CTNF 18/515,894 CTNF 74127 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1-5 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being clearly anticipated by EP reference(EP2277619A1) . EP reference in figure 1 teaches a beverage system(reference noting production of sparkling water) comprising a mixing chamber(pressurized water tank 12) in which a carbonated fluid is formed(noting carbonated water W) is formed by mixing a liquid(supply water 16) and carbon dioxide(carbon dioxide within upper portion of tank 12), and a valve(solenoid valve 30) configured to receive the carbonated fluid from the mixing chamber(carbonated fluid provided to solenoid valve 30 through recirculation pipe 28) and to receive residual carbon dioxide from the mixing chamber, the valve having a first state in which the carbonated fluid cannot flow through the valve and the residual carbon dioxide cannot flow through the valve, a second state in which the carbonated fluid cannot flow through the valve and the residual carbon dioxide can flow through the valve, and a third state in which the carbonated fluid can flow through the valve and the residual carbon dioxide can flow through the valve (noting para 0033 stating “in order to avoid possible cavitations of the pump 26 in the initial stage, due to the presence of carbon dioxide gas in the conduits, at each actuation of the pump 26 itself there is the simultaneous opening of the recirculation solenoid valve 30 for a minimum time period (about 1 -2 seconds) , with the purposed of evacuating residual carbon dioxide gas.”. Examiner further notes that claim 1 lines 6-11 are directed to specific process steps for the claimed valve, and , for anticipation , the claimed valve is only required to be capable of providing carbonated fluid through the valve and residual carbon dioxide through the valve. Examiner notes that the reference states that the solenoid valve provides for evacuating residual carbon dioxide gas, therefore EP reference anticipates “a valve configured to receive the carbonated fluid from the mixing chamber and to receive residual carbon dioxide from the mixing chamber”. With regards to claim 2, EP reference further teaches wherein the valve is configured to move from the first state to the second state, from the second state to a selected one of the first and third states, and from the third state to the second state (Examiner noting para 0021 stating that the solenoid valve includes states of being closed and open, therefore EP reference anticipates a valve “is configured to move from the first state to the second state, from the second state to a selected one of the first and third states, and from the third state to the second state”. With regards to claim 3, EP reference further teaches a processor(para 0023 stating “an electronic card (not shown) supplied with low voltage power, provides for controlling all the components of the device 10 and controls all the relative operations”) configured to control the movement of the valve from the first state to the second state, from the second state to the selected one of the first and third states, and from the third state to the second state (Examiner notes that for a “processor configured to”, for anticipation, the processor is only required to be capable of performing the claimed functions. With regards to claim 4 , EP reference further teaches wherein, with the valve in the third state, the carbonated fluid is configured to flow through the valve and be dispensed into a beverage container(noting outlet conduit 32 for dispensing carbonated water) from a carbonation system that includes the valve and the mixing chamber; and with the valve in either the second state or the third state, the residual carbon dioxide is configured to flow through the valve and be vented from a carbonation system that includes the valve and the mixing chamber. With regards to claim 5 , EP reference further teaches wherein the valve defines a first flow path therethrough along which the carbonated fluid is configured to pass through the valve with the valve in the third state; the valve defines a second flow path therethrough along which the residual carbon dioxide is configured to pass through the valve with the valve in either the second state or the third state; and the first and second flow paths do not cross or overlap. With regards to claim 16 , EP reference further teaches wherein the mixing chamber is configured to receive the liquid from a liquid source(supply water inlet 16) in fluid communication with the mixing chamber and to receive the carbon dioxide from a gas source(carbon dioxide within upper portion of tank 12; para 0018) in fluid communication with the mixing chamber. With regards to claim 17 , EP reference further teaches a method for a beverage system, comprising: causing the valve of the beverage system of claim 1 to move from the first state to the second state and from the second state to the third state. With regards to claim 18 , EP reference further teaches wherein a processor(controller stated in para 0023) of the beverage system of claim 1 controls a motor of the beverage system of claim 1 to cause the valve to move from the first state to the second state and from the second state to the third state(examiner noting that a solenoid valve of EP reference inherently includes a motor to cause the valve to move from open to close) . 07-15 AIA Claim s 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being clearly anticipated by EP reference(EP2277619A1) . EP reference in figure 1 teaches a method for a beverage system, comprising: forming a carbonated fluid in a mixing chamber(pressurized water tank 12) of a carbonation system (noting carbonated water W) ; and after the formation of the carbonated fluid, changing a state of a valve(solenoid valve 30) of the carbonation system such that residual carbon dioxide in the mixing chamber is allowed to enter and pass through the valve for venting out of the carbonation system(noting para 0033 stating “in order to avoid possible cavitations of the pump 26 in the initial stage, due to the presence of carbon dioxide gas in the conduits, at each actuation of the pump 26 itself there is the simultaneous opening of the recirculation solenoid valve 30 for a minimum time period (about 1 -2 seconds) , with the purpose of evacuating residual carbon dioxide gas), and thereafter changing the state of the valve again such that carbonated fluid in the mixing chamber is allowed to enter and pass through the valve for dispensing out of the carbonation system into a beverage container(noting outlet conduit 32 for dispensing carbonated water, also noting evacuation of residual carbon dioxide gas occurs for minimum time period, thereby providing transition to a secondary state for carbonated fluid in the mixing chamber is allowed to enter and pass through the valve for dispensing out of the carbonation system into a beverage container). With regards to claim 20 , EP reference further teaches wherein a processor(para 0023 stating “an electronic card (not shown) supplied with low voltage power, provides for controlling all the components of the device 10 and controls all the relative operations”) of the carbonation system controls the formation of the carbonation fluid and controls the changing of the state of the valve . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 6-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Claim 6 recites “wherein the valve includes main body, a lead screw, and a spool; the lead screw and the spool are disposed in the main body; and the spool is threadably engaged with the lead screw.”. EP reference teaches a valve configured to receive the carbonated fluid from the mixing chamber and to receive residual carbon dioxide from the mixing chamber, however EP reference does not teach or suggest wherein the valve includes main body, a lead screw, and a spool; the lead screw and the spool are disposed in the main body; and the spool is threadably engaged with the lead screw. Claims 7-15 depend on claim 6 and hence would also be allowable upon incorporation of claim 6 into claim 1. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to ROBERT A HOPKINS whose telephone number is (571)272-1159. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Thurs 6am-4pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jennifer Dieterle can be reached at 5712707872. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ROBERT A HOPKINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776 December 16, 2025 Application/Control Number: 18/515,894 Page 2 Art Unit: 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/515,894 Page 3 Art Unit: 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/515,894 Page 4 Art Unit: 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/515,894 Page 5 Art Unit: 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/515,894 Page 6 Art Unit: 1776 Application/Control Number: 18/515,894 Page 7 Art Unit: 1776