DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “wherein the first arm portion has a first arm and a second arm”. There appears to be improper antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as Applicant has previously defined “the first arm portion having a pair of arms”, thus it is unclear if Applicant is re-introducing the first and second arm, or otherwise. The claim language “the second arm portion has a third arm and a fourth arm”.
Examiner requests clarification and recommends amending the claims with language that clearly sets forth the claimed invention. In the interim, and in the interests of compact prosecution, the claims have been interpreted as set forth below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Boussard et al. (“Boussard”)(US 2018/0142488 A1).
Boussard (fig. 1-8) teaches a vehicle transport device comprising:
(re: base claim 1) a carriage (2, 3) capable of entering under a vehicle to be transported;
a first arm portion (3) provided to the carriage, the first arm portion having a pair of arms (near 31, 32) capable of supporting one of a front wheel or a rear wheel of the vehicle;
a second arm portion (2) provided to the carriage, the second arm portion having a pair of arms (near 21, 22 or 23, 24) capable of supporting the other of the front wheel or the rear wheel of the vehicle;
an acquisition unit that acquires size information of the vehicle (fig. 1 showing sensors 10, 41, 42, 43, 44, 46, 47, 48, 49; para. 22, 30, 32 teaching various sensors for gathering vehicle size related information, such as laser range finder, ultrasonic telemetry sensors, force sensors, and short-range scanning laser telemetry sensors)
a distance adjusting device that adjusts a distance between the first arm portion and the second arm portion according to the acquired size information of the vehicle while the vehicle transport device is moving toward a location of the vehicle (Cf. fig. 2-5 showing vehicle transport device with carriage that enters underneath vehicle; para. 22, 30-36 teaching sensors providing real-time information while vehicle transport is in process of aligning vehicle with para. 35 expressly teaching that “arm (2) adjusts its length according to the length of the front overhang estimated by the ultrasonic range finders” and that the length of the rear arm is also adjusted based on sensor measurements);
(re: certain elements claim 5) wherein the pair of arms of the first arm portion has a first arm and a second arm extending along a left-right direction of the carriage (near 31, 32),
wherein the pair of arms of the second arm portion has a third arm and a fourth arm (near 23, 24),
wherein the second arm, the third arm, and the fourth arm are each rotatable between a first position extending along a front-rear direction of the carriage and a second position extending along the left-right direction of the carriage (Cf. fig. 2 and 5; para. 34-36),
wherein the first arm, the second arm, the third arm, and the fourth arm are arranged along the front-rear direction in this order (Id.),
wherein the carriage enters under the vehicle from the fourth arm side with the second arm, the third arm, and the fourth arm in the first position, when the vehicle transport device arrives in front of or behind the vehicle (Id.),
wherein the third arm rotates to the second position and the carriage moves until the third arm hits the other wheel when the third arm enters between the front wheel and the rear wheel of the vehicle (Id.),
wherein the fourth arm rotates to the second position when the carriage stops, whereby the third arm and the fourth arm clamp the other wheel (Cf. fig. 2-5),
wherein the distance adjusting device moves the first arm portion toward the second arm until the first arm hits the one wheel, when the third arm and the fourth arm clamp the other wheel (Id. with para. 34-35 teaching adjusting length of arm portions and para. 36 teaching clamping of wheels with respective arms), and
wherein the second arm rotates to the second position when the first arm section stops, whereby the first arm and the second arm clamp the one wheel (Id.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Boussard et al. (“Boussard”)(US 2018/0142488 A1) in view of and Cord et al. (“Cord”)(US 11,981,554), and Choi et al. (“Choi”)(CN 117166828 A)(with text citations to English translation attached herewith).
Boussard as set forth above teaches all that is claimed except for expressly teaching
(re: claim 2) a height adjusting device that adjusts a height of the carriage, wherein the height adjusting device lowers the carriage to a position where the carriage can enter under the vehicle while the vehicle transport device is moving toward the location of the vehicle;
(re: claim 3) wherein the height adjusting device starts an operation of lowering the carriage when an estimated time until the vehicle transport device arrives in front of or behind the vehicle becomes a time required for the operation of lowering the carriage;
(re: claim 4) wherein the distance adjusting device adjusts the distance between the first arm portion and the second arm portion to a distance obtained by adding a wheelbase of the vehicle to a predetermined length for fine adjustment.
Re: claims 2 and 3:
Cord, however, teaches that it is well-known in the vehicle transport arts to integrate height adjusting elements to lift the carriage element relative to a front drive element, thus better preparing the vehicle for transport after the respective arms have immobilized the vehicle (fig. 1 near 132 and 211, 212; col. 4, ln. 60-65; col. 5, ln. 40-col. 6, ln. 15 teaching a front 132 and rear 211, 212 adjusting means capable of lowering the position of the carriage to enter under a vehicle during an estimated time the vehicle transport device is moving to arrive in front of vehicle).
Re: claims 4 and 5:
Choi further teaches it is well-known in the vehicle transport arts to use vehicle information, such as a wheelbase data, to make fine adjustments to front and rear transport elements to better secure the vehicle for transport (fig. 3 showing first 100 and second 600 arm portions set at wheelbase distance d1 and fig. 4 showing sensors verifying wheelbase measurements d2, d3; p. 13-17 teaching multiple sensor measurements, e.g., cameras, to verify wheelbase measurements and to make fine adjustment to arm elements that were initially set to conventional vehicle).
It would thus be obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify the base reference with these prior art teachings—with a reasonable expectation of success—to arrive at the claimed invention. The rationale for this obviousness determination can be found in the prior art itself as cited above-- as Choi expressly teaches sensing wheelbase vehicle information to adjust the relative position of arm portions to better secure a vehicle for transport--and from an analysis of the prior art teachings that demonstrates that the modification to arrive at the claimed invention would merely involve the substitution/addition of well-known elements (e.g., height adjusting elements) with no change in their respective functions. Moreover, the use of prior art elements according to their known functions is a predictable variation that would yield predictable results (e.g., benefit produced by known function), and thus cannot be regarded as a non-obvious modification when the modification is already commonly implemented in the relevant prior art. See also MPEP 2143.I (teaching that simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is known to one with ordinary skill in the art); 2144.06, 2144.07 (teaching as obvious the use of art recognized equivalences). Further, the prior art discussed and cited demonstrates the level of sophistication of one with ordinary skill in the art and that these modifications are predictable variations that would be within this skill level. Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Boussard for the reasons set forth above.
Conclusion
Any references not explicitly discussed above but made of record are regarded as helpful in establishing the state of the prior art and are thus considered relevant to the prosecution of the instant application.
Alternatively, to contact the examiner, send an E-mail communication to Joseph.Rodriguez@uspto.gov. Such E-mail communication should be in accordance with provisions of the MPEP (see e.g., 502.03 & 713.04; see also Patent Internet Usage Policy Article 5). E-mail communication must begin with a statement authorizing the E-mail communication and acknowledging that such communication is not secure and may be made of record. Please note that any communications with regards to the merits of an application will be made of record. A suggested format for such authorization is as follows: "Recognizing that Internet communications are not secure, I hereby authorize the USPTO to communicate with me concerning any subject matter of this application by electronic mail. I understand that a copy of these communications will be made of record in the application file”.
/JOSEPH C RODRIGUEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655
Jcr
---
February 11, 2026