DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements filed 11/21/23 and 9/29/25 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 objected to because of the following informalities: in the third line, the limitation “component separator …” should be “a component separator …”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: in the third line, the limitation “cooler cooling …” should be “a cooler cooling …”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vik et al. (US 2011/0244341).
Regarding claim 1, Vik teaches a fuel cell power generation system comprising:
a fuel cell (23) generating electric power from hydrogen (abstract);
a condenser (22) extracting hydrogen from the anode outlet (4) of the fuel cell ([0028], [0030], [0075]) (the examiner notes that Vik does not explicitly teach steam discharged from the fuel cell; however, since the fuel cell of Vik is a solid oxide fuel cell per [0049] and [0065], the skilled artisan will easily understand that the discharge of the fuel cell inherently includes steam; see MPEP 2112); and
a hydrogen supply route, or de-watered gas outlet (6) and inlet (3), configured to supply extracted hydrogen to the fuel cell (23) (abstract, Figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Vik further teaches a component separator, or separation unit (21), for separating hydrogen and carbon dioxide from a gas, which the examiner finds meets the limitation to “liquid gas”, to supply hydrogen to the fuel cell (Figure 1, [0023]-[0024]).
Regarding claim 5, the component separator (21) of Vik includes a reforming reactor, or reformer, and a mixed gas separator, or separation unit, for separating hydrogen and carbon dioxide from the reformer (Figure 1, [0022]-[0029]).
As for claim 6, Vik teaches that the reforming reactor reaction uses steam, i.e. heated water, discharged from the fuel cell ([0050]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 7-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vik as applied to claims 1 and 4-5 above, and further in view of Weingaertner et al. (US 2020/0328445).
The teachings of Vik as discussed above are incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 2, Vik teaches the fuel cell power generation system of claim 1 but fails to teach a separator removing impurities from a gas extracted by the condenser.
Weingaertner teaches a fuel cell power generation system comprising a fuel cell (101), wherein a condenser, or heat exchanger (121), is provided to cool, i.e. condense steam, the discharge of the fuel cell (Fig. 3). Weingaertner further teaches a separator, or hydrogen pump separator (350B), provided in the fuel exhaust conduit (312) to remove impurities other than hydrogen in order to provide sufficiently pure hydrogen from the fuel exhaust ([0059], [0061], [0065]).
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan at the time of the invention to provide a separator such as suggested by Weingaertner in the system of Vik in order to provide sufficiently pure hydrogen from the fuel exhaust.
As for claims 7-8, Vik teaches the system of claim 5, including general heat transfer within the system to improve efficiency ([0051]-[0053]), but fails to teach a cooler as claimed.
Weingaertner teaches a recuperative heat exchanger (121) for cooling gas provided to the reformer (123) using hydrogen from the reformer (the hydrogen that is included in the fuel exhaust is necessarily separated by the reforming reactor) (Figure 3). Weingaertner further teaches that the heat exchanger (121) prevents damage to components in the system by maintaining appropriate temperatures in the system ([0019]).
It would have been obvious to include a cooler to cool using streams within the system of Vik such as suggested by Weingaertner in order to prevent damage to components.
As for claim 9, Weingaertner teaches that heat exchangers in the system may be further used to preheat air ([0021]). It would have been obvious to arrange the heat exchangers, or coolers, of Vik in view of Weingaertner in order to cross the air supply path, i.e. “air taken in the fuel cell”, in order to further preheat the air, thereby heating the air to the appropriate temperature for reaction in the fuel cell. It has been held that rearrangement of parts is within the ordinary level of skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04 VI C
As for claims 10-11, Vik teaches separation of carbon dioxide for storage ([0078]), but fails to teach a storage tank and liquefaction unit.
Weingaertner teaches that carbon dioxide separated from the fuel cell exhaust can be processed and stored as liquid in a storage tank (340), whereinafter it can be used for chemical processes, beverage carbonation, etc. ([Figure 3, [0061]-[0062]). The skilled artisan will understand that, in order to store the carbon dioxide as liquid, Weingaertner inherently teaches a liquefaction unit.
It would have been obvious to the skilled artisan to include a storage tank and liquefaction unit in the system of Vik as suggested by Weingaertner in order to store pure carbon dioxide for later use, thereby reducing the overall waste of the system.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3 and 10-11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-3 and 6 of copending Application No. 18/785,038 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the reasons provided below.
Claims 1-3 are anticipated by claims 1-3 of ‘038.
Claims 10 and 11 are anticipated by claim 6 of ‘038.
See annotated claims below:
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/ALIX E EGGERDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729