Detailed Office Action
Applicant’s arguments dated 12/22/2025 have been entered and fully considered. Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from examination. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument that the art of LABTAG is not prior art since it has the same inventor as the instant application is persuasive. The 35 USC 102 rejection over LABTAG is withdrawn. The publication date of LABTAG is less than a year prior to the priority date of the instant application, thus not a prior art. The Examiner notes that the priority date of the instant application as discussed in the non-final rejection of 10/2/2025 is maintained and reiterated in this office action.
Applicant’s argument regarding the 35 USC 103 rejection and the second motivation statement on the ability of the label to resist peeling off, is persuasive. This motivation statement is withdrawn in this office action.
Applicant’s argument regarding the 35 USC 103 rejection and the first motivation statement regarding identifying the sample is not persuasive and the Examiner maintains this rejection. By identifying, the Examiner intended to indicate finding the sample (emphasis added by the Examiner). The primary reference of ALLEN discloses that some of these sample blocks are small {[0049] note small biopsy samples}. Therefore, the possibility exists that some of these sample blocks mistakenly are mixed with non-sample blocks and other items and therefore lost. In the same filed of endeavor, the secondary art of ONO, teaches a method of finding these samples and thus retrieving them {[0002]}. Therefore, combination of ALLEN and ONO, considering this motivation, is proper.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Priority
Instant application claims priority to the provisional application 63,384,470 with a priority date of 11/21/2022. However, after careful examination of this provisional application, the Examiner determined that this provisional application only discloses the subject matter of withdrawn claims 10-20 and not method claims 1-9. Therefore, the Examiner assigns the priority date of examined claims 1-9 as their filing date of 11/21/2023 (emphasis added by the Examiner).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALLEN (US-2005/0226770), hereinafter ALLEN, in view of ONO (of record, JP-2020030269-A, English translation provided by the Examiner). Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims. Note the bolded text are the paragraphs of the cited arts.
Regarding claims 1-3 and 7-8, ALLEN discloses A method for handling an embedded tissue {[abstract], [0002]} comprising:
embedding a tissue in an embedding agent into a block {[0005], [0047], [0057], [0060], [0079]}.
Allen generally talks about identification of sample by placing indicia on them {[0049]}. However, ALLEN is silent on the details of this label or indicia having a metal layer, support liner, and being adhesive.
In the same filed of endeavor that that is related to labels, ONO discloses obtaining a label having a metal component therein; and adhering the label having the metal component therein on a surface of the block; whereby the block is detectable using metal detection (claim 1), wherein obtaining the label with the metal component includes obtaining the label with a metallic layer (claim 2), including removing the label from a support liner to expose an adhesive, to then proceed with the adhering (claim 3), including printing or inscribing data on the label prior to the adhering (claim 7), including performing metal detection of a waste disposal device, and detecting the block with the label thereon (claim 8) {note that block was disclosed by ALLEN, [0005], [0010] note peeling release paper or support liner, [0002] note using metal detector to determine the presence of label and thus identifying them which could be in a waste basket, [0013] note printing data on the label}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of ONO in the method of ALLEN and have provided the label as described by ONO on the block of ALLEN.
As disclosed by ONO, the advantage of this label is the ability to find the item that has this label on it {[0002]}.
Regarding claim 5-6 limitations of “including storing the block with the label thereon (claim 5), wherein storing the block with the label thereon includes storing the block with the label thereon in a refrigerator or in sub-zero temperatures (claim 6)” the Examiner submits that it is known to store tissue samples in a refrigerator to preserve them for further analysis.
Regarding claim 9, ALLEN discloses including embedding the tissue in the embedding agent into the block includes embedding a cassette portion in the block {[0004]-[0006], [0047], [0049]-[0053]}.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ALLEN and ONO as applied to claim 1 above, and further as evidenced by LABTAG (of record; Labtag By Ga International: "ParafiGARD(TM) - Metal-Detectable Labels for Wax Blocks (Patent pending)", 11 April 2023 (2023-04-11), XP093147847, Retrieved from the Internet: URL:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w70mR4JrfKE), hereinafter LABTAG. Note the bolded text is the timestamp of the video. Note that LABTAG is an evidentiary document and not a prior art rejection.
Regarding claim 4, combination of ALLEN and ONO discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. As evidenced by LABTAG, it is known that the labels are provided by a roll {[0:06] note the roll}. Therefore, it would have been known to an artisan to have provided the label of ONO in the form of a roll that reads on the limitation “including obtaining a roll including the label, detaching the label from a remainder of the roll, to then proceed with the adhering”.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748