DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the application filed 11/21/2023 which claims 1-18 have been presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 11/21/2023, 06/28/2024, 02/14/2025, 06/06/2025 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Re claim 1, insert “bidirectional boost/buck” before “DC/DC converter” (see lines 5 and 12, respectively).
Re claim 1, insert “two or more” before “ultracapacitor cells” (see line 11).
Re claim 1, insert “two or more” before “voltage sensors” (see lines 13 and 16, respectively).
Re claim 1, insert “two or more” before “electronically controlled switches” (see lines 10, 13, and 17, respectively).
Re claim 1, insert “value” after “the voltage” (see line 15).
Re claim 2, insert “two or more” before “ultracapacitor cell” (see lines 3 and 4, respectively).
Re claim 2, insert “two or more electronically controlled” before “switches” (see line 4).
Re claim 3, substitute “the voltage bus” with – the voltage supply bus -- (see line 4).
Re claim 5, substitute “the temperature” with – a temperature -- (see line 2).
Re claim 6, insert “two or more electronically controlled” before “switches” (see line 1).
Re claim 6, insert “two or more” before “ultracapacitor cells” (see line 2).
Re claim 7, insert “bidirectional boost/buck” before “DC/DC converter” (see lines 4 and 10, respectively).
Re claim 7, substitute “a voltage supply bus of a vehicle” with – the voltage supply bus of the vehicle -- (see line 5).
Re claim 7, insert “two or more” before “ultracapacitor cells” (see line 6).
Re claim 7, insert “two or more” before “electronically controlled switches” (see lines 8 and 10, respectively).
Re claim 7, insert “two or more” before “voltage sensors” (see lines 10 and 13, respectively).
Re claim 7, insert “value” after “the voltage” (see line 12).
Re claim 7, insert “two or more electronically controlled” before “switches” (see line 14).
Re claim 8, insert “two or more” before “ultracapacitor cell” (see lines 2 and 3, respectively).
Re claim 8, insert “two or more electronically controlled” before “switches” (see line 3).
Re claim 9, insert “two or more” before “ultracapacitor cell” (see line 3).
Re claim 11, substitute “the temperature” with – a temperature -- (see line 2).
Re claim 12, insert “two or more electronically controlled” before “switches” (see line 2).
Re claim 12, insert “two or more” before “ultracapacitor cells” (see line 2).
Re claim 13, insert “bidirectional boost/buck” before “DC/DC converter” (see lines 4 and 6, respectively).
Claims 4, 10, and 14-18 are objected to since they are dependent upon an objected claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitations "the voltage of the discharged ultracapacitor cell" in 18, and “the other of the two or more ultracapacitor cells” in line 19. There are insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitations "the voltage of the discharged ultracapacitor cell" in 15, and “the other of the two or more ultracapacitor cells” in line 16. There are insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claims 3-5, 10, 11, and 14-18 recite a “float voltage” which is unclear to the examiner what is exactly is a “float voltage”. Is the “float voltage” a fixed and predetermined value or an unfixed and controllable value? The term “float” is vague and ambiguous and is not clearly defined in the specification.
Claims 2, 6, 8, 9, 12, and 13 are rejected to since they are dependent upon a rejected claim, and inherit the problems of this claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6-8, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over UCAP Power, Inc. (WO 2022060892A1) in view of Huh et al. (US 10,272,788) (hereinafter “Huh”), both cited by the applicants.
Re claims 1 and 7, UCAP Power, Inc. discloses an ultracapacitor module, comprising:
an ultracapacitor cell stack (301) containing two or more ultracapacitor cells (301) connected in a series circuit (fig. 3);
a charger including a converter (paras. 0034, 0039), wherein the ultracapacitor cell stack and the charger are configured to be connected in series with a voltage supply bus of a vehicle (fig. 3);
two or more voltage sensors configured to determine a voltage value of each of the two or more ultracapacitor cells in the series circuit (paras. 0022, 0034);
two or more electronically controlled switches (310) each connected in series with a bleed resistor (310), wherein one of the electronically controlled switches and bleed resistors are connected in parallel with each of the ultracapacitor cells (301) (fig. 3; para. 0034); and
an electronic controller in electrical communication with the charger, the voltage sensors, and the electronically controlled switches (fig. 3; para. 0034), wherein the electronic controller is configured to:
determine the voltage of each of the two or more ultracapacitor cells via the voltage sensors (fig. 3; para. 0022), and
operate the electronically controlled switches to selectively discharge at least one of the two or more ultracapacitor cells to bring the voltage of the discharged ultracapacitor cell closer to another of the two or more ultracapacitor cells (paras. 0034, 0052).
UCAP Power, Inc. fails to specifically teach a bidirectional boost/buck DC/DC converter.
Huh discloses an energy system including a bidirectional boost/buck DC/DC converter (col. 5, lines 11-43).
In view of Huh’s teachings, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the invention to use a bidirectional boost/buck DC/DC converter within UCAP Power, Inc. system, as bidirectional boost/buck DC/DC converters are well-known in the art for reducing hardware complexity, size, and the component count.
Re claims 2 and 8, UCAP Power, Inc. discloses the ultracapacitor module according to claim 1, wherein the electronic controller is configured to: determine that the ultracapacitor cells are idle or in a low-demand state, and operate the switches to intentionally discharge each of the ultracapacitor cells to a voltage threshold (paras. 0034, 0050-0052).
Re claims 6 and 12, UCAP Power, Inc. discloses wherein the switches are opened upon the ultracapacitor cells reaching the voltage threshold (paras. 0043-0046).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ingram et al. (US 2006/0241876) discloses a system for managing ultracapacitor energy storage systems.
/APRIL A TAYLOR/Examiner, Art Unit 2876
/THIEN M LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876