DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “beeline-shaped” in claim 11 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “beeline-shaped” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes, the term "beeline-shaped" will be interpreted as a structure extending vertically from the base of the body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takase U.S. 2020/0044223, in view of Dai et al. (CN 115332715 A).
Regarding claim 1, Takase teaches a separator (insulating protectors 30), configured to install connectors (bus bars 40; Par. 0031; Par. 0007, the bus bars connect between electrode terminals), wherein the connector comprises a first side surface and a second side surface opposite to each other (Fig. 5; bus bars 40 have a top and bottom surface), and the connector is further provided with buckle holes (engaging grooves 43; Fig. 10), wherein the separator comprises: a body (protector horizontal part 31); buckles connected to the body (engaging claw part 31B), wherein the buckles are configured to be connected to the buckle holes (Par. 0033; “The pair of engaging claw parts 31 B is engaged with a pair of engaging grooves 43”); second abutting portions connected to the body (clamping parts 31 A), wherein the second abutting portions are configured to abut against the second side surface (Modified Fig. 5); and third abutting portions connected to the body (horizontal part 31), wherein the third abutting portions are configured to abut against an edge of the connector (Modified Fig. 5; protector horizontal part 31 abuts the edge of the connector). Takase fails to teach first abutting portions which are configured to abut against the first side surface. Takase rather teaches the buckles additionally acting as first abutting portions.
However, Dai teaches first abutting portions (limit plate 39) connected to a separator body (Fig. 8; second isolation sub-board 33), wherein the first abutting portions are configured to abut against a first side surface of a connector (electrical connectors 13; Page 15, Par. 9).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separator taught by Takase by incorporating a first abutting portion on a first/bottom side of a connector, as taught by Dai. This would be done in order to position the connectors to improve installation convenience, as stated in Dai (Page 15, Par. 4).
Modified Fig. 5
Regarding claim 2, modified Takase teaches the separator of claim 1, wherein the second abutting portions are connected to the third abutting portions to form step structures configured to abut against the connector (Modified Fig. 5; clamping parts 31 A and protector horizontal part 21 form a step structure).
Regarding claim 3, modified Takase teaches the separator of claim 1, wherein at least part of the buckles are configured to abut against the first side surface (Modified Fig. 5, the top surface of the engaging claw part 31B abuts against the first/bottom surface of the bus bar 40).
Regarding claim 4, Takase fails to teach at least part of the buckles configured to abut against the second side surface.
However, Dai teaches a buckle (third buckle 318) configured to abut against a second side surface of a connector (Fig. 4, third buckle 318 is clamped on the top surface of the second electrical connector 13).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separator taught by Takase by abutting the buckle on a second/top surface of the connector, as taught by Dai. This would be done in order to improve the connection stability between the connector and sub-boards, as stated in Dai (Page 15, Par. 2).
Regarding claim 5, modified Takase teaches the separator of claim 1, wherein part of the second abutting portions and part of the third abutting portions are arranged at intervals on sides of the buckles away from the first side of the connectors (Fig. 2, clamping parts 31A are placed at intervals on the bus bars 40, and the third abutting portion is located at a position of each bus bar 40).
Takase fails to teach buckles positioned at intervals on two sides of first abutting portions.
However, Dai teaches buckles (third buckles 318) which are connected to buckle holes in the connector (third buckle positions 131; Fig. 10), wherein the buckles are arranged at intervals on two sides of part of the first abutting portions (Fig. 8, buckles are positioned on both sides of the limiting plate 339).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separator taught by Takase by incorporating buckles on two sides of first abutting portions, as taught by Dai. This would be done in order to improve stability with respect to the connection to the separator body, as stated in Dai (Page 15, Par. 2).
Regarding claim 6, modified Takase teaches the separator of claim 1, wherein the second abutting portions are arranged at intervals on two sides of part of the buckles (Fig. 3; clamping parts 31A extend from the same side as the engaging claw parts and are placed beside the positions of the claw parts).
Regarding claim 7, Takase fails to teach the first abutting portions and the third abutting portions being arranged at intervals on a same side of part of the buckles.
However, Dai teaches first abutting portions (limiting plate 339) and third abutting portions (Fig. 8; the connectors 13 have a back board on which the connector edges may be abutted against), which are arranged at intervals on a same side of part of the buckles (Fig. 8; third buckles 318, limiting plate 339, and the backboard which the connectors are abutted against all are positioned on or protrude from the same side of the separator; buckles are positioned at intervals of two per connector, limiting plates are positioned at intervals of one per connector, and the backboards are positioned at intervals of two per connector).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separator taught by Takase by placing first and third abutting portions at intervals on a same side of part of the buckles, as taught by Dai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have determined that the fixing method taught by Dai would yield predictable results of an improved connection between the separator body and connectors. Additionally, as stated in Dai, this fixture assembly would have reduced the difficulty of assembly (Page 2, Par. 1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Takase teaches the separator of claim 1, wherein the body is provided with a groove on each of two sides of the body (Fig. 3, 5; an indented portion of the body wraps around an end of the separator). Takase fails to teach the groove being configured to place a wire harness, and a notch which is communicated with the groove, configured for passing the wire harness through the groove to a position outside of the body.
However, Dai teaches a separator (wiring harness isolation plate assembly 100) with a body (isolation sub-board 30a) which is provided with a groove on both sides (wire receiving groove 37; Fig. 4), which is configured to place a wire harness (parameter acquisition assembly 50; Page 13, Par. 9, “multiple wire receiving grooves 37 can accommodate the parameter acquisition assembly 50…the parameter acquisition assembly 50 includes a plurality of wire harnesses”), and a notch which is communicated with the groove (opening 370; Fig. 4), configured for passing the wire harness through the groove to a position outside of the body (Page 13, Par. 9; “the plurality of wire harnesses are respectively passed through the plurality of openings 370 of the plurality of wire receiving slots 37”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separator taught by Takase by incorporating a wire harness which is passed through a notch in the groove to a position outside of the separator body, as taught by Dai. This would be done in order to obtain voltage and temperature measurements of the battery cell and electrically fix the electrical connectors to the battery cells, as stated in Dai (Page 7, Par. 1; Page 13, Par. 9).
Regarding claim 9, Takase fails to teach a first blocking portion which is connected to the body and at least a part of the first blocking portion is located in the groove and configured to abut against the wire harness to limit the wire harness in the groove.
However, Dai teaches a first blocking portion (Modified Fig. 4, protrusions extend above the grooves which would hold the wire harness in the grooves).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separator taught by Takase by incorporating a first blocking portion in the groove, as taught by Dai. One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to make this modification to prevent the wire harness from leaving the groove, thus improving module safety and ease of handling.
Modified Fig. 4
Regarding claim 12, modified Takase teaches the separator of claim 1, wherein the body is provided with a groove and a boss (Fig. 5; vertical parts 32 on both sides of the assembly for a boss on the middle of the assembly), and the boss protrudes from a bottom wall of the groove (Fig. 5; vertical part 32 extends from the protector horizontal part 31). Takase fails to teach the groove being configured to place a wire harness.
However, Dai teaches a separator (wiring harness isolation plate assembly 100) with a body (isolation sub-board 30a) which is provided with a groove on both sides (wire receiving groove 37; Fig. 4), which is configured to place a wire harness (parameter acquisition assembly 50; Page 13, Par. 9, “multiple wire receiving grooves 37 can accommodate the parameter acquisition assembly 50…the parameter acquisition assembly 50 includes a plurality of wire harnesses”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separator taught by Takase by incorporating a wire harness in the groove, as taught by Dai. This would be done in order to obtain voltage and temperature measurements of the battery cell, as stated in Dai (Page 7, Par. 1; Page 13, Par. 9).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takase, in view of Dai, and further in view of Xiong (US 2024/0332718 A1, priority date of 03/30/2023).
Regarding claim 10, Takase fails to teach second and third blocking portions corresponding to a position of a notch.
However, Xiong teaches a second blocking portion (position-limiting head post 3; Fig. 1) and a third blocking portion (elastic plate post 1, elastic plate 2; Fig. 1) connected to a body (bracket body 5; Fig. 1) and located in a groove (groove channel 51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separator taught by Takase by incorporating the blocking portions taught by Xiong at a position of a notch. These would be placed at the notch to fix the harness in the groove, as stated in Xiong (Par. 0002), and as the wiring harness is already limited in the rest of the groove by a first blocking portion, this is the only position where the second and third blocking portions would be necessary.
Regarding claim 11, Takase fails to teach a second blocking portion and third blocking portion, wherein at least part of a wire harness is limited in the groove and the wire harness is restricted from disengaging.
However, Xiong teaches a second blocking portion which is beeline-shaped (Fig. 1; position-limiting head 3 extends vertically from the body) and a third blocking portion which is J-shaped (Fig. 1; elastic plate post 1, elastic plate 2), both are configured to abut against a wire harness (Par. 0008; the structure fixes the wire harness, which can only be done by direct contact), so that at least part of the wire harness is limited in the groove and disengagement of the wire harness from the notch is restricted (Par. 0010).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the separator taught by Takase by Incorporating second and third blocking portions with beeline- and J-shaped structures, respectively. This would be done to provide an enclosed position-limiting space that fixes the wire harness, as stated in Xiong (Par. 0011).
Claims 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takase, in view of Dai, and further in view of Lan et al. (CN 218731671 U).
Regarding claim 13, Takase fails to teach a first via hole provided on the boss which is configured for an electrolyte of a cell to pass through.
However, Lan teaches a plurality of first via holes (avoidance holes 13), which are configured for an electrolyte of a cell to pass through (Page 5, Par. 3; the avoidance holes correspond to explosion-proof valves of the battery cells, which an electrolyte would pass through in the event of an explosion).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the boss taught by Takase by incorporating a first via hole for an electrolyte to pass through, as taught by Lan. This would be done in order to ensure battery module safety in the case of an explosion, as stated in Lan (Page 5, Par. 3).
Regarding claim 14, Takase fails to teach a cable tie hole on the boss, which is configured for a cable tie to pass through, and the cable tie binds the wire harness to the boss.
However, Lan teaches a cable tie hole (cable tie hole 11) which is configured for a cable tie to pass through (Page 5, Par. 6; “the cable tie passes through the cable tie hole”), and the cable tie is configured to bind a wire harness (wire harness 4) to the assembly (Page 5, Par. 6; “the cable tie passes through the cable tie hole 11 to bind the collection wire harness 4 on the insulator 1”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the boss taught by Takase by incorporating a cable tie hole and a cable tie to bind the wire harness to the assembly, as taught by Lan. This would be done in order to simplify the connection between the wire harness and the assembly, as stated in Lan (Page 5, Par. 6).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takase, in view of Lan.
Regarding claim 15, Takase teaches a cells contact system (CCS) (connection module 15), comprising: a separator (insulating protectors 30); a connector clamped with the separator (bus bars 40; Par. 0007, the bus bars connect between electrode terminals); wherein the separator is configured to install connectors (Par. 0031), the connector comprises a first side surface and a second side surface opposite to each other (Fig. 5; bus bars 40 have a top and bottom surface), and the connector is further provided with buckle holes (engaging grooves 43; Fig. 10), wherein the separator comprises: a body (protector horizontal part 31); buckles connected to the body (engaging claw part 31B), wherein the buckles are configured to be connected to the buckle holes (Par. 0033; “The pair of engaging claw parts 31 B is engaged with a pair of engaging grooves 43”); first abutting portions connected to the body (Fig. 5, top surface of engaging claw parts 31B), wherein the first abutting portions are configured to abut against the first side surface (Modified Fig. 5); second abutting portions connected to the body (clamping parts 31 A), wherein the second abutting portions are configured to abut against the second side surface (Modified Fig. 5); and third abutting portions connected to the body (horizontal part 31), wherein the third abutting portions are configured to abut against an edge of the connector (Modified Fig. 5; protector horizontal part 31 abuts the edge of the connector). Takase fails to teach a wire harness, wherein a terminal of the wire harness is connected to the connector; and a cable tie, wherein the wire harness is bound to the separator through the cable tie.
However, Lan teaches a cells contact system (Abstract; acquisition assembly), including a wire harness (wire harness 4), wherein a terminal of the wire harness is connected to a connector (Page 5, Par. 7; “Each bus bar 2 is connected to a voltage acquisition line”; voltage collection line 41 is part of the wiring harness 4); and a cable tie (Page 2, Par. 6), wherein the wire harness is bound to a separator (insulator 1; components are separated on the insulator) through the cable tie (Page 5, Par. 6; “the cable tie passes through the cable tie hole 11 to bind the collection wire harness 4 on the insulator 1”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the CCS taught by Takase by incorporating a wire harness which is connected to a connector and bound to the separator by a cable tie, as taught by Lan. This would be done in order to collect voltage and temperature measurements of the batteries, while providing a simple connection to do so, as taught by Lan (Page 5, Par. 7; Page 5, Par. 6).
Conclusion
/CAMERON M BAIRD/ Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728