any given CDR(s).
In particular, even in those instances where one can show certain residues of a given CDR are generally tolerant of single amino acid changes, this does not necessarily mean a combination of single amino acid changes, even to the same residues shown to tolerate change when mutated in isolation, will be tolerated.
Given the above the skilled artisan cannot extrapolate from the disclosure of the instant specification to establish possession of the breadth of CAR variants encompassed by the instant claims.
Without a correlation between structure and function, the claim does little more than define the claimed invention by function. That is not sufficient to satisfy the written description requirement. See Eli Lilly, 119 F.3d at 1568, 43 USPQ2d at 1406 (“definition by function … does not suffice to define the genus because it is only an indication of what the gene does, rather than what it is”). Without this guidance or direction the skilled artisan would not consider applicant to be in possession of the claimed genus of antibody-like binding molecules because the skilled artisan recognizes that even seemingly minor changes made without guidance or direction as to the relationship between the particular amino acid sequence of the instantly claimed antibody and its ability to bind antigen, can dramatically affect antigen-antibody binding.
Applicant has not described the claimed invention sufficiently to show they had possession of the claimed genus of CAR molecules.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-25 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 10,975,162. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated by the specific CARs, vectors and cells recited in the ‘162 patent as SEQ ID NOs 27-29 and 31-35.
Claims 1-12, 14, 15, 18, 19, 22-24 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,879,016. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are anticipated by the CARs and cells used in the ‘016 patent methods the instantly recited domains are found within SEQ ID NOs 29 or 17 of ‘016 claim 1.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/MICHAEL D BURKHART/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638