DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application claims priority to the Provisional filed on 11/29/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted, IDS - 11/21/2023. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 03/06/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-17 ad 19-21 remain pending in the application. Claims 1 and 20 were amended. New claim 21 added and claim 18 were cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of
rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be
the same under either status.
form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action:
in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention.
or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section
122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another
inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed
invention.
Claims 1-5, 10-16 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being
anticipated by Walter et al. (US-20150327282-A1) hereinafter “Walter”.
Regarding Claim 1,
Walter discloses, ‘A Wi-Fi system, comprising: a first Wi-Fi device, configured to collect first channel capability information corresponding to the first Wi-Fi device’ (A first wi-fi device config to collect first capability info disclosure initial channel config component to select channel, Walter [0062], initial channel selection parameters and condition [0062-0065].
In Fig. 1 illustrates Wi-Fi system of WLAN comprises: access points and access terminals are capable of transmit/receive in a wireless communication [0035]. And, in Fig. 2 illustrates the access point includes an initial channel configuration component; And, default channel that can transmit/receive channel capability specifically the configurations [0062-0065, 0075]. Disclosure includes: IEEE 802.11 variants [0052, 0094-0096]);
And discloses, ‘and a second Wi-Fi device, configured to collect and transmit second channel capability information corresponding to the second Wi-Fi device to the first Wi-Fi device, wherein the first Wi-Fi device analyzes the first channel capability information and the second channel capability information in a connected mode to select an optimized channel accordingly,
wherein the first Wi-Fi device is an access point device, and the second Wi-Fi device is a station device.’ (And, a second device collect/transmit second channel capability of the second wi-fi to first device includes channel selection component configuration to select/re-select an optimal channel to communicate between the first device and the second device based on measurement-value/utility [0037].
The first device analyze the first channel and the second channel, based on most important capability to analyze the channel and do optimization includes channel selection component to select/re-select optimal channel [0042] based on communication quality threshold. Parameters includes, QoS value, received power indicator, a throughput value, channel busy and spectral scan measurement [0043, 0045]. And, channel selection component include a channel list configured, channel ranked based on the utility criteria and also the potential channel available [0057-0058].
In Fig. 2 illustrates the access point includes components: an initial channel configuration component can receive the second channel capability from the access terminal. The channel selection component enable/configure the access point to select a current channel base on the initial configuration and also include the current channel component; The channel selection component also identify the optimized channel based on channel quality value associated with the current channel [0043, 0045].
The access point configured to monitor both the current channel the access point is communicating and other available channels to determine optimal channel to facilitate the access terminal. Includes: reselection, utility table and a channel switch operation to evaluate the quality of current channels [0030-0031].
Fig. 5 illustrates to determine whether the channel quality associated with the current channel meets threshold value alternatively to trigger selection of a potential channel and perform channel reselection procedures [0076, 0079]. )
Walter discloses, the first Wi-Fi device is an access point device, and the second Wi-Fi device is a station device. (Fig. 1 includes the access point and the access terminal. )
Regarding Claim 2,
‘The Wi-Fi system according to claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Walter discloses, ‘wherein the first Wi-Fi device selectively switches a working channel from a first Wi-Fi channel to a second Wi-Fi channel in the connected mode depending on whether the optimized channel is consistent with the working channel.’ (disclosure include dynamic channel selection in the access point based on three components: a reselection trigger, a utility table and a channel switch operation. And, measure current transmission quality to a certain threshold. The measurements are performed repeatedly (e.g., periodically) to update the utility table in Fig. 2 and the channel switch execution [0031-0033]. In addition, maintain/evaluate the optimal channel [0037, 0042, 0062, 0065] and in Fig. 3. The channel selection component includes the default channel and the initial channel selection [0064]. Further, the channel selection parameters include measurements to evaluate/determine the initial channel conditions to identify the optimal channel based on one or more selection parameters [0064-0065]. The channel selection parameters and the evaluation determine the working channel is consistent.)
Regarding Claim 3,
‘The Wi-Fi system according to claim 2’ (disclosed above),
Walter discloses, ‘wherein the first Wi-Fi device transmits a channel switch request to the second Wi-Fi device if the first Wi-Fi device determines to switch the working channel from the first Wi-Fi channel to the second Wi-Fi channel in the connected mode.’ (disclosure includes the channel switch procedures based on trigger or channel reselection of procedure of the current channel based on the parameters as channel quality [0043-0044] as part of dynamic channel selection [0029, 0031, 0033-0034] includes: reactive measurement, proactive trigger based on criteria and perform evaluation in Fig. 2 and Fig. 3. [0042-0043, 0048-0049]. In Fig. 3 includes initial channel configuration component configured to select/re-select to the optimal channel base the trigger condition, selection parameters and the measurement [0062-0063].)
Regarding Claim 4,
‘The Wi-Fi system according to claim 3’ (disclosed above),
Walter discloses, ‘wherein the second Wi-Fi device transmits an acknowledgment to the first Wi-Fi device in response to the channel switch request.’ (as part of dynamic channel selection perform measurements channel scan and the channel switch procedures [0031-0033]. The reselection includes measurements that further measures based on the ACK received [0034]. )
Regarding Claim 5,
‘The Wi-Fi system according to claim 2’ (disclosed above),
Walter discloses, ‘wherein the first Wi-Fi device switches the working channel from the first Wi-Fi channel to the second Wi-Fi channel if the optimized channel is different from the working channel, and the first Wi-Fi device remains using the first Wi-Fi channel as the working channel if the optimized channel is consistent with the working channel.’ (Channel switch procedures and the optimizations includes channel selection parameters and current channel selection are illustrated in Fig. 2 and Fig. 3. The channel switch or re-selection of the current channel determination based on quality and threshold value [0043-0044] includes parameters QoS, reception indicator, throughput [0045].)
Regarding Claim 10,
‘The Wi-Fi system according to claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Walter discloses, ‘wherein the second channel capability information comprises a channel availability field representing N candidate Wi-Fi channels accessible for the second Wi-Fi device, wherein N is a positive integer greater than or equivalent to 2.’ (disclosure includes the access point to dynamically monitor both current channel and other-available channels to determine optimal channel [0030].)
Regarding Claim 11,
‘The Wi-Fi system according to claim 10’ (disclosed above),
Walter discloses, ‘wherein the second Wi-Fi device scans the N candidate Wi-Fi channels to collect the second channel capability information.’ (disclosure Claim 29 to Claim 31. includes the access terminal detect/scan the one or more channels of the access point based on the selection parameters: measurements, channel quality. The channel selection component enable/configure the access-point to monitor current channel and channels can be available. And, continuously determine whether a trigger is detected for a channel switch based on quality of the current channel to ensure communication on most optimal channel [0043]. And, in Fig. 2 channel-list sorted/ranked based on utility values. The utility value U5 is ranked higher than U8 current channel [0058]..
Disclosure includes the wireless network includes the access point and the access terminal. And, the access terminal can act as the access point [0035-0036]. )
Regarding Claim 12,
‘The Wi-Fi system according to claim 10’ (disclosed above),
Walter discloses, ‘wherein the second channel capability information comprises a quality factor field, and the quality factor field comprises M bitwise quality indicators, wherein the M bitwise quality indicators respectively correspond to M quality factors, and M is a positive integer.’ (the second channel capability includes the channel quality includes: measurement and threshold. Disclosure Claim 29 to Claim 31. The channel-list are formed based on the utility value/criteria [0058].)
Regarding Claim 13,
‘The Wi-Fi system according to claim 10’ (disclosed above),
Walter discloses, ‘wherein the second channel capability information comprises a quality factor field, and the quality factor field comprises M bitwise quality indicators, wherein the M bitwise quality indicators respectively correspond to M quality factors, and M is a positive integer.’ (disclosure includes the channel selection/reselection procedures: reselection trigger, utility table and channel switch operation. And, evaluated/measure the channel quality, certain threshold and combined into an effective trigger metric [0031-0032] and Fig. 2. And, channel ranked/sorted based on the utility value determined by proactive component; example, comparison between a current channel and available channel [0057-0058].)
Regarding Claim 14,
‘The Wi-Fi system according to claim 13’ (disclosed above),
Walter discloses, ‘wherein P of the M bitwise quality indicators are set as enabled, and the P enabled bitwise quality indicators respectively correspond to P quality factors among the M quality factors, wherein P is a positive integer, and P is smaller than or equivalent to M.’ (disclosure includes channel quality determination/identification based on factors: QoS, receive power level, throughput, channel quality to certain threshold, measurement, RSSI [0045-0046] and Fig. 2.)
Regarding Claim 15,
‘The Wi-Fi system according to claim 14’ (disclosed above),
Walter discloses, ‘wherein the second channel capability information represents P qualities of the N candidate Wi-Fi channels, and the P quality factors indicate the P qualities of the N candidate Wi-Fi channels.’ (the channel quality factors [0045-0046] and Fig. 2.)
Regarding Claim 16,
‘The Wi-Fi system according to claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Walter discloses, ‘further comprising: a third Wi-Fi device, configured to collect and transmit a third channel capability information to the first Wi-Fi device, wherein the first Wi-Fi device analyzes the first channel capability information, the second channel capability information, and the third channel capability information to select the optimized channel accordingly.’ (Disclosure includes the channel selection component includes components/sub-components: channel evaluate, trigger, select/reselect to an optimal/most suitable channel for enhanced communication with one or more additional devices/access terminals [0030, 0037, 0042] and Fig. 2. )
Regarding Claim 19,
‘The Wi-Fi system according to claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Walter discloses, ‘wherein the first Wi-Fi device analyzes the first channel capability information and accordingly selects one of a plurality of candidate Wi-Fi channels as a default channel before the second Wi-Fi device becomes associated with the first Wi-Fi device, and the second Wi-Fi device transmits the second channel capability information to the first Wi-Fi device on the default channel when the second Wi-Fi device is associated with the first Wi-Fi device.’ (Identical to Claim 1 disclosed above and in addition, Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 includes initial channel configuration and select the default channels [0064].)
Regarding Claim 20,
A method claim Identical to Claim 1 disclosed above, ‘A channel allocation method applied to a Wi-Fi system comprising a first Wi-Fi device and a second Wi-Fi device, wherein the channel allocation method comprises steps of: the first Wi-Fi device collecting first channel capability information corresponding to the first Wi-Fi device; the second Wi-Fi device collecting and transmitting second channel capability information corresponding to the second Wi-Fi device to the first Wi-Fi device; and the first Wi-Fi device analyzing the first channel capability information and the second channel capability information in a connected mode to select an optimized channel accordingly, wherein the first Wi-Fi device is an access point device, and the second Wi-Fi device is a station device.’ (Walter, the first device the access point and the second device the access terminal also a STA [0036]. And, the channel allocation method disclosed above in Claim 1. Capability to determine optimized channel by the channel selection component. And, perform select/re-select to the optimal channel or most suitable available channel based on the components reactive/proactive trigger component. And, the channel selection component enable/configure the first device to monitor one or more current channel currently communicating and potential channel be available based on the channel quality [0042-0044]. )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any
correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will
not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale
supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action:
claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the
differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the
claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing
date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which
he claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner
in which the invention was made.
under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
• Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
• Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
• Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
• Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating
• obviousness or nonobviousness.
claims the examiner presumes that the subject matter of the various claims was commonly owned as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention(s) absent any
evidence to the contrary. Applicant is advised of the obligation under 37 CFR 1.56 to
point out the inventor and effective filing dates of each claim that was not commonly
owned as of the effective filing date of the later invention in order for the examiner to
consider the applicability of 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) for any potential 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2)
prior art against the later invention.
Claims 6-9, 17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Walter et al. in view of Lei et al. (US-20200178324-A1) hereinafter “Lei”.
Regarding Claim 6,
‘The Wi-Fi system according to claim 2’ (disclosed above),
Walter discloses, ‘wherein the second Wi-Fi device collects and transmits the second channel capability information in the connected mode’ (disclosed above in Claim 1),
‘in a connection establishment mode’,
Lei in the relevant art discloses, in Fig. 7 and Fig. 8 illustrates connection establishment procedure between the access point and the STA [0118-0124].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Walter and to include with that of Lei to come up with the claim invention,
Walter motive to optimize channel select/re-select procedures, disclosed in Claim 1 [0030-0033, 0037, 0042-0044], Fig. 2, and Fig. 3. And, includes initial channel configuration, spectral scan and beacon as part of dynamic channel selection. Disclosure includes, comprehensive procedures for the channel optimizations. Includes hysteresis components, Fig. 2. In addition, the channel quality criteria, measurements, throughput and parameters. Including the hysteresis of pre-connected mode would reduce the latency and increase throughput.
And, therefore, would include the connection establishment mode. Someone would be motivated to include pairing procedure, between the access points and the access terminal, Lei disclosure, Table-4 [0197], Fig. 7 and Fig. 8. The accelerated link setup time required to be less while maintaining robust network association security level [0078]. To include ALS in the hysteresis, disclosure of Walter to increase the throughput.
And, further to include disclosed above, ‘wherein the first Wi-Fi device and the second Wi-Fi device enter the connected mode after the connection establishment mode is complete.’
Regarding Claim 7,
‘The Wi-Fi system according to claim 6’ (disclosed above),
Disclosed above in Claim 6, ‘wherein before the second Wi-Fi device collects and transmits the second channel capability information in the connection establishment mode’,
Walter discloses, ‘the first Wi-Fi device transmits a first channel selection indicator to the second Wi-Fi device, or the first Wi-Fi device transmits the first channel selection indicator to the second Wi-Fi device to respond to a second channel selection indicator transmitted by the second Wi-Fi device.’ (in Fig. 2 and Fig. 3 illustrates channel selection component and uses the initial channel configuration and the current channel selection procedures.)
Regarding Claim 8,
‘The Wi-Fi system according to claim 6’ (disclosed above),
Walter discloses, ‘wherein in the connected mode, the second Wi-Fi device transmits a query-reply to the first Wi-Fi device in response to a query-ask transmitted by the first Wi-Fi device, wherein the query-reply selectively comprises the second channel capability information, or the second Wi-Fi device transmits an optimization request comprising the second channel capability information to the first Wi-Fi device.’ (In Fig. 3, Channel selection components includes the channel evaluation conditions to periodically update the utility table. Analyze the current channel based on trigger component measure and checks the channel quality defined in utility criteria as illustrated in Fig. 2 and Fig. 3. While connected, the channel selection components includes proactive and reactive trigger components to configured to measure/evaluate the channel conditions periodical basis and perform the channel reselection procedures to identify a potential channel exhibits certain thresholds than the current channel [0034, 0049, 0056].)
Regarding Claim 9,
‘The Wi-Fi system according to claim 8’ (disclosed above),
Walter discloses, ‘wherein the second Wi-Fi device transmits another optimization request comprising the second channel capability information to the first Wi-Fi device if the query-reply excludes the second channel capability information.’ (In Fig. 2, the channel selection components configured to select/re-select to an optimal channel for enhanced communication to select/re-select to most suitable available channel based on both the proactive/reactive trigger component [0042]. And, the channel selection components ensure the access point communicates on the most optimized channel [0043]. And, periodically monitor channel conditions [0077].)
Regarding Claim 17,
‘The Wi-Fi system according to claim 16’ (disclosed above),
Walter discloses, ‘wherein the first Wi-Fi device and the second Wi-Fi device perform’ procedure to optimized channels, ‘and the first Wi-Fi device and the third Wi-Fi device perform on the optimized channel.’ (disclosed above in Claim 1 and disclosure, Fig. 2 and Fig. 3, the optimal channels for facilitating communication one or more access terminals [0045, 0070-0073, 0100] and Fig. 1),
And, didn’t disclose, ‘a plurality of first frame exchange procedures’, and ‘a plurality of second frame exchange procedures’,
Lei in the relevant art discloses, frame transmit/receive procedure and associated to the network/access point and completed the connection. Additional, frame transmit/receive and a security enhanced connection procedures while connection establish [0129, 0163-0164, 0170-0175], and Fig. 9 to Fig. 13.
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Walter and to include with that of Lei to come up with the claim invention,
Motivation would be identical to Claim 7 to increase the throughput. Disclosure, Walter includes association measurements, RSSI, and an adjacent channel access points [0034] and Fig. 2. And, didn’t include the frame transmit/receive procedures.
In addition, this would reduce interference in surrounding access points and increase throughput gain [0038].
Regarding Claim 21,
‘The Wi-Fi system according to claim 1’ (disclosed above),
Lei discloses, ‘wherein the second Wi-Fi device transmits a capability reporting frame carrying the second channel capability information to the first Wi-Fi device, and the first Wi-Fi device parses the capability reporting frame to acquire the second channel capability information.’
The second device/STA send accelerated capability indicator in a frame to accelerate the link setup effectively and ALS-IE used [0098]. And, the first device parses information [0099-0100].
Therefore, a person in the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have recognized that the disclosure of Walter and to include with that of Lei to come up with the claim invention,
Walter motive to optimize the channel selection procedure by channel selection component includes hysteresis uses the channel list configured and determination between the current and the potential based on the utility. Example, a utility value U5 ranked higher than a U8 in Fig. 2. That can be enhanced by the ALS-link setup procedure optimization between the first device and the second device reduce delay Lei [0089].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are
not persuasive.
Applicant arguments and Examiner response,
applicant argument regarding the claim 1, examiner respectfully disagree and provide relevant disclosures in addition to presented OA above.
A first wi-fi device config to collect first capability info disclosure initial channel config component to select channel, Walter [0062], initial channel selection parameters/condition [0062-0065].
And, a second device collect/transmit second channel capability of the second wi-fi to first device includes channel selection component configuration to select/re-select an optimal channel to communicate between the first device and the second device based on measurement-value/utility [0037].
The first device analyze the first channel and second channel, based on most important capability to analyze the channel and do optimization includes channel selection component to select/re-select optimal channel [0042] based on communication quality threshold. Parameters includes, QoS value, received power indicator, a throughput value, channel busy and spectral scan measurement [0043, 0045]. And, channel selection component include channel list configured, channel ranked based on utility criteria and also the potential channel available [0057-0058].
In Fig. 5 illustrates current channel selection and determination between the current channel and potential channel quality gain value [0077].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a).
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a). A
shortened statutory period for reply to this final action is set to expire THREE MONTHS
from the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO
MONTHS of the mailing date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed
until after the end of the THREE-MONTH shortened statutory period, then the shortened
statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action is mailed, and any extension
fee pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be calculated from the mailing date of the advisory
action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for reply expire later than SIX
MONTHS from the date of this final action.
conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an
interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request
(AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Syed Ahmed whose telephone number is (703)-756-5308. The examiner can normally be reached from Monday-Friday 9am-6pm. The examiner can also be reached on alternate If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Faruk Hamza can be reached on (571) 272-7969. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service
Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/S.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466