Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 9, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YOSHIOKA et al. (US 20160352349 A1) in view of Lam (US 6163214 A), hereafter referred to as “YOSHIOKA” and “Lam”, respectively.
Regarding claims 9, 14, and 15, in the embodiment of Figs. 28 and 29, YOSHIOKA discloses:
A system for mitigating error in an amplifier (amplifier circuits in Figs. 28 and 29), the system comprising:
an input (input terminal Tin);
a control circuit (Fig. 6, switch SW6, switches between the first amplification phase and second amplification phase, on for the amplifier phase and off for the second amplification and sampling phase) configured to determine a delay between receiving an input signal (input voltage Vin) at the input (the error voltage, depending on the delay time of comparator 51, occurs after the operation of the amplifier 5, per paragraph [0174] lines 6-12) and providing an output signal at an output (output terminal Tout); and an assist digital-to-analog converter ("assist DAC") (DAC 4), and
an integrator (the circuit of Fig. 20 teaches an integrator, similar to the circuit in Figs. 28/29, furthermore each amplifier circuit can be used as an integrator by using additional switches and making the feedback capacitor enter a floating state, per paragraph [0213]) coupled between the input and the output (as shown in Fig. 20, the integrator would be between Tin and Tout, per claim 15).
However, YOSHIOKA is silent in teaching:
The assist DAC is configured to source or sink current based on the input signal, wherein the assist DAC includes a plurality of DACs, each DAC of the plurality of DACs having a respective source and a respective sink.
Lam teaches:
The assist DAC is configured to source or sink current based on the input signal (DAC 400 of FIG. 4 and DAC 420 of FIG. 5 are both current sourcing DACs. Current sinking DACs can be achieved by many other ways known in the art such as changing the NPN transistors to PNP transistors and NMOS switches to PMOS switches respectively, per column 8, lines 47-53), wherein the assist DAC includes a plurality of DACs (Figs. 10 and 14, shows a plurality of DACS (i.e. DACs 623 and 633 and 801-804), and each DAC of the plurality of DACs having a respective source and a respective sink (positions of the switch and the current sinking DACs can be interchanged to arrange a current sourcing DAC and a current sinking switch, per column 8 lines 57-60).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have replaced the generic digital to analog converter (DAC) in YOSHIOKA (Figs. 28 and 29) with the DACs taught by Lam (Figs. 4 and 5), to source and sink current in order to control analog signal current (Lam, column 9, lines 39-50), thereby suggesting the obviousness of such a combination. Furthermore, it would be obvious to include a plurality of DACs as taught by Lam (Fig. 10 and 14) to evenly distribute the power inside the IC and deliver different analog signals to the same load (per columns 9-10, lines 66-70), thereby suggesting the obviousness of such a modification.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10-13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 10:
the cited prior art of record, either singly or in proper combination, does not teach or make obvious, along with the other claimed features,
“the second delay being a period of time between the assist DAC receiving a signal to source or sink current and the assist DAC sourcing or sinking current”.
Claims 11-13 are objected to for their dependence on objected claim 10.
Claims 1 and 16 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Although the closest prior art of record, YOSHIOKA et al. (US 20160352349 A1), teaches most of the limitations of independent claims 1 and 16, the art alone or in combination does not teach “a loop filter having a differential output” and the “digital-to-analog converter (DAC) coupled to the differential output” per claim 1, and
“determining a delay between providing the driver control signal to the driver” and “determining a polarity of the driver output; sourcing a first current responsive to determining that the polarity is positive; and sinking a second current responsive to determining that the polarity is negative.” per claim 16.
Claims 2-8 and 17-20 are allowed, as they depend on allowed claims 1 and 16.
Conclusion
/Malane Lieng/ Examiner, Art Unit 2843
/ANDREA LINDGREN BALTZELL/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2843