DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/04/2024 and 04/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities: in lines 3-4, “the one or more first QoE configurations” should be “the one or more QoE configurations” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10-13 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kumar et al. (US 2022/0217560).
Regarding Claim 1, Kumar teaches a method of quality of experience (QoE) measurement and reporting, comprising the steps of:
receiving, by a user equipment (UE), a radio resource control (RRC) message comprising configuration parameters of one or more QoE configurations ([0071] At 412a, the UE 402 may receive a RAN decodable QoE measurement information configuration from an OAM server for the UE application layer, via the base station 404, which may include triggering/reporting information for one or more QoE measurements of the UE 402. The triggering/reporting information may be received at the UE 402 as an application layer triggering/reporting condition. Alternatively, at 412b, the UE 402 may receive, from the RAN/base station 404, a RAN decodable parameter configuration (e.g., for storing the QoE measurement) and/or an indication of a trigger/reporting condition for reporting the QoE measurement to the base station 404. The information received, at 412b, by the UE 402 may be received for the RRC layer (63/136,581 [0055]); [0087] The RRC configuration may include, and/or may indicate, a measurement configuration for the application layer (e.g., measConfigAppLayer). The measurement configuration for the application layer may include, and/or may indicate, the QoE configuration information and/or a service type of the application (63/133,964 [0058]); [0105] As shown by reference number 610, the UE may receive, and the base station may transmit, an RRC configuration (e.g., RRCConfig, RRCReconfiguration, and/or measConfigAppLayer, among other examples) via the UE AS layer. The RRC configuration may include a QoE configuration and/or an indication of a service type associated with QoE measurements (63/133,964 [0076]));
receiving an RRC release message indicating transitioning of the UE from an RRC connected state to an RRC inactive state ([0092] the UE may receive, and the base station may transmit, an RRC release (e.g., an RRCRelease). The RRC release may indicate that the UE is to enter RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode (63/133,964 [0063]); [0109] the UE may enter RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode based at least in part on the RRC release received from the base station (63/133,964 [0080]); [0126] the UE may enter RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode based at least in part on the RRC release received from the base station (63/133,964 [0097]));
performing QoE measurements for at least one first QoE configuration of the one or more QoE configurations, while the UE is in the RRC inactive state ([0094] the UE application layer may continue obtaining the QoE measurements during the RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode, based at least in part on the QoE configuration information (63/133,964 [0065]); [0104] the QoE configuration information may indicate that the UE is to report QoE measurements that are obtained while the UE is in RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode (63/133,964 [0075]));
wherein the QoE measurements are application layer measurements associated with one or more service types ([0083] If simultaneous QoE measurements are performed, at 414, both RAN decodable and non-decodable QoE measurement parameters may be maintained at the application layer (e.g., stored at 416). The RAN decodable QoE measurement parameters may include a QoE satisfaction level, application layer throughput, delay, jitter, etc. Separate reporting triggers may be configured for the SA4 container/application layer container (e.g., per service type and/or per trace identifier (ID)/reference ID) for reporting, at 418, the QoE measurement information per service type and/or per reference ID (63/136,581 [0067]); [0087] The measurement configuration for the application layer may include, and/or may indicate, the QoE configuration information and/or a service type of the application (63/133,964 [0058]); [0094] the UE application layer may send QoE measurements per service type to the UE AS layer (63/133,964 [0065]));
wherein the at least one first QoE configuration is at least one configuration of the one or more QoE configurations for which QoE measurements during the RRC inactive state is applicable ([0094] the UE application layer may continue obtaining the QoE measurements during the RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode, based at least in part on the QoE configuration information (63/133,964 [0065]); [0104] the QoE configuration information may indicate that the UE is to report QoE measurements that are obtained while the UE is in RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode (63/133,964 [0075]));
storing, while in the RRC inactive state, one or more QoE measurement reports based on the QoE measurements ([0099] the UE AS layer may provide, to the UE application layer, an indication to stop sending QoE measurements (e.g., based at least in part on the UE entering RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode). The UE application layer may store the QoE measurements based at least in part on the indication (63/133,964 [0070]); [0112] the UE (e.g., at the UE application layer) may store the QoE measurements based at least in part on the UE being in the RRC idle mode or the RRC inactive mode 63/133,964 [0083]);
determining to transition from the RRC inactive state to the RRC connected state ([0158] obtaining, while in an RRC idle mode or an RRC inactive mode, a set of QoE measurements associated with a service type; [0159] As further shown in FIG. 12, in some aspects, process 1200 may include transmitting, after entering an RRC connected mode, the set of QoE measurements (63/133,964 [0106], [0107])); and
transmitting the one or more QoE measurement reports that are stored during the RRC inactive state after transitioning to the RRC connected state ([0099] the UE AS layer may provide, to the UE application layer, an indication to stop sending QoE measurements (e.g., based at least in part on the UE entering RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode). The UE application layer may store the QoE measurements based at least in part on the indication. The UE AS layer may provide (e.g., based at least in part on entering an RRC connected mode) an indication that the UE application layer is to resume sending QoE measurements (63/133,964 [0070]); [0117] the UE AS layer may transmit, and the base station may receive, a QoE measurement report. The QoE measurement report may include and/or indicate one or more QoE measurements obtained while the UE was in RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode (63/133,964 [0088])).
Regarding Claim 2, Kumar teaches transitioning from the radio resource control (RRC) connected state to the RRC inactive state in response to receiving the RRC release message ([0092] the UE may receive, and the base station may transmit, an RRC release (e.g., an RRCRelease). The RRC release may indicate that the UE is to enter RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode (63/133,964 [0063]); [0109] the UE may enter RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode based at least in part on the RRC release received from the base station (63/133,964 [0080]); [0126] the UE may enter RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode based at least in part on the RRC release received from the base station (63/133,964 [0097])).
Regarding Claim 10, Kumar teaches the configuration parameters of the one or more quality of experience (QoE) configurations comprise first parameters for QoE measurement and second parameters for QoE reporting ([0071] At 412a, the UE 402 may receive a RAN decodable QoE measurement information configuration from an OAM server for the UE application layer, via the base station 404, which may include triggering/reporting information for one or more QoE measurements of the UE 402. The triggering/reporting information may be received at the UE 402 as an application layer triggering/reporting condition. Alternatively, at 412b, the UE 402 may receive, from the RAN/base station 404, a RAN decodable parameter configuration (e.g., for storing the QoE measurement) and/or an indication of a trigger/reporting condition for reporting the QoE measurement to the base station (63/136,581 [0055])).
Regarding Claim 11, Kumar teaches the first parameters indicate one or more applications for quality of experience (QoE) measurement ([0086] The QoE configuration information may indicate one or more parameters, associated with the application, to be measured ... the QoE configuration information may indicate a periodicity of measurements of the QoE parameters, a periodicity of reporting the measurements of the QoE, or a service type (e.g., an application type); [0087] The measurement configuration for the application layer may include, and/or may indicate, the QoE configuration information and/or a service type of the application (63/133,964 [0057], [0058])).
Regarding Claim 12, Kumar teaches the second parameters indicate one or more periodicities for quality of experience (QoE) reporting ([0086] The QoE configuration information may indicate one or more parameters, associated with the application, to be measured ... the QoE configuration information may indicate a periodicity of measurements of the QoE parameters, a periodicity of reporting the measurements of the QoE, or a service type (e.g., an application type); [0087] The measurement configuration for the application layer may include, and/or may indicate, the QoE configuration information and/or a service type of the application).
Regarding Claim 13, Kumar teaches transitioning from the radio resource control (RRC) inactive state to the RRC connected state comprises initiating a random access process; and the transmitting of the one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement reports is via a random access message of the random access process ([0129] As shown by reference number 740, the UE AS layer may initiate an RRC connection setup or RRC connection resume. In some aspects, the UE may initiate the RRC connection setup or RRC connection resume using a random access channel process. In some aspects, the UE may initiate the RRC connection setup based at least in part on the UE obtaining the one or more QoE measurements (63/133,964 [0100])).
Regarding Claim 18, Kumar teaches a first configuration parameter of the at least one first quality of experience (QoE) configuration of the one or more first QoE configurations is associated with: a first value while the user equipment (UE) is in the radio resource control (RRC) connected state; and a second value while the UE is in the RRC inactive state ([0103] the QoE configuration information may indicate one or more parameters, associated with the application, to be measured. For example, the QoE configuration information may indicate that the UE is to measure ... the QoE configuration information may indicate a periodicity of measurements of the QoE parameters, a periodicity of reporting the measurements of the QoE, or a service type; [0104] the QoE configuration information may indicate that the UE is to report QoE measurements that are obtained while the UE is in RRC idle mode or RRC inactive mode; [0105] the RRC configuration may indicate that the UE is to perform one or more operations associated with obtaining and/or reporting QoE measurements that are associated with the QoE server. In some aspects, the RRC configuration may indicate that the UE is in an RRC connected state; FIG. 6 (63/133,964 [0074]-[0076])).
Regarding Claim 19, Kumar teaches transmitting the one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement reports is via one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages ([0072] The UE 402 may transmit, at 418, the QoE measurement information to the base station 404 via the application layer or the RRC layer (63/136,581 [0056])).
Regarding Claim 20, Kumar teaches the one or more radio resource control (RRC) messages are associated with a signaling radio bearer four (SRB4) ([0109] the RRC release may release a signaling radio bearer (SRB) associated with an uplink communication from the UE (e.g., an SRB4). In this way, the UE may be unable to transmit a QoE measurement report; [0113] the UE may be configured with an SRB associated with resources for transmitting a QoE measurement report (63/133,964 [0080], [0084])).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. in view of Liu et al. (US 2024/0188175).
Regarding Claim 3, Kumar does not teach the radio resource control (RRC) release message comprises a suspendconfig information element (IE); and the suspendconfig IE comprises configuration parameters for operation of the user equipment (UE) in the RRC inactive state.
In an analogous art, Liu teaches the radio resource control (RRC) release message comprises a suspendconfig information element (IE); and the suspendconfig IE comprises configuration parameters for operation of the user equipment (UE) in the RRC inactive state ([0063] the UE 120 may transition from RRC connected mode 302 to RRC inactive mode 306 based at least in part on receiving an RRC release communication with a configuration suspension (e.g., an RRCRelease with suspendConfig message)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Liu’s method with Kumar’s method so that when transitioning to RRC inactive mode, the UE and/or a serving base station may store a UE context. This permits the UE, the base station, and/or a new base station to apply the stored UE context when the UE transitions from RRC inactive mode to RRC connected mode in order to resume communications, which reduces latency of transitioning to RRC connected mode relative to transitioning to the RRC connected mode from RRC idle mode (Liu [0064]).
Regarding Claim 7, Kumar does not teach the radio resource control (RRC) release message comprises a suspendconfig information element (IE) indicating transitioning of the user equipment (UE) to the RRC inactive state.
In an analogous art, Liu teaches the radio resource control (RRC) release message comprises a suspendconfig information element (IE) indicating transitioning of the user equipment (UE) to the RRC inactive state ([0063] the UE 120 may transition from RRC connected mode 302 to RRC inactive mode 306 based at least in part on receiving an RRC release communication with a configuration suspension (e.g., an RRCRelease with suspendConfig message)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Liu’s method with Kumar’s method so that when transitioning to RRC inactive mode, the UE and/or a serving base station may store a UE context. This permits the UE, the base station, and/or a new base station to apply the stored UE context when the UE transitions from RRC inactive mode to RRC connected mode in order to resume communications, which reduces latency of transitioning to RRC connected mode relative to transitioning to the RRC connected mode from RRC idle mode (Liu [0064]).
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. in view of Liu et al. (US 2024/0172027).
Regarding Claim 4, Kumar does not teach each quality of experience (QoE) configuration of the one or more QoE configurations, is associated with an identifier; and the configuration parameters of the one or more QoE configurations indicate the identifiers associated with the at least one first quality of experience (QoE) configuration.
In an analogous art, Liu teaches each quality of experience (QoE) configuration of the one or more QoE configurations, is associated with an identifier; and the configuration parameters of the one or more QoE configurations indicate the identifiers associated with the at least one first quality of experience (QoE) configuration ([0066] As further shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 420, the base station 110 may allocate an access stratum identifier to identify the QoE measurement configuration at an access stratum layer (e.g., an RRC layer). For example, in some aspects, the access stratum identifier allocated to the QoE measurement configuration may be derived from the application-level identifier associated with the QoE measurement configuration such that the base station 110 may store information related to a mapping between the application-level identifier and the access stratum identifier; [0069] the UE 120 may process the access stratum identifier included in the RRC message to determine a mapping or other relationship between the application-level identifier associated with the QoE measurement configuration and the access stratum identifier used to identify the QoE measurement configuration at the access stratum layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Liu’s method with Kumar’s method so that when an application provides application layer QoE measurements to the access stratum layer, the access stratum layer may determine the appropriate access stratum identifier to associate with the application layer QoE measurements based on an identity of the application that provided the application layer QoE measurements to the access stratum layer (Liu [0070]).
Regarding Claim 5, Kumar does not teach each quality of experience (QoE) configuration of the one or more QoE configurations comprises a parameter indicating the associated identifier for the QoE configuration.
In an analogous art, Liu teaches each quality of experience (QoE) configuration of the one or more QoE configurations comprises a parameter indicating the associated identifier for the QoE configuration ([0066] As further shown in FIG. 4, and by reference number 420, the base station 110 may allocate an access stratum identifier to identify the QoE measurement configuration at an access stratum layer (e.g., an RRC layer). For example, in some aspects, the access stratum identifier allocated to the QoE measurement configuration may be derived from the application-level identifier associated with the QoE measurement configuration such that the base station 110 may store information related to a mapping between the application-level identifier and the access stratum identifier; [0069] the UE 120 may process the access stratum identifier included in the RRC message to determine a mapping or other relationship between the application-level identifier associated with the QoE measurement configuration and the access stratum identifier used to identify the QoE measurement configuration at the access stratum layer).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Liu’s method with Kumar’s method so that when an application provides application layer QoE measurements to the access stratum layer, the access stratum layer may determine the appropriate access stratum identifier to associate with the application layer QoE measurements based on an identity of the application that provided the application layer QoE measurements to the access stratum layer (Liu [0070]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. in view of Liu et al. (US 2024/0172027) and He et al. (US 2024/0187897).
Regarding Claim 6, the combination of Kumar and Liu does not teach the radio resource control (RRC) release message indicates at least one first identifier of the one or more identifiers associated with the at least one first quality of experience (QoE) configuration.
In an analogous art, He teaches the radio resource control (RRC) release message indicates at least one first identifier of the one or more identifiers associated with the at least one first quality of experience (QoE) configuration ([0061] the gNB may transmit 140 a RRC release message to the UE RRC layer. The operation of releasing the RRC connection will affect the QoE measurement. For example, new QoE measurement configurations are stopped and the reporting of the ongoing QoE measurement is released or paused in the RRC layer of the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined He’s method with Kumar’s method so that an access network device can control or maintain of the QoE measurement, especially can configure the reporting procedure, the QoE measurement procedure may be more flexible and reasonable (He [0064]).
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. in view of Liu et al. (US 2024/0188175) and Kim (US 2022/0264373).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Kumar and Liu does not teach the suspendconfig information element (IE) indicates at least one first identifier associated with the at least one first quality of experience (QoE) configuration.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches the suspendconfig information element (IE) indicates at least one first identifier associated with the at least one first quality of experience (QoE) configuration ([0262] UE may consider that the configured QoE is suspended when QoE suspend command is received from network. UE may consider that the configured QoE is suspended, when RRCRelease message including suspendConfig is received from network. Otherwise, UE may consider that the configured QoE is suspended, when RRCRelease message not including suspendConfig is received from network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Kim’s method with Kumar’s method so that a wireless device could efficiently suspend the QoE reporting by logging QoE measurement results. That is, a wireless device could log the measurement results depending on the service type or priority of the configured measurements, when overload happens in RAN. Therefore, the network or service provider can acquire the measurement results measured during the RAN overload (Kim [0013]-[0015]).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Kumar and Liu does not teach the suspendconfig information element (IE) comprise a parameter indicating a list of the at least one first quality of experience (QoE) measurement configuration.
In an analogous art, Kim teaches the suspendconfig information element (IE) comprise a parameter indicating a list of the at least one first quality of experience (QoE) measurement configuration ([0262] UE may consider that the configured QoE is suspended when QoE suspend command is received from network. UE may consider that the configured QoE is suspended, when RRCRelease message including suspendConfig is received from network. Otherwise, UE may consider that the configured QoE is suspended, when RRCRelease message not including suspendConfig is received from network).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Kim’s method with Kumar’s method so that a wireless device could efficiently suspend the QoE reporting by logging QoE measurement results. That is, a wireless device could log the measurement results depending on the service type or priority of the configured measurements, when overload happens in RAN. Therefore, the network or service provider can acquire the measurement results measured during the RAN overload (Kim [0013]-[0015]).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. in view of Koskinen et al. (US 2024/0114585).
Regarding Claim 14, Kumar does not teach the random access message is a Msg3 message when the random access process is a four-step random access process.
In an analogous art, Koskinen teaches the random access message is a Msg3 message when the random access process is a four-step random access process ([0145] B) Then, in response to data appearing in the buffer of the UE, while the UE is in an RRC Idle/Inactive state, for one or more applications, the UE will initiate a connection establishment/resume procedure as currently performed. As per exemplary embodiments herein, though, the UE determines whether the UE can determine and populate the “early state handling assistance information” fields to report the information, e.g., based on the applications running at the time the establishment or resume is requested and/or according to the network configuration (e.g., whether reporting is configured, the application had a long or short session, and the like). If the determination is positive, the UE will report “early state handling assistance information” to the network during the establishment/resume, e.g., via MSG1/MsgA or MSG3 or MSG5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Koskinen’s method with Kumar’s method so that a standard random access procedure can be followed by the UE to report the measurements.
Regarding Claim 15, Kumar does not teach the random access message is a MsgA message when the random access process is a two-step random access process.
In an analogous art, Koskinen teaches the random access message is a MsgA message when the random access process is a two-step random access process ([0145] B) Then, in response to data appearing in the buffer of the UE, while the UE is in an RRC Idle/Inactive state, for one or more applications, the UE will initiate a connection establishment/resume procedure as currently performed. As per exemplary embodiments herein, though, the UE determines whether the UE can determine and populate the “early state handling assistance information” fields to report the information, e.g., based on the applications running at the time the establishment or resume is requested and/or according to the network configuration (e.g., whether reporting is configured, the application had a long or short session, and the like). If the determination is positive, the UE will report “early state handling assistance information” to the network during the establishment/resume, e.g., via MSG1/MsgA or MSG3 or MSG5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Koskinen’s method with Kumar’s method so that a standard random access procedure can be followed by the UE to report the measurements.
Claims 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. in view of Hu et al. (US 2023/0115085) and Sӓily et al. (US 2023/0379865).
Regarding Claim 16, Kumar does not teach transmitting the one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement reports is based on an uplink grant after the transitioning from the radio resource control (RRC) inactive state to the RRC connected state.
In an analogous art, Hu teaches transmitting the one or more quality of experience (QoE) measurement reports is based on an uplink grant ([0010] the master access network device configures the radio bearer for the terminal device to send the QoE measurement result, so that possible impact on other signaling or data transmission in a process of sending the QoE measurement result can be reduced. In addition, the master access network device may set different logical channel priorities for different radio bearers, so that the terminal device may transmit signaling or data on the different radio bearers based on the priorities set for the different radio bearers when obtaining an uplink transmission grant).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Hu’s method with Kumar’s method so that the terminal device may transmit signaling or data on the different radio bearers based on the priorities set for the different radio bearers when obtaining an uplink transmission grant (Hu [0010]).
The combination of Kumar and Hu does not teach uplink grant after the transitioning from the radio resource control (RRC) inactive state to the RRC connected state.
In an analogous art, Sӓily teaches uplink grant after the transitioning from the radio resource control (RRC) inactive state to the RRC connected state ([0029] A UE in Idle state or Inactive state may use a random access (RA or RACH) procedure to transition to a Connected state ... After receiving this message 4, the UE is connected with the cell or gNB, and the UE may then request and receive an UL grant (of resources) to allow the UE to transmit UL data to the cell or gNB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Sӓily’s method with Kumar’s method so that the UE may request and receive an UL grant (of resources) to allow the UE to transmit UL data to the cell or gNB (Sӓily [0029]).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Kumar and Hu does not teach the uplink grant is received after transitioning from the radio resource control (RRC) inactive state to the RRC connected state.
In an analogous art, Sӓily teaches the uplink grant is received after transitioning from the radio resource control (RRC) inactive state to the RRC connected state ([0029] A UE in Idle state or Inactive state may use a random access (RA or RACH) procedure to transition to a Connected state ... After receiving this message 4, the UE is connected with the cell or gNB, and the UE may then request and receive an UL grant (of resources) to allow the UE to transmit UL data to the cell or gNB).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Sӓily’s method with Kumar’s method so that the UE may request and receive an UL grant (of resources) to allow the UE to transmit UL data to the cell or gNB (Sӓily [0029]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jeong et al. (US 2024/0196248) teaches method for managing QoE of terminal in wireless communication system.
Choe et al. (US 2024/0137294) teaches configuration for QoE measurement collection.
/YU-WEN CHANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2413