DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I (claims 1-10 and 17-20) in the reply filed on 3/13/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the various features of figures/species are not mutually exclusive with one another. This is not found persuasive because each Species requires distinct features, for example distinct second fixed portions (i.e. c-ring groove, fixing pin counterpart embodied as a fixing pin receiving hole or groove, an elastically-deformable portion, screw-coupled, etc.) which the prior art applicable to one species would not likely be applicable to another species. Therefore, Applicant’s argument is not persuasive.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. As such, claims 11-16 are withdrawn from further examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hiramatsu et al (US 2003/0132218 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hiramatsu et al (‘218) discloses a substrate processing apparatus (abstract) comprising:
a heating plate 1 (para[0073], fig5(a)) for heating a substrate 9 (para[0041], fig5(a)); and
a through proximity pin 20 (para[0070], fig4(a)) installed in the heating plate 1 (fig5(a)) so as to pass through a through-hole 41 (para[0073]) formed in the heating plate 1 such that the substrate 9 is spaced from the heating plate 1 by a spacing (fig5(a)) via the through proximity pin 20.
Regarding claim 2¸ Hiramatsu et al discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the through proximity pin 20 includes:
a head 21 (para[0070]) having a top (fig4(a)), wherein a vertical level of the top is higher than a vertical level of an upper surface 1a (para[0074]) of the heating plate 1 by the spacing so that the top is in contact with the substrate 9 (fig5(a));
a first fixed portion 22 (para[0070]) connected to the head 21 and having a diameter larger than a diameter of the through-hole 41 (fig5(a)) so that the first fixed portion 22 and the head 21 connected thereto is supported on the heating plate 1 (fig5(a)); and
a waist 23 (para[0070]) connected to the first fixed portion 22 and having a diameter smaller than or equal to the diameter of the through-hole 41 such that the waist 23 passes through the through-hole 41 (fig5(a)).
Regarding claim 3, Hiramatsu et al (‘218) discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the head 21 has a spherical upper surface (para[0074], “a hemispherical shape”) so as to be in point contact with the substrate 9.
Regarding claim 4, Hiramatsu et al discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the first fixed portion 22 is embodied as a flange (fig4(a)) contacting the upper surface of the heating plate 1 (fig5(a), a grooved portion of the upper surface).
Regarding claim 5, Hiramatsu et al discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the first fixed portion 22 is embodied as a flange (fig4(a)) inserted into a flange groove (fig5(a)) defined in the upper surface 1a of the heating plate 1 and extending from the through-hole 41 (fig5(a)).
Regarding claim 6, Hiramatsu et al discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 5, wherein the flange includes:
a flange body (a body of the flange) protruding outwardly from and extending around the head 21 in a ring shape (fig4(a)); and
a grinding target portion (a bottom surface of the flange body) including a lower surface of the flange body, wherein the grinding target portion is subjected to grinding so that the spacing can be selectively adjusted.
Regarding claim 7, Hiramatsu et al discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 6, wherein the grinding target portion is embodied as a grinding target surface (the bottom surface) or at least one grinding target protrusion.
Regarding claim 8, Hiramatsu et al discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 2, wherein the through proximity pin 20 further includes a second fixed portion 24 (para[0070]) connected to the waist 23 and fixed to the heating plate 1 (fig5(a)).
Regarding claim 9¸ Hiramatsu et al discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 8, wherein the second fixed portion 24 is embodied as a C-ring counterpart (fig5(a), para[0073]) formed in a shape corresponding to a shape of a C-ring 27 (fig5(b)) so that the waist 23 is detachably fitted into the C-ring 27 through an opening (fig5(b)) defined at one side thereof (fig5(a),5(b), para[0073]).
Regarding claim 10¸ Hiramatsu et al discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 9, wherein the C-ring counterpart is embodied as a stepped portion (fig5(a)) having a diameter smaller than the diameter of the through-hole 41 such that at least a portion thereof passes through the through-hole 41, and larger than the diameter of the waist 23 such that the waist is fixed to the heating plate 1 via the C-ring 27, wherein the C-ring 27 includes one selected from a planar C-ring, an inclined C-ring (fig5(b)), and an elastic spring coupled C-ring.
Regarding claim 17, Hiramatsu et al discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, wherein the through proximity pin 20 has a length larger than a thickness of the heating plate 1 (fig5(a)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hiramatsu et al (US 2003/0132218 A1) in view of Zhang et al (US 2021/0225689 A1).
Regarding claim 18¸ Hiramatsu et al discloses the substrate processing apparatus of claim 1, however, does not explicitly disclose that the heating plate is embodied as an ultra-thin heating plate with a thickness of 2mm or smaller. Zhang et al (‘689) teaches that it is known to use a heat plate (abstract, para[0002], “a hot plate”) for a liquid film curing process of baking the substrate (para[0002]) so as to dry a liquid film including a photo-resistant film (abstract, para[0002]). It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05 II.A.). It is noted that Applicant does not disclose any criticality of the claimed ranges (2mm or smaller) of the thickness of the heating plate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to have a thickness of the heating plate to be 2mm or smaller and to use the heating plate used in a liquid film curing process of baking the substrate, as taught by Zhang et al, as liquid film curing process of baking the substrate is a widely utilized process using a heat plate.
Regarding claim 20, Hiramatsu et al (‘218) discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising:
a heating plate 1 (para[0073], fig5(a)) having a heating wire pattern (abstract) built therein to heat a substrate 9 (para[0041], fig5(a)); and
a through proximity pin 20 (para[0070], fig4(a)) installed in the heating plate 1 (fig5(a)) so as to pass through a through-hole 41 (para[0073]) formed in the heating plate 1 such that the substrate 9 is spaced from the heating plate 1 by a spacing (fig5(a)) via the through proximity pin 20,
wherein the through proximity pin 20 includes:
a head 21 (para[0070]) having a top (fig4(a)), wherein a vertical level of the top is higher than a vertical level of an upper surface 1a (para[0074]) of the heating plate 1 by the spacing so that the top is in contact with the substrate 9 (fig5(a));
a first fixed portion 22 (para[0070]) connected to the head 21 and having a diameter larger than a diameter of the through-hole 41 (fig5(a)) so that the first fixed portion 22 and the head 21 connected thereto is supported on the heating plate 1 (fig5(a));
a waist 23 (para[0070]) connected to the first fixed portion 22 and having a diameter smaller than or equal to the diameter of the through-hole 41 such that the waist 23 passes through the through-hole 41 (fig5(a)); and
a second fixed portion 24 (para[0070]) connected to the waist 23 and fixed to the heating plate 1 (fig5(a)),
wherein the head 21 has a spherical upper surface (para[0074], “a hemispherical shape”) so as to be in point contact with the substrate 9,
wherein the first fixed portion 22 is embodied as a flange (fig4(a)) inserted into a flange groove (fig5(a)) defined in the upper surface 1a of the heating plate 1 and extending from the through-hole 41 (fig5(a)),
wherein the flange includes:
a flange body (a body of the flange) protruding outwardly from and extending around the head 21 in a ring shape (fig4(a)); and
a grinding target portion (a bottom surface of the flange body) including a lower surface of the flange body, wherein the grinding target portion is subjected to grinding so that the spacing can be selectively adjusted,
wherein the second fixed portion 24 is embodied as a C-ring counterpart (fig5(a), para[0073]) formed in a shape corresponding to a shape of a C-ring 27 (fig5(b)) having an opening at one side thereof (fig5(b)) so that the C-ring counterpart is detachably fitting into the C-ring 27 (figs5(a),5(b), para[0073]),
wherein the C-ring counterpart is embodied as a stepped portion (fig5(a)) having a diameter smaller than the diameter of the through-hole 41 such that at least a portion thereof passes through the through-hole 41, and larger than the diameter of the waist 23 such that the waist is fixed to the heating plate 1 via the C-ring 27,
wherein the through proximity pin 20 has a length larger than a thickness of the heating plate 1 (fig5(a)).
However, Hiramatsu et al does not explicitly disclose that the heating plate is embodied as an ultra-thin heating plate with a thickness of 2mm or smaller. Zhang et al (‘689) teaches that it is known to use a heat plate (abstract, para[0002], “a hot plate”) for a liquid film curing process of baking the substrate (para[0002]) so as to dry a liquid film including a photo-resistant film (abstract, para[0002]). It has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation (MPEP 2144.05 II.A.). It is noted that Applicant does not disclose any criticality of the claimed ranges (2mm or smaller) of the thickness of the heating plate. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to have a thickness of the heating plate to be 2mm or smaller and to use the heating plate used in a liquid film curing process of baking the substrate, as taught by Zhang et al, as liquid film curing process of baking the substrate is a widely utilized process using a heat plate.
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takaki et al (US 2021/0005468 A1) in view of Volfovski et al (US 2012/0196242 A1) and Hiramatsu et al (US 2003/0132218 A1).
Regarding claim 19, Takaki et al (‘468) discloses a substrate processing apparatus comprising: a housing 1 (para[0022], fig1) having a treating space (para[0029], “treatment space”) defined therein; and a support unit (fig1, para[0023]) for supporting thereon a substrate W (fig1) received in the treating space, wherein the support unit includes: a heating plate 13 (para[0023]) having a heating wire pattern 14 (para[0024], fig1) built therein to heat the substrate W; a lift pin 15 (para[0024]) installed in the heating plate 13 so as to vertically move the substrate W (para[0024]); a vacuum hole 31 (para[0033]) defined in the heating plate 13 so as to generate a vacuum pressure (“suction”) so that the substrate W is absorbed to the heating plate 13 (para[0041]). However, Takaki et al does not explicitly disclose a use of a guide member for aligning the substrate at a correct position; and a through proximity pin and a through-hole for the through proximity pin to pass through.
Volfovski et al (‘242) teaches a use of a guide member 118 (para[0023]) on a heating plate 102 (para[0015],[0023], fig1) to guide, center, and/or align a substrate, such as with respect to one or more heating zones (para[0023]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takaki et al to use a guide member, as taught by Volfovski et al, to guide, center, and/or align a substrate, such as with respect to one or more heating zones (para[0023]).
Hiramatsu et al (‘218) teaches a use of a through proximity pin 20 (para[0070], figs4(a),5(a)) installed in a heating plate 1 (para[0073], fig5(a)) so as to pass through a through-hole 41 (para[0073]) formed in the heating plate 1 such that the substrate 9 is spaced from the heating plate 1 by a spacing (fig5(a)) via the through proximity pin 20. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Takaki et al to use a through proximity pin and a through hole on a heating plate for the through proximity pin to pass through, as taught by Hiramatsu et al, so that impurity elements contained on a heating plate or sintering aids do not contaminate a substrate (para[0061]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Goto et al (US 8,608,885 B2), Morita et al (US 2006/0289432 A1), Fukuoka et al (US 2006/0216665 A1), and Shirakawa (US 2002/0177094 A1) teach similar substrate processing apparatus.
/SEAHEE HONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723