DETAILED ACTION
This office action supersedes the previous office action because examiner found additional references during an update search with respect to the amended portions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosaka et al. (US 2013/0027163) in view of Thurk (US 2907968), Kazuhiro (DE 112012004154 T5) and JP 5245939 B2 as evidenced by [NPL: Does Iron conduct heat] and [NPL: Thermally conductive epoxy adhesives]. Examiner noted that NPL references are used only to teach the inherent characteristics of materials, so the publication date of the references can be disregarded.
Regarding claim 1, Kosaka et al. discloses “an electronic component” (abstract, i.e., a reactor. Figs.1-11) comprising:
“an annular heat-generating element” (fig.2, 2);
“an fig.2 the case 5 includes a bottom 51 and a side wall 52) and containing “the heat-generating element” (fig.2, 2. Examiner noted that 2 is within 5);
“a pillar” (figs.1-2, 4, 53 and 11 collectively forms a pillar) extending upward from “the bottom” (fig.2, 51 pointed at the bottom) and passing through “the heat-generating element” (fig.2, 2. [0027], i.e., heat generated at the coil 2); and
“a thermally conductive filler” ([0028], i.e., The core 3 consists of epoxy resin in which iron powder is included. The iron powder is well-known magnetic powder and epoxy resin is insulating one) located within “the case” (5),
wherein “the pillar” (figs.1-2, 4, 53 and 11 collectively forms a pillar) includes “an [0033] The center columnar member 4) and “a bar” ([0030] the pillar 53 is composed of aluminum alloy) located inside “the tube” (4) and having a higher thermal conductivity than the filler” (the bar 53 is made of aluminum alloy and the filler 3 is made of epoxy resin and iron powder. It is inherently and necessarily that the aluminum alloy has a higher thermal conductivity than iron and epoxy. See attached for NPL, thermal conductivity of aluminum is about 237 W/m·K and thermal conductivity of iron is 80 W/m·K and thermal conductivity of epoxy is about 1-2.02 1 W/(m·K). the higher value suggest the higher thermal conductivity).
Kosaka et al. is silent regarding the case is an electrically insulating case; tube is an electrically insulating tube.
Thurk teaches “an electrically insulating case” (col.2 at lines 15-20, i.e., the housing 3 includes two flat, ring shaped end member ring-shaped end members 12, 13 formed of ceramic material). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kosaka et al. with Thurk, by modifying Kosaka et al.’s case with Thurk’s insulated case, to allow alternating magnetic fields to pass straight through without absorbing energy or generating resistance, prevent coils from short circuits and provide heat, corrosion and chemical resistance.
Kazuhiro teaches “an electrically insulating tube” (abstract, i.e., a resin mold portion 21 made of an insulating resin. Fig.1, B, 21 pointed at the tube). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kosaka et al. with Kazuhiro, by modifying Kosaka et al.’s tube material according to Kazuhiro’s tube material, to facilitate heat dissipation and dampens mechanical vibration which increase the equipment’s reliability and service life.
Kosaka et al. is silent regarding the tube is formed integrally with the case and has an opening in its upper surface, and the bar is inserted into the tube through the opening in the upper surface, and the bar is in contact with the bottom.
JP 5245939 teaches “the tube is formed integrally with the case and has an opening in its upper surface, and the bar is inserted into the tube through the opening in the upper surface, and the bar is in contact with the bottom” (fig.3 shows the tube 3 integrally with the case has an opening int its upper surface, and the bar (fig.9, 10) is inserted into the tube 3 in the upper surface, and the bar 10 is in contact with bottom of the case (see fig.13, bar 10 in contact with the bottom of the case 7)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kosaka et al. with JP 5245939, by modifying Kosaka et al.’s tube and bar configuration according to JP 5245939’s tube and bar configuration, to allow bar engages the maximum amount of available depth which creates a stronger and more secure hold.
Regarding claim 3, modified Kosaka et al. discloses “the pillar extends to a level of an upper end of the case in an up-down direction” (Kosaka et al., figs.1-2, 4, 53 and 11 collectively forms a pillar. At least 53 of the pillar extends to a level of an upper end of the case in an up-down direction).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kosaka et al. discloses “the pillar” (Kosaka et al., figs.1-2, 4, 53 and 11 collectively forms a pillar) includes:
“a frustum-shaped lower portion extending from the bottom of the case and having a diameter that gradually decreases upward” (Kosaka et al., figs.1-2, lower portion of 4 extending from the bottom of the case and having a diameter that gradually decreases upward for at least a segment); and
“an upper portion extending from the lower portion and having a diameter that is substantially constant up to an upper end of the upper portion” (Kosaka et al., figs.1-2, at least 4 has an upper portion extending from the lower portion and having a diameter that is substantially constant up to an upper end of the upper portion).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kosaka et al. discloses “the heat-generating element includes a coil” (Kosaka et al., figs.1-2, 2).
Claim(s) 2 and 7-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kosaka et al. (US 2013/0027163) in view of Thurk (US 2907968), Kazuhiro (DE 112012004154 T5), JP 5245939 B2 and Mattozzi et al. (US 20120178293) as evidenced by [NPL: Does Iron conduct heat] and [NPL: Thermally conductive epoxy adhesives]. Examiner noted that NPL references are used only to teach the inherent characteristics of materials, so the publication date of the references can be disregarded.
Regarding claim 2, Kosaka et al. discloses “an electronic component” (abstract, i.e., a reactor. Figs.1-11) comprising:
“an annular heat-generating element” (fig.2, 2);
“an fig.2 the case 5 includes a bottom 51 and a side wall 52) and containing “the heat-generating element” (fig.2, 2. Examiner noted that 2 is within 5);
“a pillar” (figs.1-2, 4, 53 and 11 collectively forms a pillar) extending upward from “the bottom” (fig.2, 51 pointed at the bottom) and passing through “the heat-generating element” (fig.2, 2. [0027], i.e., heat generated at the coil 2); and
“a thermally conductive filler” ([0028], i.e., The core 3 consists of epoxy resin in which iron powder is included. The iron powder is well-known magnetic powder and epoxy resin is insulating one) located within “the case” (5),
wherein “the pillar” (figs.1-2, 4, 53 and 11 collectively forms a pillar) includes “an [0033] The center columnar member 4) and “a bar” ([0030] the pillar 53 is composed of aluminum alloy) located inside “the tube” (4) and having a higher thermal conductivity than the filler” (the bar 53 is made of aluminum alloy and the filler 3 is made of epoxy resin and iron powder. It is inherently and necessarily that the aluminum alloy has a higher thermal conductivity than iron and epoxy. See attached for NPL, thermal conductivity of aluminum is about 237 W/m·K and thermal conductivity of iron is 80 W/m·K and thermal conductivity of epoxy is about 1-2.02 1 W/(m·K). the higher value suggest the higher thermal conductivity).
Kosaka et al. is silent regarding the case is an electrically insulating case; tube is an electrically insulating tube.
Thurk teaches “an electrically insulating case” (col.2 at lines 15-20, i.e., the housing 3 includes two flat, ring shaped end member ring-shaped end members 12, 13 formed of ceramic material). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kosaka et al. with Thurk, by modifying Kosaka et al.’s case with Thurk’s insulated case, to allow alternating magnetic fields to pass straight through without absorbing energy or generating resistance, prevent coils from short circuits and provide heat, corrosion and chemical resistance.
Kazuhiro teaches “an electrically insulating tube” (abstract, i.e., a resin mold portion 21 made of an insulating resin. Fig.1, B, 21 pointed at the tube). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kosaka et al. with Kazuhiro, by modifying Kosaka et al.’s tube material according to Kazuhiro’s tube material, to facilitate heat dissipation and dampens mechanical vibration which increase the equipment’s reliability and service life.
Kosaka et al. is silent regarding the tube is formed integrally with the case and has an opening in its upper surface, and the bar is inserted into the tube through the opening in the upper surface, and the filler is located between the tube and the bar.
JP 5245939 teaches “the tube is formed integrally with the case and has an opening in its upper surface, and the bar is inserted into the tube through the opening in the upper surface, and the bar is in contact with the bottom” (fig.3 shows the tube 3 integrally with the case has an opening int its upper surface, and the bar (fig.9, 10) is inserted into the tube 3 in the upper surface, and the bar 10 is in contact with bottom of the case (see fig.13, bar 10 in contact with the bottom of the case 7)). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kosaka et al. with JP 5245939, by modifying Kosaka et al.’s tube and bar configuration according to JP 5245939’s tube and bar configuration, to allow bar engages the maximum amount of available depth which creates a stronger and more secure hold.
Mattozzi et al. teaches “the filler” (124) is located between “the tube” (110 and 114 pointed at a tube) and “the bar” (106). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify Kosaka et al. with Mattozzi et al., by modifying Kosaka et al.’s tube and bar configuration according to Mattozzi et al.’s tube and bar configuration having filler, to provide robust physical barrier ensure coil never scratch the center rod.
Regarding claim 7, modified Kosaka et al. discloses “the pillar extends to a level of an upper end of the case in an up-down direction” (Kosaka et al., figs.1-2, 4, 53 and 11 collectively forms a pillar. At least 53 of the pillar extends to a level of an upper end of the case in an up-down direction).
Regarding claim 8, modified Kosaka et al. discloses “the pillar” (Kosaka et al., figs.1-2, 4, 53 and 11 collectively forms a pillar) includes:
“a frustum-shaped lower portion extending from the bottom of the case and having a diameter that gradually decreases upward” (Kosaka et al., figs.1-2, lower portion of 4 extending from the bottom of the case and having a diameter that gradually decreases upward for at least a segment); and
“an upper portion extending from the lower portion and having a diameter that is substantially constant up to an upper end of the upper portion” (Kosaka et al., figs.1-2, at least 4 has an upper portion extending from the lower portion and having a diameter that is substantially constant up to an upper end of the upper portion).
Regarding claim 9, modified Kosaka et al. discloses “the heat-generating element includes a coil” (Kosaka et al., figs.1-2, 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s remark filed on 08/13/2026 has been considered. IDS has been considered. Examiner agrees with amended portion overcame prior rejections. However, examiner has provided additional references for current rejections.
Conclusion
/JIMMY CHOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761