DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 21 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 21, line 15, “configured to sprays” shall be changed to –configured to spray --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(a) (a) IN GENERAL.—The specification shall contain a written description of the invention, and of the manner and process of making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and use the same, and shall set forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor or joint inventor of carrying out the invention.
Claims 8 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claimed “pressure chamber” in claims 8 and 28 is deemed to be a new matter not supported by the originally filed specification because the phrase “pressure chamber” caused the claims to read literally on the lower pressure chamber. However, the originally filed specification only discloses a high pressure chamber.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishi et al. (US 2012/0234356 A1) in view of Sugimoto et al. (KR20060049902 A).
Nishi et al. discloses a substrate treating apparatus 1 (Fig. 2) comprising: treating modules 21 (Fig. 2) having an opening for taking in and taking out a substrate W (Fig. 2); and an air flow generating member 22, 23 for generating a downward airflow at each treating module 21 (Fig. 3), and wherein the air flow generating member includes: a fan unit 41 configured to supply air (Fig. 3); a spray unit 222,223 provided above the treating module 21 and which sprays the air supplied from the fan unit 41; and an exhaust unit 311,212 configured to exhaust the air sprayed by the spray unit 222,223 to outside of the treating module 21 (Fig. 3). However, Nishi et al. does not disclose the treating module are stacked on each other. Sugimoto et al. discloses a substrate treating apparatus 100 comprising: treating modules 8, 20, 40 (Fig. 2) having an opening (PASS) for taking in and taking out a substrate (translation, page 7, 6th paragraph) and which are stacked on each other (Figs. 2, 4, 5). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the substrate treating apparatus of Nishi et al. to stack the treating module on each other as taught by Sugimoto in order to save space.
Regarding claim 2, Nishi et al .further discloses a control unit 5 controls valves V1 and 43 to change supply amount of the processing solution (paragraph [0060]). Sugimoto discloses the substrate treating apparatus further comprising a control unit 51, CT3, CT4 configured to control the air flow generating member 50, 23, 25, 43, and wherein the control unit CT3, CT4 controls a spray amount of the air sprayed by the spray unit 24, 44 (Fig. 4, via control panel 23, 43) and an exhaust amount exhausted through the exhaust unit 25, 45. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the substrate treating apparatus of Nishi et al. to configure the control unit of Nishi et al. to control a spray mount of the air sprayed by the spray unit and an exhaust amount exhausted through the exhaust unit as taught by Sugimoto in order to improve the substrate treating efficiency.
Claims 3, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishi et al. (US 2012/0234356 A1) in view of Sugimoto et al. (KR20060049902 A) as applied to claim 1 as above, and further in view of Okita et al. (KR20190008939 A).
Regarding claim 3, Nishi et al. further discloses wherein the treating module 21 includes a housing 22 having an inner space and the opening (Figs. 2-3); and an inner chamber21 which is provided at the inner space and having a treating space 21 for treating the substrate W (Fig. 3). Sugimoto further discloses wherein the treating module 20a-c, 40a-e includes: a housing having an inner space (Fig. 3, space within housing) and the opening (translation, page 7, 6th paragraph); and an inner chamber 20a, 20b, 20c, 40a, 40b, 40c, 40d, 40e which is provided at the inner space and having a treating space for treating the substrate, and the substrate treating apparatus further comprising: a control unit CT3, CT4 configured to control the spray unit (Fig. 4, via control panel 23, 43) and the exhaust unit (Fig. 4, via exhaust fan 25). However, Nishi et al. in view of Sugimoto does not disclose the control unit configured to control the spray unit and the exhaust unit so a downward airflow at the inner space is provided at a different speed depending on each substrate treating step at the treating module. Okita et al. teaches a substrate processing apparatus 102 stores the correspondence relationship between ach process of the substrate processing in which the substrate processing apparatus 100 can be executed and the desired opening degree of the adjustment valve 96 as the control information K2 stored in the storage device 12. The control unit 130 obtains the opening degree of the adjusting valve 96 corresponding to the process to be executed by referring to the recipe K1 and the control information K2 and controls the adjusting valve 96 to obtain the obtained opening degree (translation, page 14, 4th paragraph). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the substrate treating apparatus of Nishi et al. in view of Sugimoto to configure the control unit to control the spray unit and the exhaust unit so a downward airflow at the inner space is provided at a different speed depending on each substrate treating step at the treating module as taught by Okita et al. in order to improve the substrate treating efficiency.
Regarding claim 6, Nishi et al. discloses wherein the spray unit 222,223 includes: a diffuser 222, 223 (Fig. 3) connected to a supply duct 402 which is connected to the fan unit 41; and an intake side damper 43, V1for adjusting a supply amount of the air, and wherein the intake side damper 43, V1is controlled by the control unit 5 (Fig. 3).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishi et al. (US 2012/0234356 A1) in view of Sugimoto et al. (KR20060049902 A) and Okita et al. (KR20190008939 A) as applied to claim 3 as above, and further in view of Maeda (KR 20170056459 A).
The substrate treating apparatus of Nishi et al. as modified by Sugimoto et al. and Okita et al. as above includes all that is recited in claim 7 except for wherein the exhaust unit includes: an inner exhaust duct provided at a bottom of the housing, which has an inlet to intake the air and which is connected to an outer exhaust duct; and an exhaust side damper for adjusting an exhaust amount of the air, and wherein the exhaust side damper is controlled by the control unit.
Maeda discloses a substrate treating apparatus comprising an exhaust unit includes: an inner exhaust duct 62 provided at a bottom of the housing (Figs. 7-8), which has an inlet to intake the air and which is connected to an outer exhaust duct (Figs. 7-8, not numbered, pipe where 66 located); and an exhaust side damper 66 for adjusting an exhaust amount of the air, and wherein the exhaust side damper 66 is controlled by the control unit 58. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the exhaust unit of the apparatus of Nishi et al. to include an inner exhaust duct provided at a bottom of the housing, which has an inlet to intake the air and which is connected to an outer exhaust duct; and an exhaust side damper for adjusting an exhaust amount of the air, and wherein the exhaust side damper is controlled by the control unit as taught by Maeda in order to improve the substrate treating efficiency.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishi et al. (US 2012/0234356 A1) in view of Sugimoto et al. (KR20060049902 A) and Okita et al. (KR20190008939 A) as applied to claim 3 as above, and further in view of Park et al. (KR 20220095726).
The substrate treating apparatus of Nishi et al. as modified by Sugimoto et al. and Okita et al. as above includes all that is recite din claim 8 except for wherein the inner chamber is a pressure chamber for performing a supercritical treating process to the substrate, and a supercritical fluid is supplied to the treating space through a fluid supply line connected to the high pressure chamber in a state in which the treating space is sealed. Park et al. discloses a substrate treating apparatus comprising a housing 520 having an inner chamber 502, wherein the inner chamber is a pressure chamber for performing a supercritical treating process to the substrate, and a supercritical fluid 562 is supplied to the treating space through a fluid supply line connected to the high pressure chamber 502 in a state in which the treating space is sealed (Fig. 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify the apparatus of Sugimoto et al. to include a pressure inner chamber for performing a supercritical treating process to the substrate, and a supercritical fluid is supplied to the treating space through a fluid supply line connected to the pressure chamber in a state in which the treating space is sealed as taught by Part et al. in order to dry the substrate W by a drying fluid in a supercritical state to improve the drying efficiency.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5 and 24-25 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 21-28 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 21 includes allowable subject matter because prior art could not be found to disclose a spray unit configured to spray the air supplied from the fan unit in the inner space; and an exhaust unit configured to exhaust the air sprayed by the spray unit to outside of the inner space, wherein, when the treating space is sealed, the spray unit is configured to supply the air only to a region from the inner space outside the inner chamber with all of the limitations of independent claim 21. Nishi et al. discloses a substrate treating apparatus comprising a housing 14 having an inner space; an inner chamber 2 which is provided at the inner space 142 (Fig. 2) and having a treating space 21 for treating the substrate W (Fig. 3; an air flow generating member 147 for generating a downward air flow in the inner space (Fig. 1). Park et al. (US 2020/0227253 A1) discloses a substrate treating chamber comprises a top body 14 and a bottom body 12 coupled together to define a treating space and an elevating member 16 configured to move one of the top body and the bottom body in a vertical direction relative to the other such that the treating space is opened or sealed. However, prior art could not be found to disclose the limitation of a spray unit configured to spray the air supplied from the fan unit in the inner space; and an exhaust unit configured to exhaust the air sprayed by the spray unit to outside of the inner space, wherein, when the treating space is sealed, the spray unit is configured to supply the air only to a region from the inner space outside the inner chamber as recited in claim 21.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Jessica Yuen/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3762
JY