DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities: the phrase “set of pixel” is grammatically incorrect and should read “set of pixels” instead. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamada, US Patent Publication 2018/0358417 in view of Raring et al., US Patent Publication 2024/012435.
Regarding independent claim 1, Hamada teaches a light-emitting diode (LED) system comprising:
a display comprising a plurality of pixels (paragraph 0064 explains how the pixels are driven to create the display), each of the pixels comprising respective groups of light emitting diodes (LEDs) (paragraphs 0064-0065 explain how the sub-pixels correspond to each of the light-emitting units that is given in paragraph 0033 to be used for organic light-emitting structures that are diodes as given in paragraph 0004), the plurality of pixels comprising:
a first set of pixels configured to emit a first red dominant wavelength (paragraphs 0033 and 0035 explain how the pixels are used to emit certain colors including red, green, blue, and yellow and paragraph 0057 explain how the color is based on a certain dominant wavelength associated with the color);
a second set of pixels configured to emit a first green dominant wavelength (paragraphs 0033 and 0035 explain how the pixels are used to emit certain colors including red, green, blue, and yellow and paragraph 0057 explain how the color is based on a certain dominant wavelength associated with the color);
a third set of pixels configured to emit a first blue dominant wavelength (paragraphs 0033 and 0035 explain how the pixels are used to emit certain colors including red, green, blue, and yellow and paragraph 0057 explain how the color is based on a certain dominant wavelength associated with the color);
the first red dominant wavelength, the first green dominant wavelength, and the first blue dominant wavelength defining a RGB (red-green-blue) gamut (paragraph 0035 explains how the colors of RGB are used and the color gamut is expanded with the use of yellow light); and
a fourth set of pixels configured to emit a non-white emission comprising a luminous efficacy that is higher than either of the first set of pixels or the third set of pixels to increase power efficiency of the device (paragraph 0035 explains how the colors of RGB are used and the color gamut is expanded with the use of yellow light and paragraph 0060 explains how the luminous efficacy and power efficiency is improved by the device); and
a controller configured to control the plurality of pixels (paragraphs 0036 and 0064 explain how the different light-emitting units are controlled by the thin film transistor).
Hamada does not clearly explain the control of the pixels individually and/or in sets.
Raring et al. teaches the control of the pixels individually and/or in sets (paragraphs 0175 and 0213 and 0217 and 0239-0241 discuss how pixels can be controlled individually but paragraph 0243 explains how large arrays have individually addressable sub-arrays driven together in a set).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the driving and configuration taught by Raring et al. into the system of Hamada. The rationale to combine would be for dynamic control, even in different sized arrays (paragraph 0243 of Raring et al.).
Regarding claim 2, Raring et al. further teaches the LED system of claim 1, wherein the fourth set of pixels is configured to emit a second red dominant wavelength or a second blue dominant wavelength (paragraph 0226 explains that more than three colors is preferable with at least one red or at least one blue, rendering obvious the use of more than one red or more than one blue).
Regarding claim 3, Raring et al. further teaches the LED system of claim 1 configured to drive less than or equal to three sets of pixels during operation (paragraphs 0175 and 0213 and 0217 and 0239-0241 discuss how pixels can be controlled individually).
Regarding claim 4, Raring et al. further teaches the LED system of claim 1 comprising a field sequential drive configured to drive only two sets of pixels during operation (paragraph 0243 explains how the sets are divided into sub-arrays to be driven separately such that they can be divided into two sets).
Regarding claim 5, Hamada teaches the LED system of claim 1 further comprising a thin film display backplane, a CMOS backplane, or CMOS microIC configured to drive each set of pixels (paragraph 0064 explains that the pixels are driven by controlling the thin film transistor).
Regarding claim 6, Raring et al. further teaches the LED system of claim 1, wherein the LEDs comprise polychromic microLEDs (paragraph 0012 explain the use of microLEDs as the LED category used), wherein at least a portion of the polychromic microLEDs comprise one or more tunnel junctions (paragraph 0135-0136, 0162, and 0204 explains the layout and junctions of the elements), such that a first group of microLEDs is configured to emit the first red dominant wavelength (paragraph 0226 explain the red device with center wavelength between 600 and 650 nm), a second group of microLEDs is configured to emit the first green dominant wavelength (paragraph 0226 explains the green device with center wavelengths between 505 and 525 nm or 525 and 540 nm), a third group of microLEDs is configured to emit the first blue dominant wavelength (paragraph 0226 explain the use of a blue device with center wavelength between 490 and 505 nm), and a fourth group of microLEDs is configured to emit the non-white emission as a second red dominant wavelength or a second blue dominant wavelength (paragraph 0226 explains that more than three colors is preferable with at least one red or at least one blue, rendering obvious the use of more than one red or more than one blue).
Regarding claim 7, Hamada teaches the LED system of claim 1 comprising one or more driver transistors configured as a current source for one or more pixel circuits (paragraph 0064 explains how driving is controlled by the current from the thin film transistor).
Regarding claim 8, Raring et al. further teaches the LED system of claim 6, wherein the polychromic microLEDs have a vertical configuration and the system is configured to short some of the tunnel junctions as shorted junctions during operation (paragraph 0135 explains how the shorting of the junctions is done).
Regarding claim 9, Raring et al. further teaches the LED system of claim 8 configured to control the shorted junctions with reverse bias, and the shorted junctions are effective as photodetectors (paragraph 0135 and 0204 explain how the shorted junctions are used and paragraph 0221 explains how the etching that results allows functionality such as photodetectors).
Regarding claim 10, Raring et al. further teaches the LED system of claim 1, wherein the LEDs comprise phosphor converted microLEDs (paragraphs 0017, 0039, 0055, 0064, 0071, and 0074 all explain the use of phosphors where paragraph 0281 specifies the color conversion used including phosphors) each having a blue-emitting region (paragraph 0281 specifies that “embodiments may use RGB micro LED devices that include blue LEDs with color converters for the green and red emissions”) configured to emit the first blue dominant wavelength (paragraph 0226 explain the use of a blue device with center wavelength between 490 and 505 nm), and three different down-converter materials on the blue-emitting region (paragraph 0281 specifies that “embodiments may use RGB micro LED devices that include blue LEDs with color converters for the green and red emissions”), a first down-converter material configured with the blue-emitting region for emitting the first green dominant wavelength (paragraph 0226 explains the green device with center wavelengths between 505 and 525 nm or 525 and 540 nm), a second down-converter material configured with the blue-emitting region for emitting the first red dominant wavelength (paragraph 0226 explain the red device with center wavelength between 600 and 650 nm), and a third down-converter material configured with the blue-emitting region for emitting a second red dominant wavelength or a second blue dominant wavelength (paragraph 0226 explains that more than three colors is preferable with at least one red or at least one blue, rendering obvious the use of more than one red or more than one blue).
Regarding independent claim 11, Hamada teaches a light-emitting diode (LED) array comprising:
a plurality of pixels (paragraph 0064 explains how the pixels are driven to create the display), each of the pixels comprising respective groups of light emitting diodes (LEDs) (paragraphs 0064-0065 explain how the sub-pixels correspond to each of the light-emitting units that is given in paragraph 0033 to be used for organic light-emitting structures that are diodes as given in paragraph 0004), the plurality of pixels comprising:
a first set of pixels configured to emit a first red dominant wavelength (paragraphs 0033 and 0035 explain how the pixels are used to emit certain colors including red, green, blue, and yellow and paragraph 0057 explain how the color is based on a certain dominant wavelength associated with the color);
a second set of pixels configured to emit a first green dominant wavelength (paragraphs 0033 and 0035 explain how the pixels are used to emit certain colors including red, green, blue, and yellow and paragraph 0057 explain how the color is based on a certain dominant wavelength associated with the color);
a third set of pixels configured to emit a first blue dominant wavelength (paragraphs 0033 and 0035 explain how the pixels are used to emit certain colors including red, green, blue, and yellow and paragraph 0057 explain how the color is based on a certain dominant wavelength associated with the color);
the first red dominant wavelength, the first green dominant wavelength, and the first blue dominant wavelength defining a RGB (red-green-blue) gamut (paragraph 0035 explains how the colors of RGB are used and the color gamut is expanded with the use of yellow light); and
a fourth set of pixels configured to emit a non-white emission comprising a luminous efficacy that is higher than either of the first set of pixel or the third set of pixel to increase power efficiency of the device (paragraph 0035 explains how the colors of RGB are used and the color gamut is expanded with the use of yellow light and paragraph 0060 explains how the luminous efficacy and power efficiency is improved by the device).
Hamada does not clearly explain the control of the pixels individually and/or in sets.
Raring et al. teaches the control of the pixels individually and/or in sets (paragraphs 0175 and 0213 and 0217 and 0239-0241 discuss how pixels can be controlled individually but paragraph 0243 explains how large arrays have individually addressable sub-arrays driven together in a set).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the driving and configuration taught by Raring et al. into the system of Hamada. The rationale to combine would be for dynamic control, even in different sized arrays (paragraph 0243 of Raring et al.).
Regarding claim 12, Hamada teaches the LED array of claim 11. Hamada does not teach the LED array wherein the LEDs comprise polychromic microLEDs, wherein at least a portion of the polychromic microLEDs comprise one or more tunnel junctions, such that a first group of microLEDs is configured to emit the first red dominant wavelength, a second group of microLEDs is configured to emit the first green dominant wavelength, a third group of microLEDs is configured to emit the first blue dominant wavelength, and a fourth group of microLEDs is configured to emit the non-white emission as a second red dominant wavelength or a second blue dominant wavelength.
Raring et al. teaches the LED array wherein the LEDs comprise polychromic microLEDs (paragraph 0012 explain the use of microLEDs as the LED category used), wherein at least a portion of the polychromic microLEDs comprise one or more tunnel junctions (paragraph 0135-0136, 0162, and 0204 explains the layout and junctions of the elements), such that a first group of microLEDs is configured to emit the first red dominant wavelength (paragraph 0226 explain the red device with center wavelength between 600 and 650 nm), a second group of microLEDs is configured to emit the first green dominant wavelength (paragraph 0226 explains the green device with center wavelengths between 505 and 525 nm or 525 and 540 nm), a third group of microLEDs is configured to emit the first blue dominant wavelength (paragraph 0226 explain the use of a blue device with center wavelength between 490 and 505 nm), and a fourth group of microLEDs is configured to emit the non-white emission as a second red dominant wavelength or a second blue dominant wavelength (paragraph 0226 explains that more than three colors is preferable with at least one red or at least one blue, rendering obvious the use of more than one red or more than one blue).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the driving and configuration using microLEDs as taught by Raring et al. into the system of Hamada. The rationale to combine would be for dynamic control, even in different sized arrays (paragraph 0243 of Raring et al.).
Regarding claim 16, Hamada teaches the LED array of claim 11. Hamada does not teach the LED array comprising a down-converter configuration, wherein the LEDs comprise: phosphor converted microLEDs each having a blue-emitting region configured to emit the first blue dominant wavelength, and three different down-converter materials on the blue-emitting region, a first down-converter material configured with the blue-emitting region for emitting the first green dominant wavelength, a second down-converter material configured with the blue-emitting region for emitting the first red dominant wavelength, and a third down-converter material configured with the blue-emitting region for emitting the non-white emission as a second red dominant wavelength or a second blue dominant wavelength.
Raring et al. teaches the LED array comprising a down-converter configuration (as described in paragraph 0281), wherein the LEDs comprise phosphor converted microLEDs (paragraphs 0017, 0039, 0055, 0064, 0071, and 0074 all explain the use of phosphors where paragraph 0281 specifies the color conversion used including phosphors) each having a blue-emitting region (paragraph 0281 specifies that “embodiments may use RGB micro LED devices that include blue LEDs with color converters for the green and red emissions”) configured to emit the first blue dominant wavelength (paragraph 0226 explain the use of a blue device with center wavelength between 490 and 505 nm), and three different down-converter materials on the blue-emitting region (paragraph 0281 specifies that “embodiments may use RGB micro LED devices that include blue LEDs with color converters for the green and red emissions”), a first down-converter material configured with the blue-emitting region for emitting the first green dominant wavelength (paragraph 0226 explains the green device with center wavelengths between 505 and 525 nm or 525 and 540 nm), a second down-converter material configured with the blue-emitting region for emitting the first red dominant wavelength (paragraph 0226 explain the red device with center wavelength between 600 and 650 nm), and a third down-converter material configured with the blue-emitting region for emitting the non-white emission as a second red dominant wavelength or a second blue dominant wavelength (paragraph 0226 explains that more than three colors is preferable with at least one red or at least one blue, rendering obvious the use of more than one red or more than one blue).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the driving and configuration using microLEDs as taught by Raring et al. into the system of Hamada. The rationale to combine would be for dynamic control, even in different sized arrays (paragraph 0243 of Raring et al.).
Regarding claim 17, Hamada teaches the LED array of claim 11, wherein the LEDs are integral to a monolithic substrate (paragraphs 0063-0064 explain how the thin film transistor is directly formed on the substrate and the pixels can be formed on the thin film transistor in advance).
Regarding claim 18, Hamada teaches the LED array of claim 11. Hamada does not teach the LED array wherein the LEDs are singulated LEDs attached to a device substrate.
Raring et al. teaches the LED array wherein the LEDs are singulated LEDs attached to a device substrate (paragraphs 0022-0023 explains how the portions of the LEDs are attached to the substrate).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the driving and configuration using LEDs as taught by Raring et al. into the system of Hamada. The rationale to combine would be for dynamic control, even in different sized arrays (paragraph 0243 of Raring et al.).
Regarding independent claim 19, Hamada teaches a method for operating a display, the method comprising:
determining an image to present on the display (paragraph 0005 explains that the purpose of the device is to realize full-color images to present on the display);
driving a plurality of pixels to provide the image (paragraph 0064 explains how the pixels are driven to create the display), each of the pixels comprising respective groups of light emitting diodes (LEDs) (paragraphs 0064-0065 explain how the sub-pixels correspond to each of the light-emitting units that is given in paragraph 0033 to be used for organic light-emitting structures that are diodes as given in paragraph 0004), the plurality of pixels comprising:
a first set of pixels configured to emit a first red dominant wavelength (paragraphs 0033 and 0035 explain how the pixels are used to emit certain colors including red, green, blue, and yellow and paragraph 0057 explain how the color is based on a certain dominant wavelength associated with the color);
a second set of pixels configured to emit a first green dominant wavelength (paragraphs 0033 and 0035 explain how the pixels are used to emit certain colors including red, green, blue, and yellow and paragraph 0057 explain how the color is based on a certain dominant wavelength associated with the color);
a third set of pixels configured to emit a first blue dominant wavelength (paragraphs 0033 and 0035 explain how the pixels are used to emit certain colors including red, green, blue, and yellow and paragraph 0057 explain how the color is based on a certain dominant wavelength associated with the color);
the first red dominant wavelength, the first green dominant wavelength, and the first blue dominant wavelength defining a RGB (red-green-blue) gamut (paragraph 0035 explains how the colors of RGB are used and the color gamut is expanded with the use of yellow light); and
a fourth set of pixels configured to emit a non-white emission comprising a luminous efficacy that is higher than either of the first set of pixel or the third set of pixel to increase power efficiency of the device (paragraph 0035 explains how the colors of RGB are used and the color gamut is expanded with the use of yellow light and paragraph 0060 explains how the luminous efficacy and power efficiency is improved by the device); and
controlling the plurality of pixels (paragraphs 0036 and 0064 explain how the different light-emitting units are controlled by the thin film transistor).
Hamada does not clearly explain the control of the pixels individually and/or in sets.
Raring et al. teaches the control of the pixels individually and/or in sets (paragraphs 0175 and 0213 and 0217 and 0239-0241 discuss how pixels can be controlled individually but paragraph 0243 explains how large arrays have individually addressable sub-arrays driven together in a set).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the driving and configuration taught by Raring et al. into the system of Hamada. The rationale to combine would be for dynamic control, even in different sized arrays (paragraph 0243 of Raring et al.).
Regarding claim 20, Raring et al. further teaches the method of claim 19, wherein the fourth set of pixels is configured to emit a second red dominant wavelength or a second blue dominant wavelength (paragraph 0226 explains that more than three colors is preferable with at least one red or at least one blue, rendering obvious the use of more than one red or more than one blue).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: none of the prior art of record, taken alone or in combination, teaches the combination of limitations of claim 13, specifically “a first epitaxial stack comprising: a first active region on a first n-type layer, and a first p-type layer on the first active region; a second epitaxial stack comprising: a second active region on a second n-type layer, and a second p-type layer on the second active region; a third epitaxial stack comprising: a third active region on a third n-type layer, and a third p-type layer on the third active region; a fourth epitaxial stack comprising: a fourth active region on a fourth n-type layer, and a fourth p-type layer on the fourth active region; and a first tunnel junction adjacent to the first epitaxial stack, a second tunnel junction adjacent to the second epitaxial stack, and a third tunnel junction adjacent to the third epitaxial stack, wherein the first, second, third, and fourth epitaxial stacks are in a vertical relationship within at least one set of pixels” as recited. Claims 14-15 are also objected to as being dependent on an allowable base claim.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/30/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant contends that the prior art teaches a peak waveform and not a dominant waveform as claimed and thus there is no teaching of the fourth set of pixels configured to emit a non-white emission comprising a luminous efficiency that is higher than either of the first pixel or the third pixel to increase power efficiency of the device, rendering the claims to be allowable. The examiner disagrees. The difference between the peak and dominant wavelengths is not clarified in the claims. Thus, the wavelength described by Hamada to be of a certain color is a dominant color. Thus, the use of the yellow or non-white emission that performs the same function for the same reason as the current invention would read on these limitations.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The closest prior art is made of record in the attached notice of references cited.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PARUL H GUPTA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2627