Claim Objections
Claim 1, line 12; claim 20, line 8-9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the processed raw data signal” should be - -a processed raw data signal- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 1, line 16; claim 11, line 8; claim 14, line 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: “an electric power” should be - -the electric power- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 14, line 8, 9 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the received data” should be - -the raw data signal- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20, line 12 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the received raw data signal” should be - - the raw data signal - -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 20, line 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: “electric power” should be - -the electric power- -. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 12, 14, 15, 18, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nowoisky et al (US 20230361655 as referenced in OA dated 8/1/2024) in view of Geib et al (US 20120330495 as referenced in OA dated 8/1/2024)
Regarding claim 1, Nowoisky discloses a propulsion system (Figure 1. Paragraph 0041) comprising:
a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 20, 1, 32) having a turbomachine (Figure 1; 20, 1. Paragraph 0038), the turbomachine comprising a compressor (Paragraph 0038), a turbine (Paragraph 0038), and a shaft (Figure 1; 1) rotatable with the turbine; and
an electric assembly (Figure 2; 21, 22, 3, 4, 11) comprising:
an electric machine (Figure 1; 21) rotatable with the shaft; and
a control system (Figure 2; 22, 3, 4, 11) in electric communication with the electric machine, the control system configured to receive and process a raw data signal (Figure 2; I from 21 to 3. Paragraph 0057) from the electric machine indicative of an electric power flow to or from the electric machine (Paragraph 0045), wherein the electric power flow is a proxy for a change in a rotational speed (Paragraph 0041, 0057) of one or more components (Figure 1; 1) rotatable with the electric machine, wherein the control system is configured to determine health information of the gas turbine engine by comparing a processed raw data signal (The processing of the measurement variables in Paragraph 0047) derived from the received raw data signal to a library (The historical features of Paragraph 0019) of electric power flow signals indicative of electric power flow to or from the electric machine (The historical features of Paragraph 0019 are electric power flow signals indicative of electric power flow to or from the electric machine) during various operations (The operations of the gas turbine engine of the historical features of Paragraph 0019) of the gas turbine engine, and, if the processed raw data signal is determined to be indicative of the electric power flow indicating a failure event or failure condition (The fracturing of the shaft in Paragraph 0007), provide a responsive action signal (The signal to turn off the fuel in Paragraph 0047) to an engine controller (The controller of the gas turbine engine that receives the signal from 11 in Paragraph 0047) of the gas turbine engine to instruct a corrective action or a mitigation action (Turning off the fuel in Paragraph 0047) in response to the failure event or failure condition indicated by the change in the rotational speed of the one or more components rotatable with the electric machine.
Nowoisky does not disclose wherein the control system is configured to compare a processed raw data signal derived from the received raw data signal to a library of electric power flow signal patterns associated with processed data signals indicative of electric power flow to or from the electric machine during various operations of the gas turbine engine.
However, Geib teaches wherein a control system (Figure 1; 24) is configured to determine health information of the gas turbine engine by comparing a processed raw data signal (The signal feature of Paragraph 0018. Paragraph 0014) derived from a received raw data signal (The data signal feeding Figure 2; 102. Paragraph 0014) to a library of signal patterns (The sets of catalogued signal features or signal feature ranges from Paragraph 0018) associated with processed data signals (The catalogued signal features or signal feature ranges from Paragraph 0018) during various operations of the gas turbine engine, and, if the processed raw data signal is determined to be a failure event or failure condition, provide a responsive action signal (The signal to the maintenance scheduler or log of Paragraph 0019).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Nowoisky wherein the control system is configured to compare a processed raw data signal derived from the received raw data signal to a library of signal patterns (In the context of Nowoisky, the library of Geib is a library of electric power flow) associated with processed data signals (In the context of Nowoisky, the processed data signals are of Geib are indicative of electric power flow to or from the electric machine ) during various operations of the gas turbine engine as taught by and suggested by Geib in order to enable quick and accurate diagnostics (Paragraph 0027, The modification uses pattern recognition to determine the health of the gas turbine engine).
Regarding claim 2, Nowoisky in view of Geib teaches the invention as claimed
Nowoisky further discloses wherein the control system includes a converter assembly (Figure 1; 22) operable with the electric machine to condition the electric power flow to or from the electric machine.
Regarding claim 3, Nowoisky in view of Geib teaches the invention as claimed
Nowoisky further discloses wherein the control system is configured to receive the raw data signal from the converter assembly, wherein the control system further comprises a controller (Figure 2; 3, 11) configured to receive the raw data signal indicative of the electric power flow to or from the electric machine from the converter assembly (Paragraph 0047).
Regarding claim 6, Nowoisky in view of Geib teaches the invention as claimed.
Nowoisky does not disclose wherein the control system is configured to the health information of the gas turbine engine using a pattern recognition analysis.
However, Geib teaches wherein the control system is configured to determine the health information of the gas turbine engine using a pattern recognition analysis (The variety of pattern classification and machine learning techniques of Paragraph 0018)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Nowoisky wherein the control system is configured to determine the health information of the gas turbine engine using a pattern recognition analysis as taught by and suggested by Geib in order to enable quick and accurate diagnostics (Paragraph 0027, This is the same modification as claim 1).
Regarding claim 12, Nowoisky in view of Geib teaches the invention as claimed.
Nowoisky does not disclose wherein the control system operates at a frequency of at least 250 hertz.
However, Geib teaches the control system operates at a frequency of at least 250 hertz (Paragraph 0015).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Nowoisky wherein the control system operates at a frequency of at least 250 hertz as taught by and suggested by Geib in order to provide a suitable sampling rate (Paragraph 0015, The modification has the control system having a sampling rate of 3kHz).
Regarding claim 14, Nowoisky discloses a method for operating a propulsion system, the method comprising:
receiving, from an electric machine (Figure 1; 21), a raw data signal (Figure 2; I from 21 to 3. Paragraph 0057) indicative of an electric power flow to or from the electric machine (Paragraph 0045), the electric machine rotatable with a shaft (Figure 1; 1) of a turbomachine (Figure 1; 20, 1) of a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 20, 1, 32), wherein the electric power flow is a proxy for a change in a rotational speed (Paragraph 0041, 0057) of one or more components (Figure 1; 1) rotatable with the electric machine;
processing the raw data signal to generate a processed data signal (The processing done by the Figure 2; 11. Paragraph 0047) indicative of the electric power flow to or from the electric machine; and
determining health information of the gas turbine engine in response to the raw data signal (Paragraph 0043, 0047) by comparing the processed data signal derived from the raw data signal to a library (The historical features of Paragraph 0019) of electric power flow signals indicative of electric power flow to or from the electric machine (The historical features of Paragraph 0019 are electric power flow signals indicative of electric power flow to or from the electric machine) during various operations (The operations of the gas turbine engine of the historical features of Paragraph 0019) of the gas turbine engine, and, if the processed data signal is determined to be indicative of the electric power flow indicating a failure event or failure condition (The fracturing of the shaft in Paragraph 0007), provide a responsive action signal (The signal to turn off the fuel in Paragraph 0047) to an engine controller (The controller of the gas turbine engine that receives the signal from 11 in Paragraph 0047) of the gas turbine engine to instruct a corrective action or a mitigation action (Turning off the fuel in Paragraph 0047) in response to the failure event or failure condition indicated by the change in the rotational speed of the one or more components rotatable with the electric machine.
Nowoisky does not disclose comparing the processed data signal derived from the received data to a library of electric power flow signal patterns associated with processed data signals indicative of the electric power flow to or from the electric machine during various operations of the gas turbine engine, and, if the processed data signal is determined to be indicative of the electric power flow indicating a failure event or failure condition, provide a responsive action signal to an engine controller of the gas turbine engine.
However, Geib teaches determining health information (The health monitoring unit determines the health of the gas turbine engine, Paragraph 0001, 0018) of a gas turbine engine (Figure 1; 12) in response to a raw data signal (The data signal feeding Figure 2; 102. Paragraph 0014) by comparing a processed data signal (The signal feature of Paragraph 0018. Paragraph 0014) derived from the raw data signal to a library of signal patterns (The sets of catalogued signal features or signal feature ranges from Paragraph 0018) associated with processed data signals (The catalogued signal features or signal feature ranges from Paragraph 0018) during various operations of the gas turbine engine.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Nowoisky to compare the processed data signal derived from the raw data signal to a library of signal patterns (In the context of Nowoisky, the library of Geib is a library of electric power flow) associated with processed data signals (In the context of Nowoisky, the processed data signals are of Geib are indicative of electric power flow to or from the electric machine ) during various operations of the gas turbine engine as taught by and suggested by Geib in order to enable quick and accurate diagnostics (Paragraph 0027, The modification uses pattern recognition to determine the health of the gas turbine engine)
Regarding claim 15, Nowoisky in view of Geib teaches the invention as claimed
Nowoisky further discloses wherein the raw data signal from the electric machine comprises receiving the raw data signal (Paragraph 0052) from the electric machine with a converter assembly (Figure 1; 22) operable with the electric machine, and wherein the method further comprises:
providing a signal indicative of the electric power flow to or from the electric machine from the converter assembly to a controller (Figure 2; 3, 11).
Regarding claim 18, Nowoisky in view of Geib teaches the invention as claimed.
Nowoisky does not disclose wherein determining the health information of the gas turbine engine in response to the received data comprises analyzing the processed data signal derived from the received data using a pattern recognition analysis.
However, Geib teaches wherein determining the health information of the gas turbine engine in response to the received data comprises analyzing the processed data signal derived from the received data using a pattern recognition analysis (Paragraph 0018).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Nowoisky wherein determining the health information of the gas turbine engine in response to the received data comprises analyzing the processed data signal derived from the received data using a pattern recognition analysis as taught by and suggested by Geib in order to enable quick and accurate diagnostics (Paragraph 0027, The modification uses pattern recognition to determine the health of the gas turbine engine).
Regarding claim 20, Nowoisky discloses a combustion engine assembly (Figure 1) comprising:
a combustion engine (Figure 1; 20, 1. A gas turbine engine as defined by Merriam Webster and Dictionary.com is a combustion engine) having a driven shaft (Figure 1; 1); and
an electric assembly (Figure 2; 21, 22, 3, 4, 11) comprising:
an electric machine (Figure 1; 21) rotatable with the driven shaft; and
a control system (Figure 2; 22, 3, 4, 11) in electric communication with the electric machine, the control system configured to receive and process a raw data signal (At least Figure 2; I from 21 to 3. Paragraph 0057) from the electric machine indicative of an electric power flow to or from the electric machine (Paragraph 0045), wherein the electric power flow is a proxy for a change in a rotational speed (Paragraph 0041, 0057) of one or more components (Figure 1; 1) rotatable with the electric machine, wherein the processed raw data signal is indicative of the electric power flow to or from the electric machine, and wherein the control system is configured to determine health information of the combustion engine by comparing a processed raw data signal (The processing of the measurement variables in Paragraph 0047) derived from the raw data signal to a library of electric power flow signal patterns associated with processed data signals indicative of the electric power flow to or from the electric machine (The historical features of Paragraph 0019 are electric power flow signals indicative of electric power flow to or from the electric machine) during various operations (The operations of the gas turbine engine of the historical features of Paragraph 0019) of the combustion engine, and, if the processed raw data signal is determined to be indicative of the electric power flow indicating a failure event or failure condition (The fracturing of the shaft in Paragraph 0007), provide a responsive action signal (The signal to turn off the fuel in Paragraph 0047) to an engine controller (The controller of the gas turbine engine that receives the signal from 11 in Paragraph 0047) of the gas turbine engine to instruct a corrective action or a mitigation action (Turning off the fuel in Paragraph 0047) in response to the failure event or failure condition indicated by the change in the rotational speed of the one or more components rotatable with the electric machine.
Nowoisky does not disclose wherein the control system is configured to compare a processed raw data signal derived from the received raw data signal to a library of electric power flow signal patterns associated with processed data signals indicative of electric power flow to or from the electric machine during various operations of the gas turbine engine.
However, Geib teaches wherein a control system (Figure 1; 24) is configured to determine health information of the gas turbine engine by comparing a processed raw data signal (The signal feature of Paragraph 0018. Paragraph 0014) derived from a received raw data signal (The data signal feeding Figure 2; 102. Paragraph 0014) to a library of signal patterns (The sets of catalogued signal features or signal feature ranges from Paragraph 0018) associated with processed data signals (The catalogued signal features or signal feature ranges from Paragraph 0018) during various operations of the gas turbine engine, and, if the processed raw data signal is determined to be a failure event or failure condition, provide a responsive action signal (The signal to the maintenance scheduler or log of Paragraph 0019).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Nowoisky wherein the control system is configured to compare a processed raw data signal derived from the received raw data signal to a library of signal patterns (In the context of Nowoisky, the library of Geib is a library of electric power flow) associated with processed data signals (In the context of Nowoisky, the processed data signals are of Geib are indicative of electric power flow to or from the electric machine ) during various operations of the gas turbine engine as taught by and suggested by Geib in order to enable quick and accurate diagnostics (Paragraph 0027, The modification uses pattern recognition to determine the health of the gas turbine engine)
Claim(s) 8, 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nowoisky in view of Geib as applied to claim 1, 15 above, and further in view of Wall et al (US 20230314281 as referenced in OA dated 8/1/2024).
Regarding claim 8, Nowoisky in view of Geib teaches the invention as claimed.
Nowoisky in view of Geib does not teach wherein the processed data signal is derived from the raw data signal using a Fourier frequency transform.
However, Wall teaches a propulsion system (Figure 4) comprising:
a gas turbine engine (Figure 4; 100) having a turbomachine (At least Figure 4; 123, 119, 126), the turbomachine comprising a compressor (Figure 4; 123), a turbine (Figure 4; 119), and a shaft (Figure 4; 126) rotatable with the turbine; and
an electric assembly comprising:
an electric machine (Figure 4; 218) rotatable with the shaft; and
a control system (Figure 4; 221, 230a and Figure 5; 230b) in electric communication with the electric machine, the control system configured to determine health information of the gas turbine engine in response to a raw data signal (Paragraph 0026, 0099, 0103);
wherein a processed data signal is derived from the received data using a Fourier frequency transform (Paragraph 0021).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Nowoisky in view of Geib wherein the processed data signal is derived from the raw data signal using a Fourier frequency transform as taught by and suggested by Wall in order to extract frequency information (Paragraph 0021, The modification processes the signal of Nowoisky in view of Geib using a Fast Fourier Transformation)
Regarding claim 17, Nowoisky in view of Geib teaches the invention as claimed.
Nowoisky in view of Geib does not teach processing the raw data signal from the converter assembly with the controller to generate a processed data signal.
However, Wall teaches a method for operating a propulsion system (Figure 4), the method comprising:
receiving data from an electric machine (Figure 4; 218), the electric machine rotatable with a shaft (Figure 4; 126) of a turbomachine (At least Figure 4; 123, 119, 126) of a gas turbine engine (Figure 4; 100); and
determining health information of the gas turbine engine in response to a raw data signal (Paragraph 0026, 0099, 0103);
wherein the method further comprises processing the raw data signal with a controller (Figure 4; 221, 230a and Figure 5; 230b) to generate a processed data signal (Paragraph 0021).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Nowoisky in view of Geib wherein the method further comprises processing a raw data signal (in the context of Nowoisky, this raw data signal is from the converter) with the controller to generate a processed data signal as taught by and suggested by Wall in order to extract frequency information (Paragraph 0021, The modification processes the signal of Nowoisky in view of Geib using a Fast Fourier Transformation).
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nowoisky in view of Geib as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of McQuiston et al (US 20220065177)
Regarding claim 11, Nowoisky in view of Geib teaches the invention as claimed.
Nowoisky in view of Geib does not teach wherein the compressor is a low pressure compressor, wherein the turbine is a low pressure turbine, wherein the shaft is a low pressure shaft, wherein the turbomachine further comprises a high pressure compressor, a high pressure turbine, and a high pressure shaft rotatable with the high pressure turbine, wherein the electric machine is a low pressure electric machine, and wherein the electric assembly further comprises a high pressure electric machine, wherein the control system is further in electric communication with the high pressure electric machine, the control system configured to receive data indicative of the electric power flow to or from the high pressure electric machine and determine health information of the gas turbine engine in response to the received data from the high pressure electric machine.
However, McQuiston teaches wherein a compressor is a low pressure compressor (Figure 2; 44 is a low pressure compressor), wherein a turbine is a low pressure turbine (Figure 2; 42 is a low pressure turbine), wherein a shaft is a low pressure shaft (Figure 2; 46), wherein the turbomachine further comprises a high pressure compressor (Figure 2; 34), a high pressure turbine (Figure 2; 36), and a high pressure shaft (Figure 2; 38) rotatable with the high pressure turbine, wherein an electric machine is a low pressure electric machine (Figure 2; 102A), and wherein an electric assembly (Figure 2; 102A and 102B) further comprises a high pressure electric machine (Figure 2; 102B), wherein a control system (Figure 3; 300) is further in electric communication with the high pressure electric machine (Paragraph 0073).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Nowoisky in view of Geib wherein the compressor is a low pressure compressor, wherein the turbine is a low pressure turbine, wherein the shaft is a low pressure shaft, wherein the turbomachine further comprises a high pressure compressor, a high pressure turbine, and a high pressure shaft rotatable with the high pressure turbine, wherein the electric machine is a low pressure electric machine, and wherein the electric assembly further comprises a high pressure electric machine, wherein the control system is further in electric communication with the high pressure electric machine as taught by and suggested by McQuiston in order to provide an improved efficiency (Paragraph 0004, The modification uses the gas turbine engine of McQuiston).
It is herein asserted that the combined invention of Nowoisky in view of Geib and McQuiston has the control system configured to receive data indicative of the electric power flow to or from the high pressure electric machine and determine health information of the gas turbine engine in response to the received data from the high pressure electric machine because the control system of McQuiston, which is coupled to the high pressure system, is the control system of Nowoisky in view of Geib.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nowoisky in view of Geib as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Matthews et al (US 20130255220 as referenced in OA dated 8/1/2024).
Regarding claim 13, Nowoisky in view of Geib teaches the invention as claimed.
Nowoisky in view of Geib does not teach wherein the engine controller defines an operating frequency in communication with the control system, wherein the control system comprises a controller defining an operating frequency higher than the operating frequency of the engine controller.
However, Matthews teaches an engine controller (Figure 2; 38) defines an operating frequency (The operating frequency of Figure 2; 50) in communication with a control system (Figure 2; 42), wherein the control system comprises a controller (Figure 2; 70) defining an operating frequency (The operating frequency of Figure 2; 42) higher than the operating frequency of the engine controller (Paragraph 0038).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filing to modify the invention of Nowoisky in view of Geib wherein the engine controller defines an operating frequency in communication with the control system, wherein the control system comprises a controller defining an operating frequency higher than the operating frequency of the engine controller as taught by and suggested by Matthews in order to reduce the cost (Paragraph 0038, the modification has the operating frequency of the engine controller less than the operating frequency of the controller).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts that Nowoisky does not disclose the electric power flow is a proxy for a change in a rotational speed of one or more components rotatable with the electric machine and to instruct a corrective action or a mitigation action in response to the failure event or failure condition indicated by the change in the rotational speed of the one or more components rotatable with the electric machine. Examiner respectfully disagrees. As describe above in this OA, Nowoisky discloses these features.
Applicant asserts that one of ordinary skill in the art would not combine Nowoisky and Geib because Geib uses an acoustic-based pattern recognition. Examiner respectfully disagrees. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use the pattern recognition of Geib for the electric power flow signals of Nowoisky in order to enable quick and accurate diagnostics as described in Paragraph 0027 of Geib.
Applicant asserts that Nowoisky does not disclose stopping the fuel to the gas turbine engine is not a mitigation action. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Nowoisky in Paragraph 0041 and 0047 show that stopping the fuel is a mitigation action.
Applicant asserts that the acoustic pattern recognition of Geib cannot be applied to Nowoisky. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Instead of applying the pattern recognition scheme of Geib to acoustics, one of ordinary skill in the art would apply the pattern recognition scheme of Geib to the library of the electric power flow signals of Nowoisky.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EDWIN KANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741