Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “duct” and “fasteners” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 11, 13, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Waddell (US 20200388994).
As regarding claim 1, Waddell discloses the claimed invention for an electronic air cleaner comprising: a control housing (12, 14, 16, 18, 20) having an internal cavity; an ion generation power supply ([0040] and [0048]) arranged within the internal cavity; and a brush assembly ([0041]-[0044]) having at least one electrode directly connected to the ion generation power supply.
As regarding claim 2, Waddell discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Waddell discloses the claimed invention for wherein the brush assembly includes a plurality of electrodes (40), each of the plurality of electrodes being directly connected to the ion generation power supply ([0040]).
As regarding claim 11, Waddell discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Waddell discloses the claimed invention for wherein the at least one electrode includes at least one bristle ([0043]).
As regarding claim 13, Waddell discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Waddell discloses the claimed invention for a circuit board ([0040]) operably coupled to the ion generation power supply, the circuit board being positioned within the internal cavity.
As regarding claim 18, Waddell discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Waddell discloses the claimed invention for wherein the control housing further comprises a plurality of feet (58) operable to mount the electronic air cleaner to a duct (abstract).
As regarding claim 19, Waddell discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Waddell discloses the claimed invention for wherein the plurality of feet are connectable to the duct via a plurality of fasteners (58).
As regarding claim 20, Waddell discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Waddell discloses the claimed invention for wherein the plurality of feet are formed from a magnetic material ([0052]) such that the plurality of feet are magnetically coupled to the duct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waddell (US 20200388994) as applied to supra, and further in view of Fujii (US 6744617).
As regarding claim 3, Waddell discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Waddell discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the control housing includes a first housing portion and a second housing portion, the second housing portion being connectable to the first housing portion to selectively seal the internal cavity. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the control housing includes a first housing portion and a second housing portion, the second housing portion being connectable to the first housing portion to selectively seal the internal cavity in order to access internal components inside internal cavity in order to allow convenient access to components housed within the internal cavity, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlicnrnan, 168 USPQ 177, 179 and In reDulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961).
As regarding claim 4, Waddell as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Waddell as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the second housing portion is slidably connectable to the first housing portion. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the second housing portion is slidably connectable to the first housing portion in order to permit selective access to the internal cavity and enables modular removal of the ion generation assembly, thereby improving serviceability without requiring completely disassembly of the housing while maintaining structural integrity during operation, since it was known in the art as shown in Fujii (col 3 ln 63-66 and col 4 ln 39-41).
As regarding claim 5, Waddell as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Waddell as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the first housing portion further comprises a first end, and a plurality of sidewalls extending from the first end, wherein at least one opening (36) for receiving the at least one electrode is formed in one of the plurality of sidewalls.
As regarding claim 6, Waddell as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Waddell as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the at least one opening is formed in a sidewall of the plurality of sidewalls that defines an upper surface (16 of fig. 1) of the control housing.
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waddell (US 20200388994) as applied to supra, and further in view of Okano et al (US 20180243462; hereinafter Okano).
As regarding claim 7, Waddell discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Waddell discloses the claimed invention except for at least one collar, the at least one electrode being receivable within the at least one collar such that at least a portion of the at least one electrode extends beyond the at least one collar. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide at least one collar, the at least one electrode being receivable within the at least one collar such that at least a portion of the at least one electrode extends beyond the at least one collar in order to provide structural support, guide airflow toward the electrode, enhance safety by preventing accidental contact, and facilitate removal or replacement of the electrode while maintaining optimal ionization efficiency, since it was known in the art as shown in Okano (23 of fig. 3).
Claim(s) 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waddell (US 20200388994) as applied to supra, and further in view of Alam (US 20080190296).
As regarding claim 8, Waddell discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Waddell discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the at least one electrode includes fibers. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the at least one electrode includes fibers in order to provide multiple high-field emission points, increasing ion generation efficiency, lowering operating voltage, distributing corona discharge evenly, enhancing durability under mechanical stress, since it was known in the art as shown in Alam ([0008], [0033]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide between about 24,000 and about 60,000 fibers in order to enhance electronic air cleaner performance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Claim 9 is likewise rejected for reasons analogous to those set forth for claim 8 above.
As regarding claim 10, Waddell as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Waddell as modified discloses the claimed invention for wherein the fibers are silicon carbide (Alam - [0008], [0033]).
Claim(s) 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waddell (US 20200388994) as applied to supra, and further in view of Gefter et al (US 10136507; hereinafter Gefter).
As regarding claim 12, Waddell discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Waddell discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the at least one electrode includes at least one piece having an exposed pointed end. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the at least one electrode includes at least one piece having an exposed pointed end in order to enhance electronic air cleaner, since it was known in the art as shown in Gefter (col 12 ln 58-63).
Claim(s) 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waddell (US 20200388994) as applied to supra, and further in view of Lehman et al (US 20230065898; hereinafter Lehman).
As regarding claim 14, Waddell discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Waddell discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the control housing further comprises a plurality of protrusions arranged within the internal cavity, the plurality of protrusions being arranged in contact with the circuit board to restrict movement of the circuit board within the internal cavity. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the control housing further comprises a plurality of protrusions arranged within the internal cavity, the plurality of protrusions being arranged in contact with the circuit board to restrict movement of the circuit board within the internal cavity in order to provide support for the internal components, since it was known in the art as shown in Lehman (fig. 3; no number).
Claim 15 is likewise rejected for reasons analogous to those set forth for claim 14 above.
Claim(s) 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waddell (US 20200388994) as applied to supra, and further in view of Waddell (US 20190247893; hereinafter Waddell ‘893).
As regarding claim 16, Waddell discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Waddell discloses the claimed invention except for a light source operably coupled to the circuit board. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide a light source operably coupled to the circuit board in order to enhance electronic air cleaner performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Waddell ‘893 ([0038]).
Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Waddell (US 20200388994) as applied to supra, and further in view of Waddell (US 20190247893; hereinafter Waddell ‘893) and further in view of Bender et al (US 20190374669; hereinafter Bender).
As regarding claim 17, Waddell as modified discloses all of limitations as set forth above. Waddell as modified discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the control housing further comprises a logo element, and the light source is operable to illuminate the logo element. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention was made to provide wherein the control housing further comprises a logo element, and the light source is operable to illuminate the logo element in order to enhance electronic air cleaner performance, since it was known in the art as shown in Bender ([0036]).
Conclusion
/DUNG H BUI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773