Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim includes multiple redundant linkers. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The phrase “the one or more functional groups comprise acrylate” in claims 2-3 renders the claims indefinite because it is unclear if the one or more functional groups is referring back to the one or more functional groups attached to ends of the first liquid crystal reactive mesogenic materials or the one or more functional groups attached to ends of the chain-extended oligomer.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Schoenefeld (US 2022/0306939) in view of Harding (US 2013/0012654).
Claim 1: Schoenefeld discloses first and second liquid crystal reactive mesogen materials having attached functional groups that allow crosslinking and having differing molecular weights with crosslinking between the materials (¶¶ 85, 304, 371-372; Examples 1-7); and at least one of a photoalignment material and a rubbed LCD alignment material contactable with the mesogen materials (¶ 328; Examples 1-7). Schoenefeld is silent as to the second liquid crystal reactive mesogenic material including a chain-extended oligomer composed of liquid crystal materials linked together and functional groups attached to ends of the chain-extended oligomer. However, Harding discloses reactive mesogens for use with liquid crystal alignment layers that are used in monomeric, oligomeric and polymeric forms (abstract; an oligomeric reactive mesogen composed of repeating mesogenic units linked together by chemical bonds is a chain-extended oligomer), with unreacted polymerizable groups at the ends of the mesogenic compounds (¶¶ 61, 65). As taught by Harding, unreacted polymerizable groups at the ends of the reactive mesogens enable crosslinking with subsequently applied liquid crystal layers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have included the chain-extended oligomer with unreacted polymerizable groups of Harding in the composition of Schoenefeld in order to allow crosslinking with subsequently applied liquid crystal layers.
Claims 2-3: Shoenefeld discloses the functional group being diacrylate (¶¶ 243, 259).
Claims 13-19: Harding discloses the reactive mesogens of formulae I-VI each possess: (a) core compound members including mesogenic ring groups including benzene and/or cyclohexylene aromatic or aliphatic ring systems designated A-D, (b) linkers connecting the core members including -COO-, -OCO-, and (c) mobile tails including alkyl or alkoxy spacer groups of 1-12 C atoms connecting the core to the terminal polymerizable groups (¶¶ 39-41).
Claim 20: Harding discloses that preferred functional groups include diacrylate (¶ 67).
Claim 4: Schoenefeld discloses a light valve including a first transparent substrate and second substrate (¶¶ 347-352; examples 1-7); a liquid crystal material positioned between the substrates (¶¶ 347-352; examples 1-7), the liquid crystal material including first and second liquid crystal reactive mesogen materials having attached functional groups that allow crosslinking and having differing molecular weights with crosslinking between the materials (¶¶ 304, 371-372; Examples 1-7); and at least one of a photoalignment material and a rubbed LCD alignment material contactable with the mesogen materials (¶ 328; Examples 1-7). Schoenefeld is silent as to the second liquid crystal reactive mesogenic material including a chain-extended oligomer. However, Harding discloses reactive mesogens for use with liquid crystal alignment layers that are used in monomeric, oligomeric and polymeric forms (abstract; an oligomeric reactive mesogen composed of repeating mesogenic units linked together by chemical bonds is a chain-extended oligomer), with unreacted polymerizable groups at the ends of the mesogenic compounds (¶¶ 61, 65). As taught by Harding, unreacted polymerizable groups at the ends of the reactive mesogens enable crosslinking with subsequently applied liquid crystal layers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have included the chain-extended oligomer with unreacted polymerizable groups of Harding in the composition of Schoenefeld in order to allow crosslinking with subsequently applied liquid crystal layers.
Claims 5-6: Shoenefeld discloses the functional group being diacrylate (¶¶ 243, 259).
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Demuth (2017/0232637) in view of Schoenefeld (US 2022/0306939) and Harding (US 2013/0012654).
Claim 7: Demuth discloses an additive manufacturing system including a light valve able to pattern a two dimensional light beam (¶¶ 28, 38); a light valve including a first and second substrate (¶¶ 28, 76); a liquid crystal material positioned between the first and second substrates (¶¶ 77-78); and a laser directable against the light valve for patterning (¶ 28). Demuth is silent as to the material including first and second liquid crystal reactive mesogen materials having attached functional groups that allow crosslinking and having differing molecular weights with crosslinking between the materials, and at least one of a photoalignment material and a rubbed LCD alignment material contactable with the mesogen materials. However, Schoenefeld discloses a light valve including a first transparent substrate and second substrate (¶¶ 347-352; examples 1-7); a liquid crystal material positioned between the substrates (¶¶ 347-352; examples 1-7), the liquid crystal material including first and second liquid crystal reactive mesogen materials having attached functional groups that allow crosslinking and having differing molecular weights with crosslinking between the materials (¶¶ 304, 371-372; Examples 1-7); and at least one of a photoalignment material and a rubbed LCD alignment material contactable with the mesogen materials (¶ 328; Examples 1-7). As taught by Schoenefeld, forming a light valve from these materials efficiently prepares light valves which are operable in and electrically switchable between an optically transparent state and an opaque state and which have an improved optical and electro-optical performance (¶ 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the light valve of Schoenefeld in the additive manufacturing system of Demuth in order to provide a light valve which is operable in and electrically switchable between an optically transparent state and an opaque state and which has improved optical and electro-optical performance. In addition, Harding discloses reactive mesogens for use with liquid crystal alignment layers that are used in monomeric, oligomeric and polymeric forms (abstract; an oligomeric reactive mesogen composed of repeating mesogenic units linked together by chemical bonds is a chain-extended oligomer), with unreacted polymerizable groups at the ends of the mesogenic compounds (¶¶ 61, 65). As taught by Harding, unreacted polymerizable groups at the ends of the reactive mesogens enable crosslinking with subsequently applied liquid crystal layers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have included the chain-extended oligomer with unreacted polymerizable groups of Harding in the modified system of Demuth in order to allow crosslinking with subsequently applied liquid crystal layers.
Claims 8-9: Shoenefeld discloses the functional group being diacrylate (¶¶ 243, 259).
Claim 10: Demuth discloses a powder bed additive manufacturing system including a light valve able to pattern a two dimensional light beam (¶¶ 2, 28, 38); a light valve including a first and second substrate (¶¶ 28, 76); a liquid crystal material positioned between the first and second substrates (¶¶ 77-78); and a laser directable against the light valve for patterning before direction onto a powder bed (¶ 28; fig. 3A). Demuth is silent as to the material including first and second liquid crystal reactive mesogen materials having attached functional groups that allow crosslinking and having differing molecular weights with crosslinking between the materials, and at least one of a photoalignment material and a rubbed LCD alignment material contactable with the mesogen materials. However, Schoenefeld discloses a light valve including a first transparent substrate and second substrate (¶¶ 347-352; examples 1-7); a liquid crystal material positioned between the substrates (¶¶ 347-352; examples 1-7), the liquid crystal material including first and second liquid crystal reactive mesogen materials having attached functional groups that allow crosslinking and having differing molecular weights with crosslinking between the materials (¶¶ 304, 371-372; Examples 1-7); and at least one of a photoalignment material and a rubbed LCD alignment material contactable with the mesogen materials (¶ 328; Examples 1-7). As taught by Schoenefeld, forming a light valve from these materials efficiently prepares light valves which are operable in and electrically switchable between an optically transparent state and an opaque state and which have an improved optical and electro-optical performance (¶ 14). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to utilize the light valve of Schoenefeld in the additive manufacturing system of Demuth in order to provide a light valve which is operable in and electrically switchable between an optically transparent state and an opaque state and which has improved optical and electro-optical performance. In addition, Harding discloses reactive mesogens for use with liquid crystal alignment layers that are used in monomeric, oligomeric and polymeric forms (abstract; an oligomeric reactive mesogen composed of repeating mesogenic units linked together by chemical bonds is a chain-extended oligomer), with unreacted polymerizable groups at the ends of the mesogenic compounds (¶¶ 61, 65). As taught by Harding, unreacted polymerizable groups at the ends of the reactive mesogens enable crosslinking with subsequently applied liquid crystal layers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to have included the chain-extended oligomer with unreacted polymerizable groups of Harding in the modified system of Demuth in order to allow crosslinking with subsequently applied liquid crystal layers.
Claims 11-12: Shoenefeld discloses the functional group being diacrylate (¶¶ 243, 259).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/LARRY W THROWER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754