Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-4 & 6-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 is rejected as it recites the limitation “and/or” in line 6. The limitation “and/or” renders the scope of the claim unclear because it is ambiguous whether the feature, namely the “before” and “after” step, is a required limitation or merely an optional non-limiting feature despite there being functional language. For the same reason, claim 7, which recites the limitation “and/or”, and dependent claim 4 are rejected as well.
Claim 3 is rejected as it recites the limitation “the respective loop” in lines 5 & 6. The limitation renders the scope of the claim unclear because it is ambiguous whether “the respective loop” refers to “U-shaped loop” in claim 1, line 7, or refers to “auxiliary loop” in claim 3, line 4. For the same reason, dependent claims 4 is rejected as well by virtue of their dependency.
Claim 6 is rejected as it recites the limitation "the auxiliary loop" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and renders the scope of the claim unclear because it is unclear whether the limitation refers to “the loop” in claim 1 or to “an auxiliary loop” in claim 3 which it is not dependent upon.
For the same reasons, claim 6 is rejected as it recites the limitation “the terminating dome” in line 2 as there is insufficient antecedent basis and is unclear whether claim 6 was intended to be dependent upon claim 3 which recites the limitation.
As such, it is not clear how the claimed limitation is intended to be interpreted. For the purpose of this office action, the claim has been examined, as best understood, to encompass any of the potential reasonable interpretations noted above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, & 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brettschneider et al (E.P. Patent Application Publication 3641105 A1) hereinafter Brettschneider.
Regarding claim 1, Brettschneider discloses (Title: DC Motor and Method for the Production Thereof) a method of forming a stator winding of a stator (stator 30, p. 2, ll. 2) for an electric motor (direct current motor 1, p. 2, ll. 1), the method comprising:
providing a stator lamination stack of the stator (p. 6, ll. 25, “stator core 3 made of layered laminations”) with an insulating end disc (insulating material body 7, p. 2, ll. 4),
winding stator teeth (poles 4, p. 2, ll. 4) protruding in a radial direction (p. 6, ll. 25-26, “poles 4 which… extend radially inwards”) with a winding wire (wire connections 18, p. 2, ll. 23);
after winding a predefined number of stator teeth (p. 3, ll. 31-33, “the number of contact sections (20) should correspond to the number of poles (4)”; contact section 20 is a segment [exposed outer region] of wire connection 18), guiding the winding wire away from the stator lamination stack and then back (p. 6, ll. 27-28, “a wire connection 18 is made radially beyond the outer diameter of the stator core 3 and the insulating material body 7; p. 6, ll. 40-41, “the wire connections 18 extending substantially axially parallel over the winding head 43 away from the stator core”), forming a U-shaped loop (U-shaped wire connection 18, p. 2, ll. 23); and
using the loop for connecting the winding wire to a motor electronics (contact unit 16, p. 3, ll. 7) of the electric motor.
Regarding claim 2, Brettschneider further discloses laying the loop to be oriented at least approximately radially outward from the stator lamination stack (p. 2, ll. 31-32, “the wire connection 18… projecting axially or radially outward”).
Regarding claim 5, Brettschneider further discloses forming the loop or each loop in a gamma shape (V-shape, p. 3, ll. 19).
Regarding claim 7, Brettschneider further discloses clamping the winding wire in a fixing slot (p. 8, ll. 14-30, FIGS. 10, 14, & 15 detail cover ring 64a and cover flap 101b which forms a space at the insulation cap/ends, creating a space) of the insulating end disc before and/or after forming the respective loop (p. 7, ll. 37-43, Brettschneider discloses clamping tongues 31 used to clamp together the motor housing, legs of wire connections 18, and busbar 14 together).
Regarding claim 8, Brettschneider further discloses placing a contacting ring (contact unit 16 a, with busbars 14a, contact projections 13a, contact hooks 17a, and contact carrier 58a, p. 8, ll. 8-10) having a number of receiving windows (FIGS. 10 & 13 depicts contact unit 16a having openings allowing for wire connections 18 to extend outward and above the structure, hidden beneath cover ring 64a) corresponding to a number of the loops on the wound insulating end disc, and laying the loops radially towards an inside over the contacting ring, and laying each loop in a correspondingly assigned receiving window.
Regarding claim 9, Brettschneider further discloses contacting the respective loop by way of an insulation displacement contact (contact hook 17, p. 3, ll. 7) which is inserted in the contacting ring (p. 3, ll. 6-7, “If the contact section (20) of the wire connection (18) is easily accessible, it is easier to make electrical contact with a contact hook (17) of a contact unit (16)”).
Regarding claim 10, Brettschneider discloses (Title: DC Motor and Method for the Production Thereof) a sheet-metal stator (stator 30, p. 2, ll. 2) for an electric motor (direct current motor 1, p. 2, ll. 1), the stator comprising:
a stator lamination stack (p. 6, ll. 25, “stator core 3 made of layered laminations”) with an insulating end disc (insulating material body 7, p. 2, ll. 4);
stator teeth (poles 4, p. 2, ll. 4) protruding in a radial direction (p. 6, ll. 25-26, “poles 4 which… extend radially inwards”); and
winding wire (wire connections 18, p. 2, ll. 23) wound around said stator teeth; and
after a predefined number of stator teeth (p. 3, ll. 31-33, “the number of contact sections (20) should correspond to the number of poles (4)”; contact section 20 is a segment [exposed outer region] of wire connection 18), a course of said winding wire being guided roughly radially towards an outside of said stator lamination stack (p. 6, ll. 27-28, “a wire connection 18 is made radially beyond the outer diameter of the stator core 3 and the insulating material body 7; p. 6, ll. 40-41, “the wire connections 18 extending substantially axially parallel over the winding head 43 away from the stator core”), forming a substantially U-shaped loop (U-shaped wire connection 18, p. 2, ll. 23), with the loop being provided for contacting a motor electronics (contact unit 16, p. 3, ll. 7) of the electric motor) of the electric motor.
Regarding claim 11, Brettschneider further discloses an electric motor (direct current motor 1, p. 2, ll. 1), comprising the sheet metal stator.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4 & 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brettschneider, and further in view of Chen et al (U.S. Patent Application Publication 20200381973 A1) hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claim 3, Brettschneider discloses wherein the insulating end disc is formed with a plurality of terminating domes protruding in an axial direction (guides 54a, p. 4, ll. 14) and the method comprises arranging each loop next to one of the terminating domes in a circumferential direction of the stator lamination stack (p. 8, ll. 7-13, Brettschneider details flaps 101a, wire connections 18a, and contact hooks 17a have widths such that they fit between guides 54a which projects axially from the yoke ring cover 8a, as depicted in FIG. 13).
However, Brettschneider fails to disclose laying an auxiliary loop for fixing the respective loop around the corresponding terminating dome before and/or after forming the respective loop in the laying direction of the winding wire.
Chen discloses (Title: Brushless Motor Stator Wound with a Single Winding Wire) a method of forming a stator winding of a stator (stator core 10, ¶31) for an electric motor (brushless motor rotor, ¶30), the method comprising:
laying an auxiliary loop (stator winding 20, ¶21, “stator winding in a form of multiple turns”; ¶36, “stator winding 20 may take the form of multiple turns wound around the outer surfaces of the teeth”; annotated FIG. 3 depicts the wire mapped as the auxiliary loop) for fixing the respective loop (extended segment 21, 22, & 23, ¶34) around the corresponding terminating dome (teeth, ¶32) before and/or after forming the respective loop in the laying direction of the winding wire (FIG. 3 depicts the winding wrapped around the teeth before and after the formation of extended segments).
Brettschneider discloses a method for manufacturing a stator comprising of the steps of providing a stator lamination stack with an insulating disk, winding the stator teeth with a winding wire, and forming u-shaped loops with the wire situated between terminating domes, namely guides, to position each loop. Chen discloses also discloses a method for manufacturing a stator, and utilizes teeth positioned circumferentially at the axial ends of the stator body for auxiliary loops to be formed before and after the formation of extended wire segments to position for proper positioning. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to take the method of Chen’s step of winding around the surface of the teeth and implement it into Brettschneider’s method as it is known to avoid unnecessary twisting and interference of the winding during manufacturing due to the wires being intertwined with each other (Chen, ¶36). Furthermore, it would have been obvious to a POSITA to use such a method as it would allow for greater mechanical retention support of the wire extending outside the stator body, reducing stress at exit and windows.
Regarding claim 4, Brettschneider in view of Chen teaches the method according to claim 1, as detailed above, and Chen further discloses laying the auxiliary loop through at least 360 degrees around the terminating dome (FIG. 3 depicts teeth 131, 132, 133, & 134 being completely wrapped by the winding 20).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 3, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 4 in the manner of using teeth to guide stator windings).
Regarding claim 6, Brettschneider in view of Chen teaches the method according to claim 1, as detailed above, and Chen further discloses laying the auxiliary loop through at least 360 degrees around the terminating dome (FIG. 3 depicts teeth 131, 132, 133, & 134 being completely wrapped by the winding 20).
(Regarding the reason to combine references, refer to the rejection of claim 3, supra, as it is applicable to the rejection of claim 6 in the manner of using teeth to guide stator windings).
Conclusion
/E.D.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3729
/JEFFREY T CARLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3729