DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 12/20/2022. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the
10-2022-0181356 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. Per the notice mailed 5/20/24 by the Office, the electronic foreign application retrieval failed.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Compounds 1-112 on Pages 18-21 have poor resolution. The examiner notes that compounds 113-123 have adequate resolution.
The reactions spanning Pages 22-71 also have poor resolution.
Compounds on Pages 84 and 85 have poor resolution.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Compounds 1-112 on Pages 18-21 have poor resolution. The examiner notes that compounds 113-123 have adequate resolution.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bin Ma et al. (US 2022/0407020 A1, hereafter Ma).
Ma discloses heteroleptic Iridium compounds having a formula as described below in Formula 1, wherein cycle C can include polycyclic fused ring structures, comprising 5 or 6 membered rings. Additionally, Ma discloses various exemplified compounds that meet the limitations of the Applicant’s claimed Formula 1 (Pg. 49). Two such compounds are provided below, hereafter named Ma compound 1 and Ma compound 2.
Regarding claim 1, wherein the Applicant claims an organometallic compound represented by Formula 1, Ma meets all the limitations. See compound 2 above.
Regarding claim 2, wherein the Applicant claims an organometallic compound according to claim 1, wherein Formula 1 is represented by Formula 1a or Formula 1b, Ma meets all the limitations. See compound 2 above.
Regarding claim 3, wherein the Applicant claims an organometallic compound according to claim 1, wherein the Formula 1 is represented by Formula 2-1, Ma meets all the limitations. See compound 1 above.
Regarding claim 4, wherein the Applicant claims an organometallic compound according to claim 1, wherein the Formula 1 is represented by one of Formulas 2-2 to 2-5, Ma meets all the limitations. See compounds 1 and/or 2 above.
Regarding claim 5, wherein the Applicant claims an organometallic compound according to claim 1, wherein the organometallic compound is one of compounds in Formula 3, Ma meets all the limitations. Formula I of Ma is described as having the chemical formula of Ir(LA)m(LB)3-m (Ma, Claim 1).
On ligand LB, RE, and RD independently represent mono to the maximum allowable substitution, or no substitution. R1, R2, RE, and RD are independently hydrogen, alkyl, or aryl, among other choices (Ma, Claim 1)
Ligand LA is further described to embody a variety of ligands (Ma, Claim 12). Two relevant ligand structures are shown below. Each of RA, RB, and RC independently represents mono to the maximum allowable substitution, or no substitution. Each of RA, RB, and RC are independently hydrogen, alkyl, aryl, or heteroaryl, among other choices (Ma, Claim 1).
Therefore, Ma meets the limitations of all compounds exemplified in Formula 3.
Regarding claim 6, wherein the Applicant claims an OLED comprising a first electrode, a second electrode facing the first electrode and a first emitting part positioned between the first and second electrodes and including a first emitting material layer, wherein the first emitting material layer includes the organometallic compound of claim 1, Ma meets all the limitations. Ma discloses an OLED in Figure 1 (annotated version provided below), comprising
a first electrode (115)
a second electrode (160)
a first emitting part positioned between the first and second electrodes and including a first emitting material layer (135), and
that the emitting layer includes the organometallic compound of claim 1 [0106-0107].
Regarding claim 7, wherein the Applicant claims an OLED according to claim 6, wherein the organometallic compound is used as a first dopant, and the first emitting material layer further includes a first host, Ma meets all the limitations. Ma discloses that the emissive layer can comprise a compound of Formula 1, and that they can be dopants [0108]. Furthermore, the emissive layer can comprise at least one host [0113].
Regarding claim 8, wherein the Applicant claims an OLED according to claim 7, further comprising:
a second emitting part including a second emitting material layer and positioned between the first emitting part and the first electrode, and
a first charge generation layer between the first and second emitting parts,
Ma meets all the limitations.
Ma discloses that “Other layers not specifically described may also be included,” and that “an OLED may be described as having an ‘organic layer’ disposed between a cathode and an anode. This organic layer may comprise a single layer, or may further comprise multiple layers of different organic materials as described, for example, with respect to Figs. 1 and 2” that “OLEDs may be stacked” [0132-0133]. The examiner asserts that this meets the limitations of claim 8, wherein the OLED contains a second emitting part including a second emitting material layer and positioned between the first emitting part and the first electrode.
Per the Applicant, a charge generation layer (CGL) may be composed of a P-N junction [00363]. The Applicant discloses that the N-type component may include an alkali metal, alkali earth metal, Bphen and MTDATA [00365] and that the P-type component may include an inorganic material or an organic material such as F4TCNQ. Ma discloses that charge generation layers, consisting of an n-doped layer and a p-doped layer, may be implemented in a stacked OLED configuration [0174]. Ma discloses that a p-doped layer consisting of m-TDATA doped with F4TCNQ and that an n-doped layer consisting of Bphen doped with Li may both be implemented in the device architecture [0130]. The examiner asserts that these two layers can be arranged within the OLED of Ma in such a fashion that meets the limitations of claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, wherein the Applicant claims an OLED according to claim 8, wherein the second emitting material layer includes a blue dopant, Ma meets all the limitations. Ma discloses that additional emitter dopants may be implemented in the OLED device [0165-0166]. Ir(ppy)3 is disclosed by Ma as an additional emitter that may be used in the OLED device stack [0165-0166]. Ir(ppy)3 is known to those of ordinary skill in the art to have emission in the blue.
Regarding claim 10, wherein the Applicant claims an OLED according to claim 9, wherein the first emitting part further includes a third emitting material layer disposed under or on the first emitting material layer, Ma meets all the limitations. Ma discloses that an emitting layer may further comprise multiple layers [0132].
Regarding claim 11, wherein the Applicant claims an OLED according to claim 10, wherein the third emitting material layer includes a red dopant, Ma meets all the limitations. Ma discloses that additional emitter dopants may be implemented in the OLED device [0165-0166]. PtOEP is disclosed by Ma as an additional emitter that may be used in the OLED device stack [0165-0166]. PtOEP is a well-known red emitter.
Regarding claim 12, wherein the Applicant claims an OLED according to claim 9, further comprising a
third emitting part positioned between the first emitting part and the second electrode and including a third emitting material layer; and
a second charge generation layer between the first and third emitting parts,
Ma meets all the limitations.
Ma discloses that other emitting layers may also be included in their OLED stack (See paragraph 1 in section 15 of this office action). Ma also discloses the implementation of charge generation layers in their OLED stack (See paragraph 2 in section 15 of this office action). The examiner asserts that this meets the limitations of claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, wherein the Applicant claims the OLED according to claim 12, wherein the third emitting material layer includes a red dopant, Ma meets all the limitations. Ma discloses that additional emitter dopants, such as PtOEP, may be implemented in the OLED device [0165-0166].
Regarding claim 14, wherein the Applicant claims the OLED according to claim 9, further comprising:
A third emitting part positioned between the first emitting part and the second electrode and including a third emitting material layer; and
A second charge generation layer between the first and third emitting parts,
Wherein the first emitting part further includes a fourth emitting material layer disposed under or on the first emitting material layer,
Ma meets all the limitations.
Ma discloses that other emitting layers may also be included in their OLED stack. These layers are capable of further comprising sub-layers (See paragraph 1 in section 15 of this office action). Ma also discloses the implementation of charge generation layers in their OLED stack (See paragraph 2 in section 15 of this office action). The examiner asserts that this meets the limitations of claim 14.
Regarding claim 15, wherein the Applicant claims the OLED according to claim 14, wherein
The third emitting material layer includes a blue dopant, and
The fourth emitting material layer includes a red dopant,
Ma meets all the limitations.
Ma discloses that additional emitter dopants, such as PtOEP and Ir(ppy)3, may be implemented in the OLED device [0165-0166].
Regarding claim 16, wherein the Applicant claims an OLED comprising a
substrate,
an organic light emitting diode disposed on the substrate and including a
first electrode,
a second electrode facing the first electrode,
a first emitting part positioned between the first and second electrodes and including a first emitting material layer;
and an encapsulation covering the OLED,
wherein the first emitting material layer includes the organometallic compound of claim 1,
Ma meets all the limitations. See annotated Figure 1 of Ma above. Furthermore, Ma discloses that the emissive layer can comprise a compound of Formula 1 [0106-0107]. The examiner asserts that the barrier layer of Ma is equivalent to the Applicant’s encapsulation.
The Applicant describes the encapsulation layer as being formed on the second electrode to prevent moisture into the OLED, but it is not limited to an exact definition or composition [00280].
Figure 1 of Ma shows the barrier layer formed on the second electrode, and Ma describes its function as being able to prevent the OLED from encountering harmful species including moisture [0135].
Regarding claim 17, wherein the Applicant claims the OLED according to claim 16, further including
A second emitting part including a second emitting material layer and positioned between the first emitting part and the first electrode; and
A first charge generation layer between the first and second emitting parts,
Wherein the second emitting material layer includes a blue dopant,
Ma meets all the limitations.
Ma discloses that other emitting layers may also be included in their OLED stack stack (See paragraph 1 in section 15 of this office action). These other emitting layers may include additional dopants, such as Ir(ppy)3. Ma also discloses the implementation of charge generation layers in their OLED stack (See paragraph 2 in section 15 of this office action). The examiner asserts that this meets the limitations of claim 17.
Regarding claim 18, wherein the Applicant claims the OLED according to claim 17, wherein
The first emitting part further includes a third emitting material layer disposed under or on the first emitting material layer, and
Wherein the first emitting material layer includes a red dopant,
Ma meets all the limitations.
Ma discloses that an emitting layer may further comprise sub-layers [0132] stack (See paragraph 1 in section 15 of this office action). Ma discloses the incorporation of additional emitters, such as the red-emitting PtOEP, in the device stack of their OLED [0165-0166].
Regarding claim 19, wherein the Applicant claims the OLED according to claim 17, further including
A third emitting part positioned between the first emitting part and the second electrode and including a third emitting material layer; and
A second charge generation layer between the first and third emitting parts,
Wherein the third emitting material layer includes a red dopant,
Ma meets all the limitations.
Ma discloses that other emitting layers may also be included in their OLED stack stack (See paragraph 1 in section 15 of this office action). These other emitting layers may include additional dopants, such as the red-emitting PtOEP. Ma also discloses the implementation of charge generation layers in their OLED stack (See paragraph 2 in section 15 of this office action).
Regarding claim 20, wherein the Applicant claims the OLED according to claim 17, further including
A third emitting part positioned between the first emitting part and the second electrode and including a third emitting material layer; and
A second charge generation layer between the first and third emitting parts,
Wherein the first emitting part further includes a fourth emitting material layer disposed under or on the first emitting material layer, and
Wherein third emitting material layer includes a blue dopant, and the fourth emitting material layer includes a red dopant,
Ma meets all the limitations.
Ma discloses that other emitting layers may also be included in their OLED stack. Ma discloses that an emitting layer may further comprise sub-layers [0132] stack (See paragraph 1 in section 15 of this office action). These emitting layers may include additional dopants, such as PtOEP and Ir(ppy)3. Ma also discloses the implementation of charge generation layers in their OLED stack (See paragraph 2 in section 15 of this office action).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Namsu Kang et al. (US 2022/0059767 A1) is directed towards OLEDs with multiple emissive parts and layers.
Stephen Forrest et al. (US 5,707,745) is directed towards OLEDs with multiple emissive parts and layers.
file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/C.K.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1786
/JENNIFER A BOYD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1786